DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/348,639 filed 07/07/2023 by Jeong Tae Hwang, You Kyung Park, Sang Gi Shim, and So Mi Lee.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by JO (US 2022/0173453 A1).
With respect to claim 1. JO teaches a battery module 100which includes a cell stack 110 made of stacking battery cells 112 (paragraph 0040). The battery module includes a heating/cooling composite fins 200 interposed between adjacent battery cells 112 among the plurality of battery cells 112 (paragraph 0043). The heating/cooling composite fins 200 include the cooling fins 230, a compressive pad 210, and heating films 220 (paragraph 0044). The composite fins 200 is taken to be the claimed pad. The pad includes at least the compressive pad 210 which is capable of absorb impact from the heating films (paragraph 0054) and is made of a elastic material (paragraph 0055). The heating film 220 then is taken to be the claimed heat generating part. The heating film 220 is configured to generate heat when being supplied by power to raise the temperature of the battery module (paragraph 0048).
With respect to claim 2. JO teaches as seen in Figures 3-4 the heating film 220 extends from the edge of the pad, extending downward.
With respect to claim 15. JO teaches the heating film 220 positioned as a part of the composite film (paragraph 0044). Therefore, the film is taken to include around the composite film, and is taken to include the perimeter of the pads, and at least a portion of the pads, including the compressive pad 210 are covered by the heating films 220 (see Figures 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-14, 17-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JO (US 2022/0173453 A1) in view of LIM (US 2018/0090949 A1).
Claim 2 is dependent upon claim 1 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of JO. JO teaches heating films 220, but does not explicitly describe these films to be in the shape of columns. In the alternative the heating films of JO are not considered columns.
LIM teaches a battery cell array 110 in which a plurality of cells are arranged with a carbon heating film 120 disposed between the cells (paragraph 0095). The carbon heating film includes a composite film 121 and a strip-type conductive terminal 122 (paragraph 0099). The composite film 121 has a rectangular sheet shape, and the strip type conductive terminals are provided on both ends in a width direction of the sheet (paragraph 0100). As seen in Figures 2-3 these terminals 122 have a columnar shape extending from the edge of the sheet 121.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the heating film 220 of JO with the carbon heating film 120 including the strip-shaped, being the claimed columns, of LIM as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art elements for another in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 3. LIM teaches the terminals 122 are a pair of columns that extend downwards and are spaced apart from each other (see Figure 2).
With respect to claim 4. LIM teaches the composite film 121 includes stepped portions, being recessed portions 123, where the terminals are recessed into recessed portions 123 (paragraph 0101 and Figure 3).
With respect to claim 5. JO teaches each a heating/cooling composite fins 200 which are interposed between the battery cells (paragraph 0044). These multiple layer are taken to be pairs of pads that face each other and contact each other.
With respect to claim 6. JO teaches as noted above the heating/cooling composite films 200 (paragraph 0044) then in combination with LIM substitutes the heating films 220 with the carbon heating film 120 of LIM as noted above. Therefore at least part of the pad body is taken to be disposed between the pair of heat generating columns.
With respect to claim 7. JO and LIM does not explicitly teach where the pair of heat generating columns is greater than a thickness of the pad body. LIM teaches the thickness of the columns are variable (see Figures 3-4). The heater then has a thickness of 50-100 microns (paragraph 0037) the thickness is significant to control the ability of the heater to function (paragraph 0038). As seen in Figures 3-4 the thickness of the columns being a strip type conductive terminals (paragraph 0100) and similar strip type conductive terminal 124 (paragraph 0104). The thickness of these strips then varies. JO teaches part of the composite film 200 which includes a compressive pad, where the thickness may be appropriated designed (paragraph 0055). Therefore at the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the size of the heat generating columns of LIM relative to the thickness of the pad as a matter of routine optimization, as JO teaches the thickness of the compression pad of the composite film, and LIM teaches adjusting the thickness of the columns of the heater in order to balance the compressibility and heating ability.
With respect to claim 8. LIM teaches in one embodiment there isa strip type conductive terminal 124 applied on both ends of a composite film (paragraph 0104) which is taken to form the claimed concave surfaces (see figure 4).
With respect to claim 9. As seen above JO and LIM teaches the pad which includes the heat generating columns of LIM on the pad of JO. The composite film 121 is taken to be the claimed first pad face.
With respect to claim 10. LIM teaches in one embodiment the strip type conductive terminal 124 formed on each side of the composite film 121 (paragraph 0104) and is taken to form the claimed concave surface.
With respect to claim 11. JO as seen in Figure 3 similarly teaches a composite film 200 which includes a plurality of films, so that the pairs of pads face and contact each other.
