DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-12, 20-27, and 30-34, in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a virtual three-dimensional projection surface” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an image processing unit” should be “the image processing unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 22 should depend from claim 21 since antecedent basis for “the focus position set by means of the setting unit” is provided by claim 21 not claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an image processing unit” should be “the image processing unit”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an image processing unit which processes a camera image, in claim 1; an imaging sharpness detection unit for determining/calculating the imaging sharpness of the received camera image, in claims 2-6; a setting unit for setting recording parameters of the camera, in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 11, 20, 21, 23, 25, 27 and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al (JP 2012203352A) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 20200081608).
As to claim 1, Miyake discloses a camera assistance system (FIG. 1) comprising:
an image processing unit which processes a camera image of a recording subject received from a camera to generate a useful camera image (see [0029]), wherein a 3D preview image with a virtual three-dimensional projection surface, of which the height values correspond to a local imaging sharpness of the received camera image, is generated (see [0019] and [0054], measuring distances at points other than the center point of the display screen; determining the amount of blur [note that blur is inversely proportional to sharpness] at each of the points; and synthesizing a 3D image in accordance with each of the amounts of blur; see [0033], The degree of blur is expressed to the user through a 3D effect. In other words, the greater the blur, the deeper the 3D depth [i.e. height values]; see [0029], 3D image generation unit 111); and
a display unit which displays the 3D preview image (FIG. 1, LCD display; FIG. 2B).
Miyake fails to explicitly disclose that the camera image received from the camera is projected onto the virtual three-dimensional projection surface.
However, this is a well-known technique for generating 3D images as evidenced by Yamamoto who teaches the camera image received from the camera is projected onto the virtual three-dimensional projection surface (see [0054], The stereoscopic image generation unit 403 generates virtual projection image data by projecting the captured image data acquired by the image acquisition unit 401 onto a virtual projection plane (three-dimensional shape model)).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Miyake using the known technique of projecting the received image onto a virtual three-dimensional projection surface to provide the predictable result of generating a stereoscopic image (Yamamoto; [0054]).
As to claim 8, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein the image processing unit calculates a stereo image pair on the basis of the camera image projected onto the virtual three-dimensional projection surface, said stereo image pair being displayed on a 3D display unit of the camera assistance system (see [0029] and [0046], stereoscopic image displayed on display 101).
As to claim 9, the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the image processing unit calculates a pseudo-3D illustration with artificially generated shadows or an oblique view on the basis of the camera image projected onto the virtual three-dimensional projection surface, which illustration is displayed on a 2D display unit of the camera assistance system (Yamamoto; [0054]-[0055])
As to claim 11, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein the useful camera image generated by the image processing unit is stored in an image memory (see [0029], storage unit 106).
As to claim 20, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein a setting unit is provided for setting recording parameters of the camera (see [0029], touch panel 102; see [0036], [0038], [0040]).
As to claim 21, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein the recording parameters which can be set by means of the setting unit of the camera assistance system comprise a focus position, an iris diaphragm opening, and a focal length of a camera lens of the camera, as well as an image recording frequency and a shutter speed (see [0036], [0038], [0040], [0045]).
As to claim 23, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein a viewpoint on the camera image which is projected onto the virtual three-dimensional projection surface and is displayed on the display unit of the camera assistance system can be set (see [0021]).
As to claim 25, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein the image processing unit ascertains an instantaneous depth of field on the basis of a set iris diaphragm opening, a set focus position and/or a set focal length of the currently used camera lens of the camera (see [0029], depth-of-field calculation unit 109).
As to claim 27, Miyake modified by Yamamoto further discloses wherein the image processing unit receives a type of camera lens of the camera communicated via an interface and ascertains the instantaneous depth of field from an associated stored depth of field table of the camera lens type on the basis of the set iris diaphragm opening and the set focus position and/or the set focal length of the currently used camera lens (see [0029], 3D lens and depth-of-field calculation unit 109; see [0017], conversion table).
As to claim 30, Miyake modified by Yamamoto discloses a camera comprising a camera assistance system as claimed in claim 1 for assisting in the focusing of the camera (FIG. 1 and [0029]; see rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 31, Miyake modified by Yamamoto discloses wherein the camera is a moving image camera (see [0023]).
As to claim 32, Miyake discloses a method for assisting in the focusing of a camera comprising the steps of:
receiving a camera image of a recording subject by an image processing unit from the camera (see [0029]);
generating a 3D preview image with a virtual three-dimensional projection surface, of which the height values correspond to a local imaging sharpness of the received camera image (see [0019] and [0054], measuring distances at points other than the center point of the display screen; determining the amount of blur [note that blur is inversely proportional to sharpness] at each of the points; and synthesizing a 3D image in accordance with each of the amounts of blur [i.e. camera image projected onto a virtual three-dimensional projection surface]; see [0033], The degree of blur is expressed to the user through a 3D effect. In other words, the greater the blur, the deeper the 3D depth [i.e. height values]; see [0017], [0029], [0031]); and
displaying the 3D preview image on a display unit (FIG. 1, LCD display; FIG. 2B and [0054]).
