DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giner Tendero et al (EP 2 556 857 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Giner Tendero discloses a battery explosion-proof valve for a battery plug-in box (an automatic extinguisher for protecting electrical boxes of electrical equipment; claim 1), comprising:
a fire-fighting medium pipeline having a medium outlet (bottle; Fig. 6 #15; paragraph [0033]) and a protective film connected to the medium outlet to block a fire-fighting medium in the fire-fighting medium pipeline (O-ring cap; Fig. 6 #19; paragraph [0033]); and
a housing comprising a cavity (cylinder #17 has space; Fig. 6 #17; paragraph [0034]), a first opening (orifices; Fig. 6 #20; paragraph [0034]), and a second opening (rear of cylinder #17 has opening behind moving magnet #24; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), the first opening and the second opening being communicated with the cavity (moving magnet #24 moving forward due to the actuator affecting openings; paragraph [0034]), an end of the fire-fighting medium pipeline being fitted in the first opening (bottle #15 is close to the orifices; paragraph [0033]), and the cavity being configured to be communicated with an inner cavity of the battery plug-in box through the second opening (moving magnet #24 moving forward due to the actuator affecting openings; paragraph [0034]); and
a piercing assembly arranged in the cavity and movable relative to the fire-fighting medium pipeline to pierce the protective film (moving point contacting O-ring cap due to function of the actuator; Fig. 6 #21; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 1 as noted above and Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve comprising the piercing assembly comprises a supporting plate (base supporting moving point #21; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]) and a piercing needle (point of moving point #21; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), the supporting plate and the piercing needle are connected with each other (base and point of moving point #21 are joined as one piece; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]) and the supporting plate is movable relative to the fire-fighting medium pipeline to allow the piercing needle to pierce the protective film (moving magnet #24 moves base of moving point #21; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 2 as noted above and Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve comprising the supporting plate is connected with the housing (base is connected to rear of cylinder #17; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), and the housing is slidably connected with the fire-fighting medium pipeline (cylinder #17 is connected to bottle #15; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 1 as noted above and Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve comprising the housing has a first critical position (moving point moves forward to contact O-ring cap; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]) and a second critical position relative to the fire-fighting medium pipeline (moving magnet #24 prevents moving point from moving forward under normal conditions; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), in the first critical position, the supporting plate abuts against the fire-fighting medium pipeline and closes the medium outlet (moving point #21 move forwards to contact O-ring cap #19; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), and in the second critical position, the supporting plate is separated from the medium outlet (moving magnet #24 prevents moving point from moving forward under normal conditions; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 4 as noted above and Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve further comprising a protective cover (body; Fig. 5 #8; paragraph [0037]) and an elastic member, wherein the protective cover is installed outside the housing (body; Fig. 5 #8; paragraph [0037]), the elastic member has a first end connected to an inner side of the protective cover and a second end connected to the housing (moving piston; Fig. 6 #18; paragraph [0034]), and the elastic member presses the housing towards the second critical position (moving piston; Fig. 6 #18; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 8, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 1 as noted above and Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve further comprising a sealing sleeve fitted over the fire-fighting medium pipeline and slidably fitted in the first opening (material between bottle #15 and cylinder #17; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Giner Tendero discloses a battery plug-in box (electric box; paragraph [0029]), comprising:
a box body having a first installation opening (socket joint; Fig. 1 #10; paragraph [0031]); and
a battery explosion-proof valve installed at the first installation opening (socket joint interconnecting discharge tubes of fire extinguishing substance into the device; Fig. 1 #10; paragraph [0031]), and comprising:
a fire-fighting medium pipeline having a medium outlet (bottle; Fig. 6 #15; paragraph [0033]) and a protective film connected to the medium outlet to block a fire-fighting medium in the fire-fighting medium pipeline (O-ring cap; Fig. 6 #19; paragraph [0033]); and
a housing comprising a cavity (cylinder #17 has space; Fig. 6 #17; paragraph [0034]), a first opening (orifices; Fig. 6 #20; paragraph [0034]), and a second opening (rear of cylinder #17 has opening behind moving magnet #24; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), the first opening and the second opening being communicated with the cavity (moving magnet #24 moving forward due to the actuator affecting openings; paragraph [0034]), an end of the fire-fighting medium pipeline being fitted in the first opening (bottle #15 is close to the orifices; paragraph [0033]), and the cavity being configured to be communicated with an inner cavity of the battery plug-in box through the second opening (moving magnet #24 moving forward due to the actuator affecting openings; paragraph [0034]); and
a piercing assembly arranged in the cavity and movable relative to the fire-fighting medium pipeline to pierce the protective film (moving point contacting O-ring cap due to function of the actuator; Fig. 6 #21; paragraph [0034]),