With respect to claim 12. The combination of JO and LIM substitutes the heating films 220 of the composite film 200 of JO with the heating film 120 (paragraph 0094) of LIM. As seen in Figure 3 of JO there are at least two of the heating films 220 in the composite films. Therefore there are at least two heating films 120 one on either face of the compressive pad 210 of JO.
With respect to claim 13. LIM teaches in one embodiment the strip type conductive terminal 124 formed on each side of the composite film 121 (paragraph 0104) and is taken to form the claimed concave surface.
Claim 14 is dependent upon claim 1 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of JO. JO teaches heating films 220, but does not explicitly describe these films to be in the shape of beams.
LIM teaches a battery cell array 110 in which a plurality of cells are arranged with a carbon heating film 120 disposed between the cells (paragraph 0095). The carbon heating film includes a composite film 121 and a strip-type conductive terminal 122 (paragraph 0099). The composite film 121 has a rectangular sheet shape, and the strip type conductive terminals are provided on both ends in a width direction of the sheet (paragraph 0100). As seen in Figures 2-3 these terminals 122 have a beam shape extending from the edge of the sheet 121.
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute the heating film 220 of JO with the carbon heating film 120 including the strip-shaped, being the claimed beam, of LIM as this is a simple substitution of one known prior art elements for another in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 17. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of JO is repeated here. JO teaches a battery module that includes the battery cell stack (abstract). However, JO does not explicitly teach a battery module case.
The teachings of LIM from above are repeated here. LIM teaches the unit module laminate (paragraph 0140) and includes plates 610, 621, 622, and 630, which includes end plate 60, and side surface plates, and outer surface plates (paragraph 0141). These elements cover the battery case of the unit modules configuring the unit module laminate (paragraph 0142). Such elements are beneficial for increasing the structural stability (paragraph 0150).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the housing element for the module elements of LIM for the elements of JO as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
With respect to claim 18. JO teaches the module 100 which includes a module frame 120 on at least one surface on which the battery cell stack 110 is received (paragraph 0040). This frame 120 is present under the heating/cooling composite fin 200 (paragraph 0044). The battery module is then connected to the frame 120 via the resin layer 140 made of a thermally conductive material (paragraph 0045).
With respect to claim 20. JO teaches the heating films 220 configured to generate heat by being supplied with power from the outside (paragraph 0048). JO then includes the frame 120, forming a bottom plate formed under the heating/cooling composite fin 200 (paragraph 0044). LIM then teaches plates 610, 621, 622, and 630, which includes end plate 60, and side surface plates, and outer surface plates (paragraph 0141). These elements cover the battery case of the unit modules configuring the unit module laminate (paragraph 0142).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JO (US 2022/0173453 A1) in view of BULGAJEWSKI (US 2017/0025722 A1).
Claim 16 is dependent upon claim 1, which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 102 in view of JO. JO teaches the heating/cooling composite fins 200 that includes a heat generating core of the heating films 220 (paragraph 0044). The composite then includes a coating film 240 (paragraph 0047). The coating film is thermally conductive (paragraph 0047). However, JO does not explicitly teach an outer shell covering the heat generating core and including an electrical insulation material.
BULGAJEWSKI teaches a battery pack which includes a flexible heater element for distributing heating to the cells (abstract). There are electrical resistance heater 31 attached to the pouch wall of the electrode array (paragraph 0049). The heater includes the heat conductors 38 which is supported on an insulating polymer carrier layer 37 (paragraph 0053).
At the time the invention as filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to surround the heating element of JO with insulating polymer layer of BULGAJEWSKI, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JO (US 2022/0173453 A1) in view of LIM (US 2018/0090949 A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of BULGAJEWSKI (US 2017/0025722 A1).
Claim 19 is dependent upon claim 18 which is rejected above under 35 U.S.C. 103 and view of JO and LIM. JO teaches the heating/cooling composite fins 200 that includes a heat generating core of the heating films 220 (paragraph 0044). The composite then includes a coating film 240 (paragraph 0047). The coating film is thermally conductive (paragraph 0047). However, JO does not explicitly teach an outer shell covering the heat generating core and including an electrical insulation material.
BULGAJEWSKI teaches a battery pack which includes a flexible heater element for distributing heating to the cells (abstract). There are electrical resistance heater 31 attached to the pouch wall of the electrode array (paragraph 0049). The heater includes the heat conductors 38 which is supported on an insulating polymer carrier layer 37 (paragraph 0053).
At the time the invention as filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to surround the heating element of JO with insulating polymer layer of BULGAJEWSKI, as this is a combination of known prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722