DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of substitutional imidazoline species (claims 1-8, 12 and 14-15) in the reply filed on 08/03/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 is indefinite for the following reasons.
The limitation of: “a first inhibitor compound comprising a stable nitroxide radical or a derivative thereof;” [Emphasis added] is indefinite because the metes and bounds of what is meant by “a stable nitroxide radical” is unknown. Stable in regard to what and under what conditions? Furthermore, the sub-limitation of: “or a derivative thereof;” is also indefinite because its metes and bounds is completely unknown. As way of illustration only, is the pyrolysis product of a stable nitroxide radical (i.e. carbon), encompassed by the limitation of: “or a derivative thereof;”?
The limitation of: “a second inhibitor compound comprising phenothiazine or a derivative thereof;” is also indefinite because its metes and bounds is completely unknown. As way of illustration only, is the pyrolysis product of a phenothiazine (i.e. carbon), encompassed by the limitation of: “or a derivative thereof;”?
The limitation of: “a functional solvent comprising a fouling removing agent selected from the group consisting of a substitutional imidazoline, a phthalate, a sulfone, and combinations thereof.” [Emphasis added]. What is meant by a “functional” solvent? The Examiner suggests the modifying word “functional” be deleted from said limitation. Furthermore, what is a “substitutional” imidazoline? Is Applicant trying to limit the scope of the imidazoline compound to only substituted imidazoline compounds and if so, what are these substituted moieties?
Dependent claim 12 is indefinite in regard to the limitation of: “The composition of claim 1, further comprising an additional solvent selected from the group consisting of water, an ester, an aromatic, an aliphatic, an amide, an acylamide, an alcohol, a liquid polymer, and combinations thereof.” [Emphasis added]. By the sub-limitation “further comprising an additional solvent”, is Applicant implying that the solvent actually claimed in independent claim 1 is NOT anyone of: “water, an ester, an aromatic, an aliphatic, an amide, an acylamide, an alcohol, a liquid polymer, and combinations thereof.”? If said is the case, what are the metes and bounds of the solvent component actually claimed in independent claim 1? Furthermore, what is the metes and bounds of the Markush species of: “an aromatic, an aliphatic,”? Are these aromatic hydrocarbons, aliphatic hydrocarbons or something completely different?
All other claims are also being rejected here because they are either directly or indirectly dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1.
WO 02/051784 A1 (i.e. WO) discloses a method for producing acrylic acid by heterogeneously catalysed gas phase partial oxidation of at least one C3 precursor with molecular oxygen. The product gas mixture containing acrylic acid is cooled and subsequently subjected to either fractionating condensation or a rectification process. Phenothiazine and at least one phenolic composition is introduced into the column head or in the vicinity of the column head the rectification or condensation column (n).
Applicant’s claims are deemed to be directly anticipated over Example 4 (comparative) and Example 5 (comparative). Also see Table 1.
In Example 4 (comparative) the acrylic acid produced by the process of Example 2 is further stabilized in the distillation step by the addition of a polymerization inhibiting solution comprising: 5 g/l of phenothiazine, 7 g/l of hydroquinone monomethyl ether, and 1 g/l of 4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine-N-oxyl (HTEMPO). Please note that the process of Example 2, the production of acrylic acid employs a solvent mixture comprising: 58.8% by weight diphenyl ether, 21.2% by weight diphenyl and 20% by weight dimethylphthalate (which reads on applicant’s functional solvent wherein the fouling removing agent is a phthalate as set forth in independent claim 1). As such, Applicant’s claims are clearly anticipated by the composition formed after the addition of said polymerization inhibiting solution comprising: 5 g/l of phenothiazine, 7 g/l of hydroquinone monomethyl ether, and 1 g/l of 4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine-N-oxyl (HTEMPO) to the acrylic acid product contained in solvent mixture of diphenyl ether, diphenyl and dimethylphthalate.
Example 5 (comparative) is identical to Example 4 (comparative) except that the
the addition of the polymerization inhibiting solution comprises only two inhibitors instead of three inhibitors used in Example 4. Example 5 (comparative) uses an polymerization inhibiting solution which comprises: 6 g/l of phenothiazine and 1 g/l of 4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine-N-oxyl (HTEMPO). As such, Applicant’s claims are clearly anticipated by the composition formed after the addition of said polymerization inhibiting solution comprising: 6 g/l of phenothiazine and 1 g/l of 4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine-N-oxyl (HTEMPO) to the acrylic acid product contained in solvent mixture of diphenyl ether, diphenyl and dimethylphthalate.
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chretien et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2019/0023641 A1 optionally in view of Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1.
Chretien et al. discloses the use of at least two phenol derivatives jointly with at least one ancillary polymerization inhibitor which is different from these two phenol derivatives and particularly is selected from phenol derivatives, amine derivatives, thiazine derivatives, nitroso compounds, N-oxyl derivatives, metal salts, quinone derivatives, and mixtures thereof, to inhibit the polymerization of ethylenically unsaturated monomers comprising at least one heteroatom, it being also possible for a dispersant to be incorporated. The present invention also relates to a corresponding polymerization-inhibiting composition and to the corresponding process for preparing ethylenically unsaturated monomers comprising at least one heteroatom, and particularly acrylic monomers, see abstract.
A preferred thiazine derivative is phenothiazine (PTZ), see paragraph [0057] and Examples 5-6.
