Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections on page 9 lines 5-10, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to claims 2, 5, 16, 19, and 28 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 2, 5, 16, 19, and 28 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 9 line 11 to page 11 line 10, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-28 and 30-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022). Refer to updated rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 12, 15-20, 25, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022).
Referring to claim 1, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 a UE for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories (memory 130).
One or more processors (processer 110) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
Receive system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg3) in a SBFD configuration. Section 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit PUSCH via frequency hopping in an uplink subband of SBFD slot/symbol(s) during the initial cell access process. The uplink subband is configured or instructed via information received before Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The uplink subband information is included in SIB1, and UE is configured or instructed to use the uplink subband to transmit Msg3 by receiving SIB1. Section 0279 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0313 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to use a small PRB uplink subband during the initial cell access. Also in Sections 0223, 0235-0237, 0239, 0246, 0250, 0252, 0257, 0264, and 0267 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0261, 0262, 0271, 0273, 0278, 0287, 0295, 0297, 0300, and 0329 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): SBFD configurations comprise uplink subbands and downlink subbands.
Transmit an initial access message (Msg3) in the uplink subband. Based on the SIB1, UE transmits a Msg3 in an uplink subband of the SBFD configuration. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 2, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the system information provides a physical uplink channel configuration (PUCCH and PUSCH) that is specific to uplink subbands. Sections 0221, 0262, 0264, 0265, 0267, and 0272 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0295-0301 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUCCH transmissions to BS. Sections 0221, 0229, 0230, 0233-0237, 0246, 0247, and 0250 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0254-0263 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUSCH transmissions to BS. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 3, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the physical uplink channel configuration includes a physical random access channel configuration (not in reference is in “or” form), a physical uplink control channel configuration (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH). Sections 0221, 0262, 0264, 0265, 0267, and 0272 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0295-0301 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUCCH transmissions to BS. Sections 0221, 0229, 0230, 0233-0237, 0246, 0247, and 0250 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0254-0263 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUSCH transmissions to BS. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 4, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the uplink subband is for one or more of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding reference signal (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Sections 0221, 0229, 0230, 0233-0237, 0246, 0247, and 0250 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0254-0263 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUSCH transmissions to BS. Sections 0221, 0262, 0264, 0265, 0267, and 0272 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0295-0301 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUCCH transmissions to BS. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 5, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the system information indicates one or more of a frequency band (not in reference; claim only requires “one or more” of the limitations), resource blocks (RBs), or a time location for the uplink subband (not in reference; claim only requires “one or more” of the limitations). Sections 0129, 0133, 0137, 0138, 0143, 0152, 0154-0156, 0158, 0160, 0164, 0237, 0246, 0247, 0252, and 0294 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0138, 0142, 0147, 0148, 0151, 0153, 0169-0171, 0174, 0179, 0274, 0325, 0326, and 0329 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS indicates to UE the RBs of the uplink subband including the number of RBs of the uplink subband and the starting RB of the uplink subband; UE transmits Msg3 in the indicated RBs of the uplink subband at the starting RB. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 6, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the initial access message is a RACH msg1 (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a RACH msg3 (msg3), a RACH msgA (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a msg5 (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), a msg7 (not in reference; claim is in “or” form), or a msg9 (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). Section 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit PUSCH via frequency hopping in an uplink subband of SBFD slot/symbol(s) during the initial cell access process. The uplink subband is configured or instructed via information received before Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The uplink subband information is included in SIB1, and UE is configured or instructed to use the uplink subband to transmit Msg3 by receiving SIB1. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 12, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are a subset of uplink subband resources. Sections 0130, 0156, 0160, 0221, 0222, 0229, 0231-0237, 0246, 0247, and 0294 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0136, 0139, 0142-0144, 0158, 0159, 0171, and 0177 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS configures uplink frequency resources for the uplink subband, wherein the uplink frequency resources are a subset frequency resources of the frequency domain. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 15, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 a network for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories (memory 230).
