DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to claim amendment filed on December 23, 2025 and wherein claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-22 and 24-30 being currently amended.
In virtue of this communication, claims 1-30 are currently pending in this Office Action.
The Office appreciates the explanation of the amendment and analyses of the prior arts, and however, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) and MPEP 2145.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant acknowledges that the claim limitations that recite "means" or "step" are to be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, sixth paragraph. The Applicant notes that each "means for" feature "shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof."(Remarks, pages 11-12). Thus, Claim Interpretation as set forth in the previous office action, has been maintained.
Regarding Claim 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, claim amendment and argument (Remarks, page 12), have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as set forth in the previous office action, has been withdrawn.
Regarding Claims 2-7 and 13-25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), claims amendment and argument (Remarks, page 12), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as set forth in the previous office action, has been withdrawn.
For Claim 1, Applicant argue that Wang does not disclose or suggest that an "RIS-MT array is associated with but different than a RIS array for reflection or refraction of communication," (Remarks, pages 12-13) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Wang disclose three RIS structure, phase vector for base station, phase vector for UE and phase vector for APD, wherein phase vector for APD is reading as RIS-MT, phase vector for base station or phase vector for UE is serving as RIS array. See Fig. 16, elements 1610, 1620, 1640 and 1645, wherein 1640 and/or 1645 is serving as RIS array, and elements 1610, 1620 is serving as RIS-MIT. In Fig. 18, elements 1810,1815, 1840 and 1845, wherein 1840 and/or 1845 is serving as RIS array, and elements 1810 and 1815 is serving as RIS-MIT.
For Claim 1, Applicant argue that Wang does not "transmit communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to a wireless device using a second beam based, at least in part, on the first beam identified for the RIS-MT array" as in claim 1 (emphasis added) because the APD in Wang is cited for both the "RIS-MT array" and the "RIS array" whereas in claim 1 "the RIS-MT array is ... different than a RIS array for reflection or refraction." (Remarks, pages 12-13) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Wang discloses selected UE beam is selected based on sweeping beam of APD, see Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), element 1725 teaches receiving respective reflection from APD, and elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam). Wang disclose translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array, see Fig.17, element 1735 and paragraph [0151], “the base station may analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the beam reflections to determine which combination of APD phase vector and UE UL beam provided the reflection beam received by the base station with a highest RSRP”, and Wang further teaches UE UL beam is associated with phase vector of UE (serving as RIS array), see paragraph [0148], “the base station can schedule the UL beam sweeping pattern of the UE and the beam sweeping patten of the APD based on the same point in time or time slot such that respective phase vectors (e.g., UE phase steering vectors and APD reflective phase vectors) are aligned in time at the APD and at UE side” and paragraph [0153], “the base station configures the UE with the selected UE beam. For example, the base station configures the UE with a phase steering vector associated with the reflected beam that reaches the base station with the highest RSRP value”, wherein the association between beam sweeping and respective phase vectors is reading as translation information.
Wang further disclose second beam is selected based on the RIS-MT array, see Example 13 under paragraph [0162], “associating beam identifiers of the at least one uplink sounding signal or the reflection identifiers of the APD with corresponding ones of the multiple phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern to provide the respective identifiers of the reflections that correspond to the multiple phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern”.
For Claim 10, Applicant argue that Wang fails to disclose or suggest that "the second beam for the communication to the RIS array is based on the first beam identified for the RIS-MT array and translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array, and wherein the first beam is associated with a first frequency and the second beam is associated with a second frequency due to the translation information,", neither the "beam sweeping pattern of the APD" nor the "APD phase vectors" in Wang are "translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array," as in dependent claim 10 (Remarks, page 14) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Wang discloses selected UE beam is selected based on sweeping beam of APD, see Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), element 1725 teaches receiving respective reflection from APD, and elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam). Wang further disclose translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array, see Fig.17, element 1735 and paragraph [0151], “the base station may analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the beam reflections to determine which combination of APD phase vector and UE UL beam provided the reflection beam received by the base station with a highest RSRP”, and Wang further teaches UE UL beam is associated with phase vector of UE (serving as RIS array), see paragraph [0148], “the base station can schedule the UL beam sweeping pattern of the UE and the beam sweeping patten of the APD based on the same point in time or time slot such that respective phase vectors (e.g., UE phase steering vectors and APD reflective phase vectors) are aligned in time at the APD and at UE side” and paragraph [0153], “the base station configures the UE with the selected UE beam. For example, the base station configures the UE with a phase steering vector associated with the reflected beam that reaches the base station with the highest RSRP value”. wherein the association between beam sweeping and respective phase vectors is reading as translation information.