Preferred N-oxyl derivatives are 2,2,6,6 tetramethyl-1-piperidine N-oxyl (TEMPO) and its derivatives: 4-hydroxy TEMPO (HTEMPO), 4-methoxy TEMPO, 4-oxo TEMPO or 4-amino TEMPO, di-tert-butyl nitroxide, 2,2,5,5-tetramethyl-3-oxopyrrolidine-oxyl, 2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-4-acetoxypiperidine oxyl, and 4,4′,4″-tris(2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidine-oxy)phosphate, see paragraph [0061] and claims 18-19.
The polymerization-inhibiting composition preferably further contains at least one dispersant that can function as a solvent, surfactant, antifouling agent, anti-deposition agent etc.., see paragraph [0065]-[0068]. Some preferred dispersants are sulfonates, see paragraph [0069] and claim 12, and imidazolines, see paragraph [0076] and claim 12.
Chretien et al. differ from Applicant’s claimed invention in that there does not seem to be a direct teaching (i.e. by way of an example) to a polymerization inhibiting composition that actually comprises an N-oxyl compound (e.g. (HTEMPO)), phenothiazine (PTZ), and a sulfonate and/or imidazoline dispersant all together.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Chretien et al.’s direct disclosure that the at least two phenol derivatives are used in combination with at least one ancillary polymerization inhibitor (e.g. N-oxyl compound (e.g. (HTEMPO)), phenothiazine (PTZ)), and preferably further in combination with at least one dispersant (e.g. sulfonates and imidazolines), as strong motivation to actually make a polymerization-inhibiting composition comprising: two phenol derivatives, an N-oxyl compound (e.g. (HTEMPO)) inhibitor, a phenothiazine (PTZ) inhibitor and at least one dispersant (e.g. sulfonates and imidazolines). Please note that it is well established by the courts that to use two or more compounds together (e.g. N-oxyl compound and phenothiazine), for the same purpose they are individually known to be used, is NOT inventive outside a showing of superior and unexpected results.
In the alternative, Chretien et al. can optionally be combined with Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1 (described above), for Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1’s direct teaching that polymerization inhibiting combinations of a (HTEMPO)) inhibitor and a phenothiazine (PTZ) inhibitor is well known in the art, as further motivation for Chretien et al. to actually use a (HTEMPO)) inhibitor in combination with a phenothiazine (PTZ) inhibitor for the benefits such a combination would impart to the polymerization inhibiting combinations.
Claim(s) 1-8, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marguerre et al. U.S. Patent No.: 10,221,255 B2 optionally in view of Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1.
Marguerre et al. discloses a composition for the immediate stopping of a free-radical polymerization comprises a) an inhibitor for the free-radical polymerization selected from among phenothiazines, b) an aprotic solvent and c) an ionic liquid. It serves to stabilize free-radically polymerizable monomers against free-radical polymerization. For the immediate stopping of free-radical polymerizations, the composition is added to a free-radically polymerizing system, see abstract.
Marguerre et al. discloses a preferred class of polymerization inhibitors are phenothiazines, see column 2,lines 18-45 and examples.
Marguerre et al. also discloses that other effective polymerization inhibitors are N-oxyl compounds such as 2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperazin-1-oxyl (TEMPO), 4-hydroxy-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperazin-1-oxyl (HO-TEMPO), and 4-oxo-2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperazin-1-oxyl (oxo-TEMPO), see column 8, line 66 to column 9, line 6.
Marguerre et al. also discloses the preferable addition of an additive to the polymerization inhibitor composition wherein the additive can be a sulfonate and/or dimethyl phthalate. Table 6 directly teaches a polymerization inhibitor composition comprising phenothiazine and sulfolane, and another polymerization inhibitor composition comprising phenothiazine and dimethyl phthalate, see TABLE 6.
Marguerre et al. differ from Applicant’s claimed invention in that there does not seem to be a direct teaching (i.e. by way of an example) to a polymerization inhibiting composition that actually comprises an N-oxyl compound (e.g. (HO-TEMPO)), phenothiazine (PTZ), and a sulfolane and/or dimethyl phthalate dispersant all together.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use Marguerre et al. disclosure that (e.g. N-oxyl compound (e.g. (HO-TEMPO)) and phenothiazine (PTZ)) are highly effective polymerization inhibitors, and that (e.g. sulfonates and dimethyl phthalate) are preferable additives, as strong motivation to actually make a polymerization-inhibiting composition comprising: an N-oxyl compound (e.g. (HO-TEMPO)) inhibitor, a phenothiazine (PTZ) inhibitor and at least one additive (e.g. sulfonates and dimethyl phthalate). Please note that it is well established by the courts that to use two or more compounds together (e.g. N-oxyl compound and phenothiazine), for the same purpose they are individually known to be used, is NOT inventive outside a showing of superior and unexpected results.
In the alternative, Marguerre et al. can optionally be combined with Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1 (described above), for Hammon et al. WO 02/051784 A1’s direct teaching that polymerization inhibiting combinations of a (HTEMPO) inhibitor (same as Marguerre et al.’s (HO-TEMPO)) and a phenothiazine (PTZ) inhibitor is well known in the art, as further motivation for Marguerre et al. to actually use a (HO-TEMPO)) inhibitor in combination with a phenothiazine (PTZ) inhibitor for the benefits such a combination would impart to the polymerization inhibiting combinations.
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764