DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, 11-12, 15, 18-19is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20220206131 in view of D0 US 20190154439 A1 and further in view of D01 US 20220346187 A1.
Regarding claims 1,8 and 15 D1 teaches
1, 8, 15. A method comprising:
obtaining radar pulse configuration information at an electronic device;[0060]
generating a data unit(fig. 8 rtx) of a Wi-Fi communications protocol based on the radar pulse configuration information[0060], the data unit comprising a preamble(fig. 8) including a Legacy Short Training Field (L-STF), a Legacy Long Training Field (L-LTF), and a Legacy Signal (L-SIG) field ([0034] , IEEE 802.11) and a data field;[0079-0081]
transmitting at least one radar pulse within a duration of the data field;(fig. 8)
receiving at least one reflection of the at least one radar pulse within the duration of the data field; and(fig. 8 RRX1, RRX2)
processing the at least one reflection to determine a distance between an object and the electronic device.[0092]
but does not explicitly teach while D0 teaches
wherein the electronic device includes: an RF circulator configured to provide RF isolation between a transmitter and a receiver, the RF circulator having a first port coupled to the transmitter, a second port coupled to an antenna, and a third port coupled to the receiver, and wherein RF energy entering the first port flows in a clockwise direction and emits from the second port, enabling monostatic radar operation on the electronic device.(fig. 3b)[0013]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D0 in order provide system which can operate in radar mode as required in D1.
D1 also does not teach
wherein a duration field of the L-SIG field is set based on a length of the at least one radar pulse;
D01 teaches
wherein a duration field of the L-SIG field is set based on a length of the at least one radar pulse;[0029, 0036 0051]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 and D0 with invention by D01 in order to determine the distance to the object (D01:[0036]).
D1 also teaches
4, 11, 18. The method of Claim 1, wherein:
the at least one radar pulse is transmitted by an antenna of the electronic device; D1: (fig. 8 implicit)
the method further comprises switching from a transmit mode to a receive mode; D1: ([0042] devices are exchanging information)and
the at least one reflection is received within the duration of the data field by the antenna of the electronic device. D1: (RRx1 is receiving the reflection)
5, 12, 19. The method of Claim 1, wherein:
the at least one radar pulse is transmitted by at least one first antenna of the electronic device; and
the at least one reflection is simultaneously received by at least one second antenna of the electronic device within the duration of the data field. D1: (multi-static radar Fig. 5, 7 and 9)
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, D0 and D01.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17 D1 teaches
3, 10, 17. radar pulse transmission and radar pulse reception is performed in the data field of the data unit; and D1:(fig. 8)
a duration of the radar pulse reception D1: (fig. 8 in RRX1 echo time)) is less D1: (in fig. 8 shows but does not explicitly say) than a reduced interframe spacing (RIFS) time(time corresponding to radar alert and propagation delays) of the Wi-Fi communications protocol.
Although D1 does not explicitly say that timing from t0 to t4 in fig. 8 is greater that echo time it would be obvious to do that selection based on fig 8 in order to assure that the echo from the previous frame does not leak into current frame.
Claim(s) 2, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, D0 and D01 and further in view of D2 US 2021003690.
While D1 does not teach while D2 teaches
2, 9, 16. The method of Claim 1, wherein a radar pulse duration included in the radar pulse configuration information is stored in the preamble(CEF) of the data unit. D2:[0144]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order to defy Golay sequence.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, D0 and D01 and further in view of D3 KR-20200047271-A.
D1 teaches
6, 13, 20. The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting a clear-to-send (CTS)-to-self; D1:[0073] signal to reserve a transmit opportunity (TXOP)
wherein the at least one radar pulse is transmitted and the at least one reflection is received in response to determining that a communications channel is available D1: (fig. 8 the reception is performed after alerts)
but does not teach while D3 teaches
and after transmitting the at least one radar pulse and receiving the at least one reflection, sending a contention free (CF)-end packet to indicate an end of a contention-free period D3: (220 in fig. 2b page 6 ),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D3 in order assure safe communication without loss of packets.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, D0 and D01 and further in view of D4 Qiao “Survey and Performance Evaluation of the Upcoming Next Generation WLANs Standard - IEEE 802.11ax”, Mobile Networks and Applications (2019) 24:1461–1474.
Regarding claims 7 and 14 D1 does not teach but D4 teaches
7, 14. The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
configuring a target wake time (TWT) interval and a TWT service period (SP) duration in response to determining that low latency or high throughput Wi-Fi traffic exists,
wherein the at least one radar pulse is transmitted and the at least one reflection is received within the TWT interval and after the TWT SP duration. D4: (page 1463 col 2)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D4 in order s to enhance power-saving.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648