DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 4/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the process and product claims are coextensive in scope with respect to the claimed membrane structure and are directed to the same inventive concept; claim 21 is specifically directed to a method that requires the use of the fluid transfer membrane according to claim 1; and the manufacturing process, the membrane, and the method of use are thus technically interrelated and share a common inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because the process can make other products such as those that have larger pore diameters. Additionally the membrane can be made by a different method such as laser etching or fully electrolytic etching (no irradiation required); the membrane can be used in a different method such as filtering; and the inventions as claimed operate differently in mode, design, effect and function. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Examiner’s Comment
Claim 9 recites “at least one of the opposite large faces ‘ in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “at least one of opposite large faces” in line 2.
Claim 10 recites “at least one of the opposite large faces” in line 2. It appears that the claim should recite “at least one of opposite large faces” in line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoux et al. (FR 3108983, see machine translated version).
Regarding claims 1-4, Marcoux et al. teach a fluid transfer membrane (paragraphs [0011], [0020]) comprising a porous n-doped silicon wall including pores extending entirely across a thickness of the porous n-doped silicon wall (paragraphs [0011], [0026], [0048], [0050]), each of the pores having a diameter of between 5 nm and 5 µm, and preferably between 20 nm and 500 nm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of less than or equal to 400 nm (paragraphs [0026], [0052]) and the fluid transfer membrane having a transmittance of at least 1% or greater than 10% in the emission wavelength or in each emission wavelength which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of greater than or equal to 5% to any radiation whose wavelength is between 5 µm and 25 µm (paragraphs [0017], [0058], [0070]).
Marcoux et al. do not disclose an aspect ratio of greater than or equal to 20. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in aspect ratio involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the aspect ratio of Marcoux et al. in order to allow diffusion of medium though the pores and narrow enough to block the passage of microorganisms (Marcoux et al., paragraphs [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Marcoux et al. do not disclose wherein a surface density of the pores is between 0.1 µm-2 and 5.0 µm-2. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in surface density involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the surface density of the pores of Marcoux et al. in order to allow diffusion of nutrient medium between two faces of the support while retaining microorganisms on one face of the support (Marcoux et al., paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Marcoux et al. teach wherein first and second faces are flat and parallel to each other which reads on Applicant’s claimed an angle between opposite large faces of the fluid transfer membrane is less than or equal to 5° (paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Marcoux et al. do not teach wherein at least one of the opposite large faces has a surface roughness which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of less than 20 nm (entire document).
Regarding claim 10, Marcoux et al. teach wherein at least one portion of an area of at least one of the opposite large faces is free of any coating (entire document).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcoux et al. (FR 3108983, see machine translated version) in view of Scholten et al. (US Patent Application No. 2011/0281102).
Marcoux et al. are relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Marcoux et al. fail to teach wherein the membrane further comprises a support superimposed on the porous n-doped silicon wall, the support including at least one recess passing through the support entirely across a thickness of the support wherein at least one of the pores opens into the recess. However, Scholten et al. teach a membrane comprising a porous n-doped silicone wall including pores (page 1, paragraphs [0005]-[0012], page 2, paragraph [0030]), further comprising a support superimposed on the pores n-dope silicon wall (page 1, paragraphs [0005]-[0012], page 2, paragraph [0031]), the support including at least one recess passing through the support entirely across a thickness of the support (page 1, paragraphs [0005]-[0012], page 2, paragraph [0031]), wherein at least one of the pores opens into the recess (page 1, paragraphs [0005]-[0012], page 2, paragraph [0031]), wherein a length of the recess, measured in a median plane of the membrane is in the range of several micrometers to several hundred micrometers (page 3, paragraph [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the support of Scholten et al. on the silicon wall of Marcoux et al. in order to provide a usable reservoir for drugs or active substances (Scholten et al., page 5, paragraph [0093]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 7/10/2026