DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on July 7, 2023. Claims 1-19 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-19 is as follows.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 & 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 & 19, ln. 3; “a transmission line” should be changed to –the transmission line--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 & 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stauffer et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2023/0147172).
In regards to independent claim 1, Stauffer discloses a transmission device (portion 128 of connector assembly 100 in Fig. 1) comprising:
an outer layer being plastic film, rubber film, leather, fabric, or textile (outer layer 118 is a textile elastic top, [0122]);
a thermal-bonding layer capable of producing viscosity when being heated (adhesive layer 120; [0027]: the adhesive layers are thermoplastic low-melting-temperature polyurethane configured to melt or produce viscosity when heated), the thermal-bonding layer being combined on a surface of the outer layer (upper adhesive layer 120 is disposed on a lower surface of the outer layer 118 to adhere the conductor 106); and
at least one transmission line disposed on the transmission device (electric conductor 106 is disposed along the base material 102) capable of transmitting electric power and/or signals ([0008]-[0009]), the thermal-bonding layer being located between the outer layer and the transmission line or the transmission line being located between the outer layer and the thermal-bonding layer (the upper adhesive layer 120 is disposed between the layer 118 and the conductor 106).
In regards to claims 2-3, Stauffer further discloses wherein two ends of the transmission line are exposed at two ends of the transmission device to provide interfaces (the distal end of the conductor 106 is exposed for connecting to the conductive fabric 108 which can be a sensor, [0008]-[0009]; although the other end of the conductor 106 is not shown, in order for the sensor layer 108 to operate as intended, the other end of the conductor 106 must be connected to an electronic device/system, therefore, similar to the distal end of the conductor 106, the other end of the conductor 106 is exposed before assembly or use; note that the limitation, ‘interface’ is broadly claimed and the exposed conductor portions are the interfaces for direct electrical coupling to its respective electronic element).
In regards to claim 6, Stauffer further discloses wherein the thermal-bonding layer is lower-temperature thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) ([0027]: thermoplastic low-melting temperature polyurethan); the outer layer is high-temperature thermoplastic polyurethane (PTU), plastic film, rubber film, leather, fabric or textile (layer 118 is a textile elastic top, [0059]: the layer 108 may be thermoplastic polyurethane, silicones, polyethylene, polyolefin, thermoplastic polyamides), a temperature applied to the thermal-bonding layer to make the thermal-bonding layer viscous is lower than a melting point of the outer layer ([0026]-[0027]).
In regards to claim 7, Stauffer further discloses wherein the transmission line is conductive fiber, conductive yarn, metal conducting wire with insulating layer, printed metal line or a transmission line formed by a base layer and a conductive layer ([0043], [0046]-[0047], [0052]-[0056]).
In regards to claim 8, Stauffer further discloses at least one flexible composite line ([0046]-[0051]: non-conductive yarn); one or a plurality of the transmission lines disposed in the flexible composite line ([0046]-[0050]: the conductor 106 wraps around the non-conductive yarn which is then wrapped around an elastic core; portions of the conductor 106 are disposed between the non-conductive yarn and the elastic core ); the thermal-bonding layer being located between the outer layer and the flexible composite line or the flexible composite line being located between the outer layer and the thermal-bonding layer (the adhesive layer 120 is disposed between the layer 118 and the base layer 102 in Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 9, Stauffer further discloses wherein the flexible composite line comprises two soft film layers combined with each other ([0047]-[0050]: elastic core and non-conductive yarn; the conductive wire wraps around the elastic core and the conductive yarn); the transmission line is disposed between the two film layers ([0046]-[0050]: the conductor 106 wraps around the non-conductive yarn which is then wrapped around an elastic core; portions of the conductor 106 are disposed between the non-conductive yarn and the elastic core).
In regards to claim 10, Stauffer further discloses a soft film (base layer 102 in Fig. 1); the transmission line being disposed on the soft film (the conductor 106 is disposed on the base layer 102); the thermal-bonding layer being located between the outer layer and the soft film or the soft film being located between the outer layer and the thermal-bonding layer (the adhesive layer 120 is between the outer layer 118 and the base layer 102).
