Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see response to 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections on page 9 line 6 to page 11 line 5, filed 6/10/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-28 and 30-31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 12, 15-20, 25, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63318682 and Provisional Application No. 63329116).
Referring to claim 1, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a UE for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories (memory 1208).
One or more processors (processing circuitry 1208) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to:
Receive system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg1 or MsgA) in a SBFD configuration (NOSB-FD is a SBFD configuration; NOSB-FD is a type of SBFD). Abstract and Sections 0023, 0059-0070, 0126, 0201, 0204, 0206, 0209, 0211, 0219, and 0221: in a NOSB-FD configuration, there are downlink sub-bands for downlink transmissions to UE, uplink sub-bands for uplink transmissions from UE, and flexible sub-bands that can be downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands.
Transmit an initial access message (Msg1 or MsgA) comprising a PRACH transmission (Msg1 and MsgA are each a PRACH transmission) in a RACH occasion (RO) within the uplink subband. Figure 3A and Sections 0009, 0068-0069: Figure 3A discloses one set of valid RO in UL only symbol, and one set of valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Section 0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit Msg1 in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Sections 0068, 0094, and 0101-0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit MsgA in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 2, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the system information provides a physical uplink channel configuration (PUCCH, PUSCH, and PRACH) that is specific to uplink subbands. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0077-0087, 0108, 0141, 0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUCCH. Figure 3B and Sections 0010, 0071, 0077-0087, 0100-0104, 0141-0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUSCH. Sections 0068, 0077-0087, 0094, 0101-0104, and 0141: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PRACH. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 3, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the physical uplink channel configuration includes a physical random access channel configuration (PRACH), a physical uplink control channel configuration (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0077-0087, 0108, 0141, 0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUCCH. Figure 3B and Sections 0010, 0071, 0077-0087, 0100-0104, 0141-0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUSCH. Sections 0068, 0077-0087, 0094, 0101-0104, and 0141: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PRACH. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 4, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the uplink subband is for one or more of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a sounding reference signal (SRS). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0077-0087, 0108, 0141, 0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUCCH. Figure 3B and Sections 0010, 0071, 0077-0087, 0100-0104, 0141-0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUSCH. Sections 0077-0087, 0141, and 0159: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink SRS transmissions. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 5, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the system information indicates one or more of a frequency band (frequency resource region), resource blocks (RBs/PRBs), or a time location (time resources) for the uplink subband. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency band/frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band. Sections 0132, 0134-0135, 0137, 0140, 0144, 0145, 0149-0151, 0196, 0198, 0199, and 0207-0209: the SIB1 indicates the RBs/PRBs of the uplink sub-band. Sections 0143-0145 and 0199: the SIB1 indicates the time resources of the uplink sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 6, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the PRACH transmission is a RACH msg1 or a RACH msgA. Figure 3A and Sections 0009, 0068-0069: Figure 3A discloses one set of valid RO in UL only symbol, and one set of valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Section 0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit Msg1 in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Sections 0068, 0094, and 0101-0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit MsgA in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 12, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are a subset of uplink subband resources. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency band/frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band, wherein the frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band is part of the frequency resource region for all uplink sub-bands in the assigned uplink sub-bands and the uplink sub-bands of the flexible sub-bands. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 15, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 a network entity (BS) for wireless communication, comprising:
One or more memories (BS comprises a memory, such as memory 1208 of UE).
One or more processors (BS comprises a processor, such as processing circuitry 1208 of UE) coupled to the one or more memories, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to:
Transmit system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg1 or MsgA) in a SBFD configuration (NOSB-FD is a SBFD configuration; NOSB-FD is a type of SBFD). Abstract and Sections 0023, 0059-0070, 0126, 0201, 0204, 0206, 0209, 0211, 0219, and 0221: in a NOSB-FD configuration, there are downlink sub-bands for downlink transmissions to UE, uplink sub-bands for uplink transmissions from UE, and flexible sub-bands that can be downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands.
