DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09-08-2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 13, 15, 20, and 24 have been amended.
No new claims have been introduced.
No claims have been canceled.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-26 and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US 20230353993 A1) in view of Hirata (US 20180276990 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Hwang discloses, receiving position data associated with one or more vehicles (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group) based on a positioning request (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group); and controlling a traffic control device (Hwang: [0202] the RSU may inform vehicles entering a road control section on a lane in a specific direction of a road restriction, receive vehicle status information from each vehicle, and perform grouping on the vehicles based on a traffic flow control device (or traffic flow control algorithm) or a flow control device. In other words, in the negotiation step, the RSU may stop vehicles approaching the road control section in the specific direction, perform grouping on the stopped vehicles, and then determine whether to form a group allowed to enter the road control section based on the grouping) based on road congestion information (Hwang: [0253] the proposed disclosure proposes an RSU technology for increasing traffic flow in a road under road construction. That is, an RSU may measure the waiting time of vehicles based on interactive V2X communication between the vehicles and RSU and then provide fair opportunities to the vehicles), the road congestion information based on the position data (Hwang: [0207-0211] The RSU 110 may receive a second signal including information on a stopping time (i.e., waiting time based on the first signal) from each of the plurality of vehicles … the RSU 110 may group the vehicles 210, 220, 230, 240, and 250 into group A1 and the vehicles 260, 270, and 280 into group A2 based on the information on the stopping time ... On the other hand, if the RSU 110 switches to the above-described mode change step (S3) before the group size of group A1 becomes greater than or equal to a first threshold size, the RSU 110 may recalculate the waiting time of each of the plurality of vehicles based on a time at which the mode change step S3 ends. Based on the recalculated waiting time, the RSU 110 may transmit the third signal to group A1 including vehicles that wait for a long time so that the vehicles may first pass the road control section ... when vehicles drive smoothly, the RSU 110 may configure group A1 with the predetermined minimum number of vehicles (or minimum group size). In this case, the delay caused by the mode change step may be minimized. For a middle case, vehicles each having a waiting time greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold time) and speeds of the one or more vehicles (Hwang: [0007] The V2X message may include location information, dynamic information, and attribute information. For example, the UE may transmit a periodic message type CAM and/or an event triggered message type DENM to another UE. [0008] For example, the CAM may include dynamic state information about a vehicle such as direction and speed, vehicle static data such as dimensions, and basic vehicle information such as external lighting conditions and route details. For example, a UE may broadcast the CAM, and the CAM latency may be less than 100 ms. For example, when an unexpected situation such as a breakdown of the vehicle or an accident occurs, the UE may generate a DENM and transmit the same to another UE. For example, all vehicles within the transmission coverage of the UE may receive the CAM and/or DENM).
The examiner respectfully submits that Hwang discloses “the road congestion information based on the position data (Hwang: see [0207-0211] group size threshold and wait time (examiner: congestion))”.
However, should it be found that Hwang fails to disclose congestion information based on the position data, in the same field of endeavor, Hirata discloses, the road congestion information based on the position data (Hirata: [0077] In the example shown in FIG. 8, each of the vehicle positions at a certain time is arranged on the road 301. In FIG. 8, a circle represents a vehicle 305. The position of each vehicle can be indicated by a point on a two-dimensional plane, and the arrangement of the vehicles can be recognized as a formation constituted by the vehicles 305. That is, the arrangement of the vehicles can be recognized as the formation of a vehicle group. In addition, a dynamic change of the formation can be grasped by comparing formations at different time points to each other. Further, in a case in which the road 301 is divided into areas, for example, areas A1 to A5, the density of vehicles in each of the areas can be calculated based on the number of vehicles included in each of the areas. The more the number of the vehicles in an area is, the higher the density of vehicles in the area becomes. The density of vehicles can be considered as a congestion degree of vehicles. The density of vehicles can be calculated based on a distance between vehicles. In this case, the smaller the distance between most adjacent vehicles is, the higher the density of vehicles becomes), for the benefit of a calculation unit registering a time at which the traffic signal is switched based on the time interval and the change in the density of vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hwang to include dynamic density values taught by Hirata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to calculate registering a time at which the traffic signal is switched based on the time interval and the change in the density of vehicles.