wherein the housing is located outside the box body and configured to be in contact with or separated from the box body (cylinder is separate from batteries; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), and the housing and the box body are configured to define a pressure relief channel therebetween when the housing and the box body are separated (channel between the cylinder and the batteries; Fig. 6; paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, Giner Tendero discloses an electric apparatus (device; paragraph [0029]), comprising a battery plug-in box (electric box; paragraph [0029]),
wherein the battery plug-in box (electric box; paragraph [0029]) comprises:
a box body having a first installation opening (socket joint; Fig. 1 #10; paragraph [0031]); and
a battery explosion-proof valve installed at the first installation opening (socket joint interconnecting discharge tubes of fire extinguishing substance into the device; Fig. 1 #10; paragraph [0031]), and comprising:
a fire-fighting medium pipeline having a medium outlet (bottle; Fig. 6 #15; paragraph [0033]) and a protective film connected to the medium outlet to block a fire-fighting medium in the fire-fighting medium pipeline (O-ring cap; Fig. 6 #19; paragraph [0033]); and
a housing comprising a cavity (cylinder #17 has space; Fig. 6 #17; paragraph [0034]), a first opening (orifices; Fig. 6 #20; paragraph [0034]), and a second opening (rear of cylinder #17 has opening behind moving magnet #24; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), the first opening and the second opening being communicated with the cavity (moving magnet #24 moving forward due to the actuator affecting openings; paragraph [0034]), an end of the fire-fighting medium pipeline being fitted in the first opening (bottle #15 is close to the orifices; paragraph [0033]), and the cavity being configured to be communicated with an inner cavity of the battery plug-in box through the second opening (moving magnet #24 moving forward due to the actuator affecting openings; paragraph [0034]); and
a piercing assembly arranged in the cavity and movable relative to the fire-fighting medium pipeline to pierce the protective film (moving point contacting O-ring cap due to function of the actuator; Fig. 6 #21; paragraph [0034]),
wherein the housing is located outside the box body and configured to be in contact with or separated from the box body (cylinder is separate from batteries; Fig. 6; paragraph [0034]), and the housing and the box body are configured to define a pressure relief channel therebetween when the housing and the box body are separated (channel between the cylinder and the batteries; Fig. 6; paragraph [0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giner Tendero et al (EP 2 556 857 A1) in view of Wei et al (CN 111909461 A).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Wei et al (CN 111909461 A).
Regarding claim 6, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 1 as noted above.
Giner Tendero does not disclose the battery explosion-proof valve further comprising a sealing ring arranged at a bottom of the housing and around the second opening.
However, Wei discloses a sealing ring (sealing ring made of EPDM rubber; paragraphs [0006] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery explosion-proof valve of Giner Tendero to include the sealing ring of EPDM rubber on the bottom of the cylinder of Giner Tendero because having a sealing ring made of EPDM rubber provides a tight seal that is not prone to sealing performance failure (paragraph [0006] of Wei).
Regarding claim 7, Giner Tendero and Wei disclose the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 6 as noted above.
Giner Tendero does not disclose the battery explosion-proof valve comprising the sealing ring is made of an ethylene propylene diene monomer foam.
However, Wei discloses a sealing ring (sealing ring made of EPDM rubber; paragraphs [0006] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery explosion-proof valve of Giner Tendero to include the sealing ring of EPDM rubber on the bottom of the cylinder of Giner Tendero because having a sealing ring made of EPDM rubber provides a tight seal that is not prone to sealing performance failure (paragraph [0006] of Wei).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giner Tendero et al (EP 2 556 857 A1) in view of Socha et al (US 2016/0238480 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Giner Tendero discloses the battery explosion-proof valve of claim 1 as noted above.
Giner Tendero does not disclose the battery explosion-proof valve comprising the protective film is made of aluminum alloy.
However, Socha discloses a seal assembly comprising a protective film is made of aluminum alloy (cap for O-ring comprises at least one material of aluminum and steel; paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery explosion-proof valve of Giner Tendero to substitute the O-ring cap of Giner Tendero for the cap of Socha because doing so provides additional sealing provided by O-rings (paragraph [0025] of Socha).
Claims 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giner Tendero et al (EP 2 556 857 A1) in view of Liu et al (CN 111779866 A).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Liu et al (CN 111779866 A).
Regarding claim 11, Giner Tendero discloses the battery pug-in box of claim 10 as noted above.
Giner Tendero does not disclose the battery pug-in box further comprising an auxiliary explosion-proof valve, wherein the box body has a second installation opening, and the auxiliary explosion-proof valve is installed at the second installation opening, and comprises: a skeleton having a cover-plate installation opening and an exhaust port, and fixedly installed at the second installation opening, the exhaust port being communicated with the second installation opening; a cover plate hermetically installed at the cover-plate installation opening, and having an exhaust channel; and a waterproof and breathable film installed in the exhaust channel, to allow a gas generated by a battery cell in a normal state to be discharged out of the box body through the waterproof and breathable film, and to allow a gas generated when the battery cell is out of thermal control to break through the waterproof and breathable film to be discharged out of the box body.