Receive an initial access message (Msg1 or MsgA) comprising a PRACH transmission (Msg1 and MsgA are each a PRACH transmission) in a RACH occasion (RO) within the uplink subband. Figure 3A and Sections 0009, 0068-0069: Figure 3A discloses one set of valid RO in UL only symbol, and one set of valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Section 0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit Msg1 in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Sections 0068, 0094, and 0101-0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit MsgA in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 16, refer to the rejection of claim 2.
Referring to claim 17, refer to the rejection of claim 3.
Referring to claim 18, refer to the rejection of claim 4.
Referring to claim 19, refer to the rejection of claim 5.
Referring to claim 20, refer to the rejection of claim 6.
Referring to claim 25, refer to the rejection of claim 12.
Referring to claim 27, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 method of wireless communication performed by a UE (UE), comprising:
Receiving system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg1 or MsgA) in a SBFD configuration (NOSB-FD is a SBFD configuration; NOSB-FD is a type of SBFD). Abstract and Sections 0023, 0059-0070, 0126, 0201, 0204, 0206, 0209, 0211, 0219, and 0221: in a NOSB-FD configuration, there are downlink sub-bands for downlink transmissions to UE, uplink sub-bands for uplink transmissions from UE, and flexible sub-bands that can be downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands.
Transmitting an initial access message (Msg1 or MsgA) comprising a PRACH transmission (Msg1 and MsgA are each a PRACH transmission) in a RACH occasion (RO) within the uplink subband. Figure 3A and Sections 0009, 0068-0069: Figure 3A discloses one set of valid RO in UL only symbol, and one set of valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Section 0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit Msg1 in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Sections 0068, 0094, and 0101-0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit MsgA in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 28, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the system information provides a physical uplink channel configuration (PUCCH, PUSCH, and PRACH) that is specific to uplink subbands, and wherein the physical uplink channel configuration includes a physical random access channel configuration (PRACH), a physical uplink control channel configuration (PUCCH), or a physical uplink shared channel configuration (PUSCH). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0077-0087, 0108, 0141, 0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUCCH. Figure 3B and Sections 0010, 0071, 0077-0087, 0100-0104, 0141-0147, 0159, and 0172: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PUSCH. Sections 0068, 0077-0087, 0094, 0101-0104, and 0141: BS transmits the SIB1 to UE to configure uplink sub-bands for UE to perform uplink transmissions on a PRACH. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Referring to claim 30, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 method of wireless communication performed by a network entity (BS), comprising:
Transmitting system information (SIB1) for an uplink subband, the uplink subband being for initial access procedure messages (Msg1 or MsgA) in a SBFD configuration (NOSB-FD is a SBFD configuration; NOSB-FD is a type of SBFD). Abstract and Sections 0023, 0059-0070, 0126, 0201, 0204, 0206, 0209, 0211, 0219, and 0221: in a NOSB-FD configuration, there are downlink sub-bands for downlink transmissions to UE, uplink sub-bands for uplink transmissions from UE, and flexible sub-bands that can be downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands.
Receiving an initial access message (Msg1 or MsgA) comprising a PRACH transmission (Msg1 and MsgA are each a PRACH transmission) in a RACH occasion (RO) within the uplink subband. Figure 3A and Sections 0009, 0068-0069: Figure 3A discloses one set of valid RO in UL only symbol, and one set of valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Section 0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit Msg1 in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Sections 0068, 0094, and 0101-0104 and Example 5 of set 1: UE can transmit MsgA in a valid RO within an uplink sub-band of Figure 3A, wherein the uplink sub-band can be a valid RO in UL only symbol or a valid RO in an UL sub-band in a symbol containing both DL and UL sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240097866 to Nemeth et al (support found in Provisional Application No. 63375705), and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20230073130 to He et al.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware … UE.
Nemeth et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Section 0033 wherein UEs can be SBFD-aware full duplex UEs. Refer to Sections 0027-0095. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware … UE. One would have been motivated to do so to allow UEs to be SBFD-aware full duplex UEs, thereby facilitating SBFD configuration and communication.
Wang et al al and Nemeth et al do not wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware half-duplex UE.
