DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been modified in view of Amendments filed on 05/01/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed "Remarks" on 05/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant alleges that: “Siomina fails to teach or suggest the above- identified features of amended claim 1, which require defining a UE capability including a maximum receive timing difference (MRTD) supported by the terminal device, let alone determining measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs according to the MRTD, or according to a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement or a maximum PRS bandwidth supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement,” and “Siomina is totally silent about the above- identified features of amended claim 1, which require defining a UE capability including a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement or a maximum PRS bandwidth supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement, let alone determining measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs according thereto.” However, Siomina does teach as such as described below in the amended sections and in [0010], [0061] and [0126]. Thus, the broad claimed limitations are anticipated by Siomina.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Siomina (US 2012/0083288 A1, hereinafter Siomina)
Regarding claim 1, Siomina teaches a positioning measurement method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device ([Figure 2, 10] and [0015] timing information is enabling positioning measurement of the user equipment 10, and [0026] it should be understood that the term "user equipment" is a non-limiting term which means any wireless terminal, device or node), measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated positioning reference signals (PRSs) according to a configured UE capability ([Figure 2, step 205] and [0084] step 205 shows the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmitting multiple Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) or other reference signals in accordance with [0053] measurement delay requirements); and performing, by the terminal device ([Figure 2, 10]), positioning measurement according to the measurement delay requirement ([Figure 2, step 206] and [0085] step 206 depicts the user equipment 10 performing time measurements on the transmitted PRS transmitted from the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 in accordance with [0053] measurement delay requirements), wherein the UE capability comprises a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement ([0010] describes “PRSs are transmitted in a predefined pattern such as pre-defined positioning subframes grouped by a number N of consecutive subframes of PRS,” i.e. a pre-defined number of PRSs, which may include a maximum number); a maximum PRS bandwidth supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement; or a maximum receive timing difference supported by the terminal device ([0126] describes “the user equipment 10 signaling the indication to the positioning node 17 stores the timing information for a certain period, e.g., pre-defined or determined by the maximum length of the positioning sessions,” i.e. maximum length of time for the positioning sessions, i.e. a maximum receive timing difference. Additionally, [0042] specifically describes “the positioning assistance data may be used to assist when measuring time difference of arrival of different reference signals of the cells comprised in the positioning assistance data,” and the use of an “expected Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD)” in accordance with an “Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA)” being used in step 203 by the terminal device, i.e. a maximum receive timing difference supported by the terminal device).
Regarding claim 2, Siomina teaches the UE capability comprises a processing capability supported by the terminal device ([0107] the embodiments herein for enabling positioning of the user equipment 10 in the radio communications network may be implemented through one or more processors, such as a processing circuit 607 in Fig. 6, i.e. a processing capability supported by the terminal device).
Regarding claim 3, Siomina teaches the UE capability is a capability of supporting aggregation of multiple PRSs ([0026] a user equipment 10 is capable of carrier aggregation, [Figure 2] and [0084-0086] step 205 depicts the UE receiving a multitude of PRSs and aggregating said PRSs to perform positioning measurements as shown in step 206, from respective radio base stations 12, 13, 15 and respective PRSs, i.e. aggregation of multiple PRSs).
Regarding claim 4, Siomina teaches the multiple PRSs are PRSs of a same transmission/reception point (TRP); or the multiple PRSs are PRSs of different TRPs and the multiple PRSs correspond to a same quasi co-location (QCL) ([Figure 2: 12, 13, 15, and step 205] base stations 12, 13, 15 depict different transmission/reception points, step 205 shows a plurality of PRSs. FIG 1 shows the PRSs may correspond to the same QCL).
Regarding claim 5, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim1, further in view of Siomina teaches a terminal device ([Figure 2, 10]), comprising: a processor ([Figure 6, 607]) configured to- perform the elements listed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Siomina teaches the processor ([Figure 6, 607]) is specifically configured to determine the measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs according to configured aggregation level information and the UE capability ([Figure 2] and [0084] step 205 depicts the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) or other reference signals, with step 206 depicting the user equipment 10 determining measurement delay requirements in accordance with [0026 and 0079] aggregation level information).
