DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, and 18 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, and 18 are amended.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17, 19, and 20 are canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraph 4, filed February 16, 2026, with respect to claims 1 and 6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1 and 6 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 6 paragraph 5 - page 11 (all), filed February 16, 2026, with respect to claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16 and 18 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 have been considered but are
moot because the arguments do not apply to the reference being used in the current rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further presented in view of Marupaduga et al (US Patent No.:10,411,781). A second new ground of rejection also presented in view of Rhodes (US Pub. No.:2009/0203406).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “A wireless communication method performed by an eNB, the method comprising: transmitting, to a second wireless network node" in lines 1-3. However, “first” wireless network node is not define (removed via claim amendments). It is recommend to define “first wireless network node”.
Claims 6, 11 and 16 are also objected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the second wireless network node is one of a next-generation nodeB (gNB) or an eNB” in lines 1-2. For consistency and clarification with “an eNB” recited in claim 1, line 1, it is suggested to change “wherein the second wireless network node is one of a next-generation nodeB (gNB) or a second eNB”.
Claims 8, 13 and 18 are also objected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite, " wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width”. Various paragraphs 0077, 0087, 0099, 0111, 0125 and 0136 of instant application disclose, “In addition, beam coverage settings indicate at least one parameter that effect (e.g., is associated with) the beam coverage of the corresponding beam. For example, each of the beam coverage settings can comprise at least one of the parameters: azimuth angle, tilt angle, horizontal beam width and vertical beam width” The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, “ wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width.” Therefore claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraphs 0015, 0019-0023, 0077, 0087, 0099, 0111, 0125 and 0136) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claims 6, 11 and 16 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are also rejected since they are dependent on the rejected dependent claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, respectfully, as set forth above.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson (TP for SON BL CR for TS 38.423, TS 38.473, TS 38.300): CCO, R3-206514, 2020-20-22), and further in view of Marupaduga et al (US Patent No.:10,411,781).
As per claim 1, Ericsson disclose A wireless communication method performed by an eNB (see section 2.1, NG-RAN/an eNB), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a second wireless network node, beam coverage modification information associated with at least one beam of the first wireless network node (see section 2.1, "a NG-RAN node sends to a neighbor NG-RAN node a coverage modification list which includes deployment related information concerning the serving cells. From the above agreement and the consideration that gNB-DU is the functional entity responsible for modification of cell and beam coverage, it derives that if the action required to resolve a CCO issue concerns a coverage modification, the gNB-DU will be responsible for such modification. This implies that, in case such modification is performed, the gNBDU will have to inform gNB-CU-CP of the updated configuration", see section 8.4.2.2, "The NG-RAN node1 initiates the procedure by sending the NGRAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE message to a peer NG-RAN node2.", "the NG-RAN Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE, the NG-RAN node2 shall, if supported, consider the SSB beam deployment configuration of the SSB beams to be modified as the next SSB beam configuration in the cell.", "If the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE is present, the NG-RAN node2 may use the information in the SSB Coverage State IE to identify the SSB beam deployment configuration enabled by NG-RAN node1 ", "If the NG-RAN Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE, the NG-RAN node2 shall, if supported, consider the SSB beam deployment configuration of the SSB beams to be modified as the next SSB beam configuration in the cell.", figure 8.4.2.2-1, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, section 8.2.4.2, "gNB-DU initiates the procedure by sending a GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message to the gNB-CU including an appropriate set of updated configuration data", "If the Coverage Modification List ResponseIE is contained in the GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message, the gNB CU shall, if supported, take it into account for Coverage and Capacity Optimization.", figure 8.2.4.2-1, GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE, and section 8.2.5.2, "The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message including the appropriate updated configuration data to the gNB-DU", "If the Coverage Modification List Request IE is contained in the GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message, the gNB DU may use it to determine a new cell and/or beam configuration.", figure 8.2.5.2-1, GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE, see also section 15.5.X.3, "the gNB-CU-CP indicating to the gNB-DU that some cell/ beam coverage modification is recommended due to excessive interference detected at cell/SSB edge", "As an example of inter-RAN node actions one gNB may send to a neighbor gNB a coverage modification list which includes deployment related information concerning NR cells and SSB beams")), and
receiving, from the second wireless network node, a response message (see section 8.4.2.2, "The NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message ...", FIGURE 8.4.2.2-1, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE, section 8.2.4.2, "the gNB-CU responds with GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message to acknowledge that it successfully updated the configuration data", figure 8.2.4.2-1, GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE", section 8.2.5.2, "The gNB-DU responds with a GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message to acknowledge that it successfully updated the configuration data.", figure 8.2.5.2-1, GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE),
wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam (see section 8.4.2.2, "if the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE is present, the NG-RAN node2 may use the information in the SSB Coverage State IE to identify the SSB beam deployment configuration enabled by NG-RAN node1", section 9.1.3.4, "> SSB Beam List", ">> SSB Beam Index", ">> SSB Beam Coverage State") .
