DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 20 January 2026 amends claims 1, 12, 21, 25, and 26. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues on page 8 of the response, “…Applicant has amended the claim to recite ‘the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection.’ Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Li has not been shown to disclose, teach, or suggest at least these limitations. In contrast, the cited passages of Li explicitly state the opposite, that the message indicates, by using the bits that correspond to the security policy.” This argument has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Bergstrom, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314895.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 12, 13, 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, WO 2019062996, in view of Bergstrom, U.S. Publication No. 2020/0314895. Referring to claim 1, Li discloses security protection in a wireless communication system wherein a TgNB receives a handover request from an SgNB (Page 24, second paragraph, step 603: TgNB reads on the claimed target access network device; SgNB reads on the claimed source access network device), which meets the limitation of receiving, by a target access network device, a message from a source access network device. The handover request includes a correspondence between the user plane information the security policy (Page 24, third paragraph) where the correspondence is a three bit indicator (Page 24, paragraphs 8-9: correspondence indicators read on the claimed indication information), which meets the limitation of wherein the message comprises indication information. The handover request message includes correspondence between the user plane information the security policy and a security related parameter (Page 24, third paragraph: Li discloses an alternate embodiment in paragraph 6 of page 24 where the handover message “may” carry the security policy, but this is an optional embodiment.). The TgNB utilizes the correspondence between the user plane information and the security policy to determine the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3), which meets the limitation of the target access network device determines that a terminal device supports user plane integrity protection based on the indication information. The TgNB sends a path switch message to an AMF node (Page 31, paragraph 8, step 801: AMF reads on the claimed mobility management entity) wherein the path switch message includes a default security policy (Page 31, paragraph 10), which meets the limitation of sending, by the target access network device to a mobility management entity, a path switch request that carries a first user plane security policy preconfigured on the target access network device. The default security policy can be used to determine whether to enable user plane integrity protection (Page 26, paragraph 5), which meets the limitation of wherein the first user plane security policy indicates whether to enable user plane integrity protection.
Li discloses that the TgNB can choose not to use the correspondence information and just use the default security policy. Li does not specify that the correspondence information does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Bergstrom discloses a signaling system wherein indications can be omitted from messages when default parameters are considered suitable ([0048]: here Li suggests that the default security policy is “suitable” to the extent that Li provides an optional embodiment that ignores the correspondence information and uses the default policy instead), which meets the limitation of in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optional embodiment of Li to have simple omitted the correspondence information in the handover request message received by the TgNB in order to reduce signaling overhead as suggested by Bergstrom ([0048]).
Referring to claim 2, Li discloses that the wireless network can be a 3G network (Page 11, paragraph 3) wherein the nodes in the 3G network are referred to as evolved (Page 11, paragraph 6), which meets the limitation of wherein the target access network device is a target evolved NodeB (eNB) and the source access network device is a source eNB.
Referring to claim 5, Li discloses that the handover request message includes user plane information that includes a DRB ID (Page 24, paragraphs 2-4), which meets the limitation of wherein the message further comprises identifiers of N evolved radio access bearers of the terminal device, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1. The path switch message can include the user plane information (Page 31, paragraph 10) that includes a DRB ID (Page 24, paragraphs 2-4), which meets the limitation of the path switch request further comprises the identifiers of the N evolved radio access bearers.
Referring to claim 6, Li discloses that the path switch messages includes a default security policy and user plane information (Page 31, paragraph 10) such that the user plane information includes a DRB ID (Page 24, paragraphs 2-4), which meets the limitation of wherein the path switch request comprises N user plane security policies, and each of the identifiers of the N evolved radio access bearers corresponds to one of the N user plane security policies.
Referring to claim 7, Li discloses that the AMF sends a path switch ack/confirmation message to the TgNB (Page 33, paragraph 12, step 806) that includes a security policy reselected by an SMF node (Page 33, paragraph 13 – Page 34, paragraph 1), which meets the limitation of wherein after the sending, by the target access network device to a mobility management entity, a patch switch request that carries a first user plane security policy, the method further comprises receiving, by the target access network device and from the mobility management entity, a path switch response that carries a second user plane security policy. The TgNB updates the user plane algorithm and the user plane encryption key according to the received security policy (Page 34, paragraph 4, step 807), which meets the limitation of storing, by the target access network device, the second user plane security policy in a context of the terminal device.
