DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication received on 12/16/2025.
Claim 1-26, 28, 30-32 are pending and rejected. Claims 27 and 29 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 22, 23, 28, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 20190182000 A1) (hereinafter “Futaki”) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210385669) (hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claim 1, Futaki discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 20 (2004)); and
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor (see Fig. 20 (2006)), the at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE ) to:
perform a first measurement for a serving cell or a neighbor cell in a first subband of a bandwidth using a first set of measurement configurations to obtain a first measurement result (see para. [0044] discloses processor configured to receive a measurement configuration including measurement gap configuration for one or more BWPs);
perform bandwidth part switching from the first subband to a second subband of the bandwidth, the bandwidth part switching comprising a change of measurement gap configurations for the serving cell or the neighbor cell associated with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0028];[0162] the UE can switch a specific BWP for the communication with the gNB among the configured BWPs; the RAN transmits control information indicating switching of the active BWP from BWP#1 to BWP#2 and the UE switches from the active BWP to BWP#2);
perform a second measurement for the serving cell or the neighbor cell in the second subband of the bandwidth using a second set of measurement configurations to obtain a second measurement result, the first set of measurement configurations and the second set of measurement configurations being different measurement configurations that have a common or different measurement filtering configuration (see para. [0162] the UE switches from measurement configuration corresponding to BWP#1 to the measurement configuration on BWP#2, and performs measurement in BWP#2).
Futaki does not clearly disclose transmitting a measurement report indicating a
combined measurement result that is based at least in part on the first measurement result and the second measurement result that are obtained in accordance with the common or different measurement filtering configuration.
However, Jung teaches transmitting a measurement report indicating a combined
measurement result that is based at least in part on the first measurement result and the second measurement result that are obtained in accordance with the common or different measurement filtering configuration (see Fig. 3A (measurement model for report quality; BWP 1 to BWP M; BWP consolidation/selection; Layer 1 and Layer 3 filtering), para. [0128];[0144] terminal to derive and report quality of any cell, BWP measurement value to be reported; terminal derives one cell quality values via BWP selecting and merging process regarding the plurality of BWPs so as to derive a single measurement value for determining the quality of the cell).
Futaki and Jung are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology and BWP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include a measurement report as described by Jung.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 2, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE ).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: combine the first measurement result with a set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result using a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell or the neighbor cell.
However, Jung teaches causing the UE to: combine the first measurement result with a set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result using a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell or the neighbor cell (see Fig. 3A (measurement model for report quality; BWP 1 to BWP M; BWP consolidation/selection; Layer 1 and Layer 3 filtering), para. [0128];[0144];[0150] terminal to derive and report quality of any cell, BWP measurement value to be reported; terminal derives one cell quality values via BWP selecting and merging process regarding the plurality of BWPs so as to derive a single measurement value for determining the quality of the cell; terminal may perform L3 filtering by using the configured specific weight factor)
Futaki and Jung are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology and BWP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include weighting factors as described by Jung.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 22, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the change of the measurement gap configurations comprise a change of a reference signal type (This part is optional), a reference signal resource configuration, a gap configuration (see para. [0117];[0243] discloses measurement gap configuration may indicate presence or absence of measurement gap), a length of measurements (see para. [0117];[0243] discloses measurement gap configuration indicates the length of measurement gap), a number of intra- frequency measurements (This part is optional), a number of inter-frequency measurements (This part is optional), a window configuration (This part is optional), a measurement periodicity (This part is optional), a measurement offset time (This part is optional), a reporting condition (This part is optional), a priority level (This part is optional), or a combination thereof (This part is optional), for the measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell (see para. [0168] discloses RAN provides the UE with the measurement configuration corresponding to the situation where fist BWP is serving cell and second BWP is neighbor cell).
