Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carignan (US 2012/0058382).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Carignan discloses a battery module for a modular high-voltage battery system, the battery module comprising:
electrochemical cells (12a,b,c, see Fig. 2);
a housing of an electrically insulating material, the housing enclosing the electrochemical cells (see housing depicted in Fig. 2); and
a first connector (16, 21, 26) at an outside surface of the housing (as depicted in Fig. 2), the first connector electrically connected to the electrochemical cells (via poles 22) , the first connector comprising an insulating cover (16, as illustrated in annotated Fig. 2 below and see paragraph 24 which discloses pole cover 16 is made from an insulating plastic) and a terminal (pole 22) accessible only through an opening in the insulating cover (see opening 21), wherein the opening is substantially a planar rectangle (as depicted in annotated Fig. 2 of Carignan below), the first connector configured for mating with a first electrical interconnect having a busbar (the first interconnect is 18, which functions as a busbar), wherein the busbar is a blade to extend into the opening and contact the terminal (see annotated Fig. 2 of Carignan below which illustrates the blade shaped busbar that extends into the rectangular shaped opening); and
a second insulating material partially covering the busbar (busbar is partially covered by cover 44, see Fig. 2).
Annotated Fig. 2 of Carignan
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8-11, 13-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawley (US 2022/0263207) in view of Muller (US 2024/0274957).
Regarding claim 1, Dawley teaches a battery module for a modular high-voltage battery system, the battery module comprising:
electrochemical cells (as disclosed in paragraph 36 which discloses electrochemical battery cells);
a housing of an electrically insulating material, the housing enclosing the electrochemical cells (see paragraph 8 which states that the cells are contained within an electrically insulating housing and see drawings where the housing is labeled 110); and
a first connector (132 which includes elongated body 152) at an outside surface of the housing (see Fig. 4A which illustrates connector 132 on the outside of lid 122 and exterior sidewall 114), the first connector electrically connected to the electrochemical cells (see paragraph 51 which discloses that 152 is connected to the cells via the electrode tab), the first connector comprising an insulating cover (insulating cover 162) and a terminal (136) accessible only through an opening in the insulating cover (via bolt 156 which extends into the cover 162 to contact the terminal 136), the first connector configured for mating with a first electrical interconnect (bolt 126 and busbar 158) having a busbar to extend into the opening and contact the terminal (bolt 156 extends into opening 153).
Dawley teaches a connection between an interconnecting busbar and the terminals on a battery with a bolt which is screwed into the terminal to secure it. Dawley, however, does not teach a blade/socket type connection between the first connector and the interconnect busbar. More specifically, Dawley does not teach:
the opening is substantially a planar rectangle, or
the first connector is configured for mating with the first electrical interconnect where the busbar is a blade to extend into the opening.
Muller also discloses a battery module system (see abstract).
Muller, like Dawley, teaches connecting multiple battery modules (3) together for use in vehicles (paragraph 2). Muller goes on to teach that these battery modules must be connected to each other in series/parallel configuration to achieve a functioning battery (paragraph 46) and teaches multiple connectors (blade connectors 76 and receptacle connectors 36) to configure these batteries to be connected in such a way. It is also noted that the connectors (36) of Muller, like Dawley, are also configured to be covered to protect from contact by a human (paragraph 38). This blade/receptacle configuration exhibits:
the opening is substantially a planar rectangle (see Fig. 3 which illustrates a rectangular opening for 36),
the first connector is configured for mating with the first electrical interconnect where the busbar is a blade to extend into the opening (as described above).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the bolt style connectors of Dawley with the blade/receptacle style connectors of Muller as such a modification is nothing more than a simple substitution of one known method of interconnecting battery modules to prevent human/finger contact, with another to yield entirely predictable results. Furthermore, such a modification would have been beneficial in that it allows for easier insertion and removal of the busbars from the connectors of the battery.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Dawley further discloses the first connector protects against fingers (see title and paragraph 48 which discloses finger protection of the terminals)
Regarding claim 8, Dawley further discloses the battery module has substantially a rectilinear shape (as depicted in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Dawley further discloses the rectilinear shape comprises first and second main surfaces that are parallel to each other, and four side surfaces that are perpendicular to the first and second main surfaces, wherein each of the side surfaces abuts respective edges of the first and second main surfaces (as depicted in annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 10, Dawley further discloses the first connector is positioned on at least a first side surface of the side surfaces (as depicted in annotated Fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 11, Dawley further discloses the first side surface is smaller than a second side surface of the side surfaces (as depicted in annotated Fig. 2 below).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 13, Dawley further discloses the opening faces along the first side surface (see opening of 132 in Fig. 4A which faces upwards along the first side surface).
