DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 11 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “a guide coupler” to “the guide coupler” in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “a guide coupler” to “the guide coupler” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Please change “the right atrium” to “a right atrium”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) (1, 2, 6), 4, 5, 7, 3, (1, 2), 4 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 16, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,325 in view of Gammie et al. (US 2020/0246046A1). U.S. Patent No. 11,154,325 does not expressly disclose that the guide is capable of having the elongate member and puncture member removed from the lumen and receiving a therapeutic device in the lumen to be angularly deflected relative to the shaft while the therapeutic device is disposed in the lumen of the guide. Gammie et al. teaches a guide coupled to a shaft via a guide coupler [0259, 293], an elongate member and a puncture member are capable of being withdrawn/removed from the lumen of the guide [0105, 0124]. The guide coupler is a hinge [0089]. A therapeutic device in the form of a guidewire (gw2) is capable of being received within the guide lumen and angularly deflected relative to the shaft while disposed in the lumen of the guide (Fig. 13D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the guide of U.S. Patent No. 11,154,325 with the capability of removing the elongate member and puncture member and receiving a therapeutic device, as taught by Gammie et al., to provide pathways to and from a treatment site. It is further noted that guidewires may include lumens through which treatment fluid may flow.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,045,224 in view of Gammie et al. (US 2020/0246046A1). U.S. Patent No. 11,045,224 does not expressly disclose that the guide is capable of having the elongate member and puncture member removed from the lumen and receiving a therapeutic device in the lumen to be angularly deflected relative to the shaft while the therapeutic device is disposed in the lumen of the guide. Gammie et al. teaches an elongate member and a puncture member that are capable of being withdrawn/removed from the lumen of the guide [0105, 0124]. A therapeutic device in the form of a guidewire (gw2) is capable of being received within the guide lumen and angularly deflected relative to the shaft while disposed in the lumen of the guide (Fig. 13D). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the guide of U.S. Patent No. 11,045,224 with the capability of removing the elongate member and puncture member and receiving a therapeutic device, as taught by Gammie et al., to provide pathways to and from a treatment site. It is further noted that guidewires may include lumens through which treatment fluid may flow.
Claim(s) 17, 24, 25 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3, 4, 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,172,690 in view of Chanduszko et al. (US 2005/0101984A1, “Chanduszko”). U.S. Patent No. 11,172,690 does not expressly disclose that the elongate member and septum penetrator are proximally withdrawn and removed through the guide, a therapeutic device is inserted and delivered distally through the guide to disposed a distal end of the therapeutic device in the left atrium. Chanduszko teaches the removal of inner and outer tubes (12, 14; [0058]) and the delivery of a therapeutic device into the left atrium. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the method of U.S. Patent No. 11,172,690 with the step of removing the elongate member and septum penetrator and delivering a therapeutic device to the left atrium, as taught by Chanduszko, for the predictable result of providing means for completing a septal puncture procedure through closure of the puncture [0058].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gammie et al. (US 2020/0246046A1, “Gammie”).
Regarding claim 1, Gammie discloses an apparatus including a guide (3430) coupled and angularly deflectable relative to a shaft (3420; Fig. 70; [0292]) via a guide coupler (3440). The guide is capable of being transitioned between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration in which a distal end of the guide points away from a centerline of the shaft when transitioned from its delivery configuration to its deployed configuration. The guide defines a lumen. An elongate member (3460) is removably and slidably disposable within the lumen of the guide and is capable of extending distally relative to the distal end of the guide. The elongate member defines a lumen. A puncture member (3470; Fig. 70A; [0292]) is slidably disposable within the lumen of the elongate member and capable of extending distally relative to a distal end of the elongate member. The puncture member is capable of puncturing tissue of a patient [0271]. The guide is capable of having the elongate member and puncture member removed from the lumen of the guide and to receive a therapeutic device (e.g. gw) in the lumen of the guide [0105, 0124]. It is noted that the therapeutic device is not positively recited. The guide is capable of being angularly deflected relative to the shaft while the therapeutic device is disposed in the lumen of the guide [0111].
Regarding claim 2, Gammie discloses an end effector (362) disposed about the elongate member. The end effector has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the elongate member, and is removably and slidable disposable within the lumen of the guide. The guide is capable of having the end effector removed from the lumen of the guide with the elongate member and the puncture member [0152-0153, 0292; Fig. 6].
Regarding claim 3, Gammie discloses that the guide is capable of being transitioned between its delivery configuration and its deployed configuration in response to relative movement between a portion of the guide disposed proximal to the guide coupler and the shaft (Fig. 70).
Regarding claim 4, Gammie discloses that the puncture member defines a lumen that is capable of slidably receiving a guide wire [0155, 0299].
Regarding claim 5, Gammie discloses that the guide coupler allows rotational movement of the guide relative to the shaft and limits relative linear movement between the guide coupler and the guide [0293].
Regarding claim 6, Gammie discloses that the guide coupler is a hinge [0089].
Regarding claim 7, Gammie discloses that the guide coupler is spaced proximally from a distal end of the shaft (Fig. 70).
Regarding claim 8, Gammie discloses that the guide includes a lumen capable of receiving a sheath and the therapeutic device therein, and to be angularly deflected relative to the shaft while the sheath the therapeutic device is disposed in the lumen of the guide. It is noted that the sheath and therapeutic device are not positively recited.
Regarding claim 9, Gammie discloses that the distal end of the guide is capable of being angularly deflected when transitioned from its delivery configuration to its deployed configuration such that a central axis defined by the distal end of the guide is about perpendicular relative to a central axis of the shaft (Fig. 70).
Regarding claim 10, Gammie discloses an apparatus including a guide (3430) coupled and angularly deflectable relative to a shaft (3420; Fig. 70) via a guide coupler (3440). The guide is capable of being transitioned between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration in which a distal end of the guide points away from a centerline of the shaft when transitioned from its delivery configuration to its deployed configuration. The guide defines a lumen. A therapeutic device (3470, septum penetrator; Fig. 70A; [0292]) is disposed in the lumen of the guide. A distal end of the therapeutic device extends from the distal end of the guide. The position of the therapeutic device is controllable by one or more of angular deflection of the guide, translation of the shaft and rotation of the shaft.
Regarding claim 11, Gammie discloses a handle (380; [0146]) that is operably coupled to the shaft and the guide. The shaft and guide extend distally form the handle (Fig. 4). A length of the guide disposed between a distal end of the handle and the guide couple increases in response to the guide being transitioned from its delivery configuration to its deployed configuration (Fig. 4,70).
Regarding claim 12, Gammie discloses that the guide coupler allows rotational movement of the guide relative to the shaft and limits relative linear movement between the guide coupler and the guide [0293].
Regarding claim 13, Gammie discloses that the guide is coupled to the shaft via a guide coupler that is a hinge [0089].
Regarding claim 14, Gammie discloses that the guide coupler is spaced proximally from a distal end of the shaft (Fig. 70).
Regarding claim 15, Gammie discloses a sheath (3460) disposed in the lumen of the guide with a distal end of the sheath extending from the distal end of the guide (Fig. 70). The therapeutic device is disposed in a lumen of the sheath and the distal end of the therapeutic device extends from the distal end of the sheath (Fig. 70).
Regarding claim 16, Gammie discloses that the distal end of the guide is capable of being angularly deflected when transitioned from its delivery configuration to its deployed configuration such that a central axis defined by the distal end of the guide is about perpendicular relative to a central axis of the shaft (Fig. 70).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 18-23 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gutfinger et al. (US 7,976,551) discloses a guide that is angularly deflectable and a coupler (324).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771