DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 01/05/2026 complies with 37 CFR 1.97. Therefore, the information referred therein has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendments submitted on 11/24/2025 change the scope of the claim. An example is in claim 1, the limitation “based on a determination that the current time is not passed the time value, perform a radio link failure (RLF) detection based on the value, the timer, and the time value, wherein to perform the RLF detection .”), the processor is further configured to determine that the timer has started upon detection of a radio link problem, wherein the radio link problem is based on a first counter;” changes the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yavuz et al. (US 2025/0286613).
Regarding claim 1, Yavuz discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to ([0163], “Further, certain UEs may contain multiple instances of a component, such as multiple processors, memories, transceivers, transmitters, receivers, etc.”): identify a value of a timer and a time value ([0109], “Tservice marks the time when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area and it may be expressed in some other form than absolute time. For example, Tservice may be realized as a timer counting the time downwards to 0, where the timer value 0 indicates the point when the serving cell stops serving the area.”); compare a current time to the time value ([0109], “In some embodiments, regardless of the configured OOS or IS (N310, N311), the UE starts the T310 timer when a time “Tservice” (e.g., reflecting the expected time to be served) reaches (or goes below) a fixed or configured value that may be 0.”); based on a determination that the current time is not passed the time value, perform a radio link failure (RLF) detection based on the value, the timer, and the time value, wherein to perform the RLF detection ([0110], “In some embodiments, RLF is triggered directly when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area, that is when Tservice reaches a fixed or configured value that may be 0. In another variant, the UE is configured to declare RLF when the Tservice timer indicates that the expected time to be served (e.g., the time until the service cell stops serving the area) goes below a threshold.”), the processor is further configured to determine that the timer has started upon detection of a radio link problem ([0109], “With such a timer, the UE may be configured to start the T310 timer when the Tservice timer goes below a threshold, irrespective of the current values of N310 and N311).”), wherein the radio link problem is based on a first counter ([0097], “If results of radio link monitoring include a certain number of consecutive out of sync (OOS) indications, the UE starts the RLF procedure and declares radio link failure (RLF) after the expiry of RLF timer, i.e., T310.”); based on a determination that a current time is passed the time value ([0109], “In some embodiments, regardless of the configured OOS or IS (N310, N311), the UE starts the T310 timer when a time “Tservice” (e.g., reflecting the expected time to be served) reaches (or goes below) a fixed or configured value that may be 0.”): obtain at least one of an alternative timer, an alternative value of the timer, and an alternative first counter ([0104], “In a variant, a new timer can be derived based on the scaled RLF timer. The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”); and perform the RLF detection based on at least one of the alternative timer, the alternative value of the timer, and the alternative first counter ([0105], “Similarly, the above embodiment may be implemented by signaling multiple RLF timer values and activating them at different elevation angles (or other metrics such as distance to reference point, expected time to be served (e.g., time until a cell/service link/feeder link switch), etc.). That is, the different RLF timer values are associated with different metric values and the UE activates them autonomously in accordance with this configuration.”).
Regarding claim 2, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to receive configuration information for the value of the timer, the time value and the first counter via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0113], “The configuration may be conveyed to the UE using the broadcast system information or using dedicated signaling, e.g. RRC signaling, for example using an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 3, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to identify that the radio link problem is detected when a received number of consecutive out-of-sync indications from a lower layer reaches the first counter ([0097], “If results of radio link monitoring include a certain number of consecutive out of sync (OOS) indications, the UE starts the RLF procedure and declares radio link failure (RLF) after the expiry of RLF timer, i.e., T310.”).
Regarding claim 4, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the time value is a time that identifies when a quasi-Earth fixed cell stops serving an area that is currently being served ([0109], “Tservice marks the time when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area and it may be expressed in some other form than absolute time.”).
Regarding claim 5, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to determine that the RLF detection based on a determination that the UE is located out of a distance threshold from a reference location ([0105], “Similarly, the above embodiment may be implemented by signaling multiple RLF timer values and activating them at different elevation angles (or other metrics such as distance to reference point, expected time to be served (e.g., time until a cell/service link/feeder link switch), etc.).”).
