DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurice (US 2022/0031152) in view Ramsey (US 2016/0073867).
Maurice shows a container arranged and configured to couple to an endoscope for use in an endoscopic procedure (Fig. 8A), the container comprising: a flexible container with a reservoir opening and configured to contain a fluid within a first receptacle thereof, the container is movable between a collapsed storage configuration and an expanded use configuration (flexible fluid source including reservoir opening/hole located at top, where flexibility is considered to allow for collapse/expansion [0043]); a water supply tube including a first end, a second end, and a first lumen extending therethrough, wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with the first receptacle in the bottom portion of the container and the second end of the water supply tube is positioned external to the container ([0042]-[0044]; Fig. 8A); a gas supply tube including a first end, a second end, and a second lumen extending therethrough, wherein the second lumen is in operative fluid communication with the first receptacle and the second end of the gas supply tube is positioned external to the container ([0042]-[0044]; Fig. 8A); a port positioned adjacent to the top portion of the container and spaced from the reservoir opening, wherein the port is configured to selectively fluidly couple the first receptacle of the container with an external water source (septum port 58a, [0043]).
Maurice shows a support structure (outer surface of flexible container 58; Fig. 8A-8B); wherein in an absence of a biasing force, the support structure is configured to maintain the container in the expanded use configuration (outer surface of flexible container 58; Fig. 8A-8B); wherein the support structure comprises a support ring or pole (outer surface of flexible circular container is considered a ring, 58); wherein the support structure comprises a planar reinforcing member movable from a first configuration to a second configuration (at least a portion of the outer surface of flexible container may be considered planar, such as the bottom portion of the container, where the flexibility allows for the structural surface of the container to be movable from a first configuration to a second configuration, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration, the support structure is generally parallel to a bottom surface of the container (where the flexibility allows for the structural surface of the container to be movable from a first configuration to a second configuration, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in a first configuration the container is in the collapsed storage configuration and when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration the container is in the expanded use configuration (where the flexibility allows for the structural surface of the container to be movable from a first configuration to a second configuration, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein the support structure extends from a first corner of the container adjacent the top portion thereof to a second corner of the container adjacent the bottom portion of the container (outer surface of flexible container extends from a first corner to a second corner, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein the first corner and the second corner are at opposing lateral sides of the container (outer surface of flexible container 58 including 4 corners supported structurally by walls of the container, where two of the corners may be selected as being opposite; Figs. 8A-8B).
Maurice fails to show a removable cap selectively coupled to the port.
Maurice fails to show a first opening and a second opening spaced along an outer surface; a port extending through the second opening; the removable cap being removable from the port to place the external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle.
Ramsey discloses a container for use with an endoscope (abstract). Ramsey teaches a removable cap selectively coupled to the port ([0087]); a first opening and a second opening spaced along an outer surface (first opening port 8, second opening 26 with cap 30; Fig. 8; Fig. 12); a port extending through the second opening (neck 28, [0087]); the removable cap being removable from the port to place the external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle (opening allows the internal volume to be filled with sterile water, [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Maurice to provide a second opening spaced along an outer surface from the first opening, for placing an external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle as taught by Ramsey, as Ramsey teaches that a second opening allows the internal volume to be filled with sterile water ([0087]) and it is desirable to fill the container with water after use to allow the container to be reusable after the initial water volume is used. Furthermore, it would be obvious to provide a removable cap as taught by Ramsey, in order to selectively seal the opening after filling, to prevent the water from exiting the container, and to allow for the opening to be reopened to allow water to be filled in additional procedures.
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurice (US 2022/0031152) in view Ramsey (US 2016/0073867) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boulais (US 2006/0068360)
Maurice fails to show a carrying handle adjacent the top portion of the container; wherein when in the expanded use configuration, the bottom portion of the container is configured to support the container in an upright configuration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Maurice and Ramsey to utilize a handle and for the bottom of the container to support the container in an upright configuration as taught by Boulais, in order to allow for the device to be made more easily portable by providing a place for the user to grip and to allow the device to be placed down.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurice (US 2022/0031152) in view of Ramsey (US 2016/0073867) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Savitt et al. (US 5297537; hereinafter Savitt).
Maurice fails to show a second receptacle, the second receptacle configured to store the water supply tube and the gas supply tube when the container is the collapsed storage configuration; wherein the second receptacle is sealed prior to use of the container and unsealed at a time of use of the container.
Savitt discloses a disposable liquid supply kit for use with an endoscope. Savitt teaches a second receptacle, the second receptacle configured to store the water supply tube and the gas supply tube when the container is the collapsed storage configuration; wherein the second receptacle is sealed prior to use of the container and unsealed at a time of use of the container (column 8, lines 57-65; Fig. 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Maurice and Ramsey to utilize a second receptacle to store the tubes as taught by Savitt, in order to protect the components from contamination between procedures to and efficiently package the components in a kit which allows the medical system components to be quickly assembled.
Claim(s) 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurice (US 2022/0031152) in view of Ramsey (US 2016/0073867) and Kim et al. (US 2020/0253639; hereinafter Kim).