In regards to claim 11, Stauffer further discloses wherein the soft film is elastic (base layer is a textile fabric or elastomer, [0011]); the at least one transmission line has a base layer (the adhesive layer 122 as shown in Fig. 1B) and a conductive layer (conductor 106 in Fig. 1B), the base layer is elastic ([0027]: the adhesive layers are elastic polymers); the conductive layer is disposed on the base layer (see Fig. 1 & 1B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stauffer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Anmelder (WO 02/45932).
In regard to claims 4-5, Stauffer discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above. However, Stauffer does not disclose at least one sewing thread sewn on the thermal-bonding layer; the transmission line being fixed on the thermal-bonding layer by the sewing thread, wherein the sewing thread is dissolvable and capable of dissolving in water or a solvent.
Anmelder teaches providing a dissolvable sewing thread (fixing fiber 3 in Fig. 1) to loosely fix two elements, in this case, a reinforcing fiber (1) to a base (2) and then melting the thread to disintegrate into the reinforcing fiber and the base to create a mechanically stable bond (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to sew the transmission line to the thermal-bonding layer using the dissolvable sewing thread as taught by Anmelder, to temporarily secure both the transmission line and the thermal-bonding layer until both the thread and the bonding layer are melted to create a mechanically stable bond. The practice of temporarily aligning multiple layers, using methods such as temporary stiches or pins, prior to permanent adhesion is well known in the sewing and considered routine by those skilled in the art.
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (U.S. PGPub. No. 2015/0094559), and further in view of Stauffer.
In regards to independent claim 12 and claims 15, 18 and 19, Russell discloses a wearable provided for living organism to wear ([0036]: a garment configured to be worn by a patient comprising a sensing unit), the wearable comprising a wearing part worn on living organism ([0036]); further comprising:
a transmission device (connecting portion 725 of embodiment as shown in Fig. 7) having at least one transmission line (conductive trace 740) capable of transmitting electric power and/or signals ([0058]: conductive traces 740 may electrically connect the battery holder 735 to the electronic package 210-d via conductive rivet 710a-3); the transmission device being attached to a surface of the wearing part ([0036]: the sensing unit such as shown in Fig 7 is contemplated to be coupled to or integral with a garment configured to be worn by a patient);
a sensing device (electronic package 210 in Fig. 7, electronics package receptor such as electronics package receptor 215 shown in Fig. 5 or adhesive 720 in Fig. 7 and sensor unit 110 of Fig. 1 located at the end region 730-a-1 which comprises conductive dry gel as electrodes, [0056]) and a battery device ([0058]: the end region 730-a-2 comprises a battery holder 735 comprising a battery) disposed on the wearing part ([0036]), the sensing device being electrically connected to one end of the transmission line for sensing physiological information of living organism (710-a-3 is which is in connection with one end of the conductive trace 740 is connected to the electronic package 210); the battery device being electrically connected to another end of the transmission line to provide electrical energy to the sensing device via the transmission line ([0058]: the other end of the conductive trace 740 is connected to the battery to power the electronic package 210);
the sensing device having a base (end region 730-a-1) and a sensor ([0056]: conductive dry electrodes disposed along the end region 730-a-1), the base being disposed on the wearing part and electrically connected to one end of the transmission line (the end region 730-a-1 is integral to a shirt and the 730-a-1 is electrically connected to the end of the conductive trave 740 , [0036] & [0057]); one or a plurality of sensing units (electronic package 210-d, [0056]-[0057]) and one or a plurality of wireless transmission units being provided in the sensing device (a wireless transceiver is incorporated into the electronic package to transmit signals, see a block diagram 800 indicating a transceiver module 820, [0062]); the sensing unit being disposed in the sensor (the electronic packaged 210-d is disposed on the end region 730-a-1 and the conductive dry electrodes) and being used to sense physiological information of living organisms (the electronic package as shown in Fig. 8 comprises a sensing module 810 and a signal processing module 815 for sensing/processing ECG signals acquired by the conductive dry electrodes, [0062]); the wireless transmission unit being used to transmit the physiological information to smart devices of cloud ([0065]: the transceiver module 820 in Fig. 8 transmits data collected from the sensor unit 110 to remote computer devices); and the battery device having a battery holder (battery, [0058]) and a battery (battery holder 735, [0058]), the battery holder being disposed on the wearing part ([0036]) and connected to the other end of the transmission line (the end 730-a-2 which comprises the battery holder 735 is connected to the other end of the conductive trace 740); the battery being detachably loaded into the battery holder ([0058]: a battery holder 735 may accept a replaceable battery), and electrical energy of the battery being transmitted to the sensing device via the transmission line ([0058]: conductive traces 740 electrically connect the battery holder 735 to the electronic package 210-d).