Referring to claim 8, Li discloses that after the TgNB receives the path switch ack/confirmation message, the TgNB determines that the received security policy is not the same as the security policy from the SgNB and the user plane protection algorithm is reselected according to the security policy in the path switch ack/confirmation message and the TgNB sends an RRC connection reconfiguration message to the terminal that carries the updated user plane protection algorithm (Page 34, paragraphs 5-11), which meets the limitation of when a current user plane security activation status of the terminal device does not match the second user plane security policy, indicating, by the target access network, to enable or disable user plane integrity protection for the terminal device according to the second user plane security policy, wherein the current user plane security activation status is a status of whether user plane integrity protection is currently enabled between the target access network and the terminal device.
Referring to claim 12, Li discloses security protection in a wireless communication system that includes a TgNB with a processor and memory (Page 38, paragraph 5 & Page 39, paragraph 1), which meets the limitation of a communication apparatus comprising at least one processor coupled to at least one memory storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus. The TgNB receives a handover request from an SgNB (Page 24, second paragraph, step 603: TgNB reads on the claimed target access network device; SgNB reads on the claimed source access network device), which meets the limitation of receive a message from a source access network device. The handover request includes a correspondence between the user plane information the security policy (Page 24, third paragraph) where the correspondence is a three bit indicator (Page 24, paragraphs 8-9: correspondence indicators read on the claimed indication information), which meets the limitation of wherein the message comprises indication information. The handover request message includes correspondence between the user plane information the security policy and a security related parameter (Page 24, third paragraph: Li discloses an alternate embodiment in paragraph 6 of page 24 where the handover message “may” carry the security policy, but this is an optional embodiment.). The TgNB utilizes the correspondence between the user plane information and the security policy to determine the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3), which meets the limitation of the target access network device determines that a terminal device supports user plane integrity protection based on the indication information. The TgNB sends a path switch message to an AMF node (Page 31, paragraph 8, step 801: AMF reads on the claimed mobility management entity) wherein the path switch message includes a default security policy (Page 31, paragraph 10), which meets the limitation of sending, by the target access network device to a mobility management entity, a path switch request that carries a first user plane security policy preconfigured on the target access network device. The default security policy can be used to determine whether to enable user plane integrity protection (Page 26, paragraph 5), which meets the limitation of wherein the first user plane security policy indicates whether to enable user plane integrity protection.
Li discloses that the TgNB can choose not to use the correspondence information and just use the default security policy. Li does not specify that the correspondence information does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Bergstrom discloses a signaling system wherein indications can be omitted from messages when default parameters are considered suitable ([0048]: here Li suggests that the default security policy is “suitable” to the extent that Li provides an optional embodiment that ignores the correspondence information and uses the default policy instead), which meets the limitation of in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optional embodiment of Li to have simple omitted the correspondence information in the handover request message received by the TgNB in order to reduce signaling overhead as suggested by Bergstrom ([0048]).
Referring to claim 13, Li discloses that the wireless network can be a 3G network (Page 11, paragraph 3) wherein the nodes in the 3G network are referred to as evolved (Page 11, paragraph 6), which meets the limitation of wherein the target access network device is a target evolved NodeB (eNB) and the source access network device is a source eNB.
Referring to claim 16, Li discloses that the handover request message includes user plane information that includes a DRB ID (Page 24, paragraphs 2-4), which meets the limitation of wherein the message further comprises identifiers of N evolved radio access bearers of the terminal device, and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1. The path switch message can include the user plane information (Page 31, paragraph 10) that includes a DRB ID (Page 24, paragraphs 2-4), which meets the limitation of the path switch request further comprises the identifiers of the N evolved radio access bearers.
Referring to claim 17, Li discloses that the path switch messages includes a default security policy and user plane information (Page 31, paragraph 10) such that the user plane information includes a DRB ID (Page 24, paragraphs 2-4), which meets the limitation of wherein the path switch request comprises N user plane security policies, and each of the identifiers of the N evolved radio access bearers corresponds to one of the N user plane security policies.
