DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the first configuration provides three parallel electrical pathways” in Line 20.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the second configuration provides two parallel pathways” in Line 21.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the first configuration is achieved when the central switch is in a respective closed position, a respective positive leg of the first group is selectively connected to a respective negative leg of the second group, and the respective positive leg of the third group to the respective negative leg of the fourth group” in Lines 24-27.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “wherein the second configuration is achieved when the central switch is in a respective open position, the respective negative leg of the second group is selectively connected to the propulsion output, and the respective positive leg of the third group is selectively connected to the propulsion output” in Lines 28-31.
The Specification discloses a first configuration (100) (Fig.2) provides three parallel pathways (Page 5, Paragraph 20). The first configuration achieved when the central switch 48 is closed (Page 8, Paragraph 31; and Fig.2); the respective negative leg of the second group 32 is electrically connected to the propulsion output 50 (Page 8, Paragraph 32; and Fig.2); the respective positive leg of the third group 34 is electrically connected to the propulsion output 50 (Page 8, Paragraph 32; and Fig.2).
The specification discloses a second configuration (200) (Fig.3) provides two parallel electrical pathways (Page 5, Paragraph 20). The second configuration achieved when the central switch 48 is opened (Page 9, Paragraph 33; and Fig.3); the respective positive leg of the first group 30 is electrically connected to the respective negative leg of the second group 32 (Page 9, Paragraph 34; and Fig.3); the respective positive leg of the third group 34 to the respective negative leg of the fourth group 36 (Page 9, Paragraph 34; and Fig.3).
Given that the first configuration as disclosed in Claim 20, Line 20 is guided towards the first configuration (100) as described in Page 8, Paragraphs 31-32; and Fig.2. The Specification does not provide support for: the first configuration is achieved when the central switch is in a respective closed position, a respective positive leg of the first group is selectively connected to a respective negative leg of the second group, and the respective positive leg of the third group to the respective negative leg of the fourth group, as recited in Claim 20, Lines 25-27.
Given that the second configuration as disclosed in Claim 20, Line 21 guided towards the second configuration (200) as described in Page 9, Paragraphs 33-34; and Fig.3. The Specification does not provide support for: wherein the second configuration is achieved when the central switch is in a respective open position, the respective negative leg of the second group is selectively connected to the propulsion output, and the respective positive leg of the third group is selectively connected to the propulsion output, as recited in Claim 20, Lines 29-31.
For purpose of examination Claim 20, Lines 24-27 is interpreted as reciting: the first configuration is achieved when the central switch is in a respective closed position, the respective negative leg of the second group is selectively connected to the propulsion output, and the respective positive leg of the third group is selectively connected to the propulsion output.
For purpose of examination Claim 20, Lines 28-31 is interpreted as reciting: wherein the second configuration is achieved when the central switch is in a respective open position, a respective positive leg of the first group is selectively connected to a respective negative leg of the second group, and the respective positive leg of the third group to the respective negative leg of the fourth group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074).
Claim 1: Tsubaki discloses a modular battery system (Fig.1) comprising:
a battery pack (10) (Fig.1) having multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14) and a plurality of electrical cables, the multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14) being electrically interconnected via the plurality of electrical cables in a pack circuit (Fig.1), the multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14) being divided into a first group (11), a second group (12), a third group (13) and a fourth group (14) (Par.24);
a direct current (DC) charge connector configured to electrically connect the battery pack (10) to an off-board DC fast-charging station (C), via the plurality of electrical cables (Par.22), the battery pack (10) being selectively connectable to a propulsion output (Par.36);
a plurality of switches (30) selectively connecting the multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14), the pack circuit being adapted to switching between a first configuration (Fig.3) and a second configuration (Fig.2) based on a respective position of the plurality of switches (30) (Par.35-36);
a controller (40) having a processor and tangible, non-transitory memory on which instructions are recorded (Par.34), the controller (40) being adapted to select the respective position of the plurality of switches (30) to transition the pack circuit between the first configuration (Fig.3) and the second configuration (Fig.2), in response to input signals indicative of a requested operating mode of the battery pack (10) (Par.35-36);
wherein respective battery cells (cells in battery modules in the groups 11-14) in the pack circuit (10) are arranged in a combination of series and parallel interconnections (Par.35); and
wherein the second configuration (Fig.2) provides two parallel electrical pathways, the parallel electrical pathways referring to individual ones of the respective battery cells arranged in parallel, or groups of the respective battery cells arranged in parallel (Par.35).
