DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 2, it appears that the word “indication” should instead be “indications”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 11, 12, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (U.S. 2020/0329365) (hereinafter “Luo”) cited in Applicant’s previously submitted IDS in view of Shimezawa et al. (U.S. 2017/0195028) (hereinafter “Shimezawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Luo teaches a UE (wireless device) that receives a second full configuration instruction (indication) from a CU as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0051]; where the generated full configuration-based radio bearer configuration information is based on (associated with) cell group configuration information as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0052].
Luo also teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedicated configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group); and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Luo does not explicitly teach “each of the one or more indications is associated with a serving cell” or discarding a dedicated configuration associated with the serving cell” or applying a new configuration associated with the serving cell”.
However, Shimezawa teaches a method and system for wireless communication supporting dual connectivity and carrier aggregation, where a group of serving cells associated with the master base station apparatus is referred to as a master cell group (MCG) and a group of serving cells associated with the secondary base station apparatus is referred to as a secondary cell group (SCG) in some cases, where the cell group may be a serving cell group as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the receiving, discarding, and applying steps in relation/association to an MCG as taught in Luo additionally in relation/association to a serving cell since Shimezawa teaches where an MCG includes a group of serving cells associated with the master base station as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044], thereby ensuring successful configuration according to a 3GPP protocol as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054] of Luo.
Regarding claim 2, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedicated configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (radio configuration, security configuration); and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 5, Luo further teaches the full configuration instruction containing information (parameter) pertaining to an SCG configuration (secondary cell group value) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0055].
Luo does not explicitly teach “a value range of the parameter including at least one of: primary cell (PCell), primary secondary cell (PSCell), MCG secondary cell (SCell), or SCG SCell”.
However, Shimezawa teaches a method and system for wireless communication supporting dual connectivity and carrier aggregation, where a group of serving cells associated with the master base station apparatus is referred to as a master cell group (MCG) and a group of serving cells associated with the secondary base station apparatus is referred to as a secondary cell group (SCG) in some cases, where the cell group may be a serving cell group as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044]; and where in dual connectivity, a primary cell belongs to the MCG, and in the SCG, a secondary cell corresponding to the primary cell is referred to as a primary secondary cell (PSCell) as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0045].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the receiving, discarding, and applying steps in relation/association to an SCG as taught in Luo additionally in relation/association to a serving cell since Shimezawa teaches where an SCG includes a group of serving cells associated with a secondary base station as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044], thereby ensuring successful configuration according to a 3GPP protocol as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054] of Luo.
Regarding claim 7, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction (indication) included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedicated configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI (parameter name) and/or MCG security; and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 8, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction (indication) included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedication configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group or serving cell) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 9, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction (indication) included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedication configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group or serving cell) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 11, Luo teaches a UE (wireless device) that receives a second full configuration instruction (indication) from (transmitted by) a CU as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0051]; where the generated full configuration-based radio bearer configuration information is based on (associated with) cell group configuration information as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0052].
Luo also teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedicated configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group); and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Luo does not explicitly teach “each of the one or more indications is associated with a serving cell” or discard a dedicated configuration associated with the serving cell” or apply a new configuration associated with the serving cell”.
However, Shimezawa teaches a method and system for wireless communication supporting dual connectivity and carrier aggregation, where a group of serving cells associated with the master base station apparatus is referred to as a master cell group (MCG) and a group of serving cells associated with the secondary base station apparatus is referred to as a secondary cell group (SCG) in some cases, where the cell group may be a serving cell group as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the receiving, discarding, and applying steps in relation/association to an MCG as taught in Luo additionally in relation/association to a serving cell since Shimezawa teaches where an MCG includes a group of serving cells associated with the master base station as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044], thereby ensuring successful configuration according to a 3GPP protocol as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054] of Luo.
Regarding claim 12, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedication configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (radio configuration, security configuration); and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 16, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction (indication) included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedication configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group or serving cell) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 17, Luo further teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction (indication) included in a RRC reconfiguration message from (transmitted by) a CU and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedication configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group or serving cell) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Regarding claim 19, Luo teaches a UE (wireless device) that receives a second full configuration instruction (indication) from a CU as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0051]; where the generated full configuration-based radio bearer configuration information is based on (associated with) cell group configuration information as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0052]; and where the communication device 500 (wireless device) of Figure 5 includes a processor 501.
Luo also teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedicated configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group); and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Luo does not explicitly teach “each of the one or more indications is associated with a serving cell” or discard a dedicated configuration associated with the serving cell” or apply a new configuration associated with the serving cell”.
