DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15 and 19 include an abbreviation “ID”.
Abbreviations are allowed in claims however its first occurrence must be spelled out. For instance, “Identifier(ID)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20210182267 A1 to Andreakis et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20200034076 A1 to Zentz et al.
As to claim 1, Andreakis teaches a system comprising:
a processor (CPU 604); and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium (System Disk 606) comprising instructions that are executable by the processor to cause the processor to:
receive, from a data warehouse (Source Datastore(s) 120/Source Database(s) 121), a data stream (Log Event(s) 128) at a storage service (Sink datastore(s) 160/Derived Datastore(s) 161) (“…Change log 127 includes any technically feasible history of actions executed or performed on source datastore(s) 120 or the like. In some embodiments, change log 127 includes a log of one or more log event(s) 128 reflecting one or more changes in source datastore(s) 120 (e.g., changed rows, changed column schema, or the like). In some embodiments, the change log 127 includes a linear history of committed changes and non-stale reads associated with source datastore(s) 120…In some embodiments, log event(s) 128 include any event emitted by source datastore(s) 120 based on changes to rows, columns, or the like. In some embodiments, the log event(s) 128 may be emitted in real-time. In some embodiments, log event(s) 128 are of one or more types including create, update, delete, or the like. In some embodiments, log event(s) 128 are associated with one or more attributes including a log sequence number (LSN), the column values at the time of the operation (e.g., column title at a given point in time or the like), the schema that applied at the time of the operation, the full pre and post image of the row from the time of the change, a link to the last log record, type of database log record, information associated with the change that triggered the log record to be written, or the like…Derived datastore(s) 161 include any technically feasible storage infrastructure storing data derived from source datastore(s) 120. In some embodiments, derived datastore(s) 161 include one or more heterogeneous datastores, one or more relational databases, one or more file systems, one or more distributed datastores, one or more directory services, one or more active databases, one or more cloud databases, one or more data warehouses, one or more distributed databases, one or more embedded database systems, one or more document-oriented databases, one or more federated database systems, one or more array database management systems, one or more real-time databases, one or more temporal databases, one or more logic databases, or the like…” paragraphs 0048/0049/0051);
receive, at a first function of a first computing service, one or more notifications (Change Log 127/Log Events 128) (“…Output writer 144 includes any technically feasible write configured to collect one or more events and write to an output such as sink datastore(s) 160 or the like. In some embodiments, log and dump events are sent to the output using a non-blocking operation or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 runs its own thread and collects one or more events in an output buffer prior to writing the events to an output in order. In some embodiments, output writer includes retrieved schema 153 or an associated schema identifier in the output…In some embodiments, the output buffer is stored in memory. In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an interface configured to plugin to any output such as sink datastore(s) 160…In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an event serializer configured to serialize events into a customized format prior to appending the events to an output buffer, writing events to an output, or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an interface to allow plugin of a custom formatter for serializing events in a customized format. In some events, output writer 144 appends events to an output buffer using one thread, and uses another thread to consume the events from the output buffer and send them to the output…” paragraphs 0061-0063), wherein each notification is generated when a file containing data from the data stream is created in the storage service (Change Log 127/Log Events 128) (“…Change log 127 includes any technically feasible history of actions executed or performed on source datastore(s) 120 or the like. In some embodiments, change log 127 includes a log of one or more log event(s) 128 reflecting one or more changes in source datastore(s) 120 (e.g., changed rows, changed column schema, or the like). In some embodiments, the change log 127 includes a linear history of committed changes and non-stale reads associated with source datastore(s) 120…In some embodiments, log event(s) 128 include any event emitted by source datastore(s) 120 based on changes to rows, columns, or the like. In some embodiments, the log event(s) 128 may be emitted in real-time. In some embodiments, log event(s) 128 are of one or more types including create, update, delete, or the like. In some embodiments, log event(s) 128 are associated with one or more attributes including a log sequence number (LSN), the column values at the time of the operation (e.g., column title at a given point in time or the like), the schema that applied at the time of the operation, the full pre and post image of the row from the time of the change, a link to the last log record, type of database log record, information associated with the change that triggered the log record to be written, or the like…” paragraphs 0048/0049);
in response to each notification, pass, by the first function, a message to a queue (output buffer/non-blocking) (“…Output writer 144 includes any technically feasible write configured to collect one or more events and write to an output such as sink datastore(s) 160 or the like. In some embodiments, log and dump events are sent to the output using a non-blocking operation or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 runs its own thread and collects one or more events in an output buffer prior to writing the events to an output in order. In some embodiments, output writer includes retrieved schema 153 or an associated schema identifier in the output…In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an event serializer configured to serialize events into a customized format prior to appending the events to an output buffer, writing events to an output, or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an interface to allow plugin of a custom formatter for serializing events in a customized format. In some events, output writer 144 appends events to an output buffer using one thread, and uses another thread to consume the events from the output buffer and send them to the output…” paragraphs 0061/0063);
