DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on November 12, 2025. No claims are amended. Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks made in an amendment filed November 12, 2025, have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Applicant argues on pages 9-14 that prior art, US 20130250849 Al (Li et al.) (hereinafter Li), US 20230171592A1 (HAN et al.) (hereinafter Han) or US 20230113519 Al (Fernandez Alonso et al.)(hereinafter Alonso) alone or in combination fail to teach or disclose “context information” comprising: (1) a first identifier associated with an accelerator of the distributed unit, (2) a second identifier associated with the application, (3) a third identifier associated with a profile instance associated with the accelerator, and (4) a fourth identifier associated with a radio unit associated with the distributed unit or any combination thereof. Examiner respectfully disagrees as also shown in the detailed action.
First of all, the claim language “or any combination thereof” is broad in terms of context information. Even though the specification defines context information in para [0088] and [0089] reads context information as “where the context information indicates context/parameters associated with a data model hosted at the accelerator” or where the “context information indicates context/parameters associated with communications between the accelerator and the RU (e.g., applicable carriers, RU identifier(s), accelerator identifier(s), etc.)”. The claim language “context information comprising a first identifier associated with an accelerator of the distributed unit, a second identifier associated with the application, a third identifier associated with a profile instance associated with the accelerator, a fourth identifier associated with a radio unit associated with the distributed unit, or any combination thereof” is broad.
Li discloses such identifiers in the context information for such RU-DU architecture ([0033], “Communications device 300 also includes a memory 308 used to store configuration information, routing information, UE specific information, scratch memory, buffer space for transmissions, and so forth”. [0006], "The stack is configured to reduce the amount of traffic going through radio access network (RAN) and to reduce the latency for the UES to receive requested content”). Further, the term “application” is broadly interpreted. For example, routing information or UE specific information in Li can be interpreted as identifiers for application or profile instance.
Applicant further argues that Li does not disclose exchanging messages between an application and an accelerator based on the claimed context information. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Exchanging information can be interpreted broadly. As noted from the specification para [0131], “Exchange of context information between an application and an accelerator of a DU of the O-RAN network entities 105 to enable efficient communication of data models between the application and the accelerator”. Independent claim does not have any mention of data models rather uses the term “exchange messages” which can be interpreted broadly. Li discloses ([0006], The packets are transmitted to a cooperating accelerator module disposed on another side of the radio access network... and to reduce the latency for the UES to receive requested content”).
Applicant argues that the Examiner's combination of Li and Han fails to teach or suggest “context information comprising a first identifier associated with an accelerator of the distributed unit, a second identifier associated with the application, a third identifier associated with a profile instance associated with the accelerator, a fourth identifier associated with a radio unit associated with the distributed unit, or any combination thereof”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Han discloses in Abstract “This invention related to an apparatus comprising memory to store updated radio access network (RAN) user equipment (UE) identification (ID) information, and processing circuitry, coupled with the memory, to: receive, from a near-real time RAN intelligent controller (near-RT RIC), a subscription or request for the updated RAN UE ID information; retrieve the updated RAN UE ID information from the memory; and encode a message for transmission to the near-RT RIC that includes the updated RAN UE ID information”. [0193], “The one or more hardware accelerators may include, for example, computer vision (CV) and/or deep learning (DL) accelerators”. [0095], “NEF 252 may also translate information exchanged with the AF 260 and information exchanged with internal network functions” (various identifiers in the context information exchanged).
Further, Alonso discloses ([0020], “These exemplary methods can include, during establishment of a PDU session for a UE, determining one or more UE application descriptors that correspond to a network application identifier (AppId) of a service data flow (SDF) template for the PDU session. Each UE application descriptor includes a first identifier (OSId) of a UE-supported operating system (OS), and a second identifier (OSAppId) of an application for the UE-supported OS identified by the first identifier” (application identifier)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 14, 25 and 28 are anticipated by US 20130250849 A1 (Li et al.)(hereinafter Li).