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, determining positions of the one or more vehicles along a portion of a road based on the position data, speeds of the one or more vehicles, or a combination thereof (Hwang: [0204] The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may proceed with the operation and/or negotiation step when it is confirmed that all vehicles included in the specific group leave the road control section); and determining the road congestion information based on the positions of the one or more vehicles, the speeds of the one or more vehicles, map data associated with the road, or a combination thereof (Hwang: [0215] Upon receiving the road traffic conditions, each vehicle may inform the RSU of a time when the vehicle starts waiting (or a time when the vehicle starts stopping). The RSU may collect the stopping time and group vehicles into a plurality of groups based on a flow control algorithm. Thereafter, when the entry into the road control section is allowed, the RSU may start vehicles for each group).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, the road congestion information (Hwang: [0253] the proposed disclosure proposes an RSU technology for increasing traffic flow in a road under road construction. That is, an RSU may measure the waiting time of vehicles based on interactive V2X communication between the vehicles and RSU and then provide fair opportunities to the vehicles) indicates vehicle density of the one or more vehicles along a portion of a road, inter-vehicle spacing between the one or more vehicles, or a combination thereof (Hwang: [0210] if the number of vehicles that wait for more than the specific threshold time among the plurality of vehicles increases due to a delay caused by the mode change step, the RSU 110 may include vehicles such that the group size of group A1 does not exceed a maximum group size).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, broadcasting the positioning request via a sidelink communication (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, transmitting the positioning request via a sidelink communication (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group) to a group of vehicles that are located within a particular range from a location of the network entity (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, the position data is received from the one or more vehicles via one or more sidelink communications (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, the position data is included in one or more basic safety messages (BSMs), one or more cooperative awareness messages (CAMs), or a combination thereof (Hwang: [0204] conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Hwang also discloses, controlling the traffic control device includes setting a signaling frequency of the traffic control device based on the road congestion information (Hwang: [0202] In the negotiation step (S1), the RSU may inform vehicles entering a road control section on a lane in a specific direction of a road restriction, receive vehicle status information from each vehicle, and perform grouping on the vehicles based on a traffic flow control device (or traffic flow control algorithm) or a flow control device; see [0208-0211] group size thresholds and wait time).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Hwang also discloses, setting the signaling frequency (Hwang: [ABS] transmitting a first signal requesting standby for entrance to the particular interval; [0251) includes increasing the signaling frequency (Hwang: [ABS] a first signal requesting standby for entrance to the particular interval; receiving a second signal in response to the first signal from each of multiple vehicles; and transmitting, on the basis of the second signal, a third signal for instructing entrance to the particular interval, wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold size) based on the road congestion information (Hwang: [ABS] a first signal requesting standby for entrance to the particular interval; receiving a second signal in response to the first signal from each of multiple vehicles; and transmitting, on the basis of the second signal, a third signal for instructing entrance to the particular interval, wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold size).
Hwang does not explicitly recite the terminology, setting the signaling frequency includes increasing the signaling frequency based on the road congestion information, However, Hwang discloses communicating with vehicle and groups waiting in queue. Which implies or reasonably suggest that a frequency would increase or decrease as vehicle volume expands and contracts.
Hwang does not explicitly disclose indicating a substantially consistent inter-vehicle spacing between the one or more vehicles and a decrease in vehicle density along a portion of a road.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hirata discloses, indicating a substantially consistent inter-vehicle spacing between the one or more vehicles (Hirata: [0012-0013] a determination unit determining changes in a density of the vehicles by using the arrangement information; and a calculation unit calculating a display change cycle indicating a time period of switching of a display of the traffic signal based on a time interval between the changes in density of the vehicles ... determining changes in density of the vehicles by using the arrangement information; and calculating a display change cycle indicating a time period of switching of a display of the traffic signal based on a time interval between the changes in density of the vehicles) and a decrease in vehicle density along a portion of a road (Hirata: [0104] it is determined that the traffic signal changes to green when the density of vehicles in the area 307 neighboring the traffic signal at far side is changed from zero to sparse as well as the density of vehicles in the area 306 neighboring the traffic signal at this side is changed from dense to sparse. That is, it is determined that the traffic signal changes to green when the density of vehicles traveling toward the traffic signal is changed from dense to sparse and the density of vehicles traveling away from the traffic signal is changed from sparse to dense. As a result, it is possible to estimate the time at which the traffic signal changes to green. Thus, it is possible to estimate the display change cycle for each color of the traffic signal; [0107-0108, 0110-0112, 0116, 0129]), for the benefit of managing fuel efficiency and safety.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hwang to include spacing monitoring density taught by Hirata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage fuel efficiency and safety.
