DETAILED ACTION
Art Unit- Location
The Art Unit location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2642.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/27/2025. Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 21-23 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-14 and 21-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/17/2025 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, has been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over Liu US Patent Application No.:( US 2024/0385276 A1) hereinafter referred as Liu, in view of CHA et al US Patent No.:( US 2025/0067883 A1) hereinafter referred as CHA.
For claim 1, Liu discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver (601 and 603 fig.6); and
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (602 fig.6), the processor configured to:
identify information on a plurality of downlink reference signal carrier phases (DL-RSCPs) (paragraph [0404], lines 3-9), (paragraph [0436], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0440], lines 1-5) or a plurality of downlink reference signal carrier phase differences (DL-RSCPDs) measured by a positioning reference unit (PRU) based on a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRS), and control the transceiver to transmit a measurement report (paragraph [0441]-[0442], lines 1-6) including (ii) the plurality of DL-RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs (paragraph [0446], lines 1-6). However, Liu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices as recited in claim 1.
CHA from the same or analogous art teaches the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices (paragraph [0124], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0141], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices as taught by CHA into the communication device of Liu.
The transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices can be modify/implemented by combining the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of CHA into the communication device of Liu. As disclosed in CHA, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transceiver to transmit a report to the network that allows to manage the communication more efficiently.
For claim 2, Liu discloses the UE, wherein: the PRU is included in the UE, or the PRU is included in another UE with known location (paragraph [0009], lines 1-17) and (paragraph [0264], lines 1-4).
For claim 3, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, from the PRU, the plurality of DL-RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs in case that the PRU is included in the another UE with known location (paragraph [0404], lines 8-15).
For claim 4, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the measurement report including the plurality of DL-RSCPs is reported associated with a measurement of time difference between reception and transmission of the UE (UE Rx-Tx time difference) (paragraphs [0196] and [0446], lines 1-14).
For claim 5, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the measurement report including the plurality of DL-RSCPDs is reported associated with measurement of a DL reference signal time difference (DL RSTD) (paragraph [0441]-[0442], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0446], lines 1-6).
For claim 7, Liu discloses a positioning reference unit (PRU) comprising:
a transceiver; (601 and 603 fig.6 and
a processor operably connected to the transceiver (602 fig.6), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRSs),measure a plurality of downlink reference signal carrier phases (DL-RSCPs) (paragraph [0404], lines 3-9), (paragraph [0436], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0440], lines 1-5) or a plurality of downlink reference signal carrier phase differences (DL-RSCPDs) based on the plurality of PRSs, and control the transceiver to transmit a measurement report (paragraph [0441]-[0442], lines 1-6) including (ii) the plurality of DL-RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs (paragraph [0446], lines 1-6). However, Liu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices as recited in claim 7.
CHA from the same or analogous art teaches the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices (paragraph [0124], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0141], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices as taught by CHA into the communication device of Liu.
The transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices can be modify/implemented by combining the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of CHA into the communication device of Liu. As disclosed in CHA, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transceiver to transmit a report to the network that allows to manage the communication more efficiently.
For claim 8, Liu discloses the PRU, wherein the processor is configured to:
control the transceiver to transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to a base station so that the base station reports uplink (UL) positioning measurement based on the SRS (paragraph [0271], lines 4-10) and (paragraph [0404], lines 1-7).
For claim 9, Liu discloses the PRU, wherein the PRU is included in a user equipment (UE) with known location (paragraph [0009], lines 1-17) and (paragraph [0264], lines 1-4).
For claim 10, Liu discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
identifying information on a plurality of downlink reference signal carrier phases (DL- RSCPs) (paragraph [0404], lines 3-9), (paragraph [0436], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0440], lines 1-5) or a plurality of downlink reference signal carrier phase differences (DL-RSCPDs) measured by a positioning reference unit (PRU) based on a plurality of positioning reference signals (PRSs); and
transmitting a measurement report (paragraph [0441]-[0442], lines 1-6)including (ii) the plurality of DL-RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs (paragraph [0446], lines 1-6). However, Liu disclose all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices as recited in claim 10.
CHA from the same or analogous art teaches the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices (paragraph [0124], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0141], lines 1-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices as taught by CHA into the communication device of Liu.
The transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices can be modify/implemented by combining the transceiver to transmit a measurement report including (i) symbol indices the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of CHA into the communication device of Liu. As disclosed in CHA, the motivation for the combination would be to use the transceiver to transmit a report to the network that allows to manage the communication more efficiently.
For claim 11, Liu discloses the method, wherein the PRU is included in the UE, or wherein the PRU is included in another UE with known location (paragraph [0009], lines 1-17) and (paragraph [0264], lines 1-4).
For claim 12, Liu discloses the method, wherein further comprising:
receiving, from the PRU, the plurality of DL-RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs in case that the PRU is included in the another UE with known location(paragraph [0404], lines 8-15).
For claim 13, Liu discloses the method, wherein the measurement report including the plurality of DL-RSCPs is reported associated with a measurement of time difference between reception and transmission of the UE (UE Rx-Tx time difference (paragraphs [0196] and [0446], lines 1-14).
For claim 14, Liu discloses the method, wherein the measurement report including the plurality of DL- RSCPDs is reported associated with a measurement of a DL reference signal time difference (DL RSTD) (paragraph [0441]-[0442], lines 1-6) and (paragraph [0446], lines 1-6).
For claim 21, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the symbol indices are comprised by time stamps included in the measurement report, the time stamps associated with the plurality of DL- RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs (paragraph [0470], lines 5-14) and (paragraph [0535], lines 7-16).
For claim 22, Liu discloses the PRU, wherein the symbol indices are comprised by time stamps included in the measurement report, the time stamps associated with the plurality of DL- RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs (paragraph [0470], lines 5-14) and (paragraph [0535], lines 7-16).
For claim 23, Liu discloses the method, wherein the symbol indices are comprised by time stamps included in the measurement report, the time stamps associated with the plurality of DL-RSCPs or the plurality of DL-RSCPDs (paragraph [0470], lines 5-14) and (paragraph [0535], lines 7-16).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642