DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment filed 11/12/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 2-13 have been amended and new claims 16-20 have been added. Therefore, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walthert et al. (US – 2016/0339990 A1) and further in view of Luce (US – 2007/0069072 A1), and Frolik (US – 2006/0265144 A1).
As per claim 1, Walthert discloses Bicycle Component, Bicycle And Method comprising:
a first tube (Attached figure and Fig: 3b) and a second tube (Attached figure and Fig: 3b ) configured in a telescopic arrangement having an interior space (Fig: 3b);
a pneumatic chamber (281, Fig: 3b) containing a mass of a gas configured to resist compression of the telescopic arrangement (The fluid spring 261 is filled with a fluid and presently with a gas and preferably with air, [0160], Fig: 3b);
an analysis device (47, Fig: 3b) including:
a sensing device (47, Fig: 3b) disposed in the interior space of the housing or exterior of the pneumatic chamber to detect a characteristic related to a [[the]] relative position of the first and second tube and provide a signal indicative of the relative position (Preferably each of the shock absorbers 100 is provided with at least one sensor device 47 for obtaining relative motions between the components 101 and 102 and in particular for determining positions of the components 101 and 102 relative to one another, [0122], Fig: 3b); and
a power supply disposed at least in part in the housing (A cable 38 serves for a power supply and/or data transmission, [0167], Fig: 3b).
Walthert discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a housing attached to the bicycle component but located remotely from the pneumatic chamber;
a circuitry disposed at least in part in the housing and configured to receive the signal,[[, and]]
a wireless communicator in communication with the circuitry and disposed in the housing, the wireless communicator to transmit a wireless signal representative of the relative position.
Luce discloses Aircraft Shock Having A Fluid Lever Monitor comprising:
a housing (38, 39, Fig: 1-2) attached to the bicycle component but located remotely from the pneumatic chamber (a transmitter/receiver or sensor unit 38 located outside the strut for transmitting/receiving signals to/from the prove assembly , [0023], Fig: -2);
a circuitry disposed at least in part in the housing and configured to receive the signal,(The sensor unit 38 communicates the signal from the prove assembly 37 to a computer, processor or other logic device 39 for analyzing the signal and for determining a condition of the amount of liquid in the strut 10, [0023], Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Bicycle Component, Bicycle And Method of the Walthert to make the housing attached to the bicycle component but located remotely from the pneumatic chamber and a circuitry disposed at least in part in the housing and configured to receive the signal as taught by Luce in order to prevent the circuitry from damage due to shock.
Further, Walthert as modified by Luce fails to explicitly disclose a wireless communicator in communication with the circuitry and disposed in the housing, the wireless communicator to transmit a wireless signal representative of the relative position.
Frolik discloses Method for Making a Decision on the Status of a Mechanical System Using Input and Response Data Acquired in Situ comprising:
a wireless communicator (244, Fig: 2) in communication with the circuitry and disposed in the housing, the wireless communicator to transmit a wireless signal representative of the relative position ([0032], Fig: 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Bicycle Component, Bicycle And Method of the Walthert as modified by Luce to make the wireless communicator in communication with the circuitry and disposed in the housing, the wireless communicator to transmit a wireless signal representative of the relative position in order to provide an in-situ representation of the mechanical system is generated as a function of the first data and the second data. The in-situ representation is assessed so as to make a decision regarding the status of the mechanical system.
As per claim 2, Luce also discloses wherein the circuitry is at least partially disposed in the pneumatic chamber (a probe assembly 37 extending into the strut and a transmitter/receiver or sensor unit 38 located outside the strut for transmitting/receiving signals to/from the probe assembly, [0023], Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 3, Luce further discloses wherein the analysis device includes a printed circuit board (PCB) including the circuitry being disposed within the housing (While the sensor unit 38 may be connected to the processor 39 via electrical means, preferably the probe assembly 37 is an optical device that communicates with the sensor unit 38 via an optical cable 41, [0025], Fig: 1-2).
As per claim 4, Luce further discloses wherein the housing is sealed to isolate the PCB from a [[the]] pressure of the pneumatic chamber ([0031] – [0033], Fig: 2-4).
As per claim 5, Luce further discloses wherein the sensing device is a pressure sensor extending through an opening in the housing to detect the pressure of the gas in the pneumatic chamber (A gas fitting (not shown) also may be provided in the wall of the cylinder 32 to provide access for a pressure transducer and the addition of gas. Pressure data developed by the transducer also can be communicated to the processor 39, [0042], Fig: 2-4).
As per claim 6, Walthert discloses wherein the analysis device includes a valve (293, Fig: 3b) to control a flow of the gas into and/or out of the pneumatic chamber (Opening the control valve 293 enables gas exchange in any desired axial position of the suspension piston 37, [0163], Fig: 3b).
As per claim 8, Forlik further disclose wherein the wireless communicator (200, 244, Fig: 2) includes an antenna operable to transmit signals representative of the detected pressure (Fig: 2).
As per claim 9, Forlik further disclose wherein the analysis device includes a top cap, and the antenna is at least partially disposed in the top cap (Forlik discloses analyzer 136 is performed via wireless communication link 186, therefore, it’s obviously required antenna).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walthert et al. (US – 2016/0339990 A1) as modified by Luce (US – 2007/0069072 A1), and Forlik (US – 2006/0265144 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Galasso et al. (US – 2011/0202236 A1).
As per claim 10, Walthert as modified by Luce and Frolik discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sensing device includes a strain gauge attached to one of the first or second tubes.
Galasso discloses Method and Apparatus for Suspension Adjustment comprising:
wherein the sensing device includes a strain gauge attached to one of the first or second tubes (The sensor 5 (and sensors 5b, 5c, 35, 65 and a pedal force sensor (not shown)) may be any suitable force or acceleration transducer (e.g. strain gage, wheatstone bridge, accelerometer, hydraulic cylinder, interferometer based, optical, thermal, acoustic or any suitable combination thereof)), [0031], Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Bicycle Component, Bicycle And Method of the Walthert as modified by Luce and Frolik to use the sensing device includes a strain gauge attached to one of the first or second tubes as taught by Galasso in order to provide small size and light weight so that reduce space and weight of the bicycle.
As per claim 11, Galasso further discloses wherein the strain gauge (5c) is attached to the exterior of the first or second tube (Fig: 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art and teaching reference fail to disclose wherein the analysis device includes a top cap, and wherein the valve is at least partially disposed in the top cap (Claim 7), wherein the analysis device includes a power supply, and wherein the power supply is at least partially disposed in the interior space (Claim 12) and wherein the housing comprises at least one cavity, wherein the sensing device, the circuitry, and the wireless communicator are disposed in the at least one cavity (Claim 6).
Claims 13, 15 depend on claims 12, 14 and claims 17-20 depend on claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 11/12/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 U..S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Walthert et al. (US – 2016/0339990 A1) further in view of Luce (US – 2007/0069072 A1), Frolik (US – 2006/0265144 A1) and Galasso et al. (US – 2011/0202236 A1).
Claims 7, 12-20 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616