Regarding claim 9, Siomina teaches the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a PRS period for the terminal device to support aggregation ([0111] step 502 in Fig. 5 shows the user equipment 10 may store the timing information for a time period, i.e. the ability to need to satisfy a limitation of a PRS period for aggregation).
Regarding claim 10, Siomina teaches the PRS period is less than or equal to a time length corresponding to a processing capability supported by the terminal device ([0111] step 502 in Fig. 5 shows the user equipment 10 may store the timing information for a time period, and [0092 and 0099] describes a time threshold for a PRS period being used in accordance with a processing capability supported by device 10, in which the period must be less than or equal to the time instructions).
Regarding claim 11, Siomina teaches the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a time offset for the terminal device to support aggregation ([0085] user equipment 10 may need to know offset timings and similar information to perform aggregation in step 206, i.e. a time offset limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Siomina teaches the multiple aggregated PRSs are configured with a same time offset ([0085] user equipment 10 may require a time offset limitation to perform aggregation. Additionally, [0048] states “at the same time, to identify the timing of the reference cell positioning occasion, timing information such as an absolute timing of the reference cell has to be known,” i.e. PRSs could be configured to have the same time offset), a same number of symbols, or a same QCL configuration ([Figure 2: 12, 13, 15, and step 205] base stations 12, 13, 15 depict different transmission/reception points, step 205 shows a plurality of PRSs and may correspond to the same or different QCL).
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Siomina teaches a network device ([Figure 2, 17] and [Figure 4, 17] positioning node, i.e. a network device), comprising: a transceiver ([Figure 4, 405]), configured to send a configured UE capability to a terminal device ([0083] “Step 204. The positioning node 17 transmits the message to the user equipment 10. The message comprises the positioning assistance data enabling positioning of the user equipment 10,” assistance data read as configured UE capability), wherein the UE capability is used by the terminal device to- perform the elements listed within claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Siomina teaches the transceiver ([Figure 4, 405]) is further configured to send configured aggregation level information to the terminal device ([Figure 3, step 305] and [0037 and 0096] the transceiver transmits information to the UE 10, which may include [0093, 0100, and 0137] aggregation level information), wherein the aggregation level information and the UE capability are used for determining the measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs ([Figure 5, steps 505 and 506] aggregation level information and other assistance data are used to perform positioning measurements such as determining the measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs).
Regarding claim 17, Siomina teaches a maximum receive timing difference supported by the terminal device is determined according to an expected time difference in the aggregation level information ([0042 and 0085] Fig. 2 steps 203 and 206 have positioning assistance data which may include Observed Time Difference, the user equipment 10 may also determine when to perform measurements on PRSs, i.e. if the receive timing difference is above the supported value the UE will not perform measurements. That is, a maximum receive timing difference exists).
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, Siomina teaches the transceiver is further configured to send configuration information to the terminal device ([Figure 3, step 305] and [0037 and 0096] the transceiver transmits to the UE 10 information, which is assistance data, assistance data read as configuration information, as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the configuration information is used for determining the aggregation level information ([Figure 2, steps 204 and 206] depicts UE 10 and network device 17 communicating to perform functions, which may include determining [0093, 0100, and 0137] aggregation level information).
Regarding claim 20, Siomina teaches the configuration information comprises one of the following: the multiple PRSs belong to PRS resources under different PRS resource sets of a same PRS layer; the multiple PRSs belong to different PRS resources under a same PRS resource set of a same PRS layer; and the multiple PRSs belong to PRS resources of different PRS layers ([Figure 2, step 205] and [0084] step 205 depicts the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmit Positioning Reference Signals (PRS), [0065 and 0138] the PRSs may belong to the same or different PRS layers as depicted in figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina (US
2012/0083288 A1, hereinafter Siomina) in view of Edge et al. (US 2020/0154240 A1, hereinafter Edge).