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Hwang also discloses, setting the signaling frequency (Hwang: [ABS]; [0251]) includes decreasing the signaling frequency (Hwang: [ABS]; [0251]) based on the road congestion information (Hwang: [ABS]; [0251]).
Hwang does not explicitly recite the terminology, setting the signaling frequency includes decreasing the signaling frequency based on the road congestion information, However, Hwang discloses communicating with vehicle and groups waiting in queue. Which implies or reasonably suggest that a frequency would increase or decrease as vehicle volume expands and contracts.
Hwang does not explicitly disclose, indicating a substantially consistent inter-vehicle spacing between the one or more vehicles and an increase in vehicle density along a portion of a road.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hirata discloses, indicating a substantially consistent inter-vehicle spacing between the one or more vehicles (Hirata: [0012-0013] a determination unit determining changes in a density of the vehicles by using the arrangement information; and a calculation unit calculating a display change cycle indicating a time period of switching of a display of the traffic signal based on a time interval between the changes in density of the vehicles ... determining changes in density of the vehicles by using the arrangement information; and calculating a display change cycle indicating a time period of switching of a display of the traffic signal based on a time interval between the changes in density of the vehicles) and an increase in vehicle density along a portion of a road (Hirata: [0103] it is determined that the traffic signal changes to red when the density of vehicles in the area 307 neighboring the traffic signal at far side is changed from sparse to zero as well as the density of vehicles in the area 306 neighboring the traffic signal at this side is changed from sparse to dense. That is, it is determined that a traffic signal changes to red when the density of vehicles traveling toward the traffic signal is changed from sparse to dense and the density of vehicles traveling away from the traffic signal is changed from dense to sparse. As a result, it is possible to estimate the time at which the traffic signal changes to red. Thus, it is possible to estimate the display change cycle of the traffic signal for each color of the traffic signal; [0107-0108, 0110-0112, 0116, 0129-0130]), for the benefit of managing fuel efficiency and safety.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hwang to include spacing monitoring density taught by Hirata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to manage fuel efficiency and safety.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Hwang also discloses, display a visual indicator according to the signaling frequency (Hwang: [0251] change the signal of the traffic light as or to the red light when transmitting the first signal … changing the signal of the traffic light to the green light … a control signal requesting to change the signal of the traffic light back to the red light).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Hirata also discloses, transmit traffic control messages to one or more additional vehicles according to the signaling frequency (Hirata: [0128] the vehicle group state determination unit determines that the traffic signal for the lane on which the host vehicle is traveling is switched to a state indicating permission of the right turn-only), the traffic control messages indicating permission to enter a road associated with the road congestion information (Hirata: [0128] the vehicle group state determination unit determines that the traffic signal for the lane on which the host vehicle is traveling is switched to a state indicating permission of the right turn-only).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Hwang discloses, a memory storing processor-readable code (Hwang: [0262] the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing a part or the entirety of processes controlled by the processor(s) 102 or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document); and at least one processor coupled to the memory (Hwang: [0262] the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing a part or the entirety of processes controlled by the processor(s) 102 or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document), the at least one processor configured to execute the processor-readable code (Hwang: [0262] the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing a part or the entirety of processes controlled by the processor(s) 102 or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document) to cause the at least one processor to: receive position data associated with one or more vehicles (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group) based on a positioning request (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group); and control a traffic control device (Hwang: [0202] the RSU may inform vehicles entering a road control section on a lane in a specific direction of a road restriction, receive vehicle status information from each vehicle, and perform grouping on the vehicles based on a traffic flow control device (or traffic flow control algorithm) or a flow control device. In other words, in the negotiation step, the RSU may stop vehicles approaching the road control section in the specific direction, perform grouping on the stopped vehicles, and then determine whether to form a group allowed to enter the road control section based on the grouping) based on road congestion information (Hwang: [0253] the proposed disclosure proposes an RSU technology for increasing traffic flow in a road under road construction. That is, an RSU may measure the waiting time of vehicles based on interactive V2X communication between the vehicles and RSU and then provide fair opportunities to the vehicles) and speeds of the one or more vehicles (Hwang: [0007] The V2X message may include location information, dynamic information, and attribute information. For example, the UE may transmit a periodic message type CAM and/or an event triggered message type DENM to another UE. [0008] For example, the CAM may include dynamic state information about a vehicle such as direction and speed, vehicle static data such as dimensions, and basic vehicle information such as external lighting conditions and route details. For example, a UE may broadcast the CAM, and the CAM latency may be less than 100 ms. For example, when an unexpected situation such as a breakdown of the vehicle or an accident occurs, the UE may generate a DENM and transmit the same to another UE. For example, all vehicles within the transmission coverage of the UE may receive the CAM and/or DENM).