Tsubaki does not explicitly teach the first configuration provides three parallel electrical pathways.
Takao teaches a battery pack (10) (Fig.1) having multiple battery modules (20a-20c) in a first configuration providing three parallel electrical pathways (Par.27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Takao in the system of Tsubaki to have had a number of parallel paths that provide required capacity or required output to operate a motor of a particular vehicle (Par.27).
Claim 2: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Tsubaki teaches wherein the first configuration (Fig.3) represents a propulsion mode (Par.36), and the second configuration (Fig.2) represents a charging mode (Par.35).
Claim 4: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Tsubaki teaches wherein the plurality of switches (30) (Fig.1) includes:
a first load switch (37) configured to electrically connect the pack circuit to a positive leg of the propulsion output (coupled to M) (Fig.1) (Par.32);
a second load switch (32) configured to electrically connect the pack circuit to a negative leg of the propulsion output (coupled to M) (Fig.1) (Par.27);
a first charge switch (35) configured to electrically connect the pack circuit to the positive leg of the DC charge connector (coupled to C) (Fig.1) (Par.30); and
a second charge switch (34) configured to electrically connect the pack circuit to the negative leg of the DC charge connector (coupled to C) (Fig.1) (Par.29).
Claim 14: Tsubaki teaches a motor vehicle (Fig.1) (Par.20) comprising:
a battery pack (10) (Fig.1) having multiple battery modules (11-14) and a plurality of electrical cables, the multiple battery modules (11-14) being electrically interconnected via the plurality of electrical cables in a pack circuit (Fig.1), the battery pack (10) being selectively connectable to a propulsion output (coupled to motor (M)) for generating propulsion for the vehicle (Par.36);
wherein the battery pack (10) includes:
a direct current (DC) charge connector configured to electrically connect the battery pack (10) to an off-board DC fast-charging station (C), via the plurality of electrical cables (Par.22), the multiple battery modules (11-14) being divided into a first group (11), a second group (12), a third group (13) and a fourth group (14) (Par.24);
a plurality of switches (30) selectively connecting the multiple battery modules (11-14), the pack circuit being adapted to switching between a first configuration (Fig.3) and a second configuration (Fig.2) based on a respective position of the plurality of switches (30) (Par.35-36);
a controller (40) configured to select the respective position of the plurality of switches (30) to transition the pack circuit between the first configuration (Fig.3) and the second configuration (Fig.2), in response to input signals indicative of a requested operating mode of the battery pack (10) (Par.35-36);
wherein respective battery cells (cells in battery modules 11-14) in the pack circuit (10) are arranged in a combination of series and parallel interconnections (Par.35); and
wherein the second configuration (Fig.2) provides two parallel electrical pathways, the parallel electrical pathways referring to individual ones of the respective battery cells arranged in parallel, or groups of the respective battery cells arranged in parallel (Par.35).
Tsubaki does not explicitly teach the first configuration provides three parallel electrical pathways.
Takao teaches a battery pack (10) (Fig.1) having multiple battery modules (20a-20c) in a first configuration providing three parallel electrical pathways (Par.27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Takao in the system of Tsubaki to have had a number of parallel paths that provide required capacity or required output to operate a motor of a particular vehicle (Par.27).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Waag (US 2024/0092223).
