DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 24FEB2026 has been entered. No new matter has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 102(a)(1) rejections and claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03NOV2025.
Applicant's arguments filed 24FEB2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive. See new rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8,11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (US20120080380) in view of AL-HOBAIB et. al. 2017 “Modification of thin-film polyamide membrane with multi-walled carbon nanotubes by interfacial polymerization”.
Regarding claims 1-2, WANG teaches thin film composite membranes incorporating carbon nanotubes (title) including a membrane material comprising:
a base substrate (of e.g. polyethersulfone) having a plurality of pores defined therein (abstract; par. [0018]); and
a plurality of carbon nanotubes disposed upon the base substrate (abstract);
wherein the plurality of carbon nanotubes include a reaction with a polyamine compound (of e.g. m-phenylene diamine or MPD; par. [0012]) via a first amine group of the polyamine compound to form a plurality of amide-linked polyamines, and at least a second amine group of the polyamine compound is further functionalized as a reaction product of an active acyl compound comprising up to two active acyl groups (e.g. isophthaloyl chloride; par. [0014]; standard interfacial polymerization; abstract; par. [0007]).
WANG does not teach the plurality of carbon nanotubes comprises oxidized carbon nanotubes having a plurality of carboxylic acid groups. However, AL-HOBAIB teaches modification of thin-film polyamide membrane with multi-walled carbon nanotubes by interfacial polymerization (title) including a membrane material comprising:
a base substrate (e.g. polysulfone; abstract) having a plurality of pores defined therein (inherent or apparent as the membrane has a water permeate flux; abstract); and
a plurality of carbon nanotubes (CNT) disposed upon the base substrate (abstract);
wherein the plurality of carbon nanotubes comprises oxidized carbon nanotubes having a plurality of carboxylic acid groups (MWCNT-COOH; abstract);
wherein the carboxylic acid groups have been reacted with a polyamine compound (e.g. m-phenylenediamine or MPD; abstract) and functionalized as a reaction product of an active acyl or acid chloride compound (e.g. 1,3,5-benzenetricarbonyl trichloride or TMC; abstract).
AL-HOBAIB teaches such membranes with oxidized carbon nanotubes having a plurality of carboxylic acid groups have a high flux along with a high salt rejection (“conclusion” P4349).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the membrane material of WANG to include oxidized carbon nanotubes having a plurality of carboxylic acid groups in order to improve membrane performance such flux. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of filter membranes. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Note that WANG’s modified membrane provides for the claimed structure. AL- WANG’s modified membrane material has the same structure and function. This includes the structure of amide-linked polyamines and reaction products. Since the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (See MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claims 3-4, WANG teaches the polyamine compound comprises a amine containing monomers such as polyethylenimines (par. [0012]).
Regarding a linear polyethylenimine, it has been held that species (e.g. a linear polyethylenimine) are obvious of when the prior art teaches the genus (polyethylenimines). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select the species as claimed from the genus as taught in the art, because one would reasonably expect a predictable or similar result. See MPEP 2144.08.
Regarding claims 5-8, WANG teaches the active acyl compound comprises e.g. an acid halide compound comprising at least two acid chloride groups (e.g. isophthaloyl chloride; par. [0014]);
wherein a first acid chloride group of the acid halide compound is reacted with the second amine group of the polyamine compound in the presence of a diamine compound to form the reaction product of the active acyl compound as a polyamide block attached to at least a portion of the amide-linked poly amines; and,
the diamine compound comprises a phenylenediamine (par. [0012]; interfacial polymerization of MPD and isophthaloyl chloride).
Regarding claim 11, WANG teaches that the concentration of the multi-walled carbon nanotubes ranges from about 0.05% w/w to about 1% w/w, which overlaps the instantly claimed range and therefore establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the instantly claimed range from the prior art range because prior art teaches the same utility over the selected range.
WANG teaches CNT concentration is a results-effective variable that affects the membrane structure and properties (par. [0007]). Therefore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed CNT concentration range because WANG teaches CNT concentration is a results-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 II, A & B.
Regarding claim 12, WANG’s modified device teaches a filtration system comprising the membrane material of claim 1 (the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated by reference). WANG teaches e.g. a reverse osmosis (RO) desalination system (par. [0002]; WANG claims 20-21).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
FIBIGER (US 4769148) discloses novel polyamide reverse osmosis membranes (title) including linear polyethylenimine; C3/L39).
Telephonic Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777