Regarding claim 23, Futaki discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (see Fig. 19, para. [0045] discloses RAN), comprising:
at least one processor (see Fig. 19 (1904)); and
at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor (see Fig. 19, para. [0045];[0181]-[0185] discloses a a radio access network RAN node including memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory; the processor may access the memory, performing processing), the at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 19, para. [0045];[0181]-[0185] discloses a a radio access network RAN node including memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory; the processor may access the memory, performing processing) to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a first set of measurement configurations for a first subband of a bandwidth and a second set of measurement configurations for a second subband of the bandwidth (see para. [0045]; [0047]; [0136] discloses RAN configured to transmit to the radio terminal a measurement configuration including measurement gap configuration for one or more BWPs; RAN transmits BWP configuration and indication, indicating need or no need of a BWP measurement gap); and
receive, based at least in part on the UE performing a bandwidth part switching from the first subband to the second subband, a measurement report from the UE indicating a combined measurement result that is based at least in part on a first measurement result for the first subband (see para. [0162] the UE switches from measurement configuration corresponding to BWP#1 to the measurement configuration on BWP#2, and performs measurement in BWP#2).
Futaki does not clearly discloses a second measurement result for the second subband that are obtained in accordance with a common or different measurement filtering configuration.
However, Jung teaches a second measurement result for the second subband that are obtained in accordance with a common or different measurement filtering configuration ((see Fig. 3A (measurement model for report quality; BWP 1 to BWP M; BWP consolidation/selection; Layer 1 and Layer 3 filtering), para. [0128];[0144] terminal to derive and report quality of any cell, BWP measurement value to be reported; terminal derives one cell quality values via BWP selecting and merging process regarding the plurality of BWPs so as to derive a single measurement value for determining the quality of the cell).
Futaki and Jung are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology and BWP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include a measurement filtering as described by Jung.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 28, Futaki discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see para. [0046], [0256], [0259], [0283] discloses method for radio terminal), comprising:
performing a first measurement for a serving cell or a neighbor cell in a first subband of a bandwidth using a first set of measurement configurations to obtain a first measurement result (see para. [0044] discloses processor configured to receive a measurement configuration including measurement gap configuration for one or more BWPs);
performing bandwidth part switching from the first subband to a second subband of the bandwidth, the bandwidth part switching comprising a change of measurement gap configurations for the serving cell or the neighbor cell associated with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0028];[0162] the UE can switch a specific BWP for the communication with the gNB among the configured BWPs; the RAN transmits control information indicating switching of the active BWP from BWP#1 to BWP#2 and the UE switches from the active BWP to BWP#2);
performing a second measurement for the serving cell or the neighbor cell in the second subband of the bandwidth using a second set of measurement configurations to obtain a second measurement result, the first set of measurement configurations and the second set of measurement configurations being different measurement configurations that have a common or different measurement filtering configuration (see para. [0162] the UE switches from measurement configuration corresponding to BWP#1 to the measurement configuration on BWP#2, and performs measurement in BWP#2); and
Futaki does not clearly disclose transmitting a measurement report indicating a combined measurement result that is based at least in part on the first measurement result and the second measurement result that are obtained in accordance with the common or different measurement filtering configuration.
However, Jung teaches disclose transmitting a measurement report indicating a combined measurement result that is based at least in part on the first measurement result and the second measurement result that are obtained in accordance with the common or different measurement filtering configuration (see Fig. 3A (measurement model for report quality; BWP 1 to BWP M; BWP consolidation/selection; Layer 1 and Layer 3 filtering), para. [0128];[0144] terminal to derive and report quality of any cell, BWP measurement value to be reported; terminal derives one cell quality values via BWP selecting and merging process regarding the plurality of BWPs so as to derive a single measurement value for determining the quality of the cell)
Futaki and Jung are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology and BWP.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include a measurement report as described by Jung.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 30, Futaki discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a first set of measurement configurations for a first subband of a bandwidth and a second set of measurement configurations for a second subband of the bandwidth (see para. [0162] discloses the UE switches from measurement configuration corresponding to BWP#1 to the measurement configuration on BWP#2, and performs measurement in BWP#2); and
receiving, based at least in part on the UE performing a bandwidth part switching from the first subband to the second subband (see para. [0028];[0162] the UE can switch a specific BWP for the communication with the gNB among the configured BWPs; the RAN transmits control information indicating switching of the active BWP from BWP#1 to BWP#2 and the UE switches from the active BWP to BWP#2).
Futaki fails to disclose a measurement report from the UE indicating a combined measurement result that is based at least in part on a first measurement result for the first subband and a second measurement result for the second subband that are obtained in accordance with a common or different measurement filtering configuration.
