DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Status of Application
3. This application is a Continuation of PCT/JP2022/000037 (filed on 01/04/2022).
Claims 1-19 were originally presented in this application for examination.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending in this application.
Priority
4. Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority based on applications filed in JAPAN. Receipt of the following certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
JP2021-003541 (filed on 01/13/2021)
JP2021-028821 (filed on 02/25/2021)
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 09/14/2023 and 03/14/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the Examiner. An initialed copy accompanies this office action.
Specification
6. The examiner has not checked the specification to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors (grammatical, typographical, and idiomatic). Cooperation of the applicant(s) is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant(s) may become aware of in the specification, in the claims and in any further amendment(s) that applicant(s) may file.
Applicant(s) is also requested to complete the status of the copending applications referred to in the specification by their Attorney Docket Number or Application Serial Number, if any.
The status of the parent application(s) and/or any other application(s) cross-referenced to this application, if any, should be updated in a timely manner.
Drawings
7. The drawings (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4) submitted on 07/07/2023 have been considered.
Claim Objections
8. Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2, --a group consisting of-- should be inserted after “from”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (Second Paragraph)
Claims 6 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Regarding claim 6, the claim fails to further define the claim limitation on “a total content of the Mg and the Ca in the one or more metal atoms is 0.001 mass% to 1.5 mass%” because Mg and Ca are not mentioned in claim 1 as being used together.
B. Regarding claim 7, the instant claim recites “a Li content is 0.0001 mass% or less”. It is unclear if the claim further defines the adsorbent in claim 1. This claim limitation could be considered as lack of sufficient antecedent basis because Li is not mentioned in claim 1.
Double Patenting
A. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/598,454 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
B. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/175,981 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
C. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/175,996 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
D. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/299,274 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
E. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/348,151 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
F. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/616,605 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
G. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/915,818 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
H. Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/311,519 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons.
Copending application teaches the claimed adsorbent. It is considered any additional limitations recited in the copending application or in the instant application would have been an inherent feature and considered being part of the adsorbent disclosed or claimed in view of the same subject matter disclosed and claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, & 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voigt et al. “Anion Adsorption, Ti3C2Tz MXene Multilayers, and Their Effect on Claylike Swelling”.
The claimed invention relates to an adsorbent comprising:
particles of a layered material including one or plural layers; and
one or more metal atoms selected from the group consisting of Al, Mg, Ca, Ba, Mn, or Cu, wherein the one or plural layers include a layer body represented by:
MmXₙ
wherein M is at least one metal of Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7,
X is a carbon atom, a nitrogen atom, or a combination thereof,
n is 1 to 4, and
m is more than n and 5 or less, and
a modifier or terminal T exists on a surface of the layer body, wherein T is at least one selected from the group consisting of a hydroxyl group, a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, an oxygen atom, or a hydrogen atom, and
wherein the M of the layer body is bonded to at least one selected from the group consisting of a chlorine atom, a phosphorus atom, an iodine atom, or a sulfur atom (as recited in the instant claim 1).
Voigt et al. discloses a two-dimensional multilayered (ML) MXene with a formula Mₙ₊₁XₙT₂ where M is transitional metal including Ti, V, Mo, Nb, and Cr; X is carbon and/or nitrogen; n is 1, 2, or 3; T is a surface termination - OH, -F, and -0 (see p. 2, Introduction Section, Left Column). Voigt et al. also discloses that the two-dimensional multilayered, i.e., Ti₃C₂T₂, is etched with anion selected from a group including PO₄³⁻ and SO4²⁻ (see p. 3, “High-Anion-Concentration Ti₃C₂T₂ Synthesis”). When PO₄³⁻ and SO₄²⁻ are etched to Ti₃C₂T₂, the PO4³⁻ and SO₄²⁻ are bonded to the Ti layer (claimed M metal layer) of the multilayered.
Regarding claims 1-2 & 12-13, Voigt et al. teaches the claimed adsorbent comprising the same composition and structure as claimed (see p. 2, Introduction Section, Left Column).
Regarding claim 3, Voigt e al. teaches the PO₄³⁻ and SO₄²⁻ are bonded to the Ti layer (claimed M metal layer) of the multilayered, meeting the claim limitation. See p. 3, “High-Anion-Concentration Ti₃C₂T₂ Synthesis”.
Regarding claim 7, with regards to the claim limitation on “a Li content is 0.0001 mass% or less”, since Voigt et al. does not disclose or use a lithium-containing component to synthesize the two-dimensional particle (see p. 3, “High-Anion-Concentration Ti₃C₂T₂ Synthesis”), therefore the two-dimensional particle of Voigt et al. is considered be Li free and is less than 0.0001 mass% as claimed.
Regarding claim 9, the two-dimensional multilayered material of Voigt et al. has a sheet-like structure as claimed (see Abstract, p. 3, line 7, & drawings on p. 7).
Regarding the intended use limitations in claims 10-15, it is considered the two-dimensional multilayered material disclosed by Voigt et al. would have the same use (for adsorbing urea, uremic toxin, a dye, polar organic compound, hydroxyl group and amino group, ammonia, etc.), and capable of doing the same thing because it is the same adsorbent material.
The reference specifically or inherently meets each of the claimed limitations, thus the reference is anticipatory.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 4-6 & 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Also, the claims would be allowable if the rejections under the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (second paragraph) and Obviousness Double Patenting (ODP) rejections are overcome.
As concerned with claims 4-6, Voigt et al. teaches the claimed adsorbent recited in the instant claim 1, however he does not teach “the one or more metal atoms are one or more selected from the group consisting of Mg, Ca, or Mn” and “the total content of the Mg and the Ca in the one or more metal atoms is 0.001 mass% to 1.5 mass%”.
As concerned with claim 8, Voigt et al. teaches the claimed adsorbent recited in the instant claim 1, however he does not teach the two-dimensional multilayered material disclosed comprises “one or more materials selected from a group consisting of ceramic, a metal, and a resin”.
There would be no motivation to combine the teachings of the prior art references together to arrive to the claimed invention.
Citations
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. All references are cited for related art. See PTO-892 Form prepared.
Conclusion
14. Claims 1-19 are pending. Claims 1-15 are rejected. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn. No claims are allowed.
Contacts
/Cam N. Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/CNN/
April 01, 2026