DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binet et al (US 2003/0222075) in view of Null (US 3,636,859) and Mitsui et al (US 3,901,443)
With respect to claim 1, Binet discloses the bottle heating apparatus comprising a housing with a chamber for receiving a bottle. But, Binet does not disclose at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed in the chamber that is configured to heat a substance in the bottle when the bottle is positioned in the chamber wherein the ultrasonic transducer is positioned to direct ultrasonic energy toward a central axis of the bottle at an angle between 10 and 60 degrees relative to a plane perpendicular to the central axis as claimed.
Null discloses it is known to provide a liquid container (11) with at least one ultrasonic transducer (30) for transmitting ultrasonic energy toward the substance/liquid contained in the container to increase the speed and efficiency of cooking as the ultrasonic energy causes increased fluid flow and raises a level of excitation of molecules of the item being cooked. Also, see Abstract, and column 2, lines 38-42.
Mitsui discloses it is known provide at least one ultrasonic transducer (4) which directs its energy at an inclination angle relative to a plane perpendicular to a central axis of a liquid containing chamber/tank (21) wherein Mitsui discloses that the inclination angle that is greater than 22 degree causes an ultrasonic wave on the liquid to increase (column 4, lines 36-40).
In view of Null and Mitsui, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Binet with at least one ultrasonic transducer disposed in the chamber for directing the ultrasonic energy toward the bottle positioned in chamber wherein the ultrasonic transducer would enhance heating of the substance/liquid contained in the bottle as ultrasonic energy causes for increased fluid flow as taught by Null, and the ultrasonic transducer can be positioned at an angle that is greater than 22 degree, which overlaps that of the claimed range of 10-60 degrees, to further increase the fluid flow as more ultrasonic wave on the liquid is increased which would further allow heat within the substance (e.g., liquid or milk) to be more effectively distributed and mixed and thus predictably achieving the substance/liquid temperature as desired.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Mitsui discloses the angle that is greater than 22 degree, and it would have been obvious to adapt Binet, as modified by Null, with the angle in the claimed range of 20-50 degrees as recited in claim 2 or 30-40 degrees as recited in claim 3 as a matter of routine experimentation/optimization to increase the flid flow with an increased ultrasonic wave to mix the substance/liquid in the bottle to predictably and effectively achieve the substance/liquid temperature as desired.
With respect to claims 4 and 5, Binet in combination with Null and Mitsui discloses the ultrasonic transducer that is positioned to direct the ultrasonic energy at a bottom side or a base of the bottle when the bottle is position in the chamber.
With respect to claims 6 and 7, Binet discloses a non-ultrasonic heating element (106; also, see para 0032) for heating the substance within the bottle as the base of the bottle rests on the non-ultrasonic heating element as illustrated in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 10, Binet in combination with Null and Mitsui discloses for the bottle that is heated by the ultrasonic transducer without a use of liquid bath.
With respect to claim 11, Binet discloses the bottle heating apparatus comprising a housing with a chamber for receiving a bottle. But, Binet does not disclose at least first ultrasonic transducer and a second ultrasonic transducer disposed in the chamber that is configured to heat a substance in the bottle when the bottle is positioned in the chamber wherein the ultrasonic transducers are positioned to direct ultrasonic energy toward a central axis of the bottle at an angle between 10 and 60 degrees relative to a plane perpendicular to the central axis as claimed.
Null discloses it is known to provide a liquid container (11) with a plurality of ultrasonic transducers (30) for transmitting ultrasonic energy toward the substance/liquid contained in the container to increase the speed and efficiency of cooking as the ultrasonic energy causes increased fluid flow and raises a level of excitation of molecules of the item being cooked. Also, see Abstract, and column 2, lines 38-42.
Mitsui discloses it is known provide an ultrasonic transducer (4) which directs its energy at an inclination angle relative to a plane perpendicular to a central axis of a liquid containing chamber/tank (21) wherein Mitsui discloses that the inclination angle that is greater than 22 degree causes an ultrasonic wave on the liquid to increase (column 4, lines 36-40).
In view of Null and Mitsui, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Binet with a plurality of ultrasonic transducer, including at least a first ultrasonic transducer and a second ultrasonic transducer, disposed in the chamber for directing the ultrasonic energy toward the bottle positioned in chamber wherein the ultrasonic transducer would enhance heating of the substance/liquid contained in the bottle as ultrasonic energy causes for increased fluid flow as taught by Null, and the ultrasonic transducers can be positioned at an angle that is greater than 22 degrees, which overlaps that of the claimed range of 10-60 degrees, to further increase the fluid flow as more ultrasonic wave on the liquid is increased which would further allow heat within the substance (e.g., liquid or milk) to be more effectively distributed and mixed and thus predictably achieving the substance/liquid temperature as desired.