Regarding claim 6, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 5, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive the reference location and the distance threshold ([0105], “Similarly, the above embodiment may be implemented by signaling multiple RLF timer values and activating them at different elevation angles (or other metrics such as distance to reference point, expected time to be served (e.g., time until a cell/service link/feeder link switch), etc.).”) via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0104], “The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 7, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein: the timer is T310 ([0097], “If results of radio link monitoring include a certain number of consecutive out of sync (OOS) indications, the UE starts the RLF procedure and declares radio link failure (RLF) after the expiry of RLF timer, i.e., T310.”), the time value is T service ([0109], “Tservice marks the time when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area and it may be expressed in some other form than absolute time. For example, Tservice may be realized as a timer counting the time downwards to 0, where the timer value 0 indicates the point when the serving cell stops serving the area.”), and the first counter is N310 ([0102], “Another example realization of the scaling of the number of consecutive OSS indications and/or IS indications, and/or the scaling of the threshold values N310 and/or N311 is that the scaling factor is a direction function of time.”).
Regarding claim 8, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive a scaling factor via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0104], “The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 9, Yavuz discloses the UE of Claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to obtain the alternative value of the timer by applying the scaling factor to the value of the timer ([0104], “In some embodiments, the value of the RLF timer is scaled with respect to the time left prior to a service link or feeder link switch which may be indicated by, but not limited to, expected time to be served, elevation angle to the serving satellite, distance to a reference point such as the center of the serving cell etc. In a variant, a new timer can be derived based on the scaled RLF timer.”).
Regarding claim 10, Yavuz discloses a method of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: identifying a value of a timer and a time value ([0109], “Tservice marks the time when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area and it may be expressed in some other form than absolute time. For example, Tservice may be realized as a timer counting the time downwards to 0, where the timer value 0 indicates the point when the serving cell stops serving the area.”); comparing a current time to the time value ([0109], “In some embodiments, regardless of the configured OOS or IS (N310, N311), the UE starts the T310 timer when a time “Tservice” (e.g., reflecting the expected time to be served) reaches (or goes below) a fixed or configured value that may be 0.”); based on a determination that the current time is not passed the time value, performing a radio link failure (RLF) detection based on the value, the timer, and the time value ([0110], “In some embodiments, RLF is triggered directly when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area, that is when Tservice reaches a fixed or configured value that may be 0. In another variant, the UE is configured to declare RLF when the Tservice timer indicates that the expected time to be served (e.g., the time until the service cell stops serving the area) goes below a threshold.”), wherein performing RLF detection comprises determining that the timer has started upon detection of a radio link problem ([0109], “With such a timer, the UE may be configured to start the T310 timer when the Tservice timer goes below a threshold, irrespective of the current values of N310 and N311).”), wherein the radio link problem is based on a first counter ([0097], “If results of radio link monitoring include a certain number of consecutive out of sync (OOS) indications, the UE starts the RLF procedure and declares radio link failure (RLF) after the expiry of RLF timer, i.e., T310.”); based on determining that a current time is passed the time value ([0109], “In some embodiments, regardless of the configured OOS or IS (N310, N311), the UE starts the T310 timer when a time “Tservice” (e.g., reflecting the expected time to be served) reaches (or goes below) a fixed or configured value that may be 0.”): obtaining at least one of an alternative timer, an alternative value of the timer, or an alternative first counter ([0104], “In a variant, a new timer can be derived based on the scaled RLF timer. The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”); and performing the RLF detection based on at least one of the alternative timer, the alternative value of the timer, or the alternative first counter ([0105], “Similarly, the above embodiment may be implemented by signaling multiple RLF timer values and activating them at different elevation angles (or other metrics such as distance to reference point, expected time to be served (e.g., time until a cell/service link/feeder link switch), etc.). That is, the different RLF timer values are associated with different metric values and the UE activates them autonomously in accordance with this configuration.”).