Claim 3: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Tsubaki wherein the first configuration provides a propulsion power of about 400 volts and the second configuration provides a charging power of about 600 volts.
Waag teaches a battery pack (Fig.4a) having multiple battery modules (S1-S2) in a first configuration providing a propulsion power of about 400 volts (Par.11) and a second configuration provides a charging power of about 600 volts (Par.36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Waag in the system of Tsubaki to have had maximized the vehicle’s range (Par.7) while reducing the charging time (Par.12).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Schipperges et al. (US 2018/0262044).
Claims 5-6 and 15-16: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claims 1 and 14 as disclosed above. Tsubaki teaches the first group (11) positioned at a negative end of the pack circuit, the fourth group (14) positioned at a positive end of the pack circuit (Fig.7); and the second group (12) and the third group (13) positioned in a middle of the pack circuit (Fig.7).
Tsubaki does not explicitly teach the first group and fourth group respectively include two modules; and the second and third group respectively include a single module; the first group includes one-third of respective battery cells in the pack circuit; the fourth group includes another one-third of the respective battery cells in the pack circuit; and the second group and the third group together include a remaining one-third of the respective battery cells of the pack circuit.
Schipperges teaches a modular battery system (20) (Fig.2) (Par.34), comprising: a first group (40) (Fig.2) including two modules (Fig.3); and a second group (42) including a single module (Fig.3) (Par.38); wherein the system includes more groups (Fig.2; shown in dashes and ellipsis.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the first group and fourth group of Tsubaki including two modules thereby each including one-third of the respective battery cells in the pack circuit; and have had the second group and fourth group including a single module thereby together including a remaining one-third of the respective battery cells of the pack circuit, as they are suitable battery modules groupings as taught in Schipperges (Fig.3) (Par.38). Two groups including one third of the cells each; and two groups including one third of the cells together would be an obvious matter of design choice which would not affect the operation of the device nor produce unexpected results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Schipperges in the system of Tsubaki to have had groups supplying the same voltage at different current levels (Par.38) to have had configurations depending on the number of loads and the electrical requirements thereof (Par.22) thereby preventing an electrical vehicle function from being impaired (Par.19) from lack of required power.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074) and Schipperges et al. (US 2018/0262044) as applied to claims 5 above, and further in view of Meitinger et al. (US 2017/0305289).
Claims 7: Tsubaki in view of Takao and Schipperges teach the limitations of claim 5 as disclosed above. Tsubaki wherein the plurality of switches includes a central switch configured to electrically connect, when in a respective closed position: a respective positive leg of the second group to the respective positive leg of the first group; and a respective negative leg of the fourth group to the respective positive leg of the first group.
Meitinger teaches groups (11-12 and 15-16) of respective battery cells (Par.41); a plurality of switches (5, 7, 16-18) (Fig.3) including a central switch (17) configured to electrically connect, when in a respective closed position: a respective positive leg of a second group (12) with a respective positive leg of a first group (11); and a respective negative leg of a fourth group (15) to the respective positive leg of the first group (11) (Fig.3) (Par.43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had a switching device configured to connect the batteries in a first configuration when a charging condition is not fulfilled (Par.23); and connect the batteries in a second configuration when the charging condition is fulfilled (Par.23) to have had quickly reconfigure a plurality of batteries based on the operating status.
Claim 8: Tsubaki in view of Takao and Meitinger teach the limitations of claim 7 as disclosed above. Tsubaki wherein the first configuration is achieved when: the central switch is in the respective closed position; a first load switch and a second load switch electrically connect the pack circuit to the propulsion output; the respective negative leg of the second group is selectively connected to the propulsion output; and the respective positive leg of the third group is selectively connected to the propulsion output.
Meitinger teaches the first configuration is achieved (Fig.3) (Par.35) when: the central switch (17) is in the respective closed position; a first load switch (7) and a second load switch (7) electrically connect the pack circuit to a propulsion output (3) (Par.46); the respective negative leg of the second group (12) is selectively connected to the propulsion output (3) (Fig.3); and the respective positive leg of the third group (14) is selectively connected to the propulsion output (3) (Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had connected the batteries to increase the available voltage to operate a motor vehicle in a driving operation normally (Par.35 and 46).