However, Jung teaches a measurement report from the UE indicating a combined measurement result that is based at least in part on a first measurement result for the first subband and a second measurement result for the second subband that are obtained in accordance with a common or different measurement filtering configuration ((see Fig. 3A (measurement model for report quality; BWP 1 to BWP M; BWP consolidation/selection; Layer 1 and Layer 3 filtering), para. [0128];[0144] terminal to derive and report quality of any cell, BWP measurement value to be reported; terminal derives one cell quality values via BWP selecting and merging process regarding the plurality of BWPs so as to derive a single measurement value for determining the quality of the cell).
Futaki and Jung are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement report as described by Jung.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Claims 3-12, 14-15,17-19, 24-26, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 20190182000 A1) (hereinafter “Futaki”) in view of Jung et al. US 20210385669) (hereinafter “Jung”) as applied in claim 1 and 23 above, and further in view of Callender et al. (US 20200288337 A1) (hereinafter “Callender).
Regarding claim 3, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: combine a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result and the first measurement result with a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result using a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell or the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: combine a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result and the first measurement result with a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result using a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell or the neighbor cell (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 4, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: compare a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result to a measurement threshold; and
combine, based at least in part on a result of the comparing, the first set of measurement samples, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, using a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: compare a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result to a measurement threshold (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP); and
combine, based at least in part on a result of the comparing, the first set of measurement samples, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, using a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 5, Futaki discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose wherein the first set of measurement samples and the second set of measurement samples comprise physical layer measurements, radio resource control layer measurements, or both, that are used to determine one or more measurement results for the serving cell or the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches wherein the first set of measurement samples and the second set of measurement samples comprise physical layer measurements, radio resource control layer measurements, or both, that are used to determine one or more measurement results for the serving cell or the neighbor cell (see para. [0023];[0077] discloses measurement gaps are configured by means of RRC signaling; activation/deactivation of the configured BWPs may be controlled by means of layer 1 signaling).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 6, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: compare a time gap between measuring a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result and measuring a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result to a gap threshold;
identify a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband;
and
combine, based at least in part on a result of the comparing, the first set of measurement samples, the first measurement result, the second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, using the set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell and the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: compare a time gap between measuring a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result and measuring a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result to a gap threshold (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP);
identify a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP);
and
combine, based at least in part on a result of the comparing, the first set of measurement samples, the first measurement result, the second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, using the set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell and the neighbor cell (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 7, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: combine, based at least in part on a measurement threshold, a gap threshold, or a combination thereof, a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, using a set of weighting factors to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell and the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: combine, based at least in part on a measurement threshold, a gap threshold, or a combination thereof, a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, using a set of weighting factors to obtain the second measurement result, wherein the first measurement and the second measurement and combining are performed for the serving cell and the neighbor cell (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 8, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: combine, based at least in part on a UE capability, a measurement priority, an available UE power headroom, or a combination thereof, a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, to obtain the second measurement result for the serving cell or the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: combine, based at least in part on a UE capability, a measurement priority, an available UE power headroom, or a combination thereof, a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, to obtain the second measurement result for the serving cell or the neighbor cell (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 9, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: combine a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, to obtain the second measurement result for the serving cell or the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: combine a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, to obtain the second measurement result for the serving cell or the neighbor cell (see para. [0192] discloses the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 10, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: receive an indication of a combining scheme for combining a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, to obtain the second measurement result for the serving cell or the neighbor cell.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: receive an indication of a combining scheme for combining a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of measurement samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, to obtain the second measurement result for the serving cell or the neighbor cell (see para. [0184] discloses UE keep the measurement samples which it obtained in a previous BWP and combine them together with the newly measured samples in new BWP to trigger/generate cell measurement report).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement samples as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 11, Futaki discloses an apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during the bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
transmit, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a set of UE assistance information messages or scheduling request messages requesting transmission of the first measurement result in the second subband.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during the bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and
transmit, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a set of UE assistance information messages or scheduling request messages requesting transmission of the first measurement result in the second subband (see claim 15. Discloses transmitting a configuration information indicative of a measurement gap pattern configuration, and BWP configuration).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 12, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