One or more processors (processer 210) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to:
Transmit system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg3) in a SBFD configuration. Section 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit PUSCH via frequency hopping in an uplink subband of SBFD slot/symbol(s) during the initial cell access process. The uplink subband is configured or instructed via information received before Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The uplink subband information is included in SIB1, and UE is configured or instructed to use the uplink subband to transmit Msg3 by receiving SIB1. Section 0279 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0313 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to use a small PRB uplink subband during the initial cell access. Also in Sections 0223, 0235-0237, 0239, 0246, 0250, 0252, 0257, 0264, and 0267 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0261, 0262, 0271, 0273, 0278, 0287, 0295, 0297, 0300, and 0329 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): SBFD configurations comprise uplink subbands and downlink subbands.
Receive an initial access message (Msg3) in the uplink subband. Based on the SIB1, UE transmits a Msg3 in an uplink subband of the SBFD configuration. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 16, refer to the rejection of claim 2.
Referring to claim 17, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 18, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Referring to claim 19, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Referring to claim 25, refer to the rejection of claim 12.
Referring to claim 27, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 a method of wireless communication performed by a UE, comprising:
Receiving system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg3) in a SBFD configuration. Section 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit PUSCH via frequency hopping in an uplink subband of SBFD slot/symbol(s) during the initial cell access process. The uplink subband is configured or instructed via information received before Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The uplink subband information is included in SIB1, and UE is configured or instructed to use the uplink subband to transmit Msg3 by receiving SIB1. Section 0279 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0313 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to use a small PRB uplink subband during the initial cell access. Also in Sections 0223, 0235-0237, 0239, 0246, 0250, 0252, 0257, 0264, and 0267 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0261, 0262, 0271, 0273, 0278, 0287, 0295, 0297, 0300, and 0329 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): SBFD configurations comprise uplink subbands and downlink subbands.
Transmitting an initial access message (Msg3) in the uplink subband. Based on the SIB1, UE transmits a Msg3 in an uplink subband of the SBFD configuration. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 28, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the system information provides a physical uplink channel configuration (PUCCH and PUSCH) that is specific to uplink subbands, and wherein the physical uplink channel configuration includes a physical random access channel configuration (not in reference is in “or” form), a physical uplink control channel configuration (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH). Sections 0221, 0262, 0264, 0265, 0267, and 0272 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0295-0301 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUCCH transmissions to BS. Sections 0221, 0229, 0230, 0233-0237, 0246, 0247, and 0250 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0245 and 0254-0263 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit a PUSCH or PUCCH by frequency hopping in the slot/symbol(s) for which the uplink subband is configured or instructed. So, BS transmits a SIB1 to UE to configure uplink subbands for UE to perform PUSCH transmissions to BS. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Referring to claim 30, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 a method for wireless communication performed by a network entity (BS), comprising:
Transmitting system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg3) in a SBFD configuration. Section 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit PUSCH via frequency hopping in an uplink subband of SBFD slot/symbol(s) during the initial cell access process. The uplink subband is configured or instructed via information received before Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The uplink subband information is included in SIB1, and UE is configured or instructed to use the uplink subband to transmit Msg3 by receiving SIB1. Section 0279 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0313 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to use a small PRB uplink subband during the initial cell access. Also in Sections 0223, 0235-0237, 0239, 0246, 0250, 0252, 0257, 0264, and 0267 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0261, 0262, 0271, 0273, 0278, 0287, 0295, 0297, 0300, and 0329 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): SBFD configurations comprise uplink subbands and downlink subbands.
Receiving an initial access message (Msg3) in the uplink subband. Based on the SIB1, UE transmits a Msg3 in an uplink subband of the SBFD configuration. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240097866 to Nemeth et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63375705), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230073130 to He et al.
Seok et al do not disclose wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware … UE.
Nemeth et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Section 0033 wherein UEs can be SBFD-aware full duplex UEs. Refer to Sections 0027-0095. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware … UE. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UEs to be SBFD-aware full duplex UEs, thereby facilitating SBFD configuration and communication.