He et al disclose in Figures 1-20 and Section 0030 wherein a UE can be configured for SBFD half-duplex mode. Refer to Sections 0029-0230. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UE is configured to be an SBFD-aware half-duplex UE. One would have been motivated to do so to support SBFD half-duplex mode, thereby facilitating half-duplex communication.
Claims 8-10, 21-23, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240407010 to Gou et al.
Referring to claim 8, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein uplink frequency resources (frequency resource region) of the uplink subband … an initial uplink BWP (UL BWP). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band. Sections 0100 and 0200: an uplink sub-band is associated with an initial UL BWP. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8C wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP. Sections 0067-0070 and 0145-0149: in the frequency domain, the size and position of the UL subband may be configured beyond a size and a position of the initial UL BWP; when UE wants to perform a PRACH transmission or PUSCH transmission or PUCCH transmission in the UL subband, within the UL subband, the same frequency domain resources as the initial UL BWP may be used, or the whole frequency domain resources of the UL subband may be used. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access, so the frequency resources of uplink subband are based on the initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Referring to claim 9, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein uplink frequency resources (frequency resource region) of the uplink subband … the initial uplink BWP (UL BWP). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band. Sections 0100 and 0200: an uplink sub-band corresponds to an initial UL BWP. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8c wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0068 and 0146: the frequency resources UL subband is configured to be overlapping and within an initial UL BWP in the frequency domain, and the PRACH transmission is performed in any frequency domain resource from the UL subband within the initial UL BWP. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access, so the frequency resources of uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Referring to claim 10, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein uplink frequency resources (frequency resource region) of the uplink subband … the initial uplink BWP (UL BWP). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band. Sections 0100 and 0200: an uplink sub-band corresponds to an initial UL BWP. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8C wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP. Sections 0050, 0054, 0059, 0061, 0062, 0066, 0072, 0075, 0082, 0103, 0105, 0106, 0108-0117, 0121, and 0122: the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is in the UL subband; the RO configuration indicates an offset of a starting RB of the RO relative to a starting RB of the UL subband and the number of RBs in the RO; so, the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is within the UL subband resources as indicated by the starting RB of the RO and the number of RBs in the RO. Sections 0067-0070 and 0145-0149: the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is configured to be overlapping and within an initial UL BWP in the frequency domain. Since the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is in the UL subband and since the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is also configured to be overlapping and within an initial UL BWP in the frequency domain, the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is the claimed “within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP” because the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband for the RO is in both the uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and the initial uplink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access and since the uplink subband and initial uplink BWP are uplink subband resources, the frequency resources of uplink subband are a union of uplink subband resources and initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Referring to claim 21, refer to the rejection of claim 8.
Referring to claim 22, refer to the rejection of claim 9.
Referring to claim 23, refer to the rejection of claim 10.
Referring to claim 31, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein the system information comprises a system information block (SIB1), and wherein the uplink subband … an the initial uplink BWP (UL BWP). Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band. Sections 0100 and 0200: an uplink sub-band corresponds to an initial UL BWP. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein the system information comprises a system information block, and wherein the uplink subband is within an initial uplink bandwidth part.
Gou et al disclose in Figures 1-8C wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are based at least in part on an initial uplink BWP. Sections 0067-0070 and 0145-0149: in the frequency domain, the size and position of the UL subband may be configured beyond a size and a position of the initial UL BWP; when UE wants to perform a PRACH transmission or PUSCH transmission or PUCCH transmission in the UL subband, within the UL subband, the same frequency domain resources as the initial UL BWP may be used, or the whole frequency domain resources of the UL subband may be used. Refer to Sections 0026-0154. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the system information comprises a system information block, and wherein the uplink subband is within an initial uplink bandwidth part. One would have been motivated to do so since both the uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband and the initial uplink BWP are allocated to UE for initial cell access, so the frequency resources of uplink subband are within the initial uplink BWP for initial cell access.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240407010 to Gou et al, and in further view of U.S. Publication No. 20250097777 to Li et al.
Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein … the initial uplink BWP … an initial downlink BWP.