receive, at an invocation of a second function at a second computing service, one or more messages from the queue (“…Output writer 144 includes any technically feasible write configured to collect one or more events and write to an output such as sink datastore(s) 160 or the like. In some embodiments, log and dump events are sent to the output using a non-blocking operation or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 runs its own thread and collects one or more events in an output buffer prior to writing the events to an output in order. In some embodiments, output writer includes retrieved schema 153 or an associated schema identifier in the output…In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an event serializer configured to serialize events into a customized format prior to appending the events to an output buffer, writing events to an output, or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an interface to allow plugin of a custom formatter for serializing events in a customized format. In some events, output writer 144 appends events to an output buffer using one thread, and uses another thread to consume the events from the output buffer and send them to the output…” paragraph 0061/0063);
retrieve, by the second function, data from one or more files based on the address in each of the one or more messages (Output Writer 144); and
write, by the second function, the data to a database (Sink datastore(s) 160/output) (“…Output writer 144 includes any technically feasible write configured to collect one or more events and write to an output such as sink datastore(s) 160 or the like. In some embodiments, log and dump events are sent to the output using a non-blocking operation or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 runs its own thread and collects one or more events in an output buffer prior to writing the events to an output in order. In some embodiments, output writer includes retrieved schema 153 or an associated schema identifier in the output…” paragraph 0061).
Andreakis is silent with reference to the message comprising an address of a respective file within the storage service and a message group ID selected from a range and
wherein the invocation of the second function to which each message is routed is based on the message group ID.
Zentz teaches the message (write commands) comprising an address (allocated block) of a respective file within the storage service (SSDs) (“…An embodiment of a data storage system may operate in accordance with one or more storage protocols or standards, such as the SCSI standard or protocol or the NVMe (Non-Volatile Memory Express) standard or protocol. Write Streams are features included in standards, such as the NVMe and SCSI standards, for use with SSDs, such as those providing non-volatile backend physical storage on the data storage system. Write Streams generally allow write commands to an SSD to be tagged with an identifier which is used to optimize data placement of the write data on the storage media of the SSD. The identifier may be assigned to a write stream where a group of related data segments have the same identifier. Related data having the same identifier may be grouped together so that when writing to SSD physical media, processing by the SSD places related data (having the same identifier) together, such as in the same allocated block, so that such data may also be erased together as a group. Thus, data associated with the same Write Stream is expected to be invalidated (e.g., via a data operation such as update/write, deallocation, etc.) at the same time. Use of Write Streams allows for SSD block allocation where related data having a similar expected data lifetime may be placed in the same erase block thereby reducing write amplification (e.g., such as due to rewriting data and garbage collection when performing space reclamation). Write Streams are intended to improve the performance and endurance of an SSD over its lifetime…” paragraph 0039) and a message group ID selected from a range (“…In step 808, processing is performed to randomly assign each extent ID of the extent ID range to a RAID group ID uniquely associated with one of the RAID groups in the system…” paragraph 0073) and
wherein the invocation of the second function to which each message is routed is based on the message group ID (Write Streams generally allow write commands to an SSD to be tagged with an identifier which is used to optimize data placement of the write data on the storage media of the SSD) (“…An embodiment of a data storage system may operate in accordance with one or more storage protocols or standards, such as the SCSI standard or protocol or the NVMe (Non-Volatile Memory Express) standard or protocol. Write Streams are features included in standards, such as the NVMe and SCSI standards, for use with SSDs, such as those providing non-volatile backend physical storage on the data storage system. Write Streams generally allow write commands to an SSD to be tagged with an identifier which is used to optimize data placement of the write data on the storage media of the SSD. The identifier may be assigned to a write stream where a group of related data segments have the same identifier. Related data having the same identifier may be grouped together so that when writing to SSD physical media, processing by the SSD places related data (having the same identifier) together, such as in the same allocated block, so that such data may also be erased together as a group. Thus, data associated with the same Write Stream is expected to be invalidated (e.g., via a data operation such as update/write, deallocation, etc.) at the same time. Use of Write Streams allows for SSD block allocation where related data having a similar expected data lifetime may be placed in the same erase block thereby reducing write amplification (e.g., such as due to rewriting data and garbage collection when performing space reclamation). Write Streams are intended to improve the performance and endurance of an SSD over its lifetime…” paragraph 0039)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Andreakis with the teaching of Zentz because the teaching of Zentz would improve the system of Andreakis by using Write Streams that allows write commands to an SSD to be tagged with an identifier which is used to optimize data placement of the write data on the storage media of the SSD (Zentz paragraph 0039).