Seok et al and Nemeth et al do not wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware half-duplex UE.
He et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Section 0030 wherein a UE can be configured for SBFD half-duplex mode. Refer to Sections 0029-0230. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware half-duplex UE. One would have been motivated to do so to support SBFD half-duplex mode, thereby facilitating half-duplex communication.
Claims 8-10, 21-23, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240407010 to Gou et al
Referring to claim 8, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 … an initial uplink BWP. Sections 0206, 0207, 0212, 0235, 0261, and 0274 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0225, 0026, 0232, 0261, 0292, and 0308 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS allocates an initial uplink BWP for UE to perform initial cell access. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Seok et al do not disclose wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8C wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP. Sections 0067-0070 and 0145-0149: in the frequency domain, the size and position of the UL subband may be configured beyond a size and a position of the initial UL BWP; when UE wants to perform a PRACH transmission or PUSCH transmission or PUCCH transmission in the UL subband, within the UL subband, the same frequency domain resources as the initial UL BWP may be used, or the whole frequency domain resources of the UL subband may be used. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access, so the frequency resources of uplink subband are based on the initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Referring to claim 9, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 … the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0206, 0207, 0212, 0235, 0261, and 0274 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0225, 0026, 0232, 0261, 0292, and 0308 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS allocates an initial uplink BWP for UE to perform initial cell access. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Seok et al do not disclose wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8c wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0068 and 0146: the frequency resources UL subband is configured to be overlapping and within an initial UL BWP in the frequency domain, and the PRACH transmission is performed in any frequency domain resource from the UL subband within the initial UL BWP. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access, so the frequency resources of uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Referring to claim 10, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 … the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0206, 0207, 0212, 0235, 0261, and 0274 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0225, 0026, 0232, 0261, 0292, and 0308 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS allocates an initial uplink BWP for UE to perform initial cell access. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Seok et al do not disclose wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8C wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0050, 0054, 0059, 0061, 0062, 0066, 0072, 0075, 0082, 0103, 0105, 0106, 0108-0117, 0121, and 0122: the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is in the UL subband; the RO configuration indicates an offset of a starting RB of the RO relative to a starting RB of the UL subband and the number of RBs in the RO; so, the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is within the UL subband resources as indicated by the starting RB of the RO and the number of RBs in the RO. Sections 0067-0070 and 0145-0149: the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is configured to be overlapping and within an initial UL BWP in the frequency domain. Since the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is in the UL subband and since the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is also configured to be overlapping and within an initial UL BWP in the frequency domain, the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is the claimed “within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP” because the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is in both the uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access and since the uplink subband and initial uplink BWP are uplink subband resources, the frequency resources of uplink subband are a union of uplink subband resources and initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Referring to claim 21, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Referring to claim 22, refer to the rejection of claim 9.
Referring to claim 23, refer to the rejection of claim 10.
Referring to claim 31, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein the system information comprises a system information block (SIB1), and … an initial uplink bandwidth part (initial UL BWP). Section 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Section 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): UE is configured or instructed to transmit PUSCH via frequency hopping in an uplink subband of SBFD slot/symbol(s) during the initial cell access process. The uplink subband is configured or instructed via information received before Msg3 PUSCH transmission. The uplink subband information is included in SIB1, and UE is configured or instructed to use the uplink subband to transmit Msg3 by receiving SIB1. Sections 0050, 0117, 0118, 0136, 0145, 0206, and 0259 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0051, 0124, 0125, 0146, 0155, 0225, and 0290 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS can use a SIB or SIB1 to allocate uplink subbands to UE. Sections 0206, 0207, 0212, 0235, 0261, and 0274 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0225, 0026, 0232, 0261, 0292, and 0308 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS allocates an initial uplink BWP for UE to perform initial cell access. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Seok et al do not disclose wherein the system information comprises a system information block, and wherein the uplink subband is within an initial uplink bandwidth part.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8C wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP. Sections 0067-0070 and 0145-0149: in the frequency domain, the size and position of the UL subband may be configured beyond a size and a position of the initial UL BWP; when UE wants to perform a PRACH transmission or PUSCH transmission or PUCCH transmission in the UL subband, within the UL subband, the same frequency domain resources as the initial UL BWP may be used, or the whole frequency domain resources of the UL subband may be used. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the system information comprises a system information block, and wherein the uplink subband is within an initial uplink bandwidth part. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access, so the frequency resources of uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Claims 11 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240407010 to Gou et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250097777 to Li et al.