Regarding claim 7, Siomina does not specifically teach the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers and/or a maximum aggregation bandwidth supported by the terminal device for aggregation. However, Edge teaches a method for [0003] increasing transmissions of a positioning reference signal (PRS) at each of a plurality of transmitters, and the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers ([0026-0027] describes the ability to increase or decrease the allocation of frequency for PRS transmission, showing a maximum amount of PRS frequency layers must exist in order to need to allocate more layers, and [0051] whether the UE 105 supports said measurements of DL PRS on an uplink frequency i.e. satisfying a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers) and/or a maximum aggregation bandwidth supported by the terminal device for aggregation ([0050] for each supported type of increased PRS resource allocation, the location server (or gNB 110) can also indicate the available amounts of increased PRS resource allocation such as available (or maximum) PRS bandwidth values, available (or maximum) numbers of PRS subframes per positioning occasion and/or one or more DL PRS configurations available on an UL carrier frequency, i.e. a maximum aggregation bandwidth and further showing a maximum number or PRS layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers and/or maximum aggregation bandwidth, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Regarding claim 8, Siomina does not specifically teach the maximum number of PRS layers is less than or equal to a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement, and the maximum aggregation bandwidth is less than or equal to a maximum PRS bandwidth supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement. However, Edge teaches as such ([0051] the UE 105 is able to measure, the maximum PRS resource allocation (e.g., the maximum PRS bandwidth and/or maximum number of subframes per PRS positioning occasion), and whether the UE 105 supports measurements, i.e. ensuring the both the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers and maximum aggregation bandwidth are less than or equal to their respective thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers and/or maximum aggregation bandwidth in accordance with PRS, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Regarding claims 15, Siomina is not relied on for the claim language the maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement is determined according to a number of layers in the aggregation level information. However, Edge teaches the maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement is determined (as described in independent claims 1, 5, and 15, see [0051]) according to a number of layers in the aggregation level information ([0026-0027] describes the ability to increase or decrease the allocation of frequency for PRS transmission, showing a maximum amount of PRS frequency layers must exist in order to need to allocate more layers, and [0051] whether the UE 105 supports said measurements of DL PRS on an uplink frequency i.e. satisfying a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers to help determine a maximum number of PRSs, and a maximum number of PRSs, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Regarding claim 16, Siomina teaches -supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement is determined according to an aggregation bandwidth in the aggregation level information ([0042] describes positioning assistance data for the terminal device which may include bandwidth information within [0026 and 0079] aggregation level information).
Siomina does not specially teach a maximum PRS bandwidth- However, Edge teaches as such ([0050] for each supported type of increased PRS resource allocation, the location server (or gNB 110) can also indicate the available amounts of increased PRS resource allocation such as available (or maximum) PRS bandwidth values, i.e. a maximum aggregation bandwidth, which is in accordance with PRS, [0051] also describes the use of a maximum PRS bandwidth, in accordance with the terminal device transmitting its capabilities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations a of maximum aggregation bandwidth in accordance with PRS, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Spear, Stephen L. et al. (2005). Timing advance determinations in wireless communications devices and methods (US 2005/0053099 A1). Filed 2003-09-05. Discloses a method in a wireless communications device including obtaining timing advance, for example, by determining a timing advance based on a distance of the wireless device from a base transceiver station. (abstract)
Kazmi, Muhammad Ali et al. (2023). Positioning timing measurement procedure under timing offset change (US 2023/0228837 A1). Filed 2021-05-12. Discloses a method for a network node or wireless device (WD) to communicate with another WD or network node, which may include operational tasks such as discarding the timing measurement, restarting the timing measurement, extending the measurement time, informing another node about a change in the FTO or informing another node about an action taken by the network node or WD. (abstract)
Sahin, Taylan et al. (2025). Sidelink signal positioning coordination based on user device capability (US 2025/0008537 A1). Filed 2021-10-25. Discloses a method which includes controlling transmitting a target user node to be positioned to one or more other user nodes, which includes sidelink positioning capabilities. (abstract)
Davydov, Alexei et al. (2018). Lte-a systems and method of drs based positioning (US 9986373 B2). Filed 2015-03-19. Discloses transmissions between a UE and a BS, wherein the transmissions may be triggered by the location server or another entity requesting the UE location. (abstract)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699