The examiner respectfully submits that Hwang discloses “the road congestion information based on the position data (Hwang: see [0207-0211] group size threshold and wait time (examiner: congestion))”.
However, should it be found that Hwang fails to disclose congestion information based on the position data, in the same field of endeavor, Hirata discloses, the road congestion information based on the position data (Hirata: [0077] In the example shown in FIG. 8, each of the vehicle positions at a certain time is arranged on the road 301. In FIG. 8, a circle represents a vehicle 305. The position of each vehicle can be indicated by a point on a two-dimensional plane, and the arrangement of the vehicles can be recognized as a formation constituted by the vehicles 305. That is, the arrangement of the vehicles can be recognized as the formation of a vehicle group. In addition, a dynamic change of the formation can be grasped by comparing formations at different time points to each other. Further, in a case in which the road 301 is divided into areas, for example, areas A1 to A5, the density of vehicles in each of the areas can be calculated based on the number of vehicles included in each of the areas. The more the number of the vehicles in an area is, the higher the density of vehicles in the area becomes. The density of vehicles can be considered as a congestion degree of vehicles. The density of vehicles can be calculated based on a distance between vehicles. In this case, the smaller the distance between most adjacent vehicles is, the higher the density of vehicles becomes), for the benefit of a calculation unit registering a time at which the traffic signal is switched based on the time interval and the change in the density of vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hwang to include dynamic density values taught by Hirata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to calculate registering a time at which the traffic signal is switched based on the time interval and the change in the density of vehicles.
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Hwang also discloses, indicate permission for a particular number of additional vehicles to enter a road (Hwang: [0197]; [0203]; [0211] when vehicles drive smoothly, the RSU 110 may configure group A1 with the predetermined minimum number of vehicles (or minimum group size); [0214] The mode change step may end when the passage of all vehicles included in the group A1 is detected based on the group information on group A1; [0223] In addition, the first RSU (RSU 1) may additionally incorporate a new vehicle A into group A by additionally considering the stopping time of the new vehicle A, which newly enters the road control section) based on the road congestion information associated with a portion of the road (Hwang: [ABS] wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold size and whether group information is received from a second device).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 14, and further, Hwang also discloses, the road congestion information indicates inter-vehicle spacing between the one or more vehicles, or both (Hwang: [0207-0211] The RSU 110 may receive a second signal including information on a stopping time (i.e., waiting time based on the first signal) from each of the plurality of vehicles … the RSU 110 may group the vehicles 210, 220, 230, 240, and 250 into group A1 and the vehicles 260, 270, and 280 into group A2 based on the information on the stopping time ... On the other hand, if the RSU 110 switches to the above-described mode change step (S3) before the group size of group A1 becomes greater than or equal to a first threshold size, the RSU 110 may recalculate the waiting time of each of the plurality of vehicles based on a time at which the mode change step S3 ends. Based on the recalculated waiting time, the RSU 110 may transmit the third signal to group A1 including vehicles that wait for a long time so that the vehicles may first pass the road control section ... when vehicles drive smoothly, the RSU 110 may configure group A1 with the predetermined minimum number of vehicles (or minimum group size). In this case, the delay caused by the mode change step may be minimized. For a middle case, vehicles each having a waiting time greater than or equal to the predetermined threshold time), and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine the particular number of additional vehicles based on the inter-vehicle spacing, the vehicle speeds, or both (Hwang: [0197]; [0203]; [0211] when vehicles drive smoothly, the RSU 110 may configure group A1 with the predetermined minimum number of vehicles (or minimum group size); [0214] The mode change step may end when the passage of all vehicles included in the group A1 is detected based on the group information on group A1; [0223] In addition, the first RSU (RSU 1) may additionally incorporate a new vehicle A into group A by additionally considering the stopping time of the new vehicle A, which newly enters the road control section; [ABS] wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold size and whether group information is received from a second device).