Maurice shows a container arranged and configured to couple to an endoscope for use in an endoscopic procedure (Fig. 8A), the container comprising: a flexible container with a reservoir opening and configured to contain a fluid within a first receptacle thereof, the container is movable between a collapsed storage configuration and an expanded use configuration (flexible fluid source including reservoir opening/hole located at top, where flexibility is considered to allow for collapse/expansion [0043]); a water supply tube including a first end, a second end, and a first lumen extending therethrough, wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with the first receptacle in the bottom portion of the container and the second end of the water supply tube is positioned external to the container ([0042]-[0044]; Fig. 8A); a gas supply tube including a first end, a second end, and a second lumen extending therethrough, wherein the second lumen is in operative fluid communication with the first receptacle and the second end of the gas supply tube is positioned external to the container ([0042]-[0044]; Fig. 8A); a port positioned adjacent to the top portion of the container and spaced from the reservoir opening, wherein the port is configured to selectively fluidly couple the first receptacle of the container with an external water source (septum port 58a, [0043]).
Maurice fails to show a first opening and a second opening spaced along an outer surface; a port extending through the second opening; the removable cap being removable from the port to place the external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle.
Maurice fails to show a support; wherein in an absence of a biasing force, the support structure is configured to maintain the container in the expanded use configuration; wherein the support structure comprises a support ring or pole; wherein the support structure comprises a planar reinforcing member movable from a first configuration to a second configuration; wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration, the support structure is generally parallel to a bottom surface of the container; wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in a first configuration the container is in the collapsed storage configuration and when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration the container is in the expanded use configuration; wherein the support structure extends from a first corner of the container adjacent the top portion thereof to a second corner of the container adjacent the bottom portion of the container; wherein the first corner and the second corner are at opposing lateral sides of the container.
Ramsey discloses a container for use with an endoscope (abstract). Ramsey teaches a removable cap selectively coupled to the port ([0087]); a first opening and a second opening spaced along an outer surface (first opening port 8, second opening 26 with cap 30; Fig. 8; Fig. 12); a port extending through the second opening (neck 28, [0087]); the removable cap being removable from the port to place the external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle (opening allows the internal volume to be filled with sterile water, [0087]).
Kim discloses systems and methods for tissue capture and removal. Kim teaches a container including a support (stiffeners and reinforcement members; [0130]-[0132]); wherein in an absence of a biasing force, the support structure is configured to maintain the container in the expanded use configuration (maintain a desired shape or volume; [0130]); wherein the support structure comprises a support ring or pole (Figs. 3B); wherein the support structure comprises a planar reinforcing member movable from a first configuration to a second configuration ([0130]-[0132]); wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration, the support structure is generally parallel to a bottom surface of the container (reinforcement members may be provided in any direction as desired by the user, wherein some at least some reinforcement members may be arranged parallel to the bottom surface of the container as desired by the user; [0132], [0148]; Fig. 6A); wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in a first configuration the container is in the collapsed storage configuration and when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration the container is in the expanded use configuration ([0148]); wherein the support structure extends from a first corner of the container adjacent the top portion thereof to a second corner of the container adjacent the bottom portion of the container; wherein the first corner and the second corner are at opposing lateral sides of the container (Fig. 7B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Maurice to provide a second opening spaced along an outer surface from the first opening, for placing an external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle as taught by Ramsey, as Ramsey teaches that a second opening allows the internal volume to be filled with sterile water ([0087]) and it is desirable to fill the container with water after use to allow the container to be reusable after the initial water volume is used. Furthermore, it would be obvious to provide a removable cap as taught by Ramsey, in order to selectively seal the opening after filling, to prevent the water from exiting the container, and to allow for the opening to be reopened to allow water to be filled in additional procedures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Maurice and Ramsey to provide additional support for the container as taught by Kim, as Kim teaches that providing support for the container allows the container to assume and maintain a desired shape or volume at the appropriate time to aid in the surgical procedure ([0130]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to provide supporting members along any direction of the container desired by the user, in order to obtain the desired shape/volume, and where the direction of the support may be selected by the user without undue experimentation.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurice (US 2022/0031152) in view of Ramsey (US 2016/0073867) and Verlaak et al. (US 2019/0231971; hereinafter Verlaak).
Maurice shows a container arranged and configured to couple to an endoscope for use in an endoscopic procedure (Fig. 8A), the container comprising: a flexible container with a reservoir opening and configured to contain a fluid within a first receptacle thereof, the container is movable between a collapsed storage configuration and an expanded use configuration (flexible fluid source including reservoir opening/hole located at top, where flexibility is considered to allow for collapse/expansion [0043]); a water supply tube including a first end, a second end, and a first lumen extending therethrough, wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with the first receptacle in the bottom portion of the container and the second end of the water supply tube is positioned external to the container ([0042]-[0044]; Fig. 8A); a gas supply tube including a first end, a second end, and a second lumen extending therethrough, wherein the second lumen is in operative fluid communication with the first receptacle and the second end of the gas supply tube is positioned external to the container ([0042]-[0044]; Fig. 8A); a port positioned adjacent to the top portion of the container and spaced from the reservoir opening, wherein the port is configured to selectively fluidly couple the first receptacle of the container with an external water source (septum port 58a, [0043]).
