Election/Restrictions
Due to the amendment to the claims, the restriction requirement among group I and group II has been withdrawn. Claims 74-93 are under examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119 (e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/136060 and 63/136076 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. ‘060 does not provide support for Bartonella bacteria, threshold limits, specific treatment and removal of prosthetic valve. ‘076 does not provide support for determining threshold levels, threshold limits, specific antibiotic therapy recited in claim 87, or removal of prosthetic value. As such the priority date for claims 74-93 for the instant application is 01/10/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 74-86, 89-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea and law of nature without significantly more.
The claims recite an abstract idea. Claim 74 and 89 recites identifying prosthetic valve endocarditis when the amount of cell free DNA sequence reads derived from Bartonella bacteria associated with the prosthetic value endocarditis exceeds a threshold level. Claim 91 recites a step of comparing the amount of subsequent cell-free DNA sequence reads to the amount detected to monitor treatment response. The practitioner necessarily needs to perform a comparison in order to determine that the amount of cell free DNA sequence reads derived from Bartonella exceeds a threshold (claim 74 and 89) and is 10-100% lower than a threshold level (claim 92-93). The identifying and comparing steps encompass a mental process step which could be practiced in the mind. For example, the claims encompass embodiments in which a practitioner evaluates a subjects cell free DNA sequence reads to identifying endocarditis in the subject, the practitioner further compares the cell free DNA sequence reads to a threshold level to identify endocarditis. These steps encompass a mental process step that is an abstract idea.
The claims recite a law of nature. Claim 74 and 89 recites identifying prosthetic valve endocarditis when the amount of cell free DNA sequence reads derived from Bartonella bacteria associated with the prosthetic value endocarditis exceeds a threshold level. The association of Bartonella bacteria with prosthetic value endocarditis and presence of cell free DNA sequence reads derived from Bartonella bacteria for identification of endocarditis or osteomyelitis are a natural phenomenon. These recited relationships are a natural phenomenon that exists apart from any human action.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims recited in the claims in addition to the judicial exception are data gathers steps that do not apply or integrate the judicial exception in any way. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps in addition the judicial exception are data gather steps recited at a high level of generality employing techniques that were well-established, routine and conventional at the time of the invention. Here the claims includes steps of performing massively parallel sequencing on cell-free DNA from plasma samples and detecting an amount of cell free DNA sequence reads derived from Bartonella bacteria associated with prosthetic valve endocarditis. Prior to the invention, Solansky (2020, cited on IDS) and Cheng (2019, cited on IDS) teach obtaining plasma samples and performing massively parallel sequencing on cell-free DNA from plasma samples.
Claim 75-76 and 79 further limit the Bartonella bacteria, thus is a field of use limitation which does not amount to significantly more.
Claims 77-78 further limit the threshold and thus only limits the judicial exceptions.
Claims 80-86 further limit the subject and is a field of use limitation which does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 86 and 89 further recite administering a treatment regimen to the subject, however this treatment is not a particular treatment for a disease or medical condition. The recitation of a treatment regimen encompasses any and all treatments. A claim limitation can integrate a judicial exception by applying or using the judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. When evaluating this consideration, one must the following:
(i) the particularity or generality of the treatment or prophylaxis limitation;
(ii) whether the limitations have more than a nominal or insignificant relationship to the exception; and
(iii) whether the limitations are merely extra solution activity or field of use.
The steps of “administering a treatment regiment” is not particular i.e., specifically identified so that it does not encompass all applications of the judicial exception. In other words, the claims broadly encompass any and all therapy regimens.
With regard to claim 90, this step further limits the endocarditis and is therefore a field of use limitation.
