DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/06/2023 and 05/02/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In other words, claim 12 recites “…the time offset, a number of symbols or a QCL configuration is the same.” It is unclear what “is the same” means, what are these features being compared to? Appropriate correction is required.
The following art rejection is based on the best understanding of 112(b) rejection as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siomina (US 2012/0083288 A1, hereinafter Siomina).
Regarding claim 1, Siomina teaches a positioning measurement method, comprising: determining, by a terminal device ([Figure 2, 10] and [0015] timing information is enabling positioning measurement of the user equipment 10, and [0026] it should be understood that the term "user equipment" is a non-limiting term which means any wireless terminal, device or node), measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated positioning reference signals (PRSs) according to a configured UE capability ([Figure 2, step 205] and [0084] step 205 shows the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmitting multiple Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) or other reference signals in accordance with [0053] measurement delay requirements); and performing, by the terminal device ([Figure 2, 10]), positioning measurement according to the measurement delay requirement ([Figure 2, step 206] and [0085] step 206 depicts the user equipment 10 performing time measurements on the transmitted PRS transmitted from the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 in accordance with [0053] measurement delay requirements).
Regarding claim 2, Siomina teaches the UE capability comprises at least one of: a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement, a maximum PRS bandwidth supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement, a maximum receive timing difference supported by the terminal device, a processing capability supported by the terminal device ([0107] the embodiments herein for enabling positioning of the user equipment 10 in the radio communications network may be implemented through one or more processors, such as a processing circuit 607 in Fig. 6, i.e. a processing capability supported by the terminal device. [0042 and 0085] Fig. 2 steps 203 and 206 have positioning assistance data which may include Observed Time Difference, the user equipment 10 may also determine when to perform measurements on PRSs, i.e. if the receive timing difference is above the supported value, the UE will not perform measurements, i.e. a maximum receive timing difference supported by the terminal device).
Regarding claim 3, Siomina teaches the UE capability is a capability of supporting aggregation of multiple PRSs ([0026] a user equipment 10 is capable of carrier aggregation, [Figure 2] and [0084-0086] step 205 depicts the UE receiving a multitude of PRSs and aggregating said PRSs to perform positioning measurements as shown in step 206, from respective radio base stations 12, 13, 15 and respective PRSs, i.e. aggregation of multiple PRSs).
Regarding claim 4, Siomina teaches the multiple PRSs are PRSs of a same transmission/reception point (TRP); or the multiple PRSs are PRSs of different TRPs and the multiple PRSs correspond to a same quasi co-location (QCL) ([Figure 2: 12, 13, 15, and step 205] base stations 12, 13, 15 depict different transmission/reception points, step 205 shows a plurality of PRSs. FIG 1 shows the PRSs may correspond to the same QCL).
Regarding claim 5, Siomina teaches a terminal device ([Figure 2, 10]), comprising: a processor ([Figure 6, 607]), configured to determine measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated positioning reference signals (PRSs) according to a configured UE capability ([Figure 2, step 205] and [0084] step 205 depicts the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) or other reference signals, in accordance with [0053] measurement delay requirements, i.e. the UE will determine measurement delay requirements); and perform positioning measurement according to the measurement delay requirement ([Figure 2, step 206] and [0085] step 206 depicts the user equipment 10 may perform positioning measurements on the transmitted PRSs transmitted from the different radio base stations 12, 13, and 15).
Regarding claim 6, Siomina teaches the processor ([Figure 6, 607]) is specifically configured to determine the measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs according to configured aggregation level information and the UE capability ([Figure 2] and [0084] step 205 depicts the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmitting Positioning Reference Signals (PRS) or other reference signals, with step 206 depicting the user equipment 10 determining measurement delay requirements in accordance with [0026 and 0079] aggregation level information).
Regarding claim 9, Siomina teaches the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a PRS period for the terminal device to support aggregation ([0111] step 502 in Fig. 5 shows the user equipment 10 may store the timing information for a time period, i.e. the ability to need to satisfy a limitation of a PRS period for aggregation).
Regarding claim 10, Siomina teaches the PRS period is less than or equal to a time length corresponding to a processing capability supported by the terminal device ([0111] step 502 in Fig. 5 shows the user equipment 10 may store the timing information for a time period, and [0092 and 0099] describes a time threshold for a PRS period being used in accordance with a processing capability supported by device 10, in which the period must be less than or equal to the time instructions).