Sections 0100 and 0200: an uplink sub-band corresponds to an initial UL BWP and an downlink sub-band corresponds to an initial DL BWP. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Wang et al and Guo et al do not disclose wherein a center frequency of the initial uplink BWP is not center-aligned with a center frequency of an initial downlink BWP.
Li et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0148, 0149, 0151, 0152, and 0158-0165 wherein the center frequency point of the uplink initial BWP and the center frequency point of the downlink initial BWP are not aligned. Refer to Sections 003-0227. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a center frequency of the initial uplink BWP is not center-aligned with a center frequency of an initial downlink BWP. One would have been motivated to do so to accommodate when the center frequency point of the uplink initial BWP and the center frequency point of the downlink initial BWP are not aligned, thereby adjusting for different center frequencies.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240040589 to Wu et al.
Referring to claim 13, Wang et al disclose in Figures 1-12 wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within … uplink subband resources … Sections 0065, 0094, 0096, 0107, 0135, and 0222: BS transmits a SIB1 to UE, wherein the SIB1 indicates the NOSB-FD sub-band configuration, including whether the flexible sub-bands are downlink sub-bands or uplink sub-bands. Sections 0062, 0124, 0126, 0128-0130, 0135, 0137-0139, 0144-0146, 0148-0149, 0154-0194, and 0208: the SIB1 indicates the frequency resource region of the uplink sub-band. Refer to Sections 0021-0247.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and a control resource set #0 bandwidth.
Wu et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0074-0077 (Figure 3b) wherein the uplink subband is within uplink subband resources “U” and the uplink subband is within the frequency domain resource/bandwidth corresponding to CORESET #0. Refer to Sections 0021-0163. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein uplink frequency resources of the uplink subband are within a union of uplink subband resources and a control resource set #0 bandwidth. One would have been motivated to do so to allow an uplink subband to be located within uplink subband resources and a control resource set #0 bandwidth, thereby allowing use of the control resource set #0 bandwidth to facilitate uplink subband allocation.
Referring to claim 26, refer to the rejection of claim 13.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170245265 to Hwang et al.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein the uplink subband includes one or more of a common uplink subband or an initial uplink subband configured with cell-specific parameters.
Hwang et al disclose in Figures 1-14 and Section 0154 wherein a plurality of UEs are allocated to the same uplink subbands. Refer to Sections 0040-0179. The specification of the pending application discloses in Section 0106 wherein “In some aspects, the UL-SB 902 may be a common UL-SB that is considered to be “common” because the UL-SB 902 may be available to multiple UEs.”. So, a common uplink subband is an uplink subband that can be allocated to multiple UEs, as disclosed by Hwang et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the uplink subband includes one or more of a common uplink subband or an initial uplink subband configured with cell-specific parameters (not in reference; claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so to allow multiple UEs to use a common uplink subband, thereby saving bandwidth.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20250184050 to Wang et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63318682 and 63329116) in view of U.S. Publication No. 20240389030 to Salvaganapathy et al.
Wang et al do not disclose wherein the PRACH transmission is a RACH msg1 preamble.
Salvaganapathy et al disclose in Figures 1-4 and Sections 0021-0022 wherein in an initial network access procedure, UE initially transmits a RACH msg1 preamble to BS on a PRACH. In response to the RACH msg1 preamble, BS transmits a msg2 to UE which is an uplink grant provided for the initial access including the MCS and PUSCH resource location for a msg3 transmission from UE. Refer to Sections 0018-0064. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the PRACH transmission is a RACH msg1 preamble. One would have been motivated to do so since a UE conventionally transmits a RACH msg1 preamble as a first step of the initial access procedure to join the network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20230284155 to Shim et al disclose in Figures 1-27 and Section 0183 wherein in SBFD, a UE can operate in half duplex mode. Refer to Sections 0035-0251.
U.S. Publication No. 20240389103 to Gou et al disclose in Figures 1A-5 and Sections 0030, 0035, 0037, and 0062 wherein BS allocates a UL subband for UE to perform random access, the UL transmission can include PUCCH, PUSCH, and PRACH. Refer to Sections 0021-0141.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
June 22, 2026