Claim 9: Tsubaki in view of Takao and Meitinger teach the limitations of claim 7 as disclosed above. Tsubaki teaches wherein the second configuration is achieved when: a first charge switch and a second charge switch electrically connect the pack circuit to the DC charge connector (C) (Fig.2); the respective positive leg of the first group (11) is selectively connected to the respective negative leg of the second group (12) (Par.35 and 56; The example discloses the first group and the fourth group being connected in series. However, it discloses any two of the four batteries being selected to be connected in series. Connecting 31a/31d and 34a/34b accomplishes the claimed limitation.) (Fig.2; Connection of first group 11 and second group 12 shown in broken lines.); and the respective positive leg of the third group (13) to the respective negative leg of the fourth group (14) (Par.35 and 56; The example discloses the third group and the second group being connected in series. However, it discloses any two of the four batteries being selected to be connected in series. Connecting 35a/35d and 38a/38d accomplishes the claimed limitation.) (Fig.2; Connection of third group 13 and fourth group 14 shown in broken lines.).
Tsubaki does not explicitly teach the central switch is in a respective open position.
Meitinger teaches the second configuration is achieved (Fig.4) (Par.35) when: the central switch (17) is in the respective opened position (Par.45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had changed over the configuration of the batteries to reduce the available voltage to make it possible to charge the batteries with a lower voltage source (Par.7-8).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074), Schipperges et al. (US 2018/0262044) and Meitinger et al. (US 2017/0305289) as applied to claims 7 above, and further in view of Watanabe et al. (US 2008/0285193).
Claim 10-11: Tsubaki in view of Takao and Meitinger teach the limitations of claim 7 as disclosed above. Tsubaki does not explicitly teach wherein: the plurality of switches includes a first two-way switch having two closed positions; in one of the two closed positions, the first two-way switch is configured to electrically connect the respective negative leg of the second group to the propulsion output; and in another of the two closed positions, the first two-way switch is configured to electrically connect the respective positive leg of the first group to the respective negative leg of the second group; wherein: the plurality of switches includes a second two-way switch having two closed positions; in one of the two closed positions, the second two-way switch is configured to electrically connect the respective positive leg of the third group to the propulsion output; and in another of the two closed positions, the second two-way switch is configured to electrically connect the respective positive leg of the third group to the respective negative leg of the fourth group.
Watanabe teaches a plurality of switches includes a first two-way switch (Fig.9, 61 right) having two closed positions (Par.70); in one of the two closed positions, the first two-way switch (61 right) is configured to electrically connect a respective negative leg of a second group (440) to an output (52) (Fig.9) (Par.69); and in another of the two closed positions, the first two-way switch (61 right) is configured to electrically connect the respective positive leg of a first group (430) to the respective negative leg of the second group (440) (Fig.9) (Par.69); the plurality of switches includes a second two-way switch (61 left) having two closed positions (Par.70); in one of the two closed positions, the second two-way switch (61 left) is configured to electrically connect a respective positive leg of a third group (410) to an output (51) (Fig.9) (Par.69); and in another of the two closed positions, the second two-way switch (61 left) is configured to electrically connect the respective positive leg of the third group (410) to the respective negative leg of a fourth group (420) (Par.74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Watanabe in the system of Tsubaki to have had the expected result of changing the connection between a plurality of batteries between series and parallel (Par.112) quickly and effectively.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0078429).
Claims 12-13: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Tsubaki does not explicitly teach at least one of the plurality of switches is an electro-mechanical contactor; wherein at least one of the plurality of switches includes a solid-state switch and/or a diode.