Regarding claim 11, Siomina teaches the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a time offset for the terminal device to support aggregation ([0085] user equipment 10 may need to know offset timings and similar information to perform aggregation in step 206, i.e. a time offset limitation).
Regarding claim 12, Siomina teaches the time offset ([0085] user equipment 10 may require a time offset limitation to perform aggregation), a number of symbols or a QCL configuration ([Figure 2: 12, 13, 15, and step 205] base stations 12, 13, 15 depict different transmission/reception points, step 205 shows a plurality of PRSs and may correspond to the same or different QCL) -is the same (note: there is no indication or description that any limitation exists that would not allow for configuration values to be “the same”).
Regarding claim 13, Siomina teaches a network device ([Figure 4, 17] positioning node, i.e. a network device), comprising: a transceiver ([Figure 4, 405]), configured to send a configured UE capability to a terminal device, wherein the UE capability is used by the terminal device to determine measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated positioning reference signals (PRSs), and the measurement delay requirement is used for the terminal device to perform positioning measurement ([0097] FIG. 4 is a block diagram depicting the positioning node 17 for enabling positioning of a user equipment 10 and therefore measurement delay requirements of PRSs, [Figure 2, 204 and step 206] depicts UE 10 and network device 17 communicating to perform positioning measurements and measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated positioning reference signals (PRSs)).
Regarding claim 14, Siomina teaches the transceiver ([Figure 4, 405]) is further configured to send configured aggregation level information to the terminal device ([Figure 3, step 305] and [0037 and 0096] the transceiver transmits information to the UE 10, which may include [0093, 0100, and 0137] aggregation level information), wherein the aggregation level information and the UE capability are used for determining the measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs ([Figure 5, steps 505 and 506] aggregation level information and other assistance data are used to perform positioning measurements such as determining the measurement delay requirement of multiple aggregated PRSs).
Regarding claim 17, Siomina teaches a maximum receive timing difference supported by the terminal device is determined according to an expected time difference in the aggregation level information ([0042 and 0085] Fig. 2 steps 203 and 206 have positioning assistance data which may include Observed Time Difference, the user equipment 10 may also determine when to perform measurements on PRSs, i.e. if the receive timing difference is above the supported value the UE will not perform measurements. That is, a maximum receive timing difference exists).
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, Siomina teaches the transceiver is further configured to send configuration information to the terminal device ([Figure 3, step 305] and [0037 and 0096] the transceiver transmits to the UE 10 information, which is assistance data, assistance data read as configuration information, as shown in Fig. 5), wherein the configuration information is used for determining the aggregation level information ([Figure 2, steps 204 and 206] depicts UE 10 and network device 17 communicating to perform functions, which may include determining [0093, 0100, and 0137] aggregation level information).
Regarding claim 20, Siomina teaches the configuration information comprises one of the following: the multiple PRSs belong to PRS resources under different PRS resource sets of a same PRS layer; the multiple PRSs belong to different PRS resources under a same PRS resource set of a same PRS layer; and the multiple PRSs belong to PRS resources of different PRS layers ([Figure 2, step 205] and [0084] step 205 depicts the different radio base stations 12, 13, 15 respectively transmit Positioning Reference Signals (PRS), [0065 and 0138] the PRSs may belong to the same or different PRS layers as depicted in figures 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina (US 2012/0083288 A1, hereinafter Siomina) in view of Edge et al. (US 2020/0154240 A1, hereinafter Edge).