In re claims 1, 14, 25 and 28, Li discloses a method ([0007], “a method for receiving data is provided. In the method, packets transmitted from one side of a radio access network are received. The packets carry content reduced using a stack in accelerator module. A corresponding stack in a cooperating acceleration module on another side of the radio access network is implemented”) and an apparatus and a method for wireless communication at an application executable by a distributed unit of a radio access network (RAN) ([0005], “a system and method for content and application acceleration in a cellular wireless communications network”. [0006], “A stack in accelerator module on one side of a radio access network is implemented”), comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 3:306, [0032], “Communications device 300 also includes a control unit 306...Control unit 306 may be implemented using a general purpose or special purpose processor or controller, combinatorial logic, state machines, or a combination thereof”); at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor (Fig. 3: 308); and instructions stored in the at least one memory and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
identify context information comprising a first identifier associated with an accelerator of the distributed unit, a second identifier associated with the application, a third identifier associated with a profile instance associated with the accelerator, a fourth identifier associated with a radio unit associated with the distributed unit, or any combination thereof ([0033], “Communications device 300 also includes a memory 308 used to store configuration information, routing information, UE specific information, scratch memory, buffer space for transmissions, and so forth”); and
exchange messages with the accelerator based at least in part on the identified context information ([0006], "The stack is configured to reduce the amount of traffic going through radio access network (RAN) and to reduce the latency for the UES to receive requested content. The packets are transmitted to a cooperating accelerator module disposed on another side of the radio access network").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11, 15-22, 26, 27, 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130250849 A1 (Li et al.)(hereinafter Li) in view of US 20230171592 A1 (HAN et al.)(hereinafter HAN).
In re claims 2, 15, 26 and 29, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 14, the method of claim 25 and the method of claim 28, but does not explicitly disclose wherein exchanging the messages further comprises: obtaining the context information from the application; and providing, to the application based at least in part on obtaining the context information, information associated with a data model hosted at the accelerator.
HAN discloses wherein exchanging the messages further comprises: obtaining the context information from the application ([0018], “It would not be desirable for Near-RT RIC to maintain, for every single RAN node, UE contexts of all the UEs and their RAN UE IDs connected to it”. [0104], “The UE 302 may include a host platform 308 coupled with a modem platform 310. The host platform 308 may include application processing circuitry 312, which may be coupled with protocol processing circuitry 314 of the modem platform 310. The application processing circuitry 312 may run various applications for the UE 302 that source/sink application data”); and providing, to the application based at least in part on obtaining the context information, information associated with a data model hosted at the accelerator ([0131], “The O-RAN Non-Real Time (RT) RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC) 612 is a logical function within the SMO framework 502, 602 that enables non-real-time control and optimization of RAN elements and resources; AI/machine learning (ML) workflow(s) including model training, inferences, and updates; and policy-based guidance of applications/features in the Near-RT RIC 614”. [0133], “The non-RT RIC 612 can be an ML training host to host the training of one or more ML models. ML training can be performed offline using data collected from the RIC, O-DU 615 and O-RU 616”. [0135], “The non-RT RIC 62 is be able to access feedback data (e.g., FM and PM statistics) over the O1 interface on ML model performance and perform necessary evaluations” (providing feedback to the application based on data model at the accelerator)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with HAN to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange of data models between application and accelerator of a distributed unit (DU). The advantage of doing so is increased bandwidth capability of the wireless communications networks, and reduced latency and cost with the deployment of large number of advanced mobile devices.
In re claims 3, 16, 27 and 30, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 14, the method of claim 25 and the method of claim 28, but does not explicitly disclose to provide the context information to the application; and obtain, from the application based at least in part on providing the context information, information associated with a data model for communications between the accelerator and the radio unit associated with the distributed unit.
HAN discloses to provide the context information to the application ([0018], “It would not be desirable for Near-RT RIC to maintain, for every single RAN node, UE contexts of all the UEs and their RAN UE IDs connected to it”. [0104], “The UE 302 may include a host platform 308 coupled with a modem platform 310. The host platform 308 may include application processing circuitry 312, which may be coupled with protocol processing circuitry 314 of the modem platform 310. The application processing circuitry 312 may run various applications for the UE 302 that source/sink application data; and obtain, from the application based at least in part on providing the context information, information associated with a data model for communications between the accelerator and the radio unit associated with the distributed unit ([0131], “The O-RAN Non-Real Time (RT) RAN Intelligent Controller (RIC) 612 is a logical function within the SMO framework 502, 602 that enables non-real-time control and optimization of RAN elements and resources; AI/machine learning (ML) workflow(s) including model training, inferences, and updates; and policy-based guidance of applications/features in the Near-RT RIC 614”. [0133], “The non-RT RIC 612 can be an ML training host to host the training of one or more ML models. ML training can be performed offline using data collected from the RIC, O-DU 615 and O-RU 616”. [0135], “The non-RT RIC 62 is be able to access feedback data (e.g., FM and PM statistics) over the O1 interface on ML model performance and perform necessary evaluations” (obtaining information for data model for communications between the accelerator and the RU associated with the DU)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with HAN to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange of data models between application and accelerator of a distributed unit (DU). The advantage of doing so is increased bandwidth capability of the wireless communications networks, and reduced latency and cost with the deployment of large number of advanced mobile devices.
