FINAL ACTION
Amendments and Status of the Claims
2. This action is in response to papers filed 14 September 2026 in which the specification and claim 12 was amended, no claims were canceled, and no new claims were added. All of the amendments have been thoroughly reviewed and entered.
All previous rejections not reiterated below are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments have been thoroughly reviewed and are addressed following the rejections necessitated by the amendments.
3. Claims 12-14 are under prosecution.
4. This Office Action includes new rejections necessitated by the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
5. The claims are subject to the following interpretation:
A. Claim 12 (upon which claims 13-14 depend) is amended to recite “an X-NTP.” Paragraph 0118 defines an X-NTP as having a reporter selected from four possible states, a hairpin for TCH (i.e., translation control by hybridization; paragraph 0011 ) followed by a section of PEG. The claimed “X-NTP” is therefore limited to this definition.
In addition, it is noted that while the common meaning of “NTP” is “nucleotide triphosphate,” the limiting definition discussed above makes no mention of any triphosphates. Thus, the claimed “X-NTP” does not require a triphosphate.
B. The claimed hairpin for TCH (as discussed above), clearly describes an intended use of the claimed X-NTP. Because no further structural requirements for a hairpin for TCH are present in the specification, any hairpin is interpreted as being capable of controlling translation by hybridization.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 12 (upon which claims 13-14 depend) is drawn to an X-NTP, which, as noted above, comprises a reporter selected from four possible states. A review of the specification yields no guidance as to what constitutes a “possible state.” Thus, the term is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, the “four possible states” are interpreted as one of A, G, T, and C.
B. Claim 13 is indefinite in the recitation of “triethylene glycol (X),” as it is unclear of the X of claim 13 is different from the X of claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
11. Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Balasubramanian et al. (PCT International Patent Application Publication No. WO 01/57248 A2, published 9 August 20021).
Regarding claims 12-14, Balasubramanian et al. teach a reporter construct, in the form of a labeled DNA comprising a high impedance polymer, in the form of the 5’ portion of a 5’-Cy3 labeled DNA oligo comprising the first deoxy C (i.e., claims 12 and 14) linked to a low impedance polymer, in the form of a first hexaethylene glycol linker (i.e., claims 12 and 13; page 8, lines 10-20). Balasubramanian et al. further teach the reporter construct is operably linked to an X-NTP, in the form of the amino T (i.e., the reporter), attached to the second hexaethylene glycol linker (i.e., a section of PEG), and a hairpin, in the form of the 13 bases on each side of the glycols residues, which are complementary and can form a hairpin (page 8, lines 10-20). Any additional components of the DNA molecule of Subramanian et al. are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
Paragraph 0122 of the instant specification explicitly states that the impedance of hexaethylene glycol is over 0.1, and the impedance of nucleotides are less than 0.1. Thus, the claims have been given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the teachings of the specification regarding “low” and “high” impedance polymers (In re Hyatt, 211 F.3d1367, 1372, 54 USPQ2d 1664, 1667 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (see MPEP 2111).
Alternatively, it is noted that the courts have stated where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art” and even when the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have similar properties, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F2d 775. 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP 2144.05.01).
The courts have also found that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05 II.
Therefore, the claimed ranges merely represent an obvious variant and/or routine optimization of the glycol lengths and/or the nucleotide sequence of the reporter construct of the cited prior art.
Applicant is advised that MPEP 716.01(c) makes clear that “[t]he arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record” (In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965)). Thus, Applicant should not merely rely upon counsel’s arguments in place of evidence in the record.
It is noted that the Response above should not be construed as an invitation to file an after final declaration. See MPEP 715.09.
Double Patenting
13. Claims 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10,457,979 B2 in combination with Balasubramanian et al. (PCT International Patent Application Publication No. WO 01/57248 A2, published 9 August 2001).
Both sets of claims are drawn to the same impedance polymers. Any additional limitations of the ‘979 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
The ‘979 claims do not teach claimed the X-NTP.
However, Balasubramanian et al. teach the claimed X-NTP as discussed above, which has the added advantage of being a self-priming template (page 8, lines 20-30). Thus, Balasubramanian et al. teach the known techniques discussed above.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ‘979 claims with the teachings of Balasubramanian et al. to arrive at the instantly claimed constructs with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make the modification because said modification would have resulted in constructs having the added advantage of being self-priming templates as explicitly taught by Balasubramanian et al. (page 8, lines 10-20). In addition, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan that the known techniques of Balasubramanian et al. (could have been applied to the ‘979 claims with predictable results because the known techniques of Balasubramanian et al. predictably result in useful molecules for sequencing applications.
14. Claims 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 10,676,782 B2 in combination with Balasubramanian et al. (PCT International Patent Application Publication No. WO 01/57248 A2, published 9 August 2001).
Both sets of claims are drawn to the same reporter construct. Any additional limitations of the ‘782 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
The ‘782 claims do not teach claimed the X-NTP.
However, Balasubramanian et al. teach the claimed X-NTP, as well as the rationale for combining, as discussed above.
15. Claims 12-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 17/456,342 in combination with Balasubramanian et al. (PCT International Patent Application Publication No. WO 01/57248 A2, published 9 August 2001).
Both sets of claims are drawn to the same reporter construct. Any additional limitations of the ‘342 claims are encompassed by the open claim language “comprising” found in the instant claims.
The ‘342 claims do not teach claimed the X-NTP.
However, Balasubramanian et al. teach the claimed X-NTP, as well as the rationale for combining, as discussed above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
16. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejections of the claims have been considered but are moot in view if the withdrawn rejections (necessitated by the amendments) and because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
17. No claim is allowed.
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Robert T. Crow
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1683
/Robert T. Crow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1683