Li teaches at least one of a plurality of switches (SA1-SB5) (Fig.3) is an electro-mechanical contactor (Par.34); wherein at least one of the plurality of switches (SA1-SB5) includes a solid-state switch (Par.34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Waag in the system of Tsubaki to have had the expected result of allowing or blocking current utilizing known switch configurations (Par.34).
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074) as applied to claims 14 above, and further in view of Meitinger et al. (US 2017/0305289).
Claim 17: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claim 14 as disclosed above. Tsubaki does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of switches includes a central switch configured to electrically connect, when in a respective closed position: a respective positive leg of the second group to the respective positive leg of the first group; and a respective negative leg of the fourth group to the respective positive leg of the first group.
Meitinger teaches groups (11-12 and 15-16) of respective battery cells (Par.41); a plurality of switches (5, 7, 16-18) (Fig.3) including a central switch (17) configured to electrically connect, when in a respective closed position: a respective positive leg of a second group (12) with a respective positive leg of a first group (11); and a respective negative leg of a fourth group (15) to the respective positive leg of the first group (11) (Fig.3) (Par.43).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had a switching device configured to connect the batteries in a first configuration when a charging condition is not fulfilled (Par.23); and connect the batteries in a second configuration when the charging condition is fulfilled (Par.23) to have had quickly reconfigure a plurality of batteries based on the operating status.
Claim 18: Tsubaki in view of Takao and Meitinger teach the limitations of claim 17 as disclosed above. Tsubaki wherein the first configuration is achieved when: the central switch is in the respective closed position; a first load switch and a second load switch electrically connect the pack circuit to the propulsion output; the respective negative leg of the second group is selectively connected to the propulsion output; and the respective positive leg of the third group is selectively connected to the propulsion output.
Meitinger teaches the first configuration is achieved (Fig.3) (Par.35) when: the central switch (17) is in the respective closed position; a first load switch (7) and a second load switch (7) electrically connect the pack circuit to a propulsion output (3) (Par.46); the respective negative leg of the second group (12) is selectively connected to the propulsion output (3) (Fig.3); and the respective positive leg of the third group (14) is selectively connected to the propulsion output (3) (Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had connected the batteries to increase the available voltage to operate a motor vehicle in a driving operation normally (Par.35 and 46).
Claim 19: Tsubaki in view of Takao teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Tsubaki teaches wherein the second configuration is achieved when: a first charge switch and a second charge switch electrically connect the pack circuit to the DC charge connector (C) (Fig.2); the respective positive leg of the first group (11) is selectively connected to the respective negative leg of the second group (12) (Par.35 and 56; The example discloses the first group and the fourth group being connected in series. However, it discloses any two of the four batteries being selected to be connected in series. Connecting 31a/31d and 34a/34b accomplishes the claimed limitation.) (Fig.2; Connection of first group 11 and second group 12 shown in broken lines.); and the respective positive leg of the third group (13) to the respective negative leg of the fourth group (14) (Par.35 and 56; The example discloses the third group and the second group being connected in series. However, it discloses any two of the four batteries being selected to be connected in series. Connecting 35a/35d and 38a/38d accomplishes the claimed limitation.) (Fig.2; Connection of third group 13 and fourth group 14 shown in broken lines.).
Tsubaki does not explicitly teach wherein the second configuration is achieved when: the central switch is in a respective open position.
Meitinger teaches the second configuration is achieved (Fig.4) (Par.35) when: the central switch (17) is in the respective opened position (Par.45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had changed over the configuration of the batteries to reduce the available voltage to make it possible to charge the batteries with a lower voltage source (Par.7-8).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsubaki et al. (US 2020/0290480) in view of Takao (US 2023/0396074) and Meitinger et al. (US 2017/0305289).
