DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Examiner acknowledges and accepts the amendment filed on 06/16/26.
Claim 1 is amended;
Claim 21 is newly added;
Claim 20 is withdrawn-amended;
Claims 14-17 remain withdrawn; and
Claims 1-21 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, and 18-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2006269628A (hereafter JP’628, 09/28/23 IDS) in view of YATSUDA et al. (US PG Pub 2015/0175054 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JP’628 discloses a laser apparatus (FIG. 13, [0028]) comprising:
a grating system (a grating 5, FIG. 13, [0006]);
an actuator system (rotation angle control actuators 42b/43b, FIG. 13, [0030]) configured to adjust a first incident angle (θ1, see annotated FIG. 13 below, [0008]) on the grating system and a second incident angle (θ2, FIG. 13, [0009]) on the grating system, the first incident angle being an angle of a first part of an optical beam (interpreted to comprise beams 7/8, where beam 8 is considered a first part of the optical beam, FIG. 13, [0008]) incident on the grating system, the second incident angle being an angle of a second part of the optical beam (beam 7 is considered a second part of the optical beam, FIG. 13, [0009]) incident on the grating system; and
a processor (a controller 41, FIG. 13, [0030]) configured to control the actuator system to periodically vary the first and second incident angles so that the first and second incident angles are different from each other in at least one of phase and variation range (“The controller 41 calculates each value of λ1t−λ1d and λ2t−λ2d, and transmits a control signal to the drivers 42a and 43a so that the calculated values are within a predetermined allowable range,” [0030]).
JP’628 does not disclose the actuator system to periodically vary the first incident angle to repeat a first variation pattern and periodically vary the second incident angle to repeat a second variation pattern.
YATSUDA discloses scanning frequencies of sine wave or triangular wave (FIGS. 15a-15b, [0126]) for driving a pair of actuators and rotating angles of a mirror ([0120]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the processor of JP’628 with a triangular shape or a sinusoidal shape drive signals to the actuators as taught by YATSUDA in order to obtain desired tuning accuracy.
Regarding claim 2, JP’628 discloses a first mirror (6a, FIG. 13) disposed on an optical path of the first part; and a second mirror (6b, FIG. 13) disposed on an optical path of the second part.
Regarding claim 3, JP’628 discloses a laser chamber (a metal laser chamber 1, FIG. 13, [0006]) that outputs the optical beam; and at least one prism (a prism beam expander 4, FIG. 13, [0006]) that increases a beam width of the optical beam so that the optical beam is incident across the first and second mirrors.
Regarding claim 4, JP’628 discloses the actuator system includes a first actuator (43b, FIG. 13, [0030]) configured to vary the first incident angle, and a second actuator (42b, FIG. 13, [0030]) configured to vary the second incident angle.
Regarding claim 8, JP’628 discloses the processor varies the first and second incident angles ([0030]) so that the first incident angle has a variation range of a first value to a second value larger than the first value (it’s implicitly taught that θ1 can be varied from a minimum value to a maximum value in a range), and the second incident angle has a variation range of a third value larger than the first value to a fourth value larger than the third value (it’s implicitly taught that θ2 can be varied from a minimum value to a maximum value in a range).
Regarding claim 9, the combination has disclosed the variation ranges outlined in the rejection to claim 8 above except the third value is equal to or larger than the second value. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second value (the maximum value for the first incident angle) and the third value (the minimum value for the second incident angle) of the combination so that the third value is equal to or larger than the second value in order to maximize tuning ranges.
Regarding claim 11, the combination has disclosed the variation ranges outlined in the rejection to claim 8 above except a difference between the first value and the second value is equal to a difference between the third value and the fourth value. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the variation ranges of the combination with a difference between the first value and the second value being equal to a difference between the third value and the fourth value in order to obtain synchronized tuning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is allowed.
Claims 5-7, 10, and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 5-7 and 21
The cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “the processor varies the first and second incident angles so that the first and second incident angles have a phase difference of 7π/8 radian to 9π/8 radian inclusive” as respectively recited in claims 5 and 21. Therefore, claim 21 is allowable over the cited prior art, and claim 5 is allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and claims 6-7 are also allowable as they directly depend on claim 5.
Claim 10
The cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “a difference between the second value and the third value is equal to or smaller than a variation width of any of the first and second incident angles per pulse of a pulse laser beam output from the laser apparatus” as recited in claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 is allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12
The cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “a difference between a first pulse spectrum central wavelength when the first incident angle is the second value and a second pulse spectrum central wavelength when the second incident angle is the third value is equal to a full width at half maximum of a pulse spectrum waveform of any of the first and second parts” as recited in claim 12. Therefore, claim 12 is allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13
The cited prior art fails to disclose or suggest “a first integration spectrum waveform when the first incident angle is periodically varied and a second integration spectrum waveform when the second incident angle is periodically varied intersect each other at a half maximum of the integration spectrum waveforms” as recited in claim 13. Therefore, claim 13 is allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUANDA ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828