However, Shimezawa teaches a method and system for wireless communication supporting dual connectivity and carrier aggregation, where a group of serving cells associated with the master base station apparatus is referred to as a master cell group (MCG) and a group of serving cells associated with the secondary base station apparatus is referred to as a secondary cell group (SCG) in some cases, where the cell group may be a serving cell group as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the receiving, discarding, and applying steps in relation/association to an MCG as taught in Luo additionally in relation/association to a serving cell since Shimezawa teaches where an MCG includes a group of serving cells associated with the master base station as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044], thereby ensuring successful configuration according to a 3GPP protocol as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054] of Luo.
Regarding claim 20, Luo teaches the UE (wireless device) that receives a second full configuration instruction (indication) from (transmitted by) a CU (wireless node) as shown in Figure 4 and spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0051]; where the generated full configuration-based radio bearer configuration information is based on (associated with) cell group configuration information as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0052]; where the communication device 500 (wireless node) of Figure 5 includes a processor 501.
Luo also teaches the UE that receives the second full configuration instruction included in a RRC reconfiguration message and performs a configuration update operation including deleting (discarding) dedicated configurations other than basic information, such as configurations related to an MCG cell RNTI and/or MCG security (associated with cell group); and enabling (applying) a new configuration in the RRC reconfiguration message as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054].
Luo does not explicitly teach “each of the one or more indications is associated with a serving cell” or discard a dedicated configuration associated with the serving cell” or apply a new configuration associated with the serving cell”.
However, Shimezawa teaches a method and system for wireless communication supporting dual connectivity and carrier aggregation, where a group of serving cells associated with the master base station apparatus is referred to as a master cell group (MCG) and a group of serving cells associated with the secondary base station apparatus is referred to as a secondary cell group (SCG) in some cases, where the cell group may be a serving cell group as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the receiving, discarding, and applying steps in relation/association to an MCG as taught in Luo additionally in relation/association to a serving cell since Shimezawa teaches where an MCG includes a group of serving cells associated with the master base station as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044], thereby ensuring successful configuration according to a 3GPP protocol as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0054] of Luo.
Claim(s) 4, 6, 10, 14, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo in view of Shimezawa and Da Silva (U.S 2023/0362817).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Luo in view of Shimezawa teaches claims 1 and 11 as described above. Luo in view of Shimezawa does not explicitly teach “wherein the serving cell is in an activation state, a deactivation state, or a dormancy state”.
However, Da Silva teaches a method and system for beam management pertaining to deactivated secondary cell groups (SCG) utilizing centralized units (CU) and distributed units (DU) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0091], where a UE can perform beam measurement and/or beam reporting while a serving cell or secondary cell group is deactivated as spoken of on page 16, paragraphs [0268] and [0287].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the beam management while cell groups are deactivated as taught in Da Silva to the configuration system of Luo in view of Shimezawa in order to improve the resource efficiency of the system by allowing for configuration of cell groups in a deactivated state, thereby providing reduced power resource consumption as spoken of on page 16, paragraphs [0268] and [0287], as well as page 22, paragraph [0384].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Luo in view of Shimezawa teaches claims 1 and 11 as described above. Luo in view of Shimezawa does not explicitly teach “wherein each of the one or more indications comprises a parameter indicating an index of the serving cell”.
However, Da Silva teaches a method and system for beam management pertaining to deactivated secondary cell groups (SCG) utilizing centralized units (CU) and distributed units (DU) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0091], where a serving cell index is a parameter utilized for CSI configuration reporting in relation to a deactivated SCG as spoken of on page 18, paragraph [0314].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the serving cell index indication as taught in Da Silva to the configuration system of Luo in view of Shimezawa in order to improve the configuration reporting by explicitly including information identifying a particular serving cell, thereby increasing the awareness of the receiving node(s) as spoken of on page 18, paragraph [0314] of Da Silva.
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Luo in view of Shimezawa teaches claims 1 and 11 as described above. Luo in view of Shimezawa does not explicitly teach “wherein each of the one or more indications is transmitted (received) in a MAC Control Element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (DCI)”.
However, Da Silva teaches a method and system for beam management pertaining to deactivated secondary cell groups (SCG) utilizing centralized units (CU) and distributed units (DU) as spoken of on page 6, paragraph [0091], where a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state (indication) is sent to a UE as a MAC CE via a PDCCH in a first cell of a SCG as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044].
Given the above references, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to apply the usage of a MAC CE for transmission of a configuration indication as taught in Da Silva to the configuration system of Luo in view of Shimezawa in order to improve the notification process of information pertaining to cell configuration by utilizing a messaging structure compatible with the 5G NR standard as spoken of on page 3, paragraph [0044], as well as page 6, paragraph [0089].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1, 2, 4-12, and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467