Wang further disclose second beam is selected based on the RIS-MT array, see Example 13 under paragraph [0162], “associating beam identifiers of the at least one uplink sounding signal or the reflection identifiers of the APD with corresponding ones of the multiple phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern to provide the respective identifiers of the reflections that correspond to the multiple phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern”.
Based on the aforementioned reasoning, therefore, the Applicant’s argument is not
persuasive. Further, the new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the applicant amendment. The Office has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' arguments but firmly believes that the cited references to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitations.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 29 in this application use the word “means for”, so they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification appears to show the structures provided in para [0005] and Fig. 16 are interpreted as the corresponding structures for the "means for" limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15, 19-25, 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2022187801 A1, hereinafter Wang).
Claim 1: Wang teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first network node (Fig. 1, elements 121, 122), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.2, 260); and at least one processor (Fig.2, 258) coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor ([0025], “The CRM 260 may include any suitable memory or storage device …store device data 262 of the base stations 120. The device data 262 includes network-scheduling data, radio resource- management data, applications, and/or an operating system of the base station 120, which are executable by processor(s) 258 to enable communication with another base station 120, core network entities, and/or the UE 110.”), is configured to:
perform beam training with a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS) mobile terminal (RIS-MT) array (Fig. 13, 14, 15, element 180, Fig.3, [0017], “the base station 121 configures an RIS of the APD 180 to direct how the RIS alters signal properties (e.g., direction, phase, amplitude, polarization) of a wireless signal … In various implementations of phase vector training for APD-enabled communication, the base station 121 determines a surface configuration for the APD 180 to reflect downlink communications or uplink communications between the base stations 120 and the UE 110 … the base station 121 communicates direction information (e.g., a UE-to-BS communication direction or a BS-to-UE communication direction) with the surface configuration such that the APD 180 configures the RIS to reflect a wireless signal in the indicated direction (e.g., by determining or using reciprocal reflection angles)”, wherein phase vector of APD is reading to RIS-MT), wherein the RIS-MT array is associated with but different than a RIS array for reflection or refraction of communication (Fig. 16, elements 1610, 1620, 1640 and 1645, wherein 1640 and/or 1645 is serving as RIS array, and elements 1610, 1620 is serving as RIS-MIT. In Fig. 18, elements 1810,1815, 1840 and 1845, wherein 1840 and/or 1845 is serving as RIS array, and elements 1810 and 1815 is serving as RIS-MIT.);
identify, based on the beam training, a first beam for communication with the RIS-MT array (Fig. 17, elements 1710, 1715, 1720, [0148], “At block 1715, the base station configures the APD with a beam sweeping pattern of multiple phase vectors. In some cases, the base station selects the beam sweeping pattern based on the estimated position or orientation of the UE or historical records of APD use for UEs proximate the location of the UE”, wherein “APD with a beam sweeping pattern of multiple phase vectors” is serving as the first beam); and
transmit communication to the RIS array for reflection or refraction to a wireless device using a second beam based, at least in part, on the first beam identified for the RIS-MT array (Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), element 1725 teaches receiving respective reflection from APD, and elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam). Wang disclose translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array, see Fig.17, element 1735 and paragraph [0151], “the base station may analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the beam
reflections to determine which combination of APD phase vector and UE UL beam
provided the reflection beam received by the base station with a highest RSRP”, and Wang further teaches UE UL beam is associated with phase vector of UE (serving as RIS array), see paragraph [0148], “the base station can schedule the UL beam sweeping pattern of the UE and the beam sweeping patten of the APD based on the same point in time or time slot such that respective phase vectors (e.g., UE phase steering vectors and APD reflective phase vectors) are aligned in time at the APD and at UE side” and [0153], “the base station configures the UE with the selected UE beam. For example, the base station configures the UE with a phase steering vector associated with the reflected
beam that reaches the base station with the highest RSRP value”. [0152], “the base station configures the APD with a phase vector associated with the reflected beam
that reaches the base station with the highest RSRP value”, [0102], “Based on identifiers and signal quality metrics (e.g., RSRP) of respective reflections of at least one of the uplink signals received by the base station, the base station can select a phase vector for the APD or a phase steering vector for the UE to use for subsequent communication”, [0162], example 13 , “associating beam identifiers of the at least one uplink sounding signal or the reflection identifiers of the APD with corresponding ones of the multiple phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern to provide the respective identifiers of the reflections that correspond to the multiple phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern”, wherein second beam is selected based on RIS-MIT ).
Claim 28 is a method of claim 1, and is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1.
Claim 29 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Wang further disclose the equivalent of “means for” ([0162], “A base station apparatus comprising: at least one wireless transceiver; a processor; and computer-readable storage media comprising instructions, responsive to execution by the processor, for directing the base station apparatus to perform any one of the methods recited in examples 1 to 39”).
