DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 1 May 2026. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 17, 19-21, 24-26 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 1, 17, 20, 21, cancelled claim(s) 3, 5-16, 18, 22-23 and new claim (s) 26.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘elongate member,’ ‘puncture member,’ ‘septum penetrator”, “therapeutic device”) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gammie et al. (US 2020/0246046A1, “Gammie”) in view of Khairkhahan et al. (US 2002/0169377A1, “Khairkhahan”).
Regarding claims 1 and 26, Gammie discloses an apparatus including a guide (3430; Fig. 70; [0292]) defining a lumen and capable of being transitioned between a delivery configuration and a deployed configuration. An elongate member (3460) is removably and slidably disposable within the lumen of the guide and is capable of extending distally relative to the distal end of the guide. The elongate member defines a lumen. A puncture member (3470; Fig. 70A; [0292]) is slidably disposable within the lumen of the elongate member and capable of extending distally relative to a distal end of the elongate member. The puncture member is capable of puncturing tissue of a patient [0271]. The guide is capable of having the elongate member and puncture member removed from the lumen of the guide and to receive a therapeutic device (e.g. gw) in the lumen of the guide [0105, 0124], the therapeutic device being maneuverable within the guide by translating, rotating or deflecting the guide. It is noted that the therapeutic device is not positively recited. The puncture member is capable of being electrified with radiofrequency (RF) energy [0106]. However, Gammie does not disclose a dilator slidably disposable within the elongate member and about the puncture member, the dilator distally extendable from the elongate member to dispose a distal end of the dilator in the left atrium.
In the same field of endeavor, dilators used to facilitate access to left atrium, Khairkhahan teaches a dilator disposed within an elongate member (74; Fig. 4; [0090]) and over a puncture member (42). The needle extends into the left atrium from the right atrium (Fig. 8) dilator is positioned within the left atrium. The dilator is advanced through the opening formed by the puncture member [0052], thereby enlarging the opening formed by the puncture member [0060]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the apparatus of Gammie with a dilator between the elongate member and puncture member, as taught by Khairkhahan, to provide means for enlarging the opening formed by the puncture member such that a therapeutic device may easily be disposed therein [0052].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gammie and Khairkhahan discloses an end effector (362; Gammie) disposed about the elongate member. The end effector has a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the elongate member, and is removably and slidable disposable within the lumen of the guide. The guide is capable of having the end effector removed from the lumen of the guide with the elongate member and the puncture member [0152-0153, 0292; Fig. 6; Gammie].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gammie and Khairkhahan discloses that the puncture member defines a lumen that is capable of slidably receiving a guide wire [0155, 0299; Gammie].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 19-21, 24 and 25 are allowed.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest a method including inserting a distal end of a guide into a right atrium of the heart, extending an elongate member within the guide towards the septum, extending a septum penetrator within the elongate member such that the septum penetrator pierces the septum and enters a left atrium of the heart, extending a dilator disposed within the elongate member and about the septum penetrator thereby dilating the puncture, removing the elongate member, dilator, and the septum penetrator through the guide, inserting a therapeutic device into the guide and in the left atrium, maneuvering the therapeutic device within the left atrium by at least one of the translating, rotating, or deflecting the guide, in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 17, 19-21, 24-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stokes et al. (US 2017/0014159A1) discloses a transseptal puncture device including a septum penetrator and an elongate member..
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771