multiplex, after the bandwidth part switch and based at least in part on the overlap, the first measurement result and additional uplink information in a message transmitted in the second subband.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and
multiplex, after the bandwidth part switch and based at least in part on the overlap, the first measurement result and additional uplink information in a message transmitted in the second subband (see para. [0185] discloses the UE require to send BWP specific measurement report using the measurement sample in the new BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 14, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
measure, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a first set of measurement samples for the serving cell or the neighbor cell using a set of weighting factors to obtain an updated first measurement result, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the updated first measurement result.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and
measure, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a first set of measurement samples for the serving cell or the neighbor cell using a set of weighting factors to obtain an updated first measurement result, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the updated first measurement result (see para. [0192] the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 15, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
compare, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a timing gap between the first measurement result suspended during the bandwidth part switching and the second measurement result to a timing gap threshold, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on a result of the comparing.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and
compare, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a timing gap between the first measurement result suspended during the bandwidth part switching and the second measurement result to a timing gap threshold, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on a result of the comparing (see para. [0192] the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 17, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
select, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a transmission scheme for reporting the first measurement result based at least in part on a lE capability, a measurement priority of the first measurement result, an available lE power headroom, a measurement gap configuration for the second measurement result, a reporting configuration for the second measurement result, or a combination thereof.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and
select, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs), a transmission scheme for reporting the first measurement result based at least in part on a UE capability (this part is optional), a measurement priority of the first measurement result (this part is optional), an available UE power headroom (this part is optional), a measurement gap configuration for the second measurement result (this part is optional), a reporting configuration for the second measurement result (this part is optional), or a combination thereof (this part is optional).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 18, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
autonomously select, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a transmission scheme for reporting the first measurement result.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and
autonomously select, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a transmission scheme for reporting the first measurement result (see para. [0109]-[0110] the measurement timer for a measurement associate with a target BWP may be reset when target BWP is overlapped with another BWP. The measurement time window for measurement may be based on numerology).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 19, Futaki disclose an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: receive an indication of a transmission scheme for reporting the first measurement result in the second subband;
suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching; and
transmit, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, the first measurement result according to the transmission scheme.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: receive an indication of a transmission scheme for reporting the first measurement result in the second subband;
suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlapping with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0108] discloses a measurement timer for a measurement associated with target BWP is stopped when condition when target BWP is fully or partially overlapped active BWP); and
transmit, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, the first measurement result according to the transmission scheme (see para. [0109]-[0110] the measurement timer for a measurement associate with a target BWP may be reset when target BWP is overlapped with another BWP. The measurement time window for measurement may be based on numerology).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 24, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity see Fig. 19, para. [0045];[0181]-[0185] discloses a radio access network RAN node including memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory; the processor may access the memory, performing processing) to:
Futaki fails to disclose transmitting an indication of a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to the UE, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the set of weighting factors.
However, Callender teaches transmitting an indication of a set of weighting factors associated with the first subband and the second subband to the UE, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the set of weighting factors (see para. [0192] the UE handles the measurement samples from old and new BWPs, may derive one cell quality value based on the first BWP and another cell quality value from the second BWP; if the two derived values differ less that a threshold value, the UE combines the two values, by averaging the two cell quality values weighted by the number of measurement samples from both BWP).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include weighting factors as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 25, Futaki disclose an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor see Fig. 19, para. [0045];[0181]-[0185] discloses a a radio access network RAN node including memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory; the processor may access the memory, performing processing)
Futaki fails to disclose causing the network entity to:
transmit an indication of a combining scheme for the UE to combine a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the combining scheme.
However, Callender teaches causing the network entity to:
transmit an indication of a combining scheme for the UE to combine a first set of measurement samples associated with the first measurement result, the first measurement result, a second set of samples associated with the second measurement result, or a combination thereof, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the combining scheme (see para. [0174] discloses gNB indicated which measurement configuration the UE should apply, instructing the UE to switch to a new BWP. The indication in the DCI may be an identifier associated with each measurement configuration, the set of different measurement configurations may be encoded using a compression scheme).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include combining measurements as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 26, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 19, para. [0045];[0181]-[0185] discloses a a radio access network RAN node including memory and at least one processor coupled to the memory; the processor may access the memory, performing processing)
Futaki fails to disclose causing the network entity to:
transmit an indication of a timing gap threshold for a timing gap between the first measurement result and the second measurement result, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the timing gap threshold.