As to claim 2, Andreakis teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the storage service comprises an event-driven object storage system (Sink datastore(s) 160) (“…Sink datastore(s) 160 include any technically feasible storage infrastructure for storing and managing collections of data. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 include one or more heterogeneous datastores, one or more relational databases, one or more file systems, one or more distributed datastores, one or more directory services, one or more active databases, one or more cloud databases, one or more data warehouses, one or more distributed databases, one or more embedded database systems, one or more document-oriented databases, one or more federated database systems, one or more array database management systems, one or more real-time databases, one or more temporal databases, one or more logic databases, or the like. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 operate on a plurality of servers, a plurality of storage devices, or the like. The server may be a standalone server, a cluster or “farm” of servers, one or more network appliances, or the like. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 include data managed by one or more teams, one or more business entities, or the like. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 include any downstream application configured to propagate received events (e.g., stream processing application, data analytics platform), search index, cache, or the like. Sink datastore(s) 160 includes, without limitation, derived datastore(s) 161, stream(s) 162 and application programming interfaces (API(s)) 163…” paragraph 0050).
As to claim 3, Andreakis teaches the system of claim 2, wherein the first function is triggered to pass messages to the queue based on event data generated by the storage service, the event data comprising the notification (output buffer/non-blocking) (“…Output writer 144 includes any technically feasible write configured to collect one or more events and write to an output such as sink datastore(s) 160 or the like. In some embodiments, log and dump events are sent to the output using a non-blocking operation or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 runs its own thread and collects one or more events in an output buffer prior to writing the events to an output in order. In some embodiments, output writer includes retrieved schema 153 or an associated schema identifier in the output…In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an event serializer configured to serialize events into a customized format prior to appending the events to an output buffer, writing events to an output, or the like. In some embodiments, output writer 144 includes an interface to allow plugin of a custom formatter for serializing events in a customized format. In some events, output writer 144 appends events to an output buffer using one thread, and uses another thread to consume the events from the output buffer and send them to the output…” paragraphs 0061/0063).
As to claim 4, Andreakis teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the storage service, and the database are hosted in a cloud-based system (Sink datastore(s) 160) (“…Sink datastore(s) 160 include any technically feasible storage infrastructure for storing and managing collections of data. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 include one or more heterogeneous datastores, one or more relational databases, one or more file systems, one or more distributed datastores, one or more directory services, one or more active databases, one or more cloud databases, one or more data warehouses, one or more distributed databases, one or more embedded database systems, one or more document-oriented databases, one or more federated database systems, one or more array database management systems, one or more real-time databases, one or more temporal databases, one or more logic databases, or the like. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 operate on a plurality of servers, a plurality of storage devices, or the like. The server may be a standalone server, a cluster or “farm” of servers, one or more network appliances, or the like. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 include data managed by one or more teams, one or more business entities, or the like. In some embodiments, sink datastore(s) 160 include any downstream application configured to propagate received events (e.g., stream processing application, data analytics platform), search index, cache, or the like. Sink datastore(s) 160 includes, without limitation, derived datastore(s) 161, stream(s) 162 and application programming interfaces (API(s)) 163…” paragraph 0050).
.