In re claim 4, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein HAN discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: provide, to the radio unit via an interface between the application and the radio unit, a request for the information (Fig. 1, [0004], “In order to improve experience of a UE, it is important that a UE of interest is identified, while connected to the 3GPP network, across SMO/non-RT RIC and Near-RT RIC, and also across O1, A1, and E2 interfaces”. [0051], “This RIC Event Trigger Definition style allows to select a specific target using: [0052] Network Interface Type IE used to select a specific interface type”. [0064], “Some examples of implementations for O-RAN E2 interface AP (Application Protocol) specification are as follows...”); and obtain the information from the radio unit via the interface and in response to the request, wherein the information from the radio unit is further conveyed to the accelerator via a second interface between the application and the accelerator (Table 8, [0135], “How well the ML model is performing in terms of prediction accuracy or other operating statistics it produces can also be sent to the non-RT RIC 612 over O1”. [0136], “The A1 interface is between the non-RT RIC 612 (within or outside the SMO 602) and the near-RT RIC 614. The A1 interface supports three types of services as defined in [O14], including a Policy Management Service, an Enrichment Information Service, and ML Model Management Service”. [0072], “In embodiments in which the RAN 204 includes a plurality of ANs, they may be coupled with one another via an X2 interface or an Xn interface. The X2/Xn interfaces, which may be separated into control/user plane interfaces in some embodiments, may allow the ANs to communicate information related to handovers, data/context transfers, mobility, load management, interference coordination, etc.”).
In re claims 5 and 17, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 3 and the apparatus of claim 16, wherein HAN discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: obtain, from the accelerator based at least in part on providing the information, a first message indicating a result of a validation procedure associated with the information ([0135], “ The non-RT RIC 62 is be able to access feedback data (e.g., FM and PM statistics) over the O1 interface on ML model performance and perform necessary evaluations. If the ML model fails during runtime, an alarm can be generated as feedback to the non-RT RIC 612. How well the ML model is performing in terms of prediction accuracy or other operating statistics it produces can also be sent to the non-RT RIC 612 over O1” (receiving result of validation procedure from the accelerator)).
In re claims 6 and 18, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 5 and the apparatus of claim 17, wherein HAN discloses wherein the first message indicates a failure of the validation procedure, and the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: provide, to the accelerator in response to the failure, a second message instructing the accelerator to convey additional information regarding the failure associated with the context information; and obtain, from the accelerator in response to the second message, a third message comprising the additional information associated with the context information, for the communications between the accelerator and the radio unit ([0133], “For reinforcement learning, the ML training host and ML model host/actor may be co-located as part of the non-RT RIC 612 and/or the near-RT RIC 614”. [0135], “The non-RT RIC 62 is be able to access feedback data (e.g., FM and PM statistics) over the O1 interface on ML model performance and perform necessary evaluations. How well the ML model is performing in terms of prediction accuracy or other operating statistics it produces can also be sent to the non-RT RIC 612 over O1” (receiving additional information regarding failure, reinforcement learning)).
In re claims 7 and 19, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 6 and the apparatus of claim 18, wherein HAN discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: obtain, based at least in part on the additional information, second additional information for a second data model; and provide, to the accelerator, a fourth message conveying the second additional information ([0133], “The non-RT RIC 612 can be an ML training host to host the training of one or more ML models. ML training can be performed offline using data collected from the RIC, O-DU 615 and O-RU 616. For supervised learning, non-RT RIC 612 is part of the SMO 602, and the ML training host and/or ML model host/actor can be part of the non-RT RIC 612 and/or the near-RT RIC 614. For unsupervised learning, the ML training host and ML model host/actor can be part of the non-RT RIC 612 and/or the near-RT RIC 614. For reinforcement learning, the ML training host and ML model host/actor may be co-located as part of the non-RT RIC 612 and/or the near-RT RIC 614. In some implementations, the non-RT RIC 612 may request or trigger ML model training in the training hosts regardless of where the model is deployed and executed. ML models may be trained and not currently deployed’).