Regarding claim 14, Dawley further discloses the battery module is configured for being installed side by side with other battery modules with the first side surface of the battery module and corresponding side surfaces of the other battery modules facing in a common direction with each other (see paragraph 43 which discloses that multiple battery modules are situated side-by-side and are connected via the busbars 134 and where, when placed side by side, have side surfaces facing a common direction).
Regarding claim 15, Dawley further discloses at least the first main surface covers a current collector coupled to at least some of the electrochemical cells (the current collectors of the cells, and the cells themselves, are entirely covered by the first main surface, or the lid/cover 122 of the battery module).
Regarding claim 17, Dawley discloses a modular high-voltage battery system comprising:
first and second battery modules (see paragraph 43 which discloses adjacent battery modules, meaning more than one), each of the first and second battery modules comprising:
electrochemical cells (as disclosed in paragraph 36 which discloses electrochemical battery cells);
a housing of a first electrically insulating material, the housing enclosing the electrochemical cells (see paragraph 8 which states that the cells are contained within an electrically insulating housing and see drawings where the housing is labeled 110); and
a connector (132 which includes elongated body 152) at an outside surface of the housing (see Fig. 4A which illustrates connector 132 on the outside of lid 122 and exterior sidewall 114), the connector electrically connected to the electrochemical cells (see paragraph 51 which discloses that 152 is connected to the cells via the electrode tab), the connector comprising an insulating cover (insulating cover 162) and a terminal (136) accessible only through an opening in the insulating cover (via bolt 156 which extends into the cover 162 to contact the terminal 136); and
an electrical interconnect connecting the first and second modules to each other, the electrical interconnect comprising:
a busbar (158) configured for extending into each of the openings of the connectors of the first and second modules and contact the terminals of the connectors of the first and second modules (see Fig. 4A which discloses busbar 158 connected to the first battery module and shows the connecting portion (right side of busbar) that connects to the adjacent module and see section 159 of the busbar that is inserted into the hole created by connector 132); and a second insulating material (166) partially covering the busbar.
Dawley teaches a connection between an interconnecting busbar and the terminals on a battery with a bolt which is screwed into the terminal to secure it. Dawley, however, does not teach a blade/socket type connection between the first connector and the interconnect busbar. More specifically, Dawley does not teach:
the opening is substantially a planar rectangle, or
the first connector is configured for mating with the first electrical interconnect where the busbar is a blade to extend into the opening.
Muller also discloses a battery module system (see abstract).
Muller, like Dawley, teaches connecting multiple battery modules (3) together for use in vehicles (paragraph 2). Muller goes on to teach that these battery modules must be connected to each other in series/parallel configuration to achieve a functioning battery (paragraph 46) and teaches multiple connectors (blade connectors 76 and receptacle connectors 36) to configure these batteries to be connected in such a way. It is also noted that the connectors (36) of Muller, like Dawley, are also configured to be covered to protect from contact by a human (paragraph 38). This blade/receptacle configuration exhibits:
the opening is substantially a planar rectangle (see Fig. 3 which illustrates a rectangular opening for 36),
the first connector is configured for mating with the first electrical interconnect where the busbar is a blade to extend into the opening (as described above).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the bolt style connectors of Dawley with the blade/receptacle style connectors of Muller as such a modification is nothing more than a simple substitution of one known method of interconnecting battery modules to prevent human/finger contact, with another to yield entirely predictable results.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawley (US 2022/0263207) in view of Muller (US 2024/0274957) and further in view of Nakamori (US 2014/0017538).
Regarding claim 12, Dawley discloses a first connector on one side of the battery module (as discussed above), but fails to teach a second connector on a second side surface that is opposite the first side surface.
Nakamori also discloses a battery module for an electric vehicle (see abstract).
Nakamori teaches multiple battery modules (17a-e, see Fig. 3) and teaches that, like Dawley, the battery modules are fitted with a connector/terminal (53, for example) that are situated on a battery side in order to connect them to adjacent batteries). Nakamori goes on to teach a battery module (17b, for example) that has another battery module (17c, for example) that is adjacent to it where each battery module has a first and a second connector (53 and 67 on 17b, for example) that are located on opposite sides of the battery module such that a connection between multiple modules can be facilitated while minimizing footprint and maximizing passenger space in a vehicle (paragraph 13).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the second connector of Nakamori to the opposite side of the battery module of Dawley, as suggested by Nakamori, in order to make an electrical connection between multiple battery modules while also minimizing footprint and maximizing passenger space in a vehicle.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawley (US 2022/0263207) in view of Muller (US 2024/0274957) and Weidler (US 4,845,589).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Dawley teaches a connection between an interconnecting busbar and the terminals on a battery with a bolt which is screwed into the terminal to secure it. Dawley, however, does not teach a blade/socket type connection between the first connector and the interconnect busbar.
