DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 19, 2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 3/7/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202310214490 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 105837760) in view of Malik et al (US 10,036,952).
With regards to claim 1, Wang teaches a polyimide photosensitive material for 3D printing (title) that contains a polyimide oligomer at a concentration from 50-60%, a reactive diluent at a concentration of 10-30%, and a free radical photoinitiator at a concentration of 2-5% (page 2). Wang teaches the reactive diluent to include the monomer a combination of N-vinylpyrrolidone and lauryl acrylate (page 4) reading on the claimed organic activator.
Wang does not teach the claimed organic activator to include the monomer methyl methacrylate.
Malik teaches a photosensitive polyimide compositions (title) that contains a polyimide polymer (abstract), a photoinitiator (abstract) and a solubility switching compound (abstract) that includes methyl (meth)acrylate (column 20, lines 19-43). Malik teaches the motivation for using this compound to be because it helps generate a contrast in the dissolution rate of the film prepared from the photosensitive composition before and after exposure (column 19, lines 55-67). Wang and Malik are analogous in the art of photosensitive polyimide compositions. In light of the discussion above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to add the MMA of Malik to the composition of Wang, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Claims 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (CN 105837760) in view of Malik et al (US 10,036,952) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al (CN 113818098).
The disclosure of Wang in view of Malik is adequately set forth in paragraph 5 above and is herein incorporated by reference.
With regards to claims 2-4, Wang teaches the polyimide to be formed from a reaction from an imididimide compound and an anhydride compound with triethylamine, hydroquinone (reading on an inhibitor), a solvent that includes N-methylpyrrolidone, and glycidyl methacrylate (page 2). Wang teaches the amount of imide compound to be 0.05 moles, the amount of 0.1 moles of the maleic anhydride, catalytic amounts of triethylamine, catalytic amounts of hydroquinone, and 0.15-0.2 moles of glycidyl methacrylate (page 2).
Wang does not teach the reactants to include 2-(4-aminophenyl)-5-aminobenzimidazole and 3,3’,4,4’-benzonphenone tetracarboxylic dianhydride (BTDA).
Liu teaches the preparation of a polyimide (title) for 3D printing (page 2) that is a reaction of 2-(4-aminophenyl)-5-aminobenzimidazole (BIA) dianhydride with 3,3’,4,4’-dibenzone tetraic anhydride (BTDA). Liu teaches the motivation for using these reactants to be because the polyimide formed is a low complex process, low cost, and high efficiency (page 2). Wang, Malik, and Liu are analogous in the art of photosensitive polyimide compositions. In light of the benefit above, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to use the reactants of Liu in Wang, thereby obtaining the present inventions
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763