Claim 30 is analyzed and rejected according to claim 1 and Wang further teaches a computer-readable medium storing computer executable code at a first network node, the computer executable code ([0135], “Some operations of the example methods may be described in the general context of executable instructions stored on computer-readable storage memory that is local and/or remote to a computer processing system, and implementations can include software applications, programs, functions”).
Claim 2: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: obtain, from a network entity, at least one RIS codebook comprising at least one RIS configuration for the RIS array ([0025], “The device data 262 includes network-scheduling data, radio resource- management data … The device data 262 also includes
codebooks … The codebooks 264 may include any suitable type or combination of codebooks, including surface-configuration codebooks that store surface-configuration information for a RIS of an APD and beam-sweeping codebooks that store patterns, sequences, or timing information for implementing multiple surface-configurations useful to direct an APD to perform a variety of reflective beamforming … the surface-configuration codebooks and beam-sweeping codebooks include phase- vector information, angular information (e.g., calibrated to respective phase vectors), and/or beam-configuration information … The base station 120 may generate or revise the APD information 266 to add new APDs 180 that are detected, update information of known APDs 180, or delete existing ADPs 180 that are deprecated”); and
transmit, for the RIS-MT array, at least one identifier for the at least one RIS codebook, at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration, and a time-hopping schedule for the at least one RIS configuration for the RIS array comprised in the at least one RIS codebook, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the at least one identifier for the at least one RIS codebook, the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration, and the time-hopping schedule ([0040], “the base station 120 manages a configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a surface-configuration codebook 408 … the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping
codebook … the base station 120 transmits multiple surface-configuration codebooks to the APD 180, such as a first surface-configuration codebook for downlink communications, a second surface-configuration codebook for uplink communications, a phase vector codebook, a beam sweeping codebook”, wherein downlink surface codebook, uplink surface codebook and “a phase vector codebook” is reading as RIS codebook, and “a time-varying configuration of the RIS” is reading as index of the at least one RIS configuration, and “a time-varying configuration of the RIS” is reading as the time-hopping schedule. Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam)).
Claim 3: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the network entity is one of the first network node, a second network node, a core network entity, a centralized unit (CU), or an operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM) entity (Fig. 1, [0014], “the base stations 120 (e.g., an Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access Network Node B, E-UTRAN Node B, evolved Node B, eNodeB, eNB, Next Generation Node B, gNode B, gNB, ng-eNB, or the like)”, [0022], “The nomenclature for this distributed base station functionality varies and includes terms such as Central Unit (CU), Distributed Unit (DU), Baseband Unit (BBU), Remote Radio Head (RRH), and/or Remote Radio Unit (RRU).”).
Claim 4: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one RIS configuration indicates a plurality of reflection directions or refraction directions or incident directions ([0017], “the base station 121 communicates direction information (e.g., a UE-to-BS communication direction or a BS-to-UE communication direction) with the surface configuration such that the APD 180 configures the RIS to reflect a wireless signal in the indicated direction (e.g., by determining or using reciprocal reflection angles”).
Claim 5: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one RIS configuration comprises at least one multiple lobe RIS configuration ([0017], “ The base station 121 may also communicate time information to the APD 180 that indicates when to apply the surface configuration to the RIS, such as a time slot, a start time, a time-duration, periodic time information (e.g., for applying the surface configuration periodically), or dynamic time information (e.g., for applying the surface configuration once)”).
Claim 6: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: determine the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration, wherein to transmit the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration based on the determination ([0032], “ the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebooks 316 using the indication … the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern ( e.g . , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and/or in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication”).
Claim 7: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: receive, from the network entity or the RIS-MT array ([0032], “the APD manager 320 initiates the transmission of uplink messages to the base station over the wireless links 133, such as acknowledgments
/negative acknowledgments (ACKs/NACKs) for various APD configuration or management commands”, [0028], “The base stations 120 include an inter-base station interface 272, … which the base station manager 270 configures to exchange user-plane data and control -plane information between another base station 120, to manage the communication of the base stations 120 with the UE 110”), an indication of the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration (Fig. 1, [0025], “The codebooks 264 may include any suitable type or combination of codebooks, including surface-configuration
codebooks that store surface-configuration information for a RIS of an APD and beam-sweeping codebooks that store patterns, sequences, or timing information for implementing multiple surface-configurations useful to direct an APD to perform a variety of reflective beamforming), wherein to transmit the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration based on the indication of the at least one index of the at least one RIS configuration ([0032], “ the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel), extracts the surface configuration from the codebooks 316 using the indication … the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern ( e.g . , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and/or in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication”).