In this case, allowing an entire group based upon a threshold group size, is interpreted as a particular number of additional vehicles.
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 14, and further, Hwang also discloses, indicate permission for the particular number of additional vehicles to enter the road (Hwang: [0197]; [0203]; [0211] when vehicles drive smoothly, the RSU 110 may configure group A1 with the predetermined minimum number of vehicles (or minimum group size); [0214] The mode change step may end when the passage of all vehicles included in the group A1 is detected based on the group information on group A1; [0223] In addition, the first RSU (RSU 1) may additionally incorporate a new vehicle A into group A by additionally considering the stopping time of the new vehicle A, which newly enters the road control section; [ABS] wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold size and whether group information is received from a second device), the at least one processor is configured to cause the traffic control device to display a visual indicator associated with permission to enter the road (Hwang: see [0251] red and green lights) for a time period that corresponds to the particular number of additional vehicles (Hwang: [0026] see signal indicating entry group of threshold size; see [0207-0214] for determining group threshold and limiting access to entry and predetermined mode change time).
In this case, allowing an entire group based upon a threshold group size, is interpreted as a particular number of additional vehicles
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 14, and further, Hwang also discloses, indicate permission for the particular number of additional vehicles to enter the road (Hwang: [0197]; [0203]; [0211] when vehicles drive smoothly, the RSU 110 may configure group A1 with the predetermined minimum number of vehicles (or minimum group size); [0214] The mode change step may end when the passage of all vehicles included in the group A1 is detected based on the group information on group A1; [0223] In addition, the first RSU (RSU 1) may additionally incorporate a new vehicle A into group A by additionally considering the stopping time of the new vehicle A, which newly enters the road control section; [ABS] wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold size and whether group information is received from a second device), the at least one processor is configured to cause the traffic control device to transmit traffic control messages to the particular number of additional vehicles (Hwang: [ABS] a third signal for instructing entrance to the particular interval, wherein the first device groups vehicles, which have been on standby for entrance for a first threshold time or more, among the multiple vehicles, into a first group, on the basis of information on an entrance standby time point according to the first signal included in the second signal, and the third signal is transmitted to the first group on the basis of whether a group size of the first group is equal to or larger than a first threshold), the traffic control messages indicating permission to enter the road (Hwang: [ABS]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Hwang also discloses, the network entity comprises the traffic control device (Hwang: [FIG. 15ab(RSU's)]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Hwang also discloses, the network entity is distinct from the traffic control device (Hwang: [FIG. 11b(110)]) and configured to control the traffic control device via communicating with the traffic control device (Hwang: [0199] Referring to FIG. 11(b), a BS or network supporting soft V2X communication may be configured on behalf of one of the two RSUs.).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Hwang discloses, means for receiving position data associated with one or more vehicles based on a positioning request (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group); and means for controlling a traffic control device based on road congestion information (Hwang: [0202] the RSU may inform vehicles entering a road control section on a lane in a specific direction of a road restriction, receive vehicle status information from each vehicle, and perform grouping on the vehicles based on a traffic flow control device (or traffic flow control algorithm) or a flow control device. In other words, in the negotiation step, the RSU may stop vehicles approaching the road control section in the specific direction, perform grouping on the stopped vehicles, and then determine whether to form a group allowed to enter the road control section based on the grouping; [0253] the proposed disclosure proposes an RSU technology for increasing traffic flow in a road under road construction. That is, an RSU may measure the waiting time of vehicles based on interactive V2X communication between the vehicles and RSU and then provide fair opportunities to the vehicles) and speeds of the one or more vehicles (Hwang: [0007] The V2X message may include location information, dynamic information, and attribute information. For example, the UE may transmit a periodic message type CAM and/or an event triggered message type DENM to another UE. [0008] For example, the CAM may include dynamic state information about a vehicle such as direction and speed, vehicle static data such as dimensions, and basic vehicle information such as external lighting conditions and route details. For example, a UE may broadcast the CAM, and the CAM latency may be less than 100 ms. For example, when an unexpected situation such as a breakdown of the vehicle or an accident occurs, the UE may generate a DENM and transmit the same to another UE. For example, all vehicles within the transmission coverage of the UE may receive the CAM and/or DENM).
