DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Roberts et al. (US 2001/0028967).
Regarding claim 1, Roberts et al. discloses in Figs 1-4, a system ([0002]) comprising: a fuel cell stack (ref 10); and a controller ([0016], [0035]) configured to operate the stack (ref 10) with a given air stoic ratio ([0012]-[0013], [0026]) while a temperature of the stack (ref 10) is greater than a temperature threshold ([0012]-[0013], [0026]) and to operate the stack (ref 10) with a lower air stoic ratio ([0012], [0026]), to thereby suppress a stack voltage ([0012]) of the stack in order to increase heat generation ([0012]-[0013], [0026]) of the stack (ref 10), while the temperature ([0012]-[0013], [0026]) of the stack (ref 10) is lower than the temperature threshold ([0012]-[0013], [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Roberts et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the controller ([0016], [0035]) is further configured to adjust the lower air stoic ratio ([0012], [0026]) according to a difference between ([0045]-[0047]) the stack voltage of the stack (ref 10) and a desired stack voltage ([0045]-[0047], voltage is monitored and controlled accordingly, via stoichiometry / starvation) of the stack (ref 10).
Regarding claim 3, Roberts et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the controller ([0016], [0035]) is further configured to adjust a stack current ([0001], [0026], current adjusting disclosed) of the stack (ref 10) in order to operate ([0001], [0012], [0026]) the stack (ref 10) with the lower air stoic ratio ([0012], [0026]).
Regarding claim 4, Roberts et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the controller ([0016], [0035]) is further configured to adjust a stack current ([0001], [0012], [0026]) of the stack (ref 10) in order to operate the stack (ref 10) with an air stoic ratio greater than ([0001], [0012], [0026], current and voltage relationship disclosed) the lower air stoic ratio ([0012], [0026]) while the stack voltage is lower than a voltage threshold ([0045]-[0047], voltage is monitored and controlled accordingly, via stoichiometry / starvation).
Regarding claim 6, Roberts et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the controller ([0016], [0035]) is further configured to adjust a mass air flow ([0012], [0026], [0031], [0032]) into the stack (ref 10) in order to operate the stack (ref 10) with the lower air stoic ratio ([0012], [0026], [0031], [0032]).
Regarding claim 7, Roberts et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the controller ([0016], [0035]) is further configured to operate the stack (ref 10) with the lower air stoic ratio ([0012]-[0013], [0037]-[0039]) while the temperature of the stack (ref 10) is lower than the temperature threshold ([0012]-[0013], [0037]-[0039]) and while the stack voltage ([0034]-[0035]) of the stack (ref 10) is lower than a freeze voltage threshold ([0037]-[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US 2001/0028967) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Robert et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Roberts et al. does not explicitly disclose changing the air stoic ratio to the levels of the instant claims (1.75 and 1.5, and 1.5 and 1.0), the change in the air stoic ratio is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. Roberts (see Abstract, [0002], [0012]-[0015], [0026]) teaches that it was known in the art at the time of filing the invention that varying reactant stoichiometry will vary the performance efficiency of the fuel cell stack system. Therefore the performance efficiency is a variable that can be modified, among others, by varying the air stoic ratio stoichiometry of said fuel cell stack system. For that reason, the air stoic ratio stoichiometry, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the air stoic ratio stoichiometry cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the air stoic ratio stoichiometry in the system of Roberts et al. to obtain the desired performance efficiency of the fuel cell stack system (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts et al. (US 2001/0028967) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2016/0006059).
Regarding claim 5, Roberts et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the voltage threshold is a low-side voltage limit of a DC/DC converter configured to receive the stack voltage from the stack.
Kwon et al. discloses in Figs 1-14, a fuel cell stack (ref 10) including a DC/DC converter (ref 21). The DC/DC converter (ref 21) adjusts / monitors voltage limits ([0056]-[0057]) within the fuel cell stack (ref 10). This configuration enhances overall fuel cell stack operation efficiency ([0056]-[0057]).
Kwon et al. and Roberts et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, fuel cell stacks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the DC/DC converter disclosed by Kwon et al. into the system of Roberts et al. to monitor voltage limits, thereby enhancing overall fuel cell stack operation and efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sederquist et al. (US 2008/0199743) ([0033]) discloses in Figs 1-2, a system ([0015]) comprising: a fuel cell stack ([0016], ref 14); and a controller configured to operate the stack (ref 14) with a given air stoic ratio ([0033]) while a temperature of the stack (ref 14) is greater than a temperature threshold ([0033]) and to operate the stack (ref 14) with a lower air stoic ratio ([0033]), to thereby suppress a stack voltage ([0033]) of the stack (ref 14) in order to increase heat generation ([0033]) of the stack (ref 14), while the temperature of the stack (ref 14) is lower than the temperature threshold ([0033]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725