Regarding claim 7, Siomina does not specifically teach the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers and/or a maximum aggregation bandwidth supported by the terminal device for aggregation. However, Edge teaches a method for [0003] increasing transmissions of a positioning reference signal (PRS) at each of a plurality of transmitters, and the aggregation level information satisfies a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers ([0026-0027] describes the ability to increase or decrease the allocation of frequency for PRS transmission, showing a maximum amount of PRS frequency layers must exist in order to need to allocate more layers, and [0051] whether the UE 105 supports said measurements of DL PRS on an uplink frequency i.e. satisfying a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers) and/or a maximum aggregation bandwidth supported by the terminal device for aggregation ([0050] for each supported type of increased PRS resource allocation, the location server (or gNB 110) can also indicate the available amounts of increased PRS resource allocation such as available (or maximum) PRS bandwidth values, available (or maximum) numbers of PRS subframes per positioning occasion and/or one or more DL PRS configurations available on an UL carrier frequency, i.e. a maximum aggregation bandwidth and further showing a maximum number or PRS layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers and/or maximum aggregation bandwidth, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Regarding claim 8, Siomina does not specifically teach the maximum number of PRS layers is less than or equal to a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement, and the maximum aggregation bandwidth is less than or equal to a maximum PRS bandwidth supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement. However, Edge teaches as such ([0051] the UE 105 is able to measure, the maximum PRS resource allocation (e.g., the maximum PRS bandwidth and/or maximum number of subframes per PRS positioning occasion), and whether the UE 105 supports measurements, i.e. ensuring the both the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers and maximum aggregation bandwidth are less than or equal to their respective thresholds).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers and/or maximum aggregation bandwidth in accordance with PRS, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Regarding claims 15, Siomina teaches a maximum number of PRSs supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement is determined ([0010] PRSs are transmitted in a predefined pattern such as pre-defined positioning subframes grouped by a number N of consecutive subframes of PRS, NPRS for short, i.e. maximum number of transmitting PRSs).
Siomina does not specifically teach -according to a number of layers in the aggregation level information. However, Edge teaches as such ([0026-0027] describes the ability to increase or decrease the allocation of frequency for PRS transmission, showing a maximum amount of PRS frequency layers must exist in order to need to allocate more layers, and [0051] whether the UE 105 supports said measurements of DL PRS on an uplink frequency i.e. satisfying a limitation of a maximum number of PRS layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations of maximum number of PRS layers to help determine a maximum number of PRSs, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Regarding claim 16, Siomina teaches -supported by the terminal device for simultaneous measurement is determined according to an aggregation bandwidth in the aggregation level information ([0042] describes positioning assistance data for the terminal device which may include bandwidth information within [0026 and 0079] aggregation level information).
Siomina does not specially teach a maximum PRS bandwidth- However, Edge teaches as such ([0050] for each supported type of increased PRS resource allocation, the location server (or gNB 110) can also indicate the available amounts of increased PRS resource allocation such as available (or maximum) PRS bandwidth values, i.e. a maximum aggregation bandwidth, which is accordance with PRS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siomina to include the limitations a of maximum aggregation bandwidth in accordance with PRS, as taught by Edge, in order to help [0023] obtain location measurements of PRSs and [0003] improve and increase the transmissions of the PRSs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Da, Ren et al. (2020). Positioning method and positioning device (US 2020/0408871 A1). Filed 2019-01-03. Discloses a method of measuring, by the UE, PRSs sent by a plurality of positioning reference devices. (abstract)
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2020). Maximum number of path loss or uplink spatial transmit beam reference signals for downlink or uplink positioning reference signals (US 2020/0382978 A1). Filed 2020-05-11. Discloses a method for determining the maximum number of path loss or uplink spatial transmit beam reference signals for downlink or uplink positioning reference signals. [0002]
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2020). Group delay timing accuracy for positioning in new radio (US 2020/0351814 A1). Filed 2020-04-29. Discloses a method for a UE to determine properties associated with PRSs and accuracy levels. (abstract)
Akkarakaran, Sony et al. (2020). Systems and methods for positioning reference signal staggering configuration (US 2020/0344712 A1). Filed 2020-04-09. Discloses a method for resolving aliasing ambiguities produced when using PRSs for supporting location services for UEs. (abstract and [0002])
Hunukumbure, Mythri et al. (2020). Methods and apparatus for transmitting and receiving a positioning reference signal in a wireless communication system (US 2020/0267686 A1). Filed 2020-02-18. Discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) to receive information associated with positioning of the UE including PRSs. (abstract)
Modarres Razavi, Sara et al. (2019). Conditional termination of rstd measurements (US 2019/0261308 A1). Filed 2017-11-03. Discloses a method for a wireless device to report positioning measurements. (abstract)
Siomina, Iana et al. (2013). Fingerprinting with radio channel related information (US 20130109405 A1). Filed 2012-03-28. Discloses a method for a radio node for fingerprinting positioning measurements with the use of radio channel related information. [0001]
Siomina, Iana et al. (2012). Radio network node and method for using positioning gap indication for enhancing positioning performance (US 20120252487 A1). Filed 2012-04-03. Discloses a wireless communications network in which positioning measurements may be performed on different frequencies in accordance with measurement gaps. (abstract)
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699