Claims 1,3, and 4 are pending.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant respectfully contends that the above mentioned "MBS configuration information" is configuration information for idle/inactive UEs to continuously receive MBS services, but this information does not configure whether the MBS configuration information received in a connected state is continuously available.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees 0188 In the related art, the UE in the RRC connected state releases all the radio resources configured/established through the RRC dedicated message in the RRC connected state when switching to the RRC idle state. Also in paragraph 0190 Hong discloses To efficiently/continuously perform MBS data reception, the UE receiving MBS data may receive MBS data by storing/maintaining/using the MBS configuration information configured through the RRC dedicated message when switching to the RRC idle state. Therefore, the cited reference discloses MBS configuration continuously used RRC connected state.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as Hong et al, US 20230380002 A1, in view of Stare et al, US 20230370893 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses A communication control method performed by a user equipment supporting multicast broadcast services (MBS) ([0006] a method for processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data by a UE.), the communication control method comprising:
receiving, when the user equipment is in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state, by the user equipment from a base station([0181-0182] The multicast-based MBS may be basically received by the UE in the RRC connected state. The base station may indicate, to the UE in the RRC connected state, the MBS configuration through an RRC dedicated message, and the UE may receive MBS data based thereupon.),
an RRC Reconfiguration message comprising MBS configuration available for MBS reception in the RRC connected state([0165] The base station may indicate a modified/changed MBS configuration through a dedicated RRC reconfiguration message for one or more UEs in the RRC connected state receiving multicast-based MBS data.);
and receiving an RRC Release message from the base station, the RRC Release message used for transitioning the user equipment from the RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state ([0121] The information may be received by the UE through the RRC connection release message. Upon receiving the RRC connection release message, the UE may switch its state from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state or RRC idle state.),
wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state ([0290] [0297] According to another embodiment, the receiver 1430 may receive an RRC connection release message including information for instructing whether to activate the MBS session from the base station before switching to the RRC inactive state. The information may be received by the UE through the RRC connection release message. Upon receiving the RRC connection release message, the controller 1410 may switch its state from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state or RRC idle state. Besides, the controller 1410 controls the overall operation of the UE 1400 necessary for MBS configuration and MBS data reception necessary for performing the above-described embodiments.),
and the communication method further comprising: determining to continuously use the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state, in response to the information included in the RRC Release message indicating that the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state([0188] [0190] In the related art, the UE in the RRC connected state releases all the radio resources configured/established through the RRC dedicated message in the RRC connected state when switching to the RRC idle state. However, it may be preferable that the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state receives the MBS by using the configuration/setting information that has been applied by receiving the RRC reconfiguration message in the RRC connected state. To efficiently/continuously perform MBS data reception, the UE receiving MBS data may receive MBS data by storing/maintaining/using the MBS configuration information configured through the RRC dedicated message when switching to the RRC idle state.).
Hong does not disclose wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state.
However, Stare does disclose wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state([0010][0102-0103] The device further maintains a configuration for receiving the multicast transmission, and continues to receive the multicast transmission in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. One possible method that could be employed by the network is to release some UEs from RRC Connected to RRC Inactive or RRC Idle (RRC Inactive/Idle). These UEs could then keep relevant parts of their RRC Connected configuration and continue to receive the MBS service in RRC Inactive/Idle by receiving the same (i.e. without duplication) G-RNTI-based PDCCH and PDSCH signals that are received by RRC Connected UEs.. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hong with wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state as taught by Stare. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the total number of UEs that can receive a multimedia broadcast service (MBS) in a cell with required QoS. (Stare, [0005])
Regarding claim 3, Hong discloses A user equipment supporting multicast broadcast services (MBS) ([0006] a method for processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data by a UE.), the user equipment comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, when the user equipment is in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state, from a base station ([0181-0182] The multicast-based MBS may be basically received by the UE in the RRC connected state. The base station may indicate, to the UE in the RRC connected state, the MBS configuration through an RRC dedicated message, and the UE may receive MBS data based thereupon. ),
an RRC Reconfiguration message comprising MBS configuration available for MBS reception in the RRC connected state ([0165] The base station may indicate a modified/changed MBS configuration through a dedicated RRC reconfiguration message for one or more UEs in the RRC connected state receiving multicast-based MBS data.),
and a controller, wherein the receiver is configured to receive an RRC Release message from the base station, the RRC Release message used for transitioning the user equipment from the RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state ([0121] The information may be received by the UE through the RRC connection release message. Upon receiving the RRC connection release message, the UE may switch its state from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state or RRC idle state.),
and the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state ([0290] [0297] According to another embodiment, the receiver 1430 may receive an RRC connection release message including information for instructing whether to activate the MBS session from the base station before switching to the RRC inactive state. The information may be received by the UE through the RRC connection release message. Upon receiving the RRC connection release message, the controller 1410 may switch its state from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state or RRC idle state. Besides, the controller 1410 controls the overall operation of the UE 1400 necessary for MBS configuration and MBS data reception necessary for performing the above-described embodiments.),
the controller is configured to determine to continuously use the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state, in response to the information included in the RRC Release message indicating that the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state([0190] However, it may be preferable that the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state receives the MBS by using the configuration/setting information that has been applied by receiving the RRC reconfiguration message in the RRC connected state. To efficiently/continuously perform MBS data reception, the UE receiving MBS data may receive MBS data by storing/maintaining/using the MBS configuration information configured through the RRC dedicated message when switching to the RRC idle state.).