With regard to claim 91-93 these steps further limit the thresholds and comparison and therefore limits the judicial exceptions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 74-80, 82-84, 86, 88-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Solansky (Open Forumn Infect Dis, 2020, 7(suppl 1):S407, cited on IDS)
Solansky teaches plasma next-generation sequencing for circulating microbial cell free DNA has utility in diagnosing and monitoring response to treatment in endocarditis. Solansky teaches blood samples were obtained prior to and after aortic value replacement in a patient with a negative endocarditis. Microbial cfDNA was extracted from plasm and NGS was performed. Solansky teaches organisms present above a predefined threshold that were reported and quantified in DNA molecules per microliter (MPM). Solansky teaches a subject with well controlled HIV infection and bioprosthetic aortic value (prosthetic valve, immunocompromised, received immunosuppressant, complete hearth value) (claims 80, 82-83) (see methods). Solansky teaches a negative blood culture (claim 84) (see methods). Solansky teaches identifying Bartonella quintana by NGS and Bartonella henselae serologies were positive (claim 75 and claim 79). Solansky teaches after 4 weeks of parenteral antibiotics, Bartonella quintana mcfDNA was decreased by 16 fold to 8813 MPM (claim 77-78, claim 86, 89-90). Solansky teaches remove of infected valve (see results) (claim 86 and 88). Solansky teaches repeating mcfDNA signal to 103 MPM following removal of valve (claim 91-93).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 74-93 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downey (JPIDS, 2021:10, 213-216, published online Feb 24, 2020) in view of Kondo (2019, cited on IDS).
Downey teaches identifying of B. vinsonii using next generation sequencing in patient with culture negative endocarditis. Downey teaches a subject with glomerulonephritis (see diagnosis) (claim 81) and suspected endocarditis. Downey teaches the subject was positive for B. henselae and B. quintana (see laboratory testing) (claim 79). Downey teaches performing NGS testing of blood to quantitate the Bartonella DNA signal to monitor response to antibiotic treatment (See table 1). Downey teaches MPM levels and reduction is 10% lower than threshold following treatment (claims 77-78, 91-93). Downey teaches administering doxycycline to the subject (claim 87). Downey does not teach a subject with a prosthetic valve endocarditis, B. henselae, immunocompromised, or received an immunosuppressant.
Kondo teaches obtaining plasma from a patient that had fever and pulmonary valve replacement and bioprosthetic pulmonary valve replacement (fever, claim 85). Konda teaches blood cultures were negative (claim 84). Konda teaches testing blood for B. henselae (suspected cat scratch fever) (claim 79) (see case presentation). Konda teaches performing NGS of microbial cell free DNA to identify pathogen (see case presentation). Konda teaches obtaining plasma mcfDNA and performing NGS to identify alteration in prosthetic valve and endocarditis. Konda teaches removing human sequence reads and aligning remaining reads to a database including bacteria. Konda teaches identifying C. burnetti mcfDNA. Konda teaches identifying C. burnettie endocarditis and teaches MPM greater than 10,000 (see results, pg. 3) (claim 77-78). Konda teaches administering doxycycline (administering a treatment regimen including doxycycline) followed by successful PVR and graft exchange (replacement of prosthetic valve) (claims 85-90).
Because the art teaches analysis of prosthetic valve endocarditis using NGS, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to modify the teaching of Downey to include subjects with prosthetic values as taught by Konda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated with an expectation of success that the methods of Downey could include subjects with prosthetic values for identification of prosthetic valve endocarditis derived from Bartonella because Konda teaches subjects with prosthetic valves with endocarditis that are positive for bacterial infection by analysis of mcf-NGS. It would have been obvious to include included subjects with fever, analysis reads of MPM thresholds greater than 10,000 and partial or complete heart valve as taught by Konda. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to include analysis of Bartonella bacteria including henselae because Konda teaches prosthetic value endocarditis potential etiologies include Bartonella henselae. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated with a reasonable expectation of success to include analysis of prosthetic valve endocarditis by Bartonella bacteria in subjects who are immunocompromised, or received an immunosuppressant to allow for analysis of subjects with varying etiologies because mcfNGS testing allows for a specific and rapid detection of infection that is non-invasive and can complement conventional diagnostic methods when Bartonella species is considered in the differential diagnosis of culture negative endocarditis as taught by Downey.
immunosuppressant to allow for analysis of subjects with varying etiologies because mcfNGS testing allows for a specific and rapid detection of infection that is non-invasive and can complement conventional diagnostic methods when Bartonella species is considered in the differential diagnosis of culture negative endocarditis as taught by Downey.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/SARAE L BAUSCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699