DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-19 are pending upon entry of amendment filed on 7/7/23.
Claims 1-19 are under consideration in the instant application.
The instant application contains 2 independent claims and the claimed invention relates method of lyophilizing teverelix-TFA suspension, method of reconstitution and lyophilizate thereof.
3. Applicant’s IDS filed on 7/7/23 has been acknowledged.
4. The oath filed on 7/7/23 has been acknowledged.
7. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. 2003/0044463 (IDS reference) in view of U.S. Pub.2002/0198146 (IDS reference).
The ‘463 publication teaches methods of lyophilization and resuspension of microcrystalline suspension of teverelix-TFA (Examples 4-12). The ‘463 publication teaches addition of 5% mannitol (Example 6) and creating microcrystalline without forming a gel.
Further, the ‘463 publication discloses addition of at least 1.6 to about 2 of molar ratio of TFA ([0009, 0017]) and claims 5-6, 14-15 and 18 are included in this rejection. This is supported by the preparation in p. 24 of the instant specification as 0.1g of teverelix with 1ml of 150mM TFA are mixed, lyophilized, filtered and/or resuspended.
Moreover, the ‘463 publication teaches that the lyophilized product is about 2.5% readable upon 0.3-5% by weight recited by claim 9 ([0016]) and packaging into unit dosage or storage ([0016-0017]). Claim 27 is included in this rejection as the suspension concentration may be above 100mg/ml ([0016]). In addition, claim 19 reciting pharmaceutical composition from the lyophilization process and the concentration of at least 100mg/ml recited in claim 8 are included in this rejection as the [0016] discloses pharmaceutically acceptable additives may be added to 100mg/ml suspension.
The disclosure of the ‘463 publication differs from the instant claimed invention in that it does not teach the use of centrifugation or filtering as in claim 1 and gamma sterilization of composition as in claim 7 of the instant application.
The ‘146 publication teaches the use gamma sterilization of TFA-teverelix suspension and concentration by filtration to achieve optimal purity and concentrations for refining purification.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize known processes of sterilization and purification of TFA-teverelix to improve purity and concentration as in the ‘146 publication into the lyophilization method as in the ‘463 publication.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to do so because the utilization of filtration, concentration and/or gamma irradiation by preventing growth of microbes and improve purity and expedite creating various concentrated composition that are more suitable for various applications.
From the teachings of references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art to combine the teachings of the references and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of the ordinary in the art at the time of invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
9. Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Pat. 11,719,488.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘488 patent recites lyophilization process for preparing teverelix-TFA lyophilizate comprising teverelix suspension and trifluoroacetate sufficient for providing microcrystalline teverelix-TFA suspension without forming gel with various molar ratios as in claims 5-6 of the instant application. The specific molar ratio and conditions are further recited in claims 2-13 as required by claims 2-19.
10. No claims are allowable.
Yunsoo Kim
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
March 13, 2026
/YUNSOO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641