Maurice shows a support structure (outer surface of flexible container 58; Fig. 8A-8B); wherein in an absence of a biasing force, the support structure is configured to maintain the container in the expanded use configuration (outer surface of flexible container 58; Fig. 8A-8B); wherein the support structure comprises a support ring or pole (outer surface of flexible container 58); wherein the support structure comprises a planar reinforcing member movable from a first configuration to a second configuration (at least a portion of the outer surface of flexible container may be considered planar, where the flexibility allows for the structural surface of the container to be movable from a first configuration to a second configuration, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration, the support structure is generally parallel to a bottom surface of the container (at least a portion of upper surface of flexible container 58 is parallel to bottom of container; Fig. 8A-8B); wherein when the planar reinforcing member is in a first configuration the container is in the collapsed storage configuration and when the planar reinforcing member is in the second configuration the container is in the expanded use configuration (where the flexibility allows for the structural surface of the container to be movable from a first configuration to a second configuration, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein the support structure extends from a first corner of the container adjacent the top portion thereof to a second corner of the container adjacent the bottom portion of the container (outer surface of flexible container extends from a first corner to a second corner, Figs. 8A-8B); wherein the first corner and the second corner are at opposing lateral sides of the container (outer surface of flexible container 58 including 4 corners supported structurally by walls of the container, where two of the corners may be selected as being opposite; Figs. 8A-8B).
Maurice fails to show a port positioned adjacent to the top portion of the container, wherein the port is configured to selectively fluidly couple a first receptacle of the container with an external water source.
Maurice fails to show a seal extending from the top portion of the container to the bottom portion of the container, the seal configured to divide the container into a first chamber and a second chamber.
Ramsey discloses a container for use with an endoscope (abstract). Ramsey teaches a removable cap selectively coupled to the port ([0087]); a first opening and a second opening spaced along an outer surface (first opening port 8, second opening 26 with cap 30; Fig. 8; Fig. 12); a port extending through the second opening (neck 28, [0087]); the removable cap being removable from the port to place the external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle (opening allows the internal volume to be filled with sterile water, [0087]).
Verlaak discloses a medical packaging container (abstract). Verlaak teaches a seal extending from the top portion of the container to the bottom portion of the container, the seal configured to divide the container into a first chamber and a second chamber (dual-chamber, where the two chambers are considered to be separated by a structure which may be considered a seal, to provide a “dual” type chamber; [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Maurice to provide a second opening spaced along an outer surface from the first opening, for placing an external water source in fluid communication with the first receptacle as taught by Ramsey, as Ramsey teaches that a second opening allows the internal volume to be filled with sterile water ([0087]) and it is desirable to fill the container with water after use to allow the container to be reusable after the initial water volume is used. Furthermore, it would be obvious to provide a removable cap as taught by Ramsey, in order to selectively seal the opening after filling, to prevent the water from exiting the container, and to allow for the opening to be reopened to allow water to be filled in additional procedures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Maurice and Ramsey to divide the container into first and second chambers as taught by Verlaak, as Verlaak teaches that a dual-chamber design provides an advantage of a single chamber design in that a dual-chamber design allows for storing two separate components, which can later be mixed as desired by the user when dispensing into the patient’s body ([0046]).
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurice (US 2022/0031152) in view of Ramsey (US 2016/0073867) and Verlaak et al. (US 2019/0231971; hereinafter Verlaak) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bendele et al. (US 2012/0095293; hereinafter Bendele).
Maurice fails to show an actuatable valve disposed between the first chamber and the second chamber; a pressure relief valve in fluid communication with the second chamber; wherein the port is in fluid communication with the first chamber and the second chamber; further comprising a cap configured to be releasably coupled to the port, the cap configured to selectively fluidly couple the first and second chambers; wherein the seal is selectively opened and closed, wherein the when the seal is open the first and second chambers are fluidly coupled and when the seal is closed the first and second chambers are fluidly isolated from one another; wherein the seal comprises a fluid-tight hook and loop fastener.
Bendele discloses a combined irrigation and rinsing tube set including a first and second chamber for holding liquids ([0072]-[0073]). Bendele teaches an actuatable valve disposed between the first chamber and the second chamber ([0074]); a pressure relief valve in fluid communication with the second chamber ([0074]; wherein the port is in fluid communication with the first chamber and the second chamber; further comprising a cap configured to be releasably coupled to the port, the cap configured to selectively fluidly couple the first and second chambers ([0073]); wherein the seal is selectively opened and closed, wherein the when the seal is open the first and second chambers are fluidly coupled and when the seal is closed the first and second chambers are fluidly isolated from one another ([0073]); wherein the seal comprises a fluid-tight hook and loop fastener ([0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Maurice, Ramsey, and Verlaak to utilize valves and fasteners in the dual-chamber system as taught by Bendele to fluidly couple the dual chambers while preventing backflow or other contamination, where valves and fasteners are known means for connecting or separating components of a fluid system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN CWERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797