DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IANEV et al PG PUB 2022/0039046.
Re Claims 1, 10 and 15, IANEV et al teaches in figure 1, AMF 71(a first network element comprising a transceiver, memory and processor) receives a UE analytics report capability (a first request message) transmitted by a UE (a first device) in a NAS NAS message (a first format) wherein the UE analytics report capability being configured to invokes a service of UDM/UDR 75 (a network element in a core network) ; the AMF 71 transmits a Nudm_SDM_Get service OR “any other notation for a service request”, in this case, wherein the AMF 71 relaying the NAS message (the first format) to the UDM/UDR containing the UE analytics report capability [0037 0038].
Re Claim 2, IANVE et al teaches based on the UE analytics report capability (the first request message) encoded in the NAS message (the first container), the AMF 71 determines the UMD/UDR 75 (the second device) to transmit the NAS message (the first container).
Re Claims 3, 16, IANVE et al teaches the UDM/DDR (the second device) generates a packet (a second container) encoded with Nudm_SUM_Get_ response (a first reply message) based on the UE analytics report capability (the first request message) and transmits to the packet to the UE 30 (the first device) [0039] via AMF 71.
Re Claims 4, 11, IANVE et al teaches based on the generated packet (the second container) containing the Nudm_SDM_Get response (a first reply message) from UDM/UDR 75, the AMF 71 determines UE 30 (the first device) and transmit the generated packet (the second container) to the UE 30 (the first device) [0045 0046).
Re Claims 5, 17, IANVE et al teaches the UE analytics report capability (the first request message) is recognizable by the UDM/UDR 75 (the second device).
Re Claim 14, IANVE et al teaches the Registration Request message containing a UE analytics report capability (an invoked service type).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 12, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IANEV et al PG PUB 2022/0039046 in view of STOJANOVSKI et al PG PUB 2021/0168751.
Re Claims 7, 12 and 18, IANEV et al teaches UE generating the NAS message (the first container) for encoding the UE analytics report capability (the first registration message) for invoking a request with the UDM/UDR 75 (the second device). IANEV et al fails to explicitly teach “generating a second request message”. However, STOJANOVSKI et al teaches if old AMF fail the integrity check of the Registration request [0075], after successful authentication in new AMF, a new registration request is performed [0086 0087] wherein the new registration request is forwarded to the UDM/UDR 75 (the second device) in IANEV et al. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have transmitted in “second request message” to mitigate for the failure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claim 8, IANVE et al teaches the AMF receives Nudm_SUM_Get_ response (a first reply message) from the UDM/DDR (the second device) based on the new registration message (the first request message) and generates a Registration Accept message (a second reply message) based on the Nudm_SUM_Get_ response (the first reply message) and transmits to the Registration Accept message to the UE 30 (the first device) [0039].
Re Claims 9, 13, 19, IANVE et al teaches the Registration Accept message (the second reply message) is recognizable by the UE while the Nudm_SUM_Get_ response (the first reply message) is recognizable at the AMF and not the UE (the first device).
Re Claim 20, IANVE et al teaches the NAS message containing a UE analytics report capability to invoke the service type.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re Claims 1, 10 and 15, Applicant argues that “AMF invokes the UDM/UDR service…, rather than directly receiving “a request to invoke the UDM/UDR service” message and forwarding it unchanged. In particular, Applicant argues that “…then the first container is transmitted from the terminal device to the first network element and then directly forwarded to the another network element” However, such limitation is not claimed.
IANEV teaches the UE can send/relay the “UE analytic report capability” (the first request message) in Registration Request message, RRC signaling, NAS signaling, PDU session establishing or UE Configuration update procedures. This suggest that “a first container” for transmitting the “UE analytic report capability” can be encoded in various containers.
IANEV further teaches the AMF 71 invokes Nudm_SDM_Get service to the UDM/UDR 75 or any other notation for a service request. This suggest that the “container” for transmitting the same “UE analytic report capability” can be formatted to any other notations for the service request and not restricted to the “Nudm_SDM_Get service”.
IANEV et al teaches that the UE can relay the registration request message or any other message formats to the AMF 71 OR to any other network node in the core network [0037]. This suggest that the registration message or any other message format from the UE can be relayed or “forwarded unchanged” or “directly forwarded” to the UDM/DDR from the AMF 71.
Applicant is requested to argue this matter in the next OA.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475