Miyake fails to explicitly disclose projecting the received camera image by the image processing unit onto a virtual three-dimensional projection surface.
However, this is a well-known technique for generating 3D images as evidenced by Yamamoto who teaches projecting the received camera image by the image processing unit onto a virtual three-dimensional projection surface (see [0054], The stereoscopic image generation unit 403 generates virtual projection image data by projecting the captured image data acquired by the image acquisition unit 401 onto a virtual projection plane (three-dimensional shape model)).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Miyake using the known technique of projecting the received image onto a virtual three-dimensional projection surface to provide the predictable result of generating a stereoscopic image (Yamamoto; [0054]).
Claim(s) 2-6, 12 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al (JP 2012203352A) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 20200081608) in view of Kim et al (US 20240223885).
As to claim 2, the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the local imaging sharpness of the received camera image is determined by means of an imaging sharpness detection unit of the camera assistance system.
However, Kim teaches wherein the local imaging sharpness of the received camera image is determined by means of an imaging sharpness detection unit of the camera assistance system (see [0006]-[0007] and [0084]-[0085]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto using Kim’s teachings to determine the local imaging sharpness of the received camera image by means of an imaging sharpness detection unit of the camera assistance system in order to prevent excessive computation by performing an optimal focus search (Kim; [0085]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Miyake, Yamamoto and Kim further discloses wherein the imaging sharpness detection unit has a contrast detection unit or a phase detection unit (Kim; [0084]-[0085]).
As to claim 4, the combination of Miyake, Yamamoto and Kim further discloses wherein the imaging sharpness detection unit of the camera assistance system calculates the local imaging sharpness of the received camera image in dependence upon at least one focus metric (Kim; [0084]-[0085]).
As to claim 5, the combination of Miyake, Yamamoto and Kim further discloses wherein the imaging sharpness detection unit calculates the imaging sharpness of the received camera image using a contrast value-based focus metric on the basis of ascertained local contrast values of the unprocessed camera image received from the camera and/or on the basis of ascertained local contrast values of the processed useful camera image generated therefrom by the image processing unit (Kim; [0084]-[0085]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Miyake, Yamamoto and Kim further discloses wherein the image sharpness detection unit ascertains the local contrast values of the two-dimensional camera image received from the camera and/or of the two-dimensional useful camera image generated therefrom, in each case for individual pixels of the camera image or in each case for a group of pixels of the camera image (Kim; [0084]-[0085]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the image processing unit executes a recognition algorithm for recognizing significant object parts of the recording subject contained in the received camera image and requests corresponding image sections within the camera image with increased resolution from the camera via an interface.
However, Kim teaches wherein the image processing unit executes a recognition algorithm for recognizing significant object parts of the recording subject contained in the received camera image and requests corresponding image sections within the camera image with increased resolution from the camera via an interface (see [0096], [0099]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Miyake using Kim’s teachings to execute a recognition algorithm for recognizing significant object parts of the recording subject contained in the received camera image and request corresponding image sections within the camera image with increased resolution from the camera via an interface in order to prevent excessive computation by performing an optimal focus search (Kim; [0085]).
As to claim 33, the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the imaging sharpness of the received camera image is calculated in dependence upon a focus metric.
However, Kim teaches wherein the imaging sharpness of the received camera image is calculated in dependence upon a focus metric (see [0006]-[0007] and [0084]-[0085]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Miyake using Kim’s teachings to calculate the imaging sharpness of the received camera image in dependence upon a focus metric in order to prevent excessive computation by performing an optimal focus search (Kim; [0085]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al (JP 2012203352A) in view of Yamamoto et al (US 20200081608) in view of Matsumoto et al (US 20080278618).
As to claim 7, the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto fails to explicitly disclose wherein the camera image received from the camera is filtered by a spatial frequency filter in order to reduce fragmentation of the camera image which is displayed on the display unit and projected onto the virtual projection surface.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the camera image received from the camera is filtered by a spatial frequency filter in order to reduce fragmentation of the camera image which is displayed on the display unit and projected onto the virtual projection surface (see [0264]-[0265]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify the combination of Miyake and Yamamoto using Matsumoto’s teachings to filter the camera image received from the camera by a spatial frequency filter in order to filter high-frequency components contained in the image (Matsumoto; [0265]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 22, 24, 26 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482