Referring to claim 18, Li discloses that the AMF sends a path switch ack/confirmation message to the TgNB (Page 33, paragraph 12, step 806) that includes a security policy reselected by an SMF node (Page 33, paragraph 13 – Page 34, paragraph 1), which meets the limitation of receive a path switch response from the mobility management entity, wherein the path switch response carries a second user plane security policy. The TgNB updates the user plane algorithm and the user plane encryption key according to the received security policy (Page 34, paragraph 4, step 807) such that the TgNB sends a reconfiguration message to the terminal (Page 34, paragraph 8, step 808) that includes the updated user plane algorithm (Page 34, paragraph 9), which meets the limitation of store the second user plane security policy in a context of the terminal device.
Referring to claim 19, Li discloses that the security policy can indicate that user plane integrity protection is not enabled and the TgNB may determine to enable the user plane integrity protection (Page 26, paragraph 5), which meets the limitation of when a current user plane security activation status of the terminal device does not match the second user plane security policy, indicating, by the target access network, to enable or disable user plane integrity protection for the terminal device according to the second user plane security policy, wherein the current user plane security activation status is a status of whether user plane integrity protection is currently enabled between the target access network and the terminal device.
Referring to claim 20, Li discloses that the correspondence information includes bit that represent identifiers for user plane integrity protection and user plane encryption algorithms (Page 24, paragraph 8), which meets the limitation of wherein the indication information is represented by a part of bits of an evolved packet system security capability of the terminal device, and the evolved packet system security capability of the terminal device indicates at least one security algorithm supported by the terminal device.
Referring to claim 21, Li discloses that the handover request message includes correspondence between the user plane information the security policy and a security related parameter (Page 24, third paragraph: Li discloses an alternate embodiment in paragraph 6 of page 24 where the handover message “may” carry the security policy, but this is an optional embodiment.) and the TgNB utilizes the correspondence between the user plane information and the security policy to determine the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3), which meets the limitation of [in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection] and the target access network device determines that a terminal device supports user plane integrity protection based on the indication information. The TgNB utilizes the received correspondence information and the security capabilities of the terminal to determine a first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3, step 604), which meets the limitation of determining, by the target access network device based on the first user plane security policy, a user plane security activation status for the terminal device. The TgNB sends a handover request acknowledgement to the SgNB (Page 27, paragraph 3, step 606) wherein the handover request acknowledgement includes a handover command message that includes the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 27, paragraph 4), which meets the limitation of sending, by the target access network device, the user plane security activation status to the source access network device. The SgNB sends the handover command message to the terminal (Page 28, paragraph 4, step 607), which meets the limitation of wherein the user plane security activation status is to be send to the terminal device.
Li discloses that the TgNB can choose not to use the correspondence information and just use the default security policy. Li does not specify that the correspondence information does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Bergstrom discloses a signaling system wherein indications can be omitted from messages when default parameters are considered suitable ([0048]: here Li suggests that the default security policy is “suitable” to the extent that Li provides an optional embodiment that ignores the correspondence information and uses the default policy instead), which meets the limitation of in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optional embodiment of Li to have simple omitted the correspondence information in the handover request message received by the TgNB in order to reduce signaling overhead as suggested by Bergstrom ([0048]).
Referring to claim 22, Li discloses that the TgNB updates the user plane algorithm and the user plane encryption key according to the received security policy (Page 34, paragraph 4, step 807) such that the TgNB sends a reconfiguration message to the terminal (Page 34, paragraph 8, step 808) that includes the updated user plane algorithm for the terminal currently using a different algorithm (Page 34, paragraph 9: user plane protection algorithm currently used by the terminal reads on the claimed first user plane security policy), which meets the limitation of when the first user plane security policy is stored in the context of the terminal device, updating the first user plane security policy stored in the context of the terminal device with the second user plane security policy.
Referring to claim 23, Li discloses security protection in a wireless communication system that includes a TgNB (Page 24, second paragraph, step 603), which meets the limitation of wherein the apparatus is the target access network device.
