DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the stated reason for the restriction is improper. This is not found persuasive because the two groups have separate classification. Group I (claims 1-15) is drawn to a device, classified in C12M35/00, while Group II (claims 16-20) is drawn to method, classified in C12N15/89. A separate classification thereof qualifies as establishing burden for distinct inventions (See MPEP § 808.02). Further, Applicants’ attention is drawn to the fact that the search for method claims requires the identification of processing steps, while the search for apparatus claims requires the identification of structural elements. Further, as discussed in the restriction requirement, the inventions are distinct if it can be shown that the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process (see MPEP § 806.05(e)). The examiner indicated that the apparatus can be used to lyse cells instead of transfecting cells. Thus, the inventions are distinct and therefore the restriction requirement is proper. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the 1) a ring is retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system (claims 1, 11), 2) the elongated body tapers from an initial thickness greatest at the location where the ring meets the top of the cylindrical body to a terminal thickness less than the initial thickness, and 3) wherein the biolistic particle delivery system comprises a bombardment chamber, connective tubing attached to a vacuum source, a helium regulator, and a solenoid valve (claim 13), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the flow" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-10 and 12-15 are included in this rejection by virtue of their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitation "the cylindrical body." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to amend the claim to recite -- the body -- or define a cylindrical body earlier in the claim.
The term “substantially” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “high-pressure” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-pressure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the attachment of claim 1 located at a second end of the gas acceleration tube" in line 5. However, it is unclear how the biolistic particle delivery system as recited in claim 1 is related to the biolistic particle delivery system as recited in claim 11. Further, it is unclear as to which element of the biolistic particle delivery system the ring should be retrofitted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (already of record; "An improved biolistic delivery and analysis method for evaluation of DNA and CRISPR-Cas delivery efficacy in plant tissue." Scientific Reports 11.1 (2021): 7695) (hereinafter “Miller”).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 9, it is noted that while the invention contains a biolistic particle delivery system, the biolistic particle delivery system is not positively recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, Miller discloses an attachment for a biolistic particle delivery system that confines the flow of particles to a barrel comprising: an elongated body with a central cavity that defines a major flow path passing through (see FIG. 1B of Miller, annotated and reproduced below); and
a ring located at a top of the cylindrical body, said ring having a diameter greater than a diameter of the cylindrical body (see annotated FIG. 1B above); wherein the ring is retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system (the ring of the attachment of Miller is structural the same as the instant attachment and thus considered to be fully capable to be “retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system”).
Furthermore, it is noted that the recitation of functional language "for a biolistic particle delivery system that confines the flow of particles to a barrel" is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed attachment and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 4, Miller further discloses wherein the major flow path is divided into more than one major flow path by one or more dividers (see annotated FIG. 1B above).
Regarding claim 9, the flow of particles is material worked on and not an element of the claimed attachment. Further, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, Miller meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1, 4 and 9.
Claims 1, 4 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kale et al. (already of record, US 2009/0011510; hereinafter “Kale”).
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 9-10, it is noted that while the invention contains a biolistic particle delivery system, the biolistic particle delivery system is not positively recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, Kale discloses an attachment for a biolistic particle delivery system that confines the flow of particles to a barrel comprising: an elongated body with a central cavity that defines a major flow path passing through (see FIG. 1A of Kale, annotated and reproduced below); and
a ring located at a top of the cylindrical body, said ring having a diameter greater than a diameter of the cylindrical body (see annotated FIG. 1A above); wherein the ring is retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system (see [0013], [0042], claim 1). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitation of functional language "for a biolistic particle delivery system that confines the flow of particles to a barrel" is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed attachment and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 4, kale further discloses wherein the major flow path is divided into more than one major flow path by one or more dividers (elongated body includes double-barreled defined by the elongated body and a separator 60 within the elongated body; see FIG. [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, the flow of particles is material worked on and not an element of the claimed attachment. Further, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115.
Regarding claim 10, kale further discloses wherein the attachment is symmetrical about at least an X-axis and a y-axis and is asymmetrical about a z-axis, said z-axis being defined by an axial axis traversing a longitude of the elongated body (see FIG. 1).
Therefore, Kale meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1, 4 and 9-10.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rinberg et al. (already of record; "Pneumatic capillary gun for ballistic delivery of microparticles"; hereinafter “Rinberg”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, it is noted that while the invention contains a biolistic particle delivery system, the biolistic particle delivery system is not positively recited in the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, Rinberg discloses an attachment for a biolistic particle delivery system that confines the flow of particles to a barrel comprising: an elongated body with a central cavity that defines a major flow path passing through (see annotated FIG. 1 below);and
a ring located at a top of the cylindrical body, said ring having a diameter greater than a diameter of the cylindrical body (see annotated FIG. 1 above); wherein the ring is retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system (the ring of the attachment of Rinberg is structural the same as the instant attachment and thus considered to be fully capable to be “retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system”). Furthermore, it is noted that the recitation of functional language "for a biolistic particle delivery system that confines the flow of particles to a barrel" is drawn to intended use of the claimed invention. It is noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. Apparatus claims must distinguish from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function (see MPEP 2114). The prior art discloses all of the structural features of the claimed attachment and thus since the structure is the same, the claimed functions are apparent.