Hong does not disclose and the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state
However, Stare does disclose and the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state([0010][0102-0103] The device further maintains a configuration for receiving the multicast transmission, and continues to receive the multicast transmission in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. One possible method that could be employed by the network is to release some UEs from RRC Connected to RRC Inactive or RRC Idle (RRC Inactive/Idle). These UEs could then keep relevant parts of their RRC Connected configuration and continue to receive the MBS service in RRC Inactive/Idle by receiving the same (i.e. without duplication) G-RNTI-based PDCCH and PDSCH signals that are received by RRC Connected UEs.. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hong with wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state as taught by Stare. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the total number of UEs that can receive a multimedia broadcast service (MBS) in a cell with required QoS. (Stare, [0005])
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses an apparatus configured to control a user equipment supporting multicast broadcast services (MBS) ([0006] a method for processing multicast and broadcast services (MBS) data by a UE.), the apparatus comprising:
a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, the processor configured to([0315] The software code may be stored in a memory unit and driven by a processor.):
receive, when the user equipment is in Radio Resource Control (RRC) connected state, from a base station([0181-0182] The multicast-based MBS may be basically received by the UE in the RRC connected state. The base station may indicate, to the UE in the RRC connected state, the MBS configuration through an RRC dedicated message, and the UE may receive MBS data based thereupon. ),
an RRC Reconfiguration message comprising MBS configuration available for MBS reception in the RRC connected state([0165] The base station may indicate a modified/changed MBS configuration through a dedicated RRC reconfiguration message for one or more UEs in the RRC connected state receiving multicast-based MBS data.),
and receive an RRC Release message from the base station, the RRC Release message used for transitioning the user equipment from the RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state([0121] The information may be received by the UE through the RRC connection release message. Upon receiving the RRC connection release message, the UE may switch its state from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state or RRC idle state.),
wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state([0290] [0297] According to another embodiment, the receiver 1430 may receive an RRC connection release message including information for instructing whether to activate the MBS session from the base station before switching to the RRC inactive state. The information may be received by the UE through the RRC connection release message. Upon receiving the RRC connection release message, the controller 1410 may switch its state from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state or RRC idle state. Besides, the controller 1410 controls the overall operation of the UE 1400 necessary for MBS configuration and MBS data reception necessary for performing the above-described embodiments.),
and the processor is configured to determine to continuously use the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state, in response to the information included in the RRC Release message indicating that the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state([0190] However, it may be preferable that the UE in the RRC idle/inactive state receives the MBS by using the configuration/setting information that has been applied by receiving the RRC reconfiguration message in the RRC connected state. To efficiently/continuously perform MBS data reception, the UE receiving MBS data may receive MBS data by storing/maintaining/using the MBS configuration information configured through the RRC dedicated message when switching to the RRC idle state.).
Hong does not disclose wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state.
However, Stare does disclose wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state ([0010][0102-0103] The device further maintains a configuration for receiving the multicast transmission, and continues to receive the multicast transmission in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode. One possible method that could be employed by the network is to release some UEs from RRC Connected to RRC Inactive or RRC Idle (RRC Inactive/Idle). These UEs could then keep relevant parts of their RRC Connected configuration and continue to receive the MBS service in RRC Inactive/Idle by receiving the same (i.e. without duplication) G-RNTI-based PDCCH and PDSCH signals that are received by RRC Connected UEs.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hong with wherein the RRC Release message includes information for determining whether the MBS configuration received in the RRC connected state can be continuously used in the RRC inactive state as taught by Stare. The motivation for doing so would be to increase the total number of UEs that can receive a multimedia broadcast service (MBS) in a cell with required QoS. (Stare, [0005])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYA TEON NELSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419