Regarding claim 11, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 10, further comprising receiving configuration information for the value of the timer, the time value and the first counter via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0113], “The configuration may be conveyed to the UE using the broadcast system information or using dedicated signaling, e.g. RRC signaling, for example using an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 12, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 10, further comprising identifying that the radio link problem is detected when a received number of consecutive out-of-sync indications from a lower layer reaches the first counter [0097], “If results of radio link monitoring include a certain number of consecutive out of sync (OOS) indications, the UE starts the RLF procedure and declares radio link failure (RLF) after the expiry of RLF timer, i.e., T310.”).
Regarding claim 13, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the time value is a time that identifies when a quasi-Earth fixed cell stops serving an area that is currently being served ([0109], “Tservice marks the time when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area and it may be expressed in some other form than absolute time.”).
Regarding claim 14, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 10, further comprising determining that the RLF detection based on a determination that the UE is located out of a distance threshold from a reference location ([0105], “Similarly, the above embodiment may be implemented by signaling multiple RLF timer values and activating them at different elevation angles (or other metrics such as distance to reference point, expected time to be served (e.g., time until a cell/service link/feeder link switch), etc.).”).
Regarding claim 15, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising receiving the reference location and the distance threshold ([0105], “Similarly, the above embodiment may be implemented by signaling multiple RLF timer values and activating them at different elevation angles (or other metrics such as distance to reference point, expected time to be served (e.g., time until a cell/service link/feeder link switch), etc.).”) via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0104], “The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 16, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein: the timer is T310 ([0097], “If results of radio link monitoring include a certain number of consecutive out of sync (OOS) indications, the UE starts the RLF procedure and declares radio link failure (RLF) after the expiry of RLF timer, i.e., T310.”), the time value is T service ([0109], “Tservice marks the time when the serving cell is stopping to serve the area and it may be expressed in some other form than absolute time. For example, Tservice may be realized as a timer counting the time downwards to 0, where the timer value 0 indicates the point when the serving cell stops serving the area.”), and the first counter is N310 ([0102], “Another example realization of the scaling of the number of consecutive OSS indications and/or IS indications, and/or the scaling of the threshold values N310 and/or N311 is that the scaling factor is a direction function of time.”).
Regarding claim 17, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 10, further comprising receiving a scaling factor via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0104], “The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 18, Yavuz discloses the method of Claim 17, further comprising obtaining the alternative value of the timer by applying the scaling factor to the value of the timer ([0104], “In some embodiments, the value of the RLF timer is scaled with respect to the time left prior to a service link or feeder link switch which may be indicated by, but not limited to, expected time to be served, elevation angle to the serving satellite, distance to a reference point such as the center of the serving cell etc. In a variant, a new timer can be derived based on the scaled RLF timer.”).
Regarding claim 19, Yavuz discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising receiving second configuration information for the alternative value of the timer, the alternative timer, and the alternative first counter ([0099], “The relevant criteria and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling. The scaling may be realized by scaling the number of consecutive OOS/IS indications the UE counts (e.g., 4 counted indications may be scaled to 6) or, alternatively, the N310/N311 values to compare the counted OSS/IS indications with may be scaled (e.g., reduced).”) via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0104], “In a variant, a new timer can be derived based on the scaled RLF timer. The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Regarding claim 20, Yavuz discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive second configuration information for the alternative value of the timer, the alternative timer, and the alternative first counter ([0099], “The relevant criteria and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling. The scaling may be realized by scaling the number of consecutive OOS/IS indications the UE counts (e.g., 4 counted indications may be scaled to 6) or, alternatively, the N310/N311 values to compare the counted OSS/IS indications with may be scaled (e.g., reduced).”) via a system information block (SIB) or a UE dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message ([0104], “In a variant, a new timer can be derived based on the scaled RLF timer. The relevant criteria/configuration and the scaling factor can be provided via system information broadcast or dedicated signaling, e.g., an RRCReconfiguration message.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479