However, Callender teaches causing the network entity to:
transmit an indication of a timing gap threshold for a timing gap between the first measurement result and the second measurement result, wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on the timing gap threshold (see para. [0175]; claims 10,11 discloses UE obtains one timing related parameter, with timing related parameter used to determine if the UE perform one or more measurement within and active BWP with or without measurement gaps or when the UE can start doing the measurement gaps. Example of timing parameter is duration Threshold (Td)).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include the time gap as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 32, Futaki discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki does not clearly discloses wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on a trigger event for the bandwidth part switching, a change of measurement gap configurations for measurements and reporting by the UE after the bandwidth part switching, or both.
However, Callender teaches wherein the combined measurement result is based at least in part on a trigger event for the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0192] discloses UE handles measurement obtained prior and after BWP switch, if the two cell quality values differ less than a predetermined threshold, the UE combines the two cell quality values in one cell quality values using measurement from both BWPs), a change of measurement gap configurations for measurements and reporting by the UE after the bandwidth part switching (This part is optional), or both (This part is optional).
Futaki and Callender are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include the measurement as described by Callender.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 20190182000 A1) (hereinafter “Futaki”) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210385669 A1) (hereinafter “Jung”) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Callender et al. (US 20200288337 A1) (hereinafter “Callender) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20220116802 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”)
Regarding claim 13, Futaki discloses an apparatus (see para. [0043];[0049] discloses apparatus).
Futaki fails to disclose wherein the first measurement result is indicated in a medium access control (MAC) header of the message.
However, Kim teaches wherein the first measurement result is indicated in a medium access control (MAC) header of the message (see para. [0142] discloses the result of measurement operation using a message in form of a MAC header, the operation may be per example a measurement result for beams).
Futaki and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include MAC header as described by Kim.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 20190182000 A1) (hereinafter “Futaki”) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210385669 A1) (hereinafter “Jung”) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Callender et al. (US 20200288337 A1) (hereinafter “Callender) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20230362764 A1) (hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 16, The apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlaps with the bandwidth part switching; and
transmit, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a message requesting transmission of the first measurement result suspended during the bandwidth part switching or a message where the first measurement result suspended during the bandwidth part switching is multiplexed with additional uplink information based at least in part on a reporting resource size of the second set of measurement configurations, a timing gap threshold between the first measurement result and the second measurement result, or a combination thereof.
However, Callender discloses causing the UE to: suspend measurement and reporting for the serving cell and the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching based at least in part on a measurement and reporting interval of the first set of measurement configurations overlaps with the bandwidth part switching (see para. [0189] discloses UE may or may not continue the started but not yet completed measurements based on the old measurement configuration. In one example, whether the UE can continue measurements based on the measurement configuration associated with a first BWP after switching to a second BWP, may depend on the amount of overlap (in frequency) between the first and the second BWPs); and transmit, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a message requesting transmission of the first measurement result suspended during the bandwidth part switching (This part is optional) or a message where the first measurement result suspended during the bandwidth part switching is multiplexed with additional uplink information based at least in part on a reporting resource size of the second set of measurement configurations, a timing gap threshold between the first measurement result and the second measurement result, or a combination thereof (see Fig. 3 para. [0057] discloses a transmitting a report result after bandwidth part switching, including information of a third set of measurements that include at least the second set of measurements).
Callender does not clearly disclose transmitting, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a message requesting transmission of the first measurement result suspended during bandwidth part switching or a message where the first measurement result suspended during bandwidth part switching is multiplexed with additional uplink information based at least in part on a reporting resource size of the second set of measurement configurations, a timing gap threshold between the first measurement result and the second measurement result, or a combination thereof.
However, Zhang teaches transmitting, after the bandwidth part switching and based at least in part on the overlap, a message requesting transmission of the first measurement result suspended during bandwidth part switching (This part is optional) or a message where the first measurement result suspended during bandwidth part switching is multiplexed with additional uplink information based at least in part on a reporting resource size of the second set of measurement configurations, a timing gap threshold between the first measurement result and the second measurement result, or a combination thereof (see Fig. 3 para. [0057] discloses a transmitting a report result after bandwidth part switching, including information of a third set of measurements that include at least the second set of measurements).
Futaki and Zhang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include the transmission of the message as described by Callender and Zhang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Claims 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 20190182000 A1) (hereinafter “Futaki”) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210385669 A1) (hereinafter “Jung”) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Callender et al. (US 20200288337 A1) (hereinafter “Callender) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20200404690 A1) (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 20, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose causing the UE to: determine that the first set of measurement configurations is different from the second set of measurement configurations, that a first reporting configuration of the first set of measurement configurations is different from a second reporting configuration of the second set of measurement configurations, or both, and the change of the measurement gap configurations for the serving cell or the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching; and
identify, based at least in part on the determining, a timing gap threshold for reporting the first measurement result in the second subband.