However, Liu discloses an explosion-proof valve (paragraph [0038]) comprising the box body has a second installation opening (sealing housing #100; Fig. 11 #100; paragraph [0043]), and the auxiliary explosion-proof valve is installed at the second installation opening (valve is installed on sealing housing; paragraph [0043]), and comprises: a skeleton having a cover-plate installation opening (opening where cover plate #44 is located; Fig. 4; paragraph [0044]) and an exhaust port (vents #611 and #612; Fig. 4; paragraph [0049]), and fixedly installed at the second installation opening (sealing housing #100; Fig. 11 #100; paragraph [0043]), the exhaust port being communicated with the second installation opening (vents #611 and #612 connected to opening where cover plate #44 is located; Fig. 4; paragraph [0049]); a cover plate hermetically installed at the cover-plate installation opening (cover plate #44; Fig. 4 #44; paragraph [0042]), and having an exhaust channel (through hole; Fig. 4 #20; paragraph [0049]); and a waterproof and breathable film installed in the exhaust channel (waterproof and breathable membrane #5 in through hole #20; Fig. 4 #5; paragraph [0042]) to allow a gas generated by a battery cell in a normal state to be discharged out of the box body through the waterproof and breathable film (waterproof and breathable membrane #5; Fig. 4 #5; paragraph [0042]), and to allow a gas generated when the battery cell is out of thermal control to break through the waterproof and breathable film to be discharged out of the box body (waterproof and breathable membrane #5 in through hole #20; Fig. 4 #5; paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery plug-in box of Giner Tendero to include the explosion-proof valve of Liu on the device of Giner Tendero because having one or more explosion-proof valves on battery packs waterproofs and prevents explosions (paragraph [0006] of Liu).
Regarding claim 12, Giner Tendero and Liu disclose the battery plug-in box of claim 1 as noted above.
Giner Tendero does not disclose the battery plug-in box further comprising a thermal reaction expansion seal arranged at a bottom end of the skeleton and configured to block the exhaust port after thermal expansion.
However, Liu discloses an explosion-proof valve (paragraph [0038]) comprising a thermal reaction expansion seal arranged at a bottom end of the skeleton and configured to block the exhaust port after thermal expansion (sealing ring #15; paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery plug-in box of Giner Tendero to include the explosion-proof valve of Liu on the device of Giner Tendero because having one or more explosion-proof valves on battery packs waterproofs and prevents explosions (paragraph [0006] of Liu).
Regarding claim 15, Giner Tendero and Liu disclose the battery plug-in box of claim 1 as noted above.
Since the structure of the battery plug-in box of Giner Tendero and Liu is the same as the battery plug-in box of claim 11, the battery plug-in box of Giner Tendero and Liu would inherently have an explosion-proof pressure of the battery explosion-proof valve be lower than an explosion-proof pressure of the auxiliary explosion-proof valve.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giner Tendero et al (EP 2 556 857 A1) in view of Liu et al (CN 111779866 A) in further view of Liang et al (US 2023/0282918 A1).
A machine translation is being used as the English translation for Liu et al (CN 111779866 A).
Regarding claim 13, Giner Tendero and Liu disclose the battery plug-in box of claim 11 as noted above.
Giner Tendero and Liu do not disclose the battery plug-in box comprising first installation opening and the second installation opening are both arranged at a top of the box body.
However, Liang discloses a box comprising a first installation opening and a second installation opening are both arranged at a top of the box body (injection valves #313 on box wall; Fig. 4 #313; paragraph [0130]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery plug-in box of Giner Tendero and Liu to include the position of the injection valves of Liang for the box of Giner Tendero because doing so prevents backflow of the fire-fighting agent at that portion of the box (paragraph [0130] of Liang).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giner Tendero et al (EP 2 556 857 A1) in view of Liu et al (CN 111779866 A) in further view of Wei et al (CN 111909461 A).
Machine translations are being used as the English translation for Liu et al (CN 111779866 A) and Wei et al (CN 111909461 A).
Regarding claim 14, Giner Tendero and Liu disclose the battery plug-in box of claim 12 as noted above.
Giner Tendero and Liu do not disclose the battery plug-in box comprising the thermal reaction expansion seal being made of thermal reaction expansion foam materials.
However, Wei discloses a sealing ring (sealing ring made of EPDM rubber; paragraphs [0006] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery plug-in box of Giner Tendero and Liu to substitute the sealing ring of Liu for the sealing ring of EPDM rubber of Wei because having a sealing ring made of EPDM rubber provides a tight seal that is not prone to sealing performance failure (paragraph [0006] of Wei).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SATHAVARAM I REDDY whose telephone number is (571)270-7061. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00 AM-6:00 PM EST.
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785