The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-11, 13-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-11 recite the limitation "PCM layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is vague and indefinite as to what Phase Change Material is being claimed, and what substances would be considered equivalents, since most every material known to man will change between solid/liquid/gas when subjected to sufficient heat and/or pressure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-15 of Application No. 18/862,706. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barsy et al. US 3,132,065. Barsy et al. disclose a semi-conductive floor covering comprising:
A top layer (10), a plurality of sublayers (11, 12) comprising at least one heat conductive layer (12) including graphite. Wherein a substrate (13) is disposed beneath the sublayers (11, 12). See Col. 2, ln. 5-70; Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 12 Barsy et al. disclose a method of making a floor pavement structure comprising the steps of:
Applying a 1st reaction mixture (12), comprising a heat conductive material, such as
graphite, onto a substrate (13) and allowing said reaction mixture to set.
Forming a plurality of layers (11, 10) on to the heat conductive sublayer (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 2, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barsy et al. US 3,132,065 in view of Lentz et al. US 2016/0208155. Barsy et al. disclose a semi-conductive floor covering comprising:
A top layer (10), a plurality of sublayers (11, 12) comprising at least one heat conductive layer (12) including graphite. Wherein a substrate (13) is disposed beneath the sublayers (11, 12). See Col. 2, ln. 5-70; Fig. 1. What Barsy et al. do not disclose is the use of Phase Change Materials in the flooring structure. However, Lentz et al. teach it is known to make walls, roofs, and floors from microencapsulated phase change materials, for use as latent heat thermal storage systems. See [0003]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the middle and top layers (10, 11) of Barsy et al. with the phase change materials taught by Lentz et al. in order to accommodate outdoor applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11, 14-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 1/10/2026