Claim 9: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second beam for the communication to the RIS array is based on the first beam identified for the RIS-MT array and translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array, and wherein the first beam is associated with a first frequency and the second beam is associated with a second frequency due to the translation information ([0102], “the beam sweeping pattern of the APD is associated or bound with time and frequency resources and/or identifiers of the uplink sounding signals to enable the base station to determine which APD phase vectors are associated with the reflections that reach the base station”. Fig. 18, Example 15 and Example 16 under paragraph [0162], disclose several translation methods for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array. Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam)).
Claim 10: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit first reference symbols to the RIS array for the reflection to a second network node (Fig. 18, elements 1820, [0157], “At block 1820, the base station transmits downlink reference signals toward an RIS of the APD while the APD implements the phase sweeping pattern … the downlink reference signals may be modulated or encoded with beam identifiers to enable the UE to identify respective
reflections or downlink signals that reach the UE”);
and receive a measurement report of the first reference symbols from the second network node (Fig. 18, elements 1830, [0158], “At block 1830, the base station receives, from the UE, a report of received reflections of the downlink reference signals”),
wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the measurement report of the first reference symbols (Fig. 18, elements 1835, 1840, 1845, [0160], “The base station may configure the APD to use the selected phase vector to reflect subsequent communications between the base station and the UE through the communication path that includes the APD … the base station configures the antenna array of the base station with another phase steering vector for downlink communications to the UE through the wireless path that does not include the APD”, Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), element 1725 teaches receiving respective reflection from APD, and elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam). Wang disclose translation information for the RIS array relative to the RIS-MT array, see Fig.17, element 1735 and paragraph [0151], “the base station may analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the beam reflections to determine which combination of APD phase vector and UE UL beam provided the reflection beam received by the base station with a highest RSRP”, and Wang further teaches UE UL beam is associated with phase vector of UE (serving as RIS array), see paragraph [0148], “the base station can schedule the UL beam
sweeping pattern of the UE and the beam sweeping patten of the APD based on the same point in time or time slot such that respective phase vectors (e.g., UE phase steering vectors and APD reflective phase vectors) are aligned in time at the APD and at UE side” and [0153], “the base station configures the UE with the selected UE beam. For example, the base station configures the UE with a phase steering vector associated with the reflected beam that reaches the base station with the highest RSRP value”. [0152], “the base station configures the APD with a phase vector associated with the reflected beam that reaches the base station with the highest RSRP value”).
Claim 11: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein to transmit the first reference symbols, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the first reference symbols over multiple time-frequency resources (Fig. 18, elements 1820, 1825, [0157], “At block 1820, the base station transmits downlink reference signals toward an RIS of the APD while the APD implements the phase sweeping pattern and optionally, at block 1825, the base station transmits other downlink reference signals toward the UE …the downlink reference signals may be modulated or encoded with beam identifiers to enable the UE to identify respective reflections or downlink signals that reach the UE”, [0162], Example 35, “scheduling transmission of the at least one downlink reference signal for time resources of an air interface that extends between the UE and base station”, [0022], “ reflection-access information that indicates time information on when to use the APD surface and/or configurable surface element information that indicates portions of the APD surface available to the UE 110”, [0033], “the beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink reference signal or uplink sounding signal reflected by the APD 180”).
Claim 12: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first reference symbols are frequency division multiplexed over multiple beams, wherein the measurement report further comprises time-frequency identifiers and measured signal strengths for the multiple beams (Fig. 18, element 1830, [0158], “the UE 110 can decode or demodulate a reflection identifier and/or obtain one or more signal quality parameters (e.g., RSRP) for reflections or direct downlink reference signals received at the UE 110. The UE 110 then sends the report indicative of the reflection identifier and/or one or more signal quality parameters back to the base station 120”),
and wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam based on the time-frequency identifiers and the measured signal strengths (Fig. 18, element 1835, 1840, [0159], “The base station 120 may select a phase vector for the APD or a phase steering vector for the base station based on an analysis of identifiers, CSI information, SSB indexes, and/or other signal quality parameters of the reflections that the UE provides as feedback for the reflections that reach the UE”, [0160], “The base station may configure the APD to use the selected phase vector to reflect subsequent communications between the base station and the UE through the communication path that includes the APD. At block 1845, the base station configures the base station with the selected phase steering vector”, Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam)).
Claim 13: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: receive first reference symbols over multiple time-frequency resources, wherein the first reference symbols are reflected or refracted to the first network node by the RIS array from a second network node (Fig. 16, element 1615, 1620, 1625, [0139-0141], wherein the base station receives, from the APD, respective reflections of at least one of the uplink sounding signals transmitted by the UE.);
and measure the first reference symbols (Fig. 16, element 1635, [0142], “the base station may analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the reflections to determine which combination of APD phase vector and UE UL beam provided the reflective signal received at the base station with a highest RSRP”),
wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the measured first reference symbols (Fig. 16, element 1635, 1640, 1645, [0143-0144], based on a selected phase vector for the APD, the base station can configure the APD to use the selected phase vector and configure the UE to use the selected phase steering vector to establish or improve APD-enabled communications between the base station and the UE. Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam)).