However, Russell is silent as to the transmission device having an outer layer, the transmission line being located between the outer layer and the surface of the wearing part.
Stauffer teaches a transmission device (portion 128 of connector assembly 100 in Fig. 1) adapted for a garment for measuring biosignals similar to Russell ([0008]). Specifically, Stauffer teaches the transmission device comprising an outer layer being a high-temperature plastic film, rubber film, leather, fabric, or textile (layer 118 is a textile elastic top, [0122]); a thermal-bonding layer (layers 120 and 122 forming one adhesive layer as shown in Fig. 2C) being a low-temperature thermoplastic polyurethane (adhesive layer 120; [0027]: the adhesive layers are thermoplastic low-melting-temperature polyurethane configured to melt or produce viscosity when heated), the thermal-bonding layer being combined on a surface of the outer layer (upper adhesive layer 120 is disposed on a lower surface of the outer layer 118 to adhere the conductor 106, thus meeting claim 18); and at least one transmission line disposed on the transmission device (electric conductor 106 disposed along the base material 102; the conductor formed from conductive wire or printed metal line, [0049]-[0056], thus meeting claim 19) capable of transmitting electric power and/or signals ([0008]-[0009]), the thermal-bonding layer being located between the outer layer and the transmission line or the transmission line being located between the outer layer and the thermal-bonding layer (the upper adhesive layer 120 is disposed between the layer 118 and conductor 106); the transmission device is adhered to a wearing part by the thermal bonding layer (the conductor 106 is adhered to the base layer 102 via the adhesive layers 120/122 as shown in Fig. 2C).This configuration allows the transmission line and the transmission device to be more robust especially during flexing and/or stretching ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the transmission line of Russell and incorporate the outer layer and the thermal-bonding layer as taught by Stauffer for providing an insulative covering on the transmission line, as doing so allows protection over the conductive elements of the transmission line from damage by providing mechanical stability by limiting strains applied to the transmission line or exposure to external environment ([0007], [0042], [0065]).
In regards to claim 13, Russell/Stauffer combination further discloses wherein two ends of the transmission device is provided with an interface respectively (the ends of the conductive trace 740 reads on the broadly claimed interfaces); the sensing device and the battery device are respective connected to two ends of the transmission line through the two interfaces (see Fig. 7).
In regards to claim 14, Russell/Stauffer combination further discloses wherein a contact is disposed on a peripheral surface of the base and electrically connected to one end of the transmission line (the end of the conductive trace 740 is connected to the contact pad 710-a-3); the base and the sensor are respectively provided with an electrical contact (the conductive contact portion of the electronic package 210-d corresponding to contact 710-a-3 and the contact portion of the conductive dry electrodes electrically connected to contact pads 710-a-1 and 710-a-2), when the sensor is combined with the base, the electrical contact of the sensor contacts the electrical contact of the base (the contact portion of the conductive dry electrodes electrically connected to contact pads 710-a-1 and 710-a-2); the electrical contact of the base is electrically connected to the contact (the conductive contact portion of the electronic package 210-d corresponding to contact 710-a-3).
In regard to claims 16-17, in view of the combination in claim 15/12 above, Stauffer further teaches the transmission device comprises at least one flexible composite line (a non-conductive yarn in a wrapping configuration with the conductor 106, [0051]), the transmission line is disposed in the flexible composite line/soft film (a portion of the conductor 106 is disposed between the non-conductive yarn and the elastic core, [0051]); the thermal-bonding layer is located between the outer layer and the flexible composite line/soft film or the flexible composite line /soft film is located between the outer layer and the thermal-bonding layer (see Fig. 2C; the adhesive layer 120 is disposed between the layer 118 and the non-conductive yarn (not shown) which is in a wrapped with the conductor 106 around the elastic core). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the flexible composite line/soft film of Stauffer into the modified Russell/Stauffer combination device, as doing so allows the transmission line to have improved elasticity and compressibility ([0049]).
Conclusion
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794 8/1/2025