As to claim 5, Zentz teaches the system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the message group ID is randomly selected from the range (“…In step 808, processing is performed to randomly assign each extent ID of the extent ID range to a RAID group ID uniquely associated with one of the RAID groups in the system…” paragraph 0073).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Andreakis with the teaching of Zentz because the teaching of Zentz would improve the system of Andreakis by using Write Streams that allows write commands to an SSD to be tagged with an identifier which is used to optimize data placement of the write data on the storage media of the SSD (Zentz paragraph 0039).
As to claims 8 and 15, see the rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claims 9 and 16, see the rejection of claim 2 above.
As to claims 10 and 17, see the rejection of claim 3 above.
As to claims 11 and 18, see the rejection of claim 4 above.
As to claims 12 and 19, see the rejection of claim 5 above.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0182267 A1 to Andreakis et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0034076 A1 to Zentz et al. as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0161288 A1 to Feldman et al.
As to claim 6, Andreakis as modified by Zentz teaches the system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the queue is a first-in-first-out (FIFO) queue.
Feldman teaches wherein the queue is a first-in-first-out (FIFO) queue (FIFO memory) (“…As illustrated by FIG. 1, data storage device 101 comprises data storage 104 (e.g., a block device, a file system, a network block device, a virtual block device, etc.), file event notification component 120, and analytics engine component 130. In this regard, file event notification component 120 (e.g., inotify, a filter driver, etc.) can detect accesses, e.g., activity 102, of respective files of data storage 104. For example, in embodiment(s), activity 102 can comprise processes related to creating a file in data storage 104, modifying the file, reading the file, deleting the file, opening the file, closing the file, etc. In other embodiment(s), file event notification component 120 can detect properties, e.g., an I/O latency of an access of the accesses, a data throughput associated with the access, etc.
[0037] Further, in response to detecting activity 102, file event notification component 120 can generate message file-system event representing an access corresponding to activity 102, and send the file-system event to analytics engine component 130. In turn, analytics engine component 130 can receive the file-system event from file event notification component 120, generate a subscriber event message representing the file-system event, and store the subscriber event message in a queue (see e.g., event queue 222 below), a FIFO memory, etc….” paragraphs 0036/0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Andreakis and Zentz with the teaching of Feldman because the teaching of Feldman would improve the system of Andreakis and Zentz by providing a data structure (often, specifically a data buffer) where the oldest (first) entry, or "head" of the queue, is processed first.
As to claims 13 and 20, see the rejection of claim 6 above.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 20210182267 A1 to Andreakis et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0034076 A1 to Zentz et al. as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0067864 A1 to Park et al.
As to claim 7, Andreakis as modified by Zentz teaches the system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein a desired throughput can be adjusted by controlling a number of routines of each invocation of the second function that can simultaneously write to the database.
Park teaches wherein a desired throughput can be adjusted (Step 405) by controlling a number of routines of each invocation of the second function that can simultaneously write to the database (remote storage unit/cloud storage) (‘…As described above, each writer may generate an individual event stream. In one embodiment, the messages from the writers (i.e., individual event stream) may be stored in a remote storage unit, for example a cloud storage. The remote storage unit may also store a history of readers' subscription list of writers. Therefore, a replay of a reader's past operation (i.e., what messages the reader saw) may be reconstructed. In one embodiment, the remote storage unit may be integrated with the repeater block components…FIG. 4A illustrates a flow diagram of receiving messages in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. In one embodiment, the method of FIG. 4A may be performed by one of the readers 140.1-140.P of FIG. 1, or alternatively, it may be performed by another device. In step 405, the reader may set a list of writers to which it will listen. The writers on the list may be distributed across different locations in the distributed computing network. In step 410, the reader may receive messages from the writers on its list. In addition, the reader may also receive heartbeats from the writers on its list…” paragraphs 0028/0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Andreakis and Zentz with the teaching of Park because the teaching of Park would improve the system of Andreakis and Zentz by providing a technique for setting a list of writers for writing data messages to remote distributed storages and as such allowing for concurrency writing of data messages.
As to claim 14, see the rejection of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0179559 A1 to Ballantyne et all. techniques are provided for distributing event messages from a first service to additional services using a message store.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0378087 A1 to Talwalkar et al. and directed to a system and method for on-demand event-driven data transfer in which a serverless listener detects a transfer request from a location remote from the data transfer system.
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194