Claim 14: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: provide the second network node with a configuration for the multiple time-frequency resources, wherein to receive the first reference symbols, the at least one processor, is configured to receive the first reference symbols based on the configuration (Fig. 16, element 1615,[0139], “the base station sends parameters of the channel sounding process to the UE to configure the UE to implement the channel sounding process at a predefined time and with uplink sounding resources (e.g., SRS resources) associated with the phase sweeping pattern of the APD”).
Claim 15: Wang teaches The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit, for the second network node, at least one of: a first indication that the multiple time-frequency resources are to be modified (Fig. 16, element 1615, [0139], “ the base station sends parameters of the channel sounding process to the UE to configure the UE to implement the channel sounding process at a predefined time and with uplink sounding resources (e.g., SRS resources) associated with the phase sweeping pattern of the APD”) , a second indication that attributes of a beam associated with the first reference symbols are to be modified (Fig. 16, element 1620, [0140], “the base station directs the APD to implement the phase sweeping pattern while the UE transmits uplink sounding signals that correspond to the uplink sounding process. As described herein, the base station may schedule the channel sounding process of the UE to coincide with the phase sweeping pattern implemented by the APD. Thus, the base station may direct the UE to transmit beams of uplink sounding signals while the APD implements phase vectors of the phase sweeping pattern to sweep reflections of the uplink sounding signals that reach the APD. The base station may also direct the UE to transmit an omnidirectional, broad beam, or separate beams of uplink signals that reach the APD and/or the base station direct”), or a third indication that a transmit power level of the beam is to be modified (alternative).
Claim 19: Wang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: obtain, from a network entity, (1) at least one RIS codebook comprising at least one RIS configuration associated with a first reflection or a first refraction between a second network node and a third network node with respect to the RIS array ([0025], “The codebooks 264 may include any suitable type or combination of codebooks, including surface-configuration codebooks that store surface-configuration information for a RIS of an APD and beam-sweeping codebooks that store patterns, sequences, or timing information for implementing multiple surface-configurations useful to direct an APD to perform a variety of reflective beamforming”) and (2) translation information for changing the first reflection or the first refraction to a second reflection or a second refraction between the second network node and the first network node with respect to the RIS array ([0025], “The base station 120 may generate or revise the APD information 266 to add new APDs 180 that are detected, update information of known APDs 180, or delete existing ADPs 180 that are deprecated”, [0026], “the PVF 268 of the base station 120 manages usage of the APDs 180 to direct or steer reflections of wireless signals (e.g., signal ray or beams) to the base station on the uplink or to the UE on the downlink”, [0028], “The base stations 120 include an inter-base station interface 272, … which the base station manager 270 configures to exchange user-plane data and control -plane information between another base station 120, to manage the communication of the base stations 120 with the UE 110”);
and transmit, for the RIS array, the at least one RIS codebook and the translation information, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the at least one RIS codebook and the translation information ([0040], “the base station 120 manages a configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a surface-configuration codebook 408 … the base station 120 may also manage a time-varying configuration of the RIS of the APD 180 through use of a beam sweeping codebook … the base station 120 transmits multiple surface-configuration codebooks to the APD 180, such as a first surface-configuration
codebook for downlink communications, a second surface-configuration codebook for uplink communications, a phase vector codebook, a beam sweeping codebook”, [0160], “The base station may configure the APD to use the selected phase vector to reflect
subsequent communications between the base station and the UE through the communication path that includes the APD … the base station configures an antenna array of the base station with the selected phase steering vector for subsequent downlink communications to the UE through the communication path that includes the APD”, Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam)).
Claim 20: Wang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: obtain, from a network entity, at least one RIS codebook comprising at least one of: a first indication of an incident signal direction from the first network node to the RIS array, a second indication of a distance between the first network node and the RIS array, at least one RIS configuration, or a set of reflect or refract angles and distance ranges for the wireless device, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the first indication (alternative), the second indication (alternative), the at least one RIS configuration ([0042], “the beam-sweeping codebook indicates an order or sequence of surface configurations, timing or periodicity information, and/or APD reflection identifiers to cycle through in order to beam sweep reflections of downlink or uplink signals in a horizontal direction or vertical direction”, [0040], “the base station 120 transmits multiple surface-configuration
codebooks to the APD 180, such as a first surface-configuration codebook for downlink communications, a second surface-configuration codebook for uplink communications, a phase vector codebook, a beam sweeping codebook,”, [0025], “the surface- configuration codebooks and beam-sweeping codebooks include phase- vector information, angular information(e.g., calibrated to respective phase vectors), and/or beam-configuration information”), or the set of reflect or refract angles and the distance ranges (alternative).