Muller also discloses a battery module system (see abstract).
Muller, like Dawley, teaches connecting multiple battery modules (3) together for use in vehicles (paragraph 2). Muller goes on to teach that these battery modules must be connected to each other in series/parallel configuration to achieve a functioning battery (paragraph 46) and teaches multiple connectors (blade connectors 76 and receptacle connectors 36) to configure these batteries to be connected in such a way. It is also noted that the connectors (36) of Muller, like Dawley, are also configured to be covered to protect from contact by a human (paragraph 38).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the bolt style connectors of Dawley with the blade/receptacle style connectors of Muller as such a modification is nothing more than a simple substitution of one known method of interconnecting battery modules to prevent human/finger contact, with another to yield entirely predictable results.
Furthermore, Dawley, as modified by Muller above, teaches a blade/receptacle type connection but is silent regarding the inner works of the receptacle. More specifically, Dawley does not teach:
the opening comprises a gap between first and second members, the first and second members joined to each other at a first end and separate from each other at a second end opposite the first end, wherein the terminal is positioned between the first and second members at the first end, or
the gap is substantially U-shaped.
Weidler also discloses a battery system (see abstract).
Weidler, like modified Dawley, teaches a blade/socket configuration to connect a battery module (20). Weidler goes on to teach that the blade (144) is inserted into a socket with a U-shaped receptacle (128) that comprises first and second member (either side of U-shaped receptacle 128, as depicted in Fig. 6). Weidler teaches such a structure to provide a secure electrical connection between the blade and the socket (see abstract, col. 2 lines 4-14).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the u-shaped receptacle of Weidler to the receptacle of modified Dawley such that a secure electrical connection can be made between the socket and blade of modified Dawley.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawley (US 2022/0263207) in view of Muller (US 2024/0274957) and further in view of Baseri (US 10,910,800).
Regarding claim 2, Dawley teaches a hole that is designed to prevent contact by fingers/humans, but does not teach compliance with International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) standard IEC 60529 regarding solid particle protection of 2 or higher.
also discloses a battery system (see abstract).
Baseri teaches sizing a hole that contacts a terminal such that it complies with IEC 60529 which limits access of hazardous parts and ingress of solid foreign objects (col. 4 lines 24-35).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to size the hole of Dawley to meet IEC 60529 in order to limit access of hazardous parts and ingress of solid foreign objects.
Relevant Prior Art
WO 2020/056527 A1 – Discloses multiple battery modules (126) that are configured to attached to an interconnect system via blades and slots (which the blades are inserted into). This reference, however, is silent regarding the specifics of the first connector and the insulating cover which is separate from the insulating housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant amended the claims to include limitations from claims 5 and 16 into claims 1 and 17. On pages 1-2, Applicant argues that Dawley does not anticipate the limitations of claims 5 and 16 (rectangular opening and blade bus bar). The Office notes that the rejection does not state that Dawley anticipates these limitations and therefore, these arguments are moot.
On pages 3-4, Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not modify Dawley with Muller because one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to make such a modification of Dawley and it would require abandoning Dawley’s interface configuration. The Office respectfully disagrees with these arguments. The rejection does not require that the prior art expressly disclose every routine engineering detail necessary to physically implement the proposed modification. Under MPEP §2144.03, a person of ordinary skill in the art is a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton, and the Office may consider the inferences and creative steps that such a person would employ. Here, modifying Dawley with Muller would have involved routine mechanical/electrical design implementation within the level of ordinary skill, with predictable results. This modification requires replacing one known connection configuration for interconnecting battery (such as a bolt style configuration of Dawley) with another (a blade style configuration of Muller) and this modification would service the same purpose (interconnection of the batteries) in Dawley. Furthermore, this modification would have been made to account for the easier attachment and detachment that comes with the blade/socket configuration of Muller rather than the bolt configuration of Dawley.
On page 5, Applicant argues that Weidler does not teach the claimed insulating-cover gap geometry. The Office respectfully disagrees with this argument as the rejection does not state that Weidler teaches this. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725