Although Ericsson disclose wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam,
Ericsson however does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width,
Marupaduga however disclose wherein a beam coverage modification information comprises:
at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width (see Fig.3, para. 2, 40, Fig. 4, see also para. 41-43, a beam is modified to increase the width of beam 308 to enhance coverage, alter the width of the vertical beam based on a beam coverage modification information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width, as taught by Marupaduga, in the system of Ericsson, so as increase network efficiencies and provide a better overall experience, see Marupaduga, para. 7-10.
As per claim 3, the combination of Ericsson and Marupaduga disclose the wireless communication method of claim 1.
The combination of Ericsson and Marupaduga however does not explicitly disclose wherein a second wireless network node is one of a next-generation nodeB (gNB) or an eNB.
Centonza however disclose wherein a first wireless network node is an evolved nodeB (eNB), and wherein a second wireless network node is one of a next-generation nodeB (gNB) or an eNB (see page 43, line 31 - page 44, line 4, An example of the actions that can be taken by nodes within the RAN is shown in FIGURE 11, which illustrates an example of Coverage and Capacity Optimization (COO) measurement gathering, problem detection, and triggered correction indication. In FIGURE 11, signaling between a gNB-CU and a gNB-DU is represented. However, it is assumed that similar signaling can be in place when communication is between two RAN nodes, such as two gNBs or a gNB and an eNB ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a first wireless network node is an evolved nodeB (eNB), and wherein a second wireless network node is one of a next-generation nodeB (gNB) or an eNB, as taught by Centonza, in the system of Ericsson and Marupaduga, so as enable a base station to take at least one action to adjust at least one capacity or coverage optimization parameter after receiving, from a second base station, information comprising at least one of a per serving cell per beam reference signal measurement; a per target beam per cell reference signal measurement; information relating to a failure event; and information about a RACH access, see Centonza, page 36 last paragraph - page 37 lines 1-4.
As per claim 6, Ericsson disclose A wireless communication method performed by a second wireless network node, the method comprising:
receiving, from an eNB, beam coverage modification information associated with at least one beam of the eNB (see section 2.1, "a NG-RAN node may send to a neighbor NG-RAN node a coverage modification list which includes deployment related information concerning the serving cells. From the above agreement and the consideration that gNB-DU is the functional entity responsible for modification of cell and beam coverage, it derives that if the action required to resolve a CCO issue concerns a coverage modification, the gNB-DU will be responsible for such modification. This implies that, in case such modification is performed, the gNB DU will have to inform gNB-CU-CP of the updated configuration", section 8.4.2.2, "The NG-RAN node1 initiates the procedure by sending the NG RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE message to a peer NG-RAN node2.", "the NG-RAN Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE, the NG-RAN node2 shall, if supported, consider the SSB beam deployment configuration of the SSB beams to be modified as the next SSB beam configuration in the cell.", "If the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE is present, the NG-RAN node2 may use the information in the SSB Coverage State IE to identify the SSB beam deployment configuration enabled by NG-RAN node1", "If the NG-RAN Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE, the NG-RAN node2 shall, if supported, consider the SSB beam deployment configuration of the SSB beams to be modified as the next SSB beam configuration in the cell.", figure 8.4.2.2, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE, section 8.2.4.2, "gNB-DU initiates the procedure by sending a GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message to the gNB-CU including an appropriate set of updated configuration data", "If the Coverage Modification List Response IE is contained in the GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message, the gNB CU shall, if supported, take it into account for Coverage and Capacity Optimization.", figure 8.2.4.2-1, GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE, section 8.2.5.2, "The gNB-CU initiates the procedure by sending a GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message including the appropriate updated configuration data to the gNB-DU", "If the Coverage Modification List Request IE is contained in the GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message, the gNB DU may use it to determine a new cell and/or beam configuration.", figure 8.2.5.2-1, GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE, section 15.5.X.3, "the gNB-CU-CP indicating to the gNB-DU that some cell/ beam coverage modification is recommended due to excessive interference detected at cell/SSB edge", "As an example of inter-RAN node actions one gNB may send to a neighbor gNB a coverage modification list which includes deployment related information concerning NR cells and SSB beams"),