Claim 21: Wang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: obtain a range of angle values with respect to a reference coordinate of the first network node or a direction between the first network node and the RIS-MT array, wherein to perform the beam training with the RIS-MT array, the at least one processor, is configured to perform the beam training with the RIS-MT array based on the range of angle values ([0025], “the surface- configuration codebooks and beam-sweeping codebooks
include phase- vector information, angular information (e.g., calibrated to respective phase vectors), and/or beam-configuration information”, [0064], “The base station 120 also selects a beam sweeping pattern of narrower beams for the APD 180 to cover a sweep area limited to approximately the angular sweep of the successful broad
reflection beam 662”, [0042], “the beam-sweeping codebook indicates an order or sequence of surface configurations, timing or periodicity information, and/or APD reflection identifiers to cycle through in order to beam sweep reflections of downlink or uplink signals in a horizontal direction or vertical direction”, [0040], “such as a first surface-configuration codebook for downlink communications, a second surface-configuration codebook for uplink communications, a phase vector codebook, a beam sweeping codebook”).
Claim 22: Wang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: select a network node from a plurality of network nodes, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam based on first reference symbols received from the network node or second reference symbols transmitted for the network node ([0045], “the base station 120 configures the APD 180 with a beam sweeping pattern and timing information (e.g. , start and stop times for a time slot assigned to the particular UE) … the base station 120 communicates surface configuration changes on a slot-by-slot basis using signaling on the APD fast-control channel. These allow the base station to configure the APD for multiple UEs, such as in scenarios where different UEs are assigned different time slots or different numerologies, and enable concurrent determination of APD phase vectors or phase steering vectors for multiple UEs”, Fig. 16, elements 1625, 1630, 1635, 1640, 1645, [0141-0144], wherein the base station configures the UE and APD with the selected phase steering vector based on highest RSRP of the received reflections, thus enable or improve APD-enabled communications between the base station and the UE, [0160], “The base station may configure the APD to use the selected phase vector to reflect
subsequent communications between the base station and the UE through the communication path that includes the APD … the base station configures an antenna array of the base station with the selected phase steering vector for subsequent downlink communications to the UE through the communication path that includes the APD”, Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam).
Claim 23: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the network node and the RIS array belong to a same distributed unit (DU), wherein the network node and the RIS array belong to different distributed units (DUs) of a same centralized unit (CU), or wherein the network node and the RIS array belong to different centralized units (CUs) (Fig.1, [0014], “the wireless links 130 include a wireless link 133 between at least one of the base stations 120 (e.g., base station 121) and an adaptive phase-changing device 180 (APD 180) to control a surface configuration of the APD 180. In other implementations, the base stations 120 include a wireline interface for communicating control information with the APD 180”, [0022], “The nomenclature for this distributed base station functionality varies and includes terms such as Central Unit (CU), Distributed Unit (DU), Baseband Unit (BBU), Remote Radio Head (RRH), and/or Remote Radio Unit ”. [0048], “Generally, the example 500 shows a base station 120 using an APD 180 to direct or steer a reflection of a wireless signal communicated between the base station 120 and a user equipment 110. The APD 180 may be selected from a set of multiple APDs 180 deployed within communication range of the base station 120”).
Claim 24: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the network node is the first network node or a second network node, and wherein to select the network node, the at least one processor, is configured to select the network node based on a link budget associated with the RIS array ( Fig. 13, [0104-0113], disclose the base station may detect a decrease in signal quality, a decrease in throughput, or loss of a wireless link with the UE through a direct (e.g. LoS path) communication path or a communication path through a different APD , and then BS start beam sweeping procedure as described in Fig. 13, wherein the base station analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the reflections that reach the base station to determine which combination of APD phase vector and UE UL beam provide a reflective signal with a highest RSRP at the base station, [0059], “the base station 120 may select an APD 180 that is near the UE 110 (e.g., UE’s estimated position), an APD 180 located near a LoS communication path between the base station and the UE, or an APD 180 that is likely to provide an APD-enabled communication path between the base station and the UE”).