Referring to claim 11, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 … the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0206, 0207, 0212, 0235, 0261, and 0274 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0225, 0026, 0232, 0261, 0292, and 0308 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS allocates an initial uplink BWP for UE to perform initial cell access. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Seok et al and Gou et al do not disclose wherein a center frequency of the initial uplink BWP is not center-aligned with a center frequency of an initial downlink BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0148, 0149, 0151, 0152, and 0158-0165 wherein the center frequency point of the uplink initial BWP and the center frequency point of the downlink initial BWP are not aligned. Refer to Sections 003-0227. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a center frequency of the initial uplink BWP is not center-aligned with a center frequency of an initial downlink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so to accommodate when the center frequency point of the uplink initial BWP and the center frequency point of the downlink initial BWP are not aligned, thereby adjusting for different center frequencies.
Referring to claim 24, refer to the rejection of claim 11.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240040589 to Wu et al.
Referring to claim 13, Seok et al disclose in Figures 1-29 wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within … uplink subband resources … Sections 0130, 0156, 0160, 0221, 0222, 0229, 0231-0237, 0246, 0247, and 0294 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0136, 0139, 0142-0144, 0158, 0159, 0171, and 0177 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294): BS configures uplink frequency resources for the uplink subband, wherein the uplink frequency resources are within the uplink subband of the frequency domain. Refer to Sections 0038-0298 of Seok et al (corresponding Sections 0039-0334 of WIPO translation of KR 10-2022-0089294).
Seok et al do not disclose wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and a control resource set #0 bandwidth.
Wu et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0074-0077 (Figure 3b) wherein the uplink subband is within uplink subband resources “U” and the uplink subband is within the frequency domain resource/bandwidth corresponding to CORESET #0. Refer to Sections 0021-0163. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and a control resource set #0 bandwidth. One would have been motivated to do so to allow an uplink subband to be located within uplink subband resources and a control resource set #0 bandwidth, thereby allowing use of the control resource set #0 bandwidth to facilitate uplink subband allocation.
Referring to claim 26, refer to the rejection of claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250168854 to Seok et al (support found WIPO translation of foreign application KR 10-2022-0089294 filed 7/20/2022) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170245265 to Hwang et al.
Seok et al do not disclose wherein the uplink subband includes one or more of a common uplink subband or an initial uplink subband configured with cell-specific parameters.
Hwang et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Section 0154 wherein a plurality of UEs are allocated to the same uplink subbands. Refer to Sections 0040-0179. The specification of the pending application discloses in Section 0106 wherein “In some aspects, the UL-SB 902 may be a common UL-SB that is considered to be “common” because the UL-SB 902 may be available to multiple UEs.”. So, a common uplink subband is an uplink subband that can be allocated to multiple UEs, as disclosed by Hwang et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink subband includes one or more of a common uplink subband or an initial uplink subband configured with cell-specific parameters (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so to allow multiple UEs to use a common uplink subband, thereby saving bandwidth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230284155 to Shim et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Section 0183 wherein in SBFD, a UE can operate in half duplex mode. Refer to Sections 0035-0251.
U.S. Publication No. 20240389103 to Gou et al disclose in Figures 1A-5 and Sections 0030, 0035, 0037, and 0062 wherein BS allocates a UL subband for UE to perform random access, the UL transmission can include PUCCH, PUSCH, and PRACH. Refer to Sections 0021-0141.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
March 9, 2026