The examiner respectfully submits that Hwang discloses “the road congestion information based on the position data (Hwang: see [0207-0211] group size threshold and wait time (examiner: congestion))”.
However, should it be found that Hwang fails to disclose congestion information based on the position data, in the same field of endeavor, Hirata discloses, the road congestion information based on the position data (Hirata: [0077] In the example shown in FIG. 8, each of the vehicle positions at a certain time is arranged on the road 301. In FIG. 8, a circle represents a vehicle 305. The position of each vehicle can be indicated by a point on a two-dimensional plane, and the arrangement of the vehicles can be recognized as a formation constituted by the vehicles 305. That is, the arrangement of the vehicles can be recognized as the formation of a vehicle group. In addition, a dynamic change of the formation can be grasped by comparing formations at different time points to each other. Further, in a case in which the road 301 is divided into areas, for example, areas A1 to A5, the density of vehicles in each of the areas can be calculated based on the number of vehicles included in each of the areas. The more the number of the vehicles in an area is, the higher the density of vehicles in the area becomes. The density of vehicles can be considered as a congestion degree of vehicles. The density of vehicles can be calculated based on a distance between vehicles. In this case, the smaller the distance between most adjacent vehicles is, the higher the density of vehicles becomes), for the benefit of a calculation unit registering a time at which the traffic signal is switched based on the time interval and the change in the density of vehicles.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Hwang to include dynamic density values taught by Hirata. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to calculate registering a time at which the traffic signal is switched based on the time interval and the change in the density of vehicles.
REGARDING CLAIM 21, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 20, and further, Hwang also discloses, the positioning request is transmitted periodically (Hwang: [0204] The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Hwang also discloses, a transmission frequency of the positioning request is based on a time of day, a day of a week, a month of a year, or a combination thereof (Hwang: [0026] The third signal may be transmitted to the first group depending on whether a group size of the first group is greater than or equal to a first threshold size and whether group information is received from a second device; [0132] report request indicator ... [0142] Location information about the transmitting UE or location (or distance/area) information about a target receiving UE (to which a request for SL HARQ feedback is made); [0204] The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group; [0232] an RSU may receive information about vehicles (first vehicles) entering a road control section from one end of the road control section from the first vehicles. The RSU may obtain information on vehicles (second vehicles)).
Hwang does not explicitly recite the terminology "a transmission frequency of the positioning request is based on time of day". However, Hwang discloses requesting and collecting vehicle position/location information as an accumulative process as vehicle groups grow. Thus, discloses frequency increases as volume/density increases, including during an obvious time such as rush-hour.
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Hwang, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 21, and further, Hwang also discloses, a transmission frequency of the positioning request is based on a vehicle density along a portion of a road (Hwang: [0026] The third signal may be transmitted to the first group depending on whether a group size of the first group is greater than or equal to a first threshold size and whether group information is received from a second device; [0132] report request indicator ... [0142] Location information about the transmitting UE or location (or distance/area) information about a target receiving UE (to which a request for SL HARQ feedback is made); [0204] The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group; [0232] an RSU may receive information about vehicles (first vehicles) entering a road control section from one end of the road control section from the first vehicles. The RSU may obtain information on vehicles (second vehicles)) that is indicated by the road congestion information (Hwang: [0207-0211]).
Hwang does not explicitly recite the terminology "a transmission frequency of the positioning request is based on a vehicle density". However, Hwang discloses requesting and collecting vehicle position/location information as an accumulative process as vehicle groups grow. Thus, discloses frequency increases as volume/density increases.
REGARDING CLAIM 24, Hwang discloses, receiving position data associated with one or more vehicles (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step, the RSU may collect vehicle information from vehicles included in the specific group. The RSU may collect the vehicle information by periodically obtaining a vehicle position included in a conventional V2X message (e.g., CAM or BSM) or requesting information about the vehicle position from each of the vehicles included in the specific group) based on a positioning request (Hwang: [0204] In the mode change step S3, the RSU may detect or determine whether the vehicles entering the road control section leave the road control section based on information on a specific group received from the other RSU … when the RSU receives group information from the other RSU in the negotiation step, the RSU performs the mode change step. In the mode change step,