Claim 25: Wang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit first reference symbols over first multiple time-frequency resources to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to a second network node (Fig. 5, [0048], “a base station 120 using an APD 180 to direct or steer a reflection of a wireless signal communicated between the base station 120 and a user equipment 110”, [0049], “a communication path may include a direct communication path between the base station 120 and the UE 110 or an indirect communication path that includes an APD 180 … the base station 120 can transmit a reference signal (e.g., independent of an active wireless link) using a beam pattern (e.g, one broad or multiple narrow beams) that reaches the APD 180 and/or the UE 110 to implement aspects of phase vector training for APD-enabled communication.”. Fig. 11B, [0095], wherein the base station 120 may transmit separate downlink beams toward the APD 180 and the UE 110. In the context of separate beam transmission, the base station 120 transmits a narrow beam 1054 that includes signal ray 1171 toward an RIS of the APD 180, which is reflected as
reflection 1172 (e.g., reflected signal ray) toward the UE 110);
and receive second reference symbols over second multiple time-frequency resources, wherein the second references symbols are reflected or refracted to the first network node by the RIS array from the second network node (Fig. 5, [0051], “ the UE 110 can transmit a sounding signal (e.g. , independent of an active wireless link) using a beam pattern (e.g. , an omnidirectional pattern or multiple beams) that reaches the APD 180 and/or the base station 120 to implement aspects of phase vector training for APD-enabled communication”, Fig. 8, [0076-0083], wherein the base station 120 use the APD 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct (e.g., by beamforming) reflections of uplink sounding signals that may reach the base station 120 ),
wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on transmitted first reference symbols and the received second reference symbols ([0052], “To implement various aspects of phase vector training for APD-enabled communication, the base station 120 may direct the UE 110 to transmit a wireless signal with a direct signal ray propagating toward the APD 180 and optionally with direct signal rays propagating toward the base station 120”, [0133], “the base station may analyze the respective identifiers and signal quality parameters of the reflections to determine which combination of APD phase vector and base station downlink beam provide a reflective signal with a highest RSRP at the UE”, [0134], “the base station configures the APD to use the selected phase vector to reflect subsequent communications between the base station and the UE through the communication path that includes the APD”, [0160], “The base station may configure the APD to use the selected phase vector to reflect subsequent communications between the base station and the UE through the communication path that includes the APD … the base station configures an antenna array of the base station with the selected phase steering vector for subsequent downlink communications to the UE through the communication path that includes the APD”, Fig. 17, wherein element 1715 disclose configuring ADP with beam sweeping pattern (reading as the first beam), element 1720 disclose APD implement multiple phase vector (reading as RIS-MIT), elements 1735 and 1745 teaches selecting and configuring UE with selected beam (reading as the second beam).
Claim 27: Wang teaches The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna (Fig. 2, element 252, 254, 256) coupled to the at least one processor (Fig. 2, element 258), wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna ([0024], “The RF front end 254 of the base station 120 can couple or connect the wireless transceivers 256 (e.g., radio frequency transceivers) to the antennas 252 to facilitate various types of wireless communication. …The antennas 252 and the RF front end 254 can be tuned to, and/or be tunable to, one or more frequency bands … the antennas 252, the RF front end 254, and/or the wireless transceivers 256 may be configured to support beamforming, such as Massive-MIMO, for the transmission and reception of communications with the UE 110, other UEs, and/or another base station 120”, Fig. 3, [0030], “the antennas 302, the RF front end 304, and the transceiver(s) 306 may be configured to support beamforming for the transmission and reception of communications with the base station 120 and/or UE 110”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022187801 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of Haija et al. (US 20240405807 A1, hereinafter Haija).
Claim 8: Wang does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain, from a network entity, (1) an indication of a third beam associated with communication between a second network node and the RIS-MT array and (2) translation information for changing the third beam for communication between the first network node and RIS-MT array or between the first network node and RIS array, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array, the at least one processor, is configured to translate the third beam to the second beam based on the translation information.
However, Haija, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: obtain, from a network entity, (1) an indication of a third beam associated with communication between a second network node and the RIS-MT array (Fig. 12, element 1240, [0193], “An initial step 1240 may involve the BS 1210, or the network that the BS 1210 is part of ... the location of the BS 1210 and the location of the RIS 1230, beamforming a signal to send to the RIS 1230 that includes configuration information for the RIS 1230 to reflect reference signals transmitted by the UE 1220 in different directions, which can be received by the BS 1210 to determine one or more of AoD from the UE 1220, AoA at the RIS 1230, or AoA at the BS 1210” ) and (2) translation information for changing the third beam for communication between the first network node and RIS-MT array or between the first network node and RIS array, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array, the at least one processor, is configured to translate the third beam to the second beam based on the translation information (Fig. 12, Element 1270, [0201], “The RIS configuration information may be used to configure an appropriate portion of the RIS 1230 to redirect a signal between the BS 1210 and UE 1220 in which the BS beam spot and the UE beam spot are highly overlapped … The RIS configuration information may include information to configure the RIS 1230 that has been determined based on determinations made by the BS 1210 at step 1250, such as the overlapped beam spot size and location, updated AoA and AoD at the RIS 1220 and the active region for the RIS 1230”, wherein updating RIS configuration to redirect the signal between BS and UE with highly overlapped beam spot is reading as translation.).