In re claim 8, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein HAN discloses wherein the first message indicates a failure of the validation procedure, and the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: provide, to the accelerator based at least in part on the failure, a second message identifying additional information for a second data model, wherein the additional information comprises a modified version of the information ([0133], “The non-RT RIC 612 can be an ML training host to host the training of one or more ML models. ML training can be performed offline using data collected from the RIC, O-DU 615 and O-RU 616”. [0134], “In some implementations, the non-RT RIC 612 provides a query-able catalog for an ML designer/developer to publish/install trained ML models (e.g., executable software components). In these implementations, the non-RT RIC 612 may provide discovery mechanism if a particular ML model can be executed in a target ML inference host (MF), and what number and type of ML models can be executed in the MF. For example, there may be three types of ML catalogs made discoverable by the non-RT RIC 612: a design-time catalog (e.g., residing outside the non-RT RIC 612 and hosted by some other ML platform(s)), a training/deployment-time catalog (e.g., residing inside the non-RT RIC 612), and a run-time catalog (e.g., residing inside the non-RT RIC 612). The non-RT RIC 612 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference in support of ML assisted solutions running in the non-RT RIC 612 or some other ML inference host. These capabilities enable executable software to be installed such as VMs, containers, etc. The non-RT RIC 612 may also include and/or operate one or more ML engines, which are packaged software executable libraries that provide methods, routines, data types, etc., used to run ML models. The non-RT RIC 612 may also implement policies to switch and activate ML model instances under different operating conditions” (modified version of the information)).
In re claim 9, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 5, wherein HAN discloses wherein the first message indicates a failure of the validation procedure, and the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: obtain, from the accelerator based at least in part on the failure, an indication of additional information for a second data model, the additional information for producing a modified version of the information ([0135], “ The non-RT RIC 62 is be able to access feedback data (e.g., FM and PM statistics) over the O1 interface on ML model performance and perform necessary evaluations”. [0133], “For reinforcement learning, the ML training host and ML model host/actor may be co-located as part of the non-RT RIC 612 and/or the near-RT RIC 614”. [0134], “In some implementations, the non-RT RIC 612 provides a query-able catalog for an ML designer/developer to publish/install trained ML models (e.g., executable software components). In these implementations, the non-RT RIC 612 may provide discovery mechanism if a particular ML model can be executed in a target ML inference host (MF), and what number and type of ML models can be executed in the MF. For example, there may be three types of ML catalogs made discoverable by the non-RT RIC 612: a design-time catalog (e.g., residing outside the non-RT RIC 612 and hosted by some other ML platform(s)), a training/deployment-time catalog (e.g., residing inside the non-RT RIC 612), and a run-time catalog (e.g., residing inside the non-RT RIC 612). The non-RT RIC 612 supports necessary capabilities for ML model inference in support of ML assisted solutions running in the non-RT RIC 612 or some other ML inference host. These capabilities enable executable software to be installed such as VMs, containers, etc. The non-RT RIC 612 may also include and/or operate one or more ML engines, which are packaged software executable libraries that provide methods, routines, data types, etc., used to run ML models. The non-RT RIC 612 may also implement policies to switch and activate ML model instances under different operating conditions” (modified version of the information)).
In re claim 20, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: obtain, from the application, a first message comprising information relevant to a second data model; determine a failure of a validation procedure associated with the information; and provide, to the application based at least in part on the failure, a second message indicating a third information, wherein the third information is associated with a modified version of the information.
HAN discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: obtain, from the application, a first message comprising information relevant to a second data model; determine a failure of a validation procedure associated with the information; and provide, to the application based at least in part on the failure, a second message indicating a third information, wherein the third information is associated with a modified version of the information (See “In re claim 8” and “In re claim 9”. All features are covered in claims 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with HAN to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange of data models between application and accelerator of a distributed unit (DU). The advantage of doing so is increased bandwidth capability of the wireless communications networks, and reduced latency and cost with the deployment of large number of advanced mobile devices.