transmitting, to the first wireless network node, a response message (see D1, section 8.4.2.2, "The NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message ...", FIGURE 8.4.2.2-1, NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE, section 8.2.4.2, "the gNB-CU responds with GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message to acknowledge that it successfully updated the configuration data", figure 8.2.4.2-1, GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE", section 8.2.5.2, "The gNB-DU responds with a GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE message to acknowledge that it successfully updated the configuration data.", figure 8.2.5.2-1, GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE), and
adjusting a configuration associated with the at least one beam in the second wireless network node based on the beam coverage modification information (see section 2.1, "gNB-DU is the functional entity responsible for modification of cell and beam coverage, it derives that if the action required to resolve a CCO issue concerns a coverage modification, the gNB-DU will be responsible for such modification. This implies that, in case such modification is performed, the gNB-DU will have to inform gNB-CU-CP of the updated configuration", section 8.4.2.2, "the NG-RAN Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE, the NG-RAN node2 shall, if supported, consider the SSB beam deployment configuration of the SSB beams to be modified as the next SSB beam configuration in the cell.", "If the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE is present, the NG-RAN node2 may use the information in the SSB Coverage State IE to identify the SSB beam deployment configuration enabled by NG-RAN node1 ", "If the NG-RAN Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE, the NG RAN node2 shall, if supported, consider the SSB beam deployment configuration of the SSB beams to be modified as the next SSB beam configuration in the cell.", section 8.2.4.2, "If the Coverage Modification List Response IE is contained in the GNB-DU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message, the gNB-CU shall, if supported, take it into account for Coverage and Capacity Optimization.", section 8.2.5.2, "If the Coverage Modification List Request IE is contained in the GNB-CU CONFIGURATION UPDATE message, the gNB-DU may use it to determine a new cell and/or beam configuration." section 15.5.X.3, "As an example of inter-RAN node actions one gNB may send to a neighbor gNB a coverage modification list which includes deployment related information concerning NR cells and SSB beams"),
wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam (see section 8.4.2.2, "if the NG-RAN Coverage Modification List IE is present, the NG-RAN node2 may use the information in the SSB Coverage State IE to identify the SSB beam deployment configuration enabled by NG-RAN node1", section 9.1.3.4, "> SSB Beam List", ">> SSB Beam Index", ">> SSB Beam Coverage State") .
Although Ericsson disclose wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam,
Ericsson however does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width,
Marupaduga however disclose wherein a beam coverage modification information comprises:
at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width (see Fig.3, para. 2, 40, Fig. 4, see also para. 41-43, a beam is modified to increase the width of beam 308 to enhance coverage, alter the width of the vertical beam based on a beam coverage modification information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width, as taught by Marupaduga, in the system of Ericsson, so as increase network efficiencies and provide a better overall experience, see Marupaduga, para. 7-10.
As per claim 8, claim 8 is rejected the same way as claim 3.
Claims 11, 13, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson (TP for SON BL CR for TS 38.423, TS 38.473, TS 38.300): CCO, R3-206514, 2020-20-22), in view of Marupaduga et al (US Patent No.:10,411,781), and further in view of Soldati et al (US Provisional 63/062177, further published US Pub. No.:2023/0300634).
As per claim 11, claim 11 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Ericsson however does not explicitly disclose the first wireless network node, comprising “a processor and a storage unit”, wherein the processor is configured to read a program code from the storage unit and to perform: transmitting, via “a transceiver” to a second wireless network node.
Soldati however disclose a first wireless network node (see Fig. 2-3, 5-6, Fig.15, a first network node 10, see para. 0219) comprising a processor (see Fig.15, Processor 403) and a storage unit (see Fig.15, Memory 405)), wherein the processor is configured to read a program code from the storage unit and to perform: transmitting, via a transceiver (see Fig.15, Transceiver 401) to a second wireless network node (see Fig. 2-3, 5-6, Fig.15, a second network node 20, see para. 0219-0221, see prov177, Fig.23, page 16 paragraph 3- page 17 paragraphs 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of the first wireless network node, comprising “a processor and a storage unit”, wherein the processor is configured to read a program code from the storage unit and to perform: transmitting, via “a transceiver” to a second wireless network node, as taught by Soldati, in the system of Ericsson and Marupaduga, so as to support a method comprises receiving, at the first network node, an indication from the second network node of a capacity and coverage optimization, CCO, issue with the serving cell of the first network node. In this case, determining the modified configuration of the reference signal beam is performed in response to the received indication, and the indicated CCO issue comprises at least one of: a capacity issue, a coverage issue, an interference issue, and/or an uplink/downlink imbalance, see Soldati, paragraphs – 0027-0035, prov177 pages 19-20.
As per claim 13, the combination of Ericsson, Marupaduga and Soldati disclose the first wireless network node of claim 11.