Wang and Haija are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Wang and the features of updating RIS beam configuration from the network entity, as taught by Haija, for the benefit of allowing network entity control the RIS configuration between BS and UE.
Claim 26: Wang does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RIS array is associated with a set of network nodes, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: combine a set of beams associated with the set of network nodes and the RIS array, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on combined set of beams.
However, Haija, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the RIS array is associated with a set of network nodes, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: combine a set of beams associated with the set of network nodes and the RIS array, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on combined set of beams (Fig. 11A, 11B, 11C, [0205], “the BS 1110 sends common information to multiple UEs UE1 1120, UE2 1130 and UE3 1140. The BS 1110 may transmit via a wide beam 1112 that has a large beam spot 1115 on the RIS 1150. The RIS 1150 is configured such that different RIS portions within the BS beam spot 1115 redirect the incident signal towards different UEs, UE1 1120, UE2 1130 and UE3 1140”).
Wang and Haija are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Wang and the features of the RIS array is associated with a set of network nodes, as taught by Haija, for the benefit of allowing network to support RIS configuration for multiple UEs .
Claims 16-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (WO 2022187801 A1, hereinafter Wang) in view of GUNTURU et al. (US 20230022225 A1, hereinafter GUNTURU).
Claim 16: Wang does not explicitly teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit, for the RIS array, first reference symbols over multiple time-frequency resources; and measure a first reflection of the first reference symbols, wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the measured first reflection of the first reference symbols.
However, GUNTURU, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit, for the RIS array, first reference symbols over multiple time-frequency resources (Fig. 11, [0126], “The base station can transmit multiple reference signals denoted by “R” indicating the repetition of each reference signals”); and measure a first reflection of the first reference symbols (Fig. 11, [0127], “The IRS panel can reflect the signals in different directions one after the other in time division manner”, [0128], “The base station 102 can capture reflected signals from the IRS to identify the beams with the maximum signal strength represented by “M”), wherein to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam, the at least one processor, is configured to transmit the communication to the RIS array for the reflection or the refraction to the wireless device using the second beam further based on the measured first reflection of the first reference symbols (Fig. 11, [0128], “the periodicity can be transmitted by the base station 102 to the IRS using the parameters M, N and R. Further, the base station can associate the IRS id with the identified reference signals resource set.”, [0125], “the base station, on receiving the discovery signal, can indicate the IRS to enable a set of IRS elements for a pre-defined time interval with the specified time duration”).
Wang and GUNTURU are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Wang and the features of detecting the reflection between BS and IRS, as taught by GUNTURU, for the benefit of finding the most reliable and robust communication path between BS and IRS.
Claim 17: The combination of Wang and GUNTURU teaches the apparatus of claim 16, GUNTURU additionally teaches wherein to measure the reflection of the first reference symbols, the at least one processor, is configured to measure the reflection of the first reference symbols via a full-duplex operation (Fig. 11, [0125-0128], disclose BS capture and measure reflected signals, and the reflected signals are the reflection signals of BS transmitted reference signals, wherein BS measuring its own reflection signals while transmitting signals at the same time, thus BS is working at a full-duplex operation).
The motivation for combining Wang and GUNTURU regarding to the claim 16 is also applied to claim 17.
Claim 18: The combination of Wang and GUNTURU teaches the apparatus of claim 16, GUNTURU additionally teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: transmit an indication of a periodicity and an offset that the RIS array is to apply during transmission of the first reference symbols over the multiple time-frequency resources, wherein the reflection of the first reference symbols is based on the indication of the periodicity and the offset, and wherein to measure the first reflection of the first reference symbols, the at least one processor, is configured to measure the first reflection of the first reference symbols via a subband full-duplex operation (Fig. 11, [0128], “the periodicity can be transmitted by the base station 102 to the IRS using the parameters M, N and R. Further, the base station can associate the IRS id with the identified reference signals resource set.”, [0125], “the base station, on receiving the discovery signal, can indicate the IRS to enable a set of IRS elements for a pre-defined time interval with the specified time duration”. Fig. 10, [0124], “the reflecting elements of the surface numbered as 1, 2, 3 and 4 form a group in which the beams are reflected for a first period of time (t1) specified by the base station in a particular direction. In the same manner other group of reflecting elements 5, 6, 7
and 8 can reflect beams for a second period of time (t2) for reflecting in a particular direction”).
The motivation for combining Wang and GUNTURU regarding to the claim 16 is also applied to claim 18.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472