In re claims 10 and 21, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the profile instance associated with the accelerator is associated with a carrier, a physical context, a baseband context associated with the accelerator, or any combination thereof.
HAN discloses wherein the profile instance associated with the accelerator is associated with a carrier, a physical context, a baseband context associated with the accelerator, or any combination thereof ([0073], “The UE 202 may be simultaneously connected with a plurality of cells provided by the same or different ANs of the RAN 204. For example, the UE 202 and RAN 204 may use carrier aggregation to allow the UE 202 to connect with a plurality of component carriers” (profile associated with a carrier)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with HAN to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange of data models between application and accelerator of a distributed unit (DU). The advantage of doing so is increased bandwidth capability of the wireless communications networks, and reduced latency and cost with the deployment of large number of advanced mobile devices.
In re claims 11 and 22, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the context information further comprises an indication of applicable antenna panels associated with one or more transmission reception points.
HAN discloses wherein the context information further comprises an indication of applicable antenna panels associated with one or more transmission reception points (Fig. 3, [0107], “The modem platform 310 may further include transmit circuitry 318, receive circuitry 320, RF circuitry 322, and RF front end (RFFE) 324, which may include or connect to one or more antenna panels 326”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with HAN to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange of data models between application and accelerator of a distributed unit (DU). The advantage of doing so is increased bandwidth capability of the wireless communications networks, and reduced latency and cost with the deployment of large number of advanced mobile devices.
Claims 12, 13, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130250849 A1 (Li et al.)(hereinafter Li) in view of US 20230113519 A1 (Fernandez Alonso et al.)(hereinafter Alonso).
In re claims 12 and 23, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first identifier corresponds to at least two profile instances of a plurality of profiles instances.
Alonso discloses wherein the first identifier corresponds to at least two profile instances of a plurality of profiles instances (Fig. 7, [0122], “In 542a, the PCF can retrieve the identifiers of the one or more UE-supported OS from a user data repository (UDR) of the communication network. In 542b, the PCF can, when the identifiers are unavailable from the UDR, determine the identifiers based on a permanent equipment identifier (PEI) of the UE obtained from the SMF”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with Alonso to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange between intermediary computing devices, such as network traffic management computing device(s) between the client devices and the application server computers. The advantage of doing so is potentially increase the scalability, availability, security, and/or performance of the client-server architecture as the number of client devices seeking access to the application server computers increases.
In re claims 13 and 24, Li discloses the apparatus of claim 1 and the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the context information comprises a first plurality of identifiers associated with a plurality of profile instances associated with the accelerator, a second plurality of identifiers associated with a plurality of radio units including the radio unit, a third plurality of identifiers associated with a plurality of applications including the application, or any combination thereof.
Alonso discloses wherein the context information comprises a first plurality of identifiers associated with a plurality of profile instances associated with the accelerator ([0075], “According to 3GPP TS 23.501, clause 5.32.8, an ATSSS rule sent to the UE includes traffic descriptor information that can include at least one of the following descriptors: [0076] one or more application descriptors (identifying the traffic generating the traffic)”. [0084], “To determine the operating system of the UE, the PCF may use a Permanent Equipment Identifier (PEI) for the UE that is provided by the AMF and/or an OSId provided by the UE”), a second plurality of identifiers associated with a plurality of radio units including the radio unit ([0023], “In some of these embodiments, determining the identifiers can include one of the following: receiving the identifiers from the UE, or deriving the identifiers based on a permanent equipment identifier (PEI), of the UE, that was obtained from an access and mobility management function (AMF) of the communication network”), a third plurality of identifiers associated with a plurality of applications including the application ([0020], “These exemplary methods can include, during establishment of a PDU session for a UE, determining one or more UE application descriptors that correspond to a network application identifier (AppId) of a service data flow (SDF) template for the PDU session. Each UE application descriptor includes a first identifier (OSId) of a UE-supported operating system (OS), and a second identifier (OSAppId) of an application for the UE-supported OS identified by the first identifier”), or any combination thereof.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with Alonso to provide techniques for efficient communication exchange between intermediary computing devices, such as network traffic management computing device(s) between the client devices and the application server computers. The advantage of doing so is potentially increase the scalability, availability, security, and/or performance of the client-server architecture as the number of client devices seeking access to the application server computers increases.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649