Soldati further disclose wherein the second wireless network node is one of a next-generation nodeB (gNB) or an eNB (see para. 0099, 0175, 0194-0197, the first and the second network nodes 10, 20 can be, for instance, any of a 3GPP eNB node, a 3GPP gNB node, a 3GPP en-gNB node, and a 3GPP ng-eNB node, or combinations thereof. For instance, in one embodiment, the first network node 10 is a gNB distributed unit (gNB-DU) and the second network node 20 is a gNB centralized unit (gNB-CU) of a split RAN architecture of a 3GPP NG-RAN system. In another embodiment, the first network node 10 and the second network node 20 are both a gNB of a full RAN architecture of a 3GPP NG-RAN system. In yet another embodiment, the first network node 10 is a gNB a 3GPP NG-RAN system and the second network node 20 is an eNB of an LTE system of an ng-eNB. In still another embodiment, the first network node 10 is a 3GPP en-gNB and the second network 20 node is a 3GPP eNB.).
As per claim 16, claim 16 is rejected the same way as claim 6. Ericsson however does not explicitly disclose the second wireless network node, comprising a processor and a storage unit, wherein the processor is configured to read a program code from the storage unit and to perform: receiving, via a transceiver from a first wireless network node,
Soldati however disclose a second wireless network node (see Fig. 2-3, 5-6, Fig.15, a second wireless network node 20, see para. 0059, 0219) comprising a processor (see Fig.15, Processor 403) and a storage unit (see Fig.15, Memory 405)), wherein the processor is configured to read a program code from the storage unit and to perform: transmitting, via a transceiver (see Fig.15, Transceiver 401) to a first wireless network node (see Fig. 2-3, 5-6, Fig.15, a first wireless network node 10, see para. 0219-0221, 0224-0225, see prov177, Fig.23, page 16 paragraph 3- page 17 paragraphs 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of the second wireless network node, comprising a processor and a storage unit, wherein the processor is configured to read a program code from the storage unit and to perform: receiving, via a transceiver from a first wireless network node, as taught by Soldati, in the system of Ericsson and Marupaduga, so as to support a method comprises receiving, at the first network node, an indication from the second network node of a capacity and coverage optimization, CCO, issue with the serving cell of the first network node. In this case, determining the modified configuration of the reference signal beam is performed in response to the received indication, and the indicated CCO issue comprises at least one of: a capacity issue, a coverage issue, an interference issue, and/or an uplink/downlink imbalance, see Soldati, paragraphs – 0027-0035, prov177 pages 19-20.
As per claim 18, claim 18 is rejected the same way as claim 13.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun (WO2019/245290), and further in view of Rhodes (US Pub. No.:2009/0203406).
As per claim 1, Byun disclose A wireless communication method performed by an eNB, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a second wireless network node, beam coverage modification information associated with at least one beam of the first wireless network node, and receiving, from the second wireless network node, a response message (see paragraphs 174, 175, figure 14, steps S1414, S1416, sending beam coverage modification information and receiving a response message).
Byun however does not explicitly disclose wherein the beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width.
Rhodes however disclose wherein a beam coverage modification information comprises: at least one beam coverage setting, indicating at least one parameter associated with a beam coverage of each of the at least one beam, wherein the at least one parameter comprises at least one of: an Azimuth angle, a tilt angle, a horizontal beam width, or a vertical beam width (see para. 0088, 0139, control adjustment of the beam parameters of at least two of the antenna beams to achieve a desired coverage; wherein the set of adjustable beam parameters includes one or more of beam direction, beam azimuth angle, beam downtilt angle and beam width).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein a beam coverage modification information comprises: a beam index of each of the at least one beam, and a beam coverage state indicating a beam coverage configuration of each of the at least one beam, as taught by Rhodes, in the system of Byun, so as provide an antenna having a beam angle which is adjustable in horizontal (azimuth) and vertical (downtilt) directions, as well as having adjustable beam width, see Rhodes paragraphs 9-15.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Soldati (US provisional 63/062169, published as US Pub. No.: 2024/0259837) – see para. 0061, 0087, 0090, “Successful operation of the eNB configuration update procedure is illustrated in the message diagram of FIG. 24. If the Coverage Modification List IE is present, eNB2 may use the information in the Cell Coverage State IE to identify the cell deployment configuration enabled by eNB1 and for configuring the mobility towards the cell(s) indicated by the ECGI IE. If the Cell Deployment Status Indicator IE is present in the Coverage Modification List IE, the eNB2 shall consider the cell deployment configuration of the cell to be modified as the next planned configuration and shall remove any planned configuration stored for this cell. If the Cell Deployment Status Indicator IE is present and the Cell Replacing Info IE contains non-empty cell list, the eNB2 may use this list to avoid connection or re-establishment failures during the reconfiguration, e.g. consider the cells in the list as possible alternative handover targets. If the Cell Deployment Status Indicator IE is not present, the eNB2 shall consider the cell deployment configuration of cell to be modified as activated and replace any previous configuration for the cells indicated in the Coverage Modification List IE.”
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469