Referring to claim 24, Li discloses that the security policy can indicate that user plane integrity protection is not enabled and the TgNB may determine to enable the user plane integrity protection (Page 26, paragraph 5), which meets the limitation of wherein when a current user plane security activation status of the terminal device does not match the second user plane security policy, indicating to enable or disable user plane integrity protection for the terminal according to the second user plane security policy comprises when the user plane security activation status of the terminal device is that the user plane integrity protection for the terminal device is not enabled and the second user plane security policy indicates that enabling is required, indicating the terminal device to enable user plane integrity protection.
Referring to claim 25, Li discloses that the handover request message includes correspondence between the user plane information the security policy and a security related parameter (Page 24, third paragraph: Li discloses an alternate embodiment in paragraph 6 of page 24 where the handover message “may” carry the security policy, but this is an optional embodiment.) and the TgNB utilizes the correspondence between the user plane information and the security policy to determine the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3), which meets the limitation of [in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection] and the target access network device determines that a terminal device supports user plane integrity protection based on the indication information. The TgNB utilizes the received correspondence information and the security capabilities of the terminal to determine a first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3, step 604), which meets the limitation of determines, based on the first user plane security policy, a user plane security activation status for the terminal device. The TgNB sends a handover request acknowledgement to the SgNB (Page 27, paragraph 3, step 606) wherein the handover request acknowledgement includes a handover command message that includes the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 27, paragraph 4), which meets the limitation of send, the user plane security activation status to the source access network device. The SgNB sends the handover command message to the terminal (Page 28, paragraph 4, step 607), which meets the limitation of wherein the user plane security activation status is to be send to the terminal device.
Li discloses that the TgNB can choose not to use the correspondence information and just use the default security policy. Li does not specify that the correspondence information does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Bergstrom discloses a signaling system wherein indications can be omitted from messages when default parameters are considered suitable ([0048]: here Li suggests that the default security policy is “suitable” to the extent that Li provides an optional embodiment that ignores the correspondence information and uses the default policy instead), which meets the limitation of in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optional embodiment of Li to have simple omitted the correspondence information in the handover request message received by the TgNB in order to reduce signaling overhead as suggested by Bergstrom ([0048]).
Referring to claim 26, Li discloses security protection in a wireless communication system wherein a TgNB receives a handover request from an SgNB (Page 24, second paragraph, step 603: TgNB reads on the claimed target access network device; SgNB reads on the claimed source access network device), which meets the limitation of receiving a message from a source access network device. The handover request includes a correspondence between the user plane information the security policy (Page 24, third paragraph) where the correspondence is a three-bit indicator (Page 24, paragraphs 8-9: correspondence indicators read on the claimed indication information), which meets the limitation of wherein the message comprises indication information. The handover request message includes correspondence between the user plane information the security policy and a security related parameter (Page 24, third paragraph: Li discloses an alternate embodiment in paragraph 6 of page 24 where the handover message “may” carry the security policy, but this is an optional embodiment.). The TgNB utilizes the correspondence between the user plane information and the security policy to determine the first user plane protection algorithm (Page 25, paragraphs 2-3), which meets the limitation of the computing device determines that a terminal device supports user plane integrity protection based on the indication information. The TgNB sends a path switch message to an AMF node (Page 31, paragraph 8, step 801: AMF reads on the claimed mobility management entity) wherein the path switch message includes a default security policy (Page 31, paragraph 10), which meets the limitation of sending, to a mobility management entity, a path switch request that carries a first user plane security policy preconfigured on the target access network device. The default security policy can be used to determine whether to enable user plane integrity protection (Page 26, paragraph 5), which meets the limitation of wherein the first user plane security policy indicates whether to enable user plane integrity protection.
Li discloses that the TgNB can choose not to use the correspondence information and just use the default security policy. Li does not specify that the correspondence information does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Bergstrom discloses a signaling system wherein indications can be omitted from messages when default parameters are considered suitable ([0048]: here Li suggests that the default security policy is “suitable” to the extent that Li provides an optional embodiment that ignores the correspondence information and uses the default policy instead), which meets the limitation of in response to that the message does not indicate whether to enable user plane integrity protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the optional embodiment of Li to have simple omitted the correspondence information in the handover request message received by the TgNB in order to reduce signaling overhead as suggested by Bergstrom ([0048]).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437