Regarding claim 9, the flow of particles is material worked on and not an element of the claimed attachment. Further, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2115.
Therefore, Rinberg meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 1 and 9.
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kale (already of record, US 2009/0011510), and as evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding claim 11, Kale discloses a biolistic particle delivery system comprising: a gas acceleration tube (Kale discloses the use of well-known PDS-1000/He system which includes a gas acceleration tube as evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure; see Kale at [0036], [0054], and Applicant’s disclosure at [0018], [0030], FIG. 6B); a source of high-pressure gas operatively connected to a first end of the gas acceleration tube (Kale discloses the use of well-known PDS-1000/He system which includes a gas acceleration tube as evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure; see Kale at [0036], [0054]; and Applicant’s disclosure at [0018], [0029], FIG. 6B); and
an elongated body with a central cavity that defines a major flow path passing through (see FIG. 1A of Kale, annotated and reproduced below);
a ring located at a top of the cylindrical body, said ring having a diameter greater than a diameter of the cylindrical body (see annotated FIG. 1A above); wherein the ring is retrofit to a macrocarrier launch assembly of the biolistic particle delivery system (see [0036], claim 1); and the attachment is located at a second end of the gas acceleration tube (Kale discloses the use of well-known PDS-1000/He system which includes a gas acceleration tube as evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure; see Kale at [0036], and Applicant’s disclosure at [0018], [0021], FIG. 6B). See also [0013], [0025] and [0037].
Regarding claim 12, Kale further discloses a screen that allows only the biolistic particles to impact an intended target (kale at [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Kale further discloses wherein the biolistic particle delivery system comprises a bombardment chamber, connective tubing attached to a vacuum source, a helium regulator, and a solenoid valve (Kale discloses the use of well-known PDS-1000/He system which includes a bombardment chamber, connective tubing attached to a vacuum source, a helium regulator, and a solenoid valve, as evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure; see Kale at [0036], and Applicant’s disclosure at [0010]-[0011], FIG. 6B).
Regarding claim 14, Kale further discloses a rupture disk ([0054]).
Regarding claim 15, Kale further discloses wherein the biolistic particle delivery system is a helium driven gene gun (Kale at [0032] and [0036]-[0037]).
Therefore, Kale meets and anticipates the limitations set forth in claim(s) 11-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kale as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 2, Kale discloses the attachment according to claim 1 as set forth above. Kale discloses wherein the elongated body is a hollow cylinder with a length (see FIG. 1A), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the length is between one and a half times and two times (1.5x to 2x) greater than a diameter of the elongated body. However, Kale does disclose wherein the length and diameter of the attachment can be modified to suit the target specimen ([0037], [0041]). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dimensions of the elongated to body of Kale to comprise any dimensions including the claimed dimensions. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification because Kale discloses that the length and diameter of the elongated body can be modified to suit the target specimen ([0037], [0041]). Furthermore, it’s noted that the courts have held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777). See MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.
Regarding claim 3, Kale does not explicitly disclose wherein the elongated body tapers from an initial thickness greatest at the location where the ring meets the top of the cylindrical body to a terminal thickness less than the initial thickness. However, since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the thickness of the elongated body to comprise the claimed thickness, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Kale discloses the claimed one or more dividers extending from a bottom of the elongated to body to an inner portion of the elongated body (FIG. 1A-B: separator 60 is slot 50; [0036]), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more dividers begin at the top of the cylindrical body and extend only to a depth at or within the elongated body. However, Kale does disclose wherein two barrels separated by the one or more divider (separator) extend from a top of the cylindrical body and extend only to a depth at or within the elongated body (see FIGS. 1A-B). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the elongated body of Kale such that one or more divider (separator) extend from a top of the cylindrical (elongated) body and extend only to a depth at or within the elongated body, since the two barrels of Kale extend from a top of the cylindrical body and extend only to a depth at or within the elongated body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of enhancing the prevention of accidental spread of particles from one barrel to the other, as disclosed by Kale ([0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Kale discloses wherein each of the more than one major flow path is defined by a cavity shape having at least one curved wall and at least one planar wall (FIG. 1A: planar wall (slit 50) and sidewall).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller as applied to claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 7, Miller discloses the attachment according to claim 4 as set forth above. Miller discloses wherein the major flow path is divided into more than one major flow path by one or more dividers that begin at an inner portion of the cylindrical body and extend to a depth beyond the elongated body (see FIG. 1B), thereby acting as fins to help guide flow even as particles have exited the central cavity (see FIG. 1B). Miller, however, does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more dividers begin at the top of the cylindrical body. However, Miller discloses wherein the one or more dividers are employed to separate two barrels within the attachment (see FIG. 1, and page 2). It would therefore have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the one or more dividers of the elongated body of Miller such that one or more divider (separator) extend from a top of the cylindrical (elongated) body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made said modification for the purpose of enhancing the prevention of accidental spread of particles from one barrel to the other.
Conclusion
/LIBAN M HASSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799