However, Callender teaches causing the UE to: determine that the first set of measurement configurations is different from the second set of measurement configurations (see para [0080] discloses the UE is configured by the network with one or , more BWP configurations, the UE can know that a change in BWP configuration lead to a change in the measurement configurations), that a first reporting configuration of the first set of measurement configurations is different from a second reporting configuration of the second set of measurement configurations (see para. [0135] discloses a UE measuring report information about the measuring configuration associated with active BWP. The network node side to associate different measurement configurations with the different BWPs e.g. defining different measurement identifiers for different measurement configurations for the different BWPs), or both, and the change of the measurement gap configurations for the serving cell or the neighbor cell during bandwidth part switching (see para. [0136] discloses UE of adaptively applying one or more measurement gaps for performing measurements on signals based on a rate of switching of the active BWP).
Callender fails to disclose identifying, based at least in part on the determining, a timing gap threshold for reporting the first measurement result in the second subband.
However, Lee teaches identifying, based at least in part on the determining, a timing gap threshold for reporting the first measurement result in the second subband (see para. [0107] discloses WTRU may start or restart measurement timer when a measurement of the current active BWP is below a threshold).
Futaki, Callender and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because are in the same field of telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include measurement configuration as described by Callender and further Lee.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Regarding claim 21, Futaki discloses an apparatus wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE) to cause the UE to:
identify a triggering event triggering the bandwidth part switching, wherein the timing gap threshold is based at least in part on a timing of the triggering event (see para. [0091] discloses switching of BWP based on timer on a set value provided by gNB, per example when the UE does not transmit or receive data for a period of time), a type of the triggering event (see para. [0101]-[0102] discloses RRM measurement indicates parameters to be used determining reporting events. One example is RRM reporting event related to BWP may indicate BWP in a neighbor cell becomes amount of offset better than active BWP), a UE capability (see para. [0031] discloses whether or not measurement gaps are needed depends on UE capabilities), the measurement gap configurations for the second measurement of the serving cell (see para. [0110] discloses measurement within the BWP corresponding to the serving cell) or the neighbor cell (see para. [0110] discloses measurement within the BWP outside BWP set, corresponding to neighbor cell).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki et al. (US 20190182000 A1) (hereinafter “Futaki”) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210385669 A1) (hereinafter “Jung”) as applied in claim 1 above, Huang et al (US 20240147288 A) (hereinafter “Huang”) (IDS).
Regarding claim 31, Futaki discloses an apparatus (see Fig. 20, para. [0044];[0195] discloses at least one processor coupled to a memory; the memory including instructions and data to perform the processing by the UE).
Futaki fails to disclose wherein the measurement report is transmitted based at least in part on a UE capability to support combined measurement report signaling.
However, Huang teaches wherein the measurement report is transmitted based at least in part on a UE capability to support combined measurement report signaling (see para. [0030] discloses the UE may be configured with multiple measurement gaps when the capability of “multiple concurrent” gaps is supported by the UE).
Futaki and Huang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of wireless telecommunications technology.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Futaki to include combined measurement as described by Huang.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improvement on BWP operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Futaki does not teach or suggest a “measurement filtering configuration”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation and specification “measurement filtering configuration” refers to measurement signal in L1 or L3 (specification [0051] provides example with RSRP). Futaki [0156] discloses configuration regarding measurement criteria may include a RSRP threshold, it may further include information about a RS type (Reference signal) to be used for the determination and include thresholds per RS type.
A new ground of rejection for the amended limitations in claims 1, 2, 28, 30 is provided (Jung et al (US 20210385669 A1)).
A new ground of rejection for new claim 31 is provided (Huang et al. (US 20240147288 A)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tao (US 20240276281 A1) discloses “Measurement Gap scheduling Method and Apparatus”.
Koziol et al (US 20210076240 A1) discloses “Method, Apparatus and Computer Program for Performing Measurement in New Radio (NR)”.
Sun (CN 109729559 B) discloses “Cell Switching Method and Device, Storage Medium, User Equipment, and Network Device)”.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419