With respect to claims 12 and 13, Mitsui discloses the angle that is greater than 22 degree, and it would have been obvious to adapt Biner, as modified by Null, with the angle in the claimed range of 20-50 degrees as recited in claim 12 or 30-40 degrees as recited in claim 13 as a matter of routine experimentation/optimization to increase the flid flow with an increased ultrasonic wave to mix the substance/liquid in the bottle to predictably and effectively achieve the substance/liquid temperature as desired.
With respect to claim 14, Null discloses the first transducer and the second transducer that are positioned opposite side of the chamber, i.e., on the right side and the left side of the chamber as shown in Figure 2.
With respect to claims 15 and 16, Binet in combination with Null and Mitsui discloses the ultrasonic transducer that is positioned to direct the ultrasonic energy at a bottom side or a base of the bottle when the bottle is position in the chamber.
With respect to claims 17 and 18, Binet discloses a non-ultrasonic heating element (106; also, see para 0032) for heating the substance within the bottle as the base of the bottle rests on the non-ultrasonic heating element as illustrated in Figure 1.
With respect to claim 21, Binet in combination with Null and Mitsui discloses for the bottle that is heated by the ultrasonic transducer without a use of liquid bath.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Binet in view of Null and Mitsui as applied to claims 1-7, 10-18 and 21 above, and further in view of McGarvey (US 2014/0091083).
With respect to claims 8 and 19, Binet in view of Null and Mitsui discloses the heating apparatus claimed except for an infrared temperature sensor.
McGarvey discloses it is known to provide a liquid heating apparatus with an infrared temperature sensor (256) for temperature of a vessel and its contents thereof (para 0055).
In view of McGarvey, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Binet, as modified by Null and Mitsui, with an infrared temperature sensor that is capable of detecting a temperature of the substance (e.g., liquid or milk) in the bottle so that more safe temperature or desired temperature of the substance can be accurately measured as desired by the user.
With respect to claims 9 and 20, McGarvey further discloses for a controller that is programmed to achieve a desired temperature, which is detected by the infrared temperature sensor, wherein the controller would calculate or control a duration of operation of the heating apparatus at a preselected time, i.e., an optimal time, to achieve the desired temperature (also, see para 0055-0057); and, thus, it would have been obvious to further adapt Binet, as modified by Null and Mitsui, with a programming component/controller to control or calculate an preselected or optimal time to achieve the desired temperature of the substance to prevent overheating.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Mitsui, Applicant argues that Mitsui does not disclose for an angel of greater than 22 degrees. This argument is not deemed persuasive since Matsui discloses that the angle of inclination can be more than 22 degrees (column 4, lines 36-39) which causes the reflection of the ultrasonic wave on the liquid can be increased wherein such disclosure would teach for increased liquid/milk mixture that would further predictably increase more heat distribution within the liquid/milk as stated in the ground of rejection.
Applicant further argues that Mitsui discloses for the inclination of the transducer’s vibration surface with respect to the surface liquid and not relative to a plane perpendicular to the central axis of the bottle as claimed. This argument is not deemed persuasive since Mitsui shows the transducer that is directed at an angle relative to a plane perpendicular to a liquid containing chamber (2) of the container wherein the inclination angle is not only directed to the perpendicular to the container but also relative to the horizonal plane of the liquid and/or to the bottle as illustrated in the claimed invention (see Figure 5 of the Applicant’s invention wherein the inclination angle θ is measured with respect to the horizontal plane of the bottle (or liquid contained in the bottle).
With respect to claims 10 and 21, Applicant argues that Null is contradicting to the claim invention of heating by the ultrasonic transducer without use of liquid bath. It is noted that Null is applied to teach for increasing speed and heating of the liquid contained in the liquid container with the transducer (see Abstract) wherein any food that is contained in the container does no teach away or destroy the teachings of Null for modifying Binet especially when Binet shows no heating of liquid medium for heating the bottle. As transducers are known to increase heating liquid contained in the container, the milk/liquid contained a milk bottle of Binet would also be heated in the more effective manner as taught by Null and Mitsui as stated in the ground of rejection.
Thus, the Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761