Claim 20: Tsubaki discloses a modular battery system (Fig.1) comprising:
a battery pack (10) (Fig.1) having multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14) and a plurality of electrical cables, the multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14) being electrically interconnected via the plurality of electrical cables in a pack circuit (Fig.1), the multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14) being divided into a first group (11), a second group (12), a third group (13) and a fourth group (14) (Par.24);
a direct current (DC) charge connector configured to electrically connect the battery pack (10) to an off-board DC fast-charging station (C), via the plurality of electrical cables (Par.22), the battery pack (10) being selectively connectable to a propulsion output (Par.36);
a plurality of switches (30) selectively connecting the multiple battery modules (comprised in 11-14), the pack circuit being adapted to switching between a first configuration (Fig.3) and a second configuration (Fig.2) based on a respective position of the plurality of switches (30) (Par.35-36);
a controller (40) having a processor and tangible, non-transitory memory on which instructions are recorded (Par.34), the controller (40) being adapted to select the respective position of the plurality of switches (30) to transition the pack circuit between the first configuration (Fig.3) and the second configuration (Fig.2), in response to input signals indicative of a requested operating mode of the battery pack (10) (Par.35-36);
wherein respective battery cells (cells in battery modules in the groups 11-14) in the pack circuit (10) are arranged in a combination of series and parallel interconnections (Par.35);
wherein the second configuration (Fig.2) provides two parallel electrical pathways, the parallel electrical pathways referring to individual ones of the respective battery cells arranged in parallel, or groups of the respective battery cells arranged in parallel (Par.35); and
the second configuration is achieved when: a first charge switch and a second charge switch electrically connect the pack circuit to the DC charge connector (C) (Fig.2); the respective positive leg of the first group (11) is selectively connected to the respective negative leg of the second group (12) (Par.35 and 56; The example discloses the first group and the fourth group being connected in series. However, it discloses any two of the four batteries being selected to be connected in series. Connecting 31a/31d and 34a/34b accomplishes the claimed limitation.) (Fig.2; Connection of first group 11 and second group 12 shown in broken lines.); and the respective positive leg of the third group (13) to the respective negative leg of the fourth group (14) (Par.35 and 56; The example discloses the third group and the second group being connected in series. However, it discloses any two of the four batteries being selected to be connected in series. Connecting 35a/35d and 38a/38d accomplishes the claimed limitation.) (Fig.2; Connection of third group 13 and fourth group 14 shown in broken lines.).
Tsubaki does not explicitly teach the first configuration provides three parallel electrical pathways.
Takao teaches a battery pack (10) (Fig.1) having multiple battery modules (20a-20c) in a first configuration providing three parallel electrical pathways (Par.27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Takao in the system of Tsubaki to have had a number of parallel paths that provide required capacity or required output to operate a motor of a particular vehicle (Par.27).
Furthermore, Tsubaki does not explicitly teach the plurality of switches including a central switch; herein the first configuration is achieved when: the central switch is in the respective closed position; a first load switch and a second load switch electrically connect the pack circuit to the propulsion output; the respective negative leg of the second group is selectively connected to the propulsion output; and the respective positive leg of the third group is selectively connected to the propulsion output; and wherein the second configuration is achieved when: the central switch is in a respective open position.
Meitinger teaches a first configuration is achieved (Fig.3) (Par.35) when: a central switch (17) is in the respective closed position; a first load switch (7) and a second load switch (7) electrically connect the pack circuit to a propulsion output (3) (Par.46); the respective negative leg of the second group (12) is selectively connected to the propulsion output (3) (Fig.3); and the respective positive leg of the third group (14) is selectively connected to the propulsion output (3) (Fig.3); a second configuration is achieved (Fig.4) (Par.35) when: the central switch (17) is in the respective opened position (Par.45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Meitinger in the system of Tsubaki to have had a switching device configured to connect the batteries in a first configuration when a charging condition is not fulfilled (Par.23) to increase the available voltage to operate a motor vehicle in a driving operation normally (Par.35 and 46); and connect the batteries in a second configuration when the charging condition is fulfilled (Par.23) to have had quickly reconfigure a plurality of batteries based on the operating status.
Conclusion
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859