DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one source of video, the source of video configured with executable instructions for embedding in . . .”, and the player of video programmed with instructions to: re-record the first video . . .” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US 6700989 B1 to Itoh et al (hereinafter ‘Itoh’) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 7,050,603 B2 to Rhoads et al (hereinafter ‘Rhoads’).
Regrading claim 1, Itoh discloses a method comprising: rendering, by a set of processors, a re-recorded video of an original video to render a re-recorded video (column 29, lines 58-64, wherein in response to the request for video recording, the content of a copy restriction code (54) is decided by the medium drive 55, and a new video-recording disk, as the re-recorded video of original video, which bears a watermarked moving image 61 and a copy restriction code 62 is created by a video recording device 58 in a case where the video recording is permitted.); identifying, by the set of processors, a watermark in at least one frame of the original video (column 29, lines 51-58, wherein referring to the figure, the moving-image storage medium is set in a medium drive 55 in correspondence with the request for video recording or reproduction. In response to the request for reproducing a moving image stored in the storage medium, compressed data are expanded by an MPEG decoder 56, and the display 59 of the watermarked moving image (53) is presented by a display device 57 in a case where the reproduction is permitted, as identifying the watermark on the display); based at least in part on the watermark, embedding, by the set of processors, in video data of the re-recorded video, a link to the original video, wherein the watermark indicates a re-recording of the original video (column 29, lines 58-64, wherein in response to the request for video recording, the content of a copy restriction code (54) is decided by the medium drive 55, and a new video-recording disk which bears a watermarked moving image 61, inherently as embedded in the video as a link for authentication of the original video, and a copy restriction code 62 is created by a video recording device 58 in a case where the video recording is permitted). I as much as Applicant disagrees with Examiner’s interpretation of embedding of a link to an original video, Rhoads also discloses embedding process to provide a link to an original video (column 5, lines 43-46, wherein the rendering of the linked information can occur on the video display, possibly using picture-in-picture technology so others can still see the original video). Itoh and Rhoads are combinable because they both disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the embedding process to provide a link to an original video of Rhoad’s method with Itoh’s so that to retrieve a web site associated with the video object via the watermark (column 2, lines 42-44).
Regrading claim 2, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Ito discloses based at least in part on the watermark, providing metadata associated with the original video (column 18, lines 21-29, wherein referring to the figure, when the process has been started, the set of the moving image files of the original copyright holder are accessed at step S21. The set of the files includes the contents of a watermarked moving-image file FA, the file FC storing the watermark control information therein, as well as the control information which is as mentioned at step S18 in FIG. 13, and the file FD in which the parts of the original image hidden by the watermark are saved, as one exemplary metadata associated with the original video).
Regrading claim 3, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Ito discloses based at least in part on the watermark, providing a link to the original video and providing metadata associated with the original video (FIG. 15 is a flowchart showing a process for restoring the watermarked moving image into the original image which is not watermarked, in this manner. Referring to the figure, when the process has been started, the set of the moving image files of the original copyright holder are accessed at step S21. The set of the files includes the contents of a watermarked moving-image file FA, the file FC storing the watermark control information therein, as well as the control information which is as mentioned at step S18 in FIG. 13, and the file FD in which the parts of the original image hidden by the watermark are saved, as exemplary metadata associated and a link to the original frame of the video).
Regrading claim 4, Itoh discloses a system (column 8, lines 42-43, wherein the visible watermark is inserted into the moving image by the watermark insertion system) comprising: at least one source of video, the source of video comprising a processor configured with executable instructions to: embed, in at least one frame of a first video, at least one watermark such that a player of video can re-record the first video to render a re-recording of the first video (column 8, lines 42-43, 52-57, wherein the visible watermark is inserted into the moving image by the watermark insertion system, and wherein a medium drive (for example, a DVD drive) is enabled to permit or bar the video recording or duplication of the moving image, in such a way that a copy restriction code is previously recorded in a control-data storage area within the moving-image storage medium or within communication data.). While Itoh discloses embedding watermark into a re-recorded video image (Fig. 26, item 61), Itoh does not specifically disclose embedding a watermark to point to at least two network locations at which respective earlier versions of the first video can be accessed, wherein the watermark is embedded in at least two different spatial regions of the frame of the first video. Rhoads discloses embed in the re-recording the first video a watermark to point to at least two network locations at which respective earlier versions of the first video can be accessed, wherein the watermark is embedded in at least two different spatial regions of the frame of the first video (column 5, lines 43-46 and column 14, lines 13-23, wherein the rendering of the linked information can occur on the video display, possibly using picture-in-picture technology so others can still see the original video, and wherein the decoder can give the user interface the screen coordinates of areas where a watermark has been detected. Screen areas that correspond to different watermark payloads or different object locations, as embedding into at least two different spatial regions, as specified within a watermark payload can be highlighted in different color or some other graphical indicator that distinguishes watermark enabled objects from unmarked objects and each other. The decoder forwards an object identifier (824), as the watermark, for the video object at the selected location to the server 802, as one network, via a network interface 826, as second network)). Itoh and Rhoads are combinable because they both disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the embedding process to provide a link to an original video of Rhoad’s system with Itoh’s so that the watermark may act as a dynamic link to a web site that provides information about the object (column 2, lines 33-35).
Regrading claim 5, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Itoh discloses the system comprising the player of video programmed with instructions to: re-record the first video to render a re-recording of the first video; and embed in the re-recording the first video a watermark to point to at least two network locations at which respective earlier versions of the first video can be accessed (Video reproduction apparatus/player of Fig. 26).
Regrading claim 6, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Itoh discloses the wherein the watermark comprises a visible watermark established at least in part by a portion of a frame less than one hundred per cent (100%) of the frame having pixels altered from the first video (column 13, lines 36-41, wherein when the positions ((X1, Y1), (X2, Y2), . . . ) of the left lower points of the pieces of the two-dimensional pattern in all the frames to have the watermark inserted thereinto have been determined, inherently as less than 110% of the frame area, at step S3, the two-dimensional watermark pattern pieces are superposed on the sampled value areas of the original moving image).
Regrading claim 7, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Itoh discloses the wherein the pixels are altered from the first video by shifting a brightness and/or color value of the pixels without disrupting an image shown in the frame (column 20, lines 10-20, wherein It has been described in conjunction with FIG. 10 that the color and tonal density of the information of the copyright indication are fixed. It is also possible, however, to insert copyright indication information of which the tonal density, color, etc. are adjusted. More specifically, after the color and tonal density of an image surrounding the insertion position of the copyright indication information have been decided, the tonal density, color, etc. of the copyright indication information may be adjusted in accordance with the decided results so as not to become excessively conspicuous or so as to become appropriately conspicuous, as disrupting an image).
Regrading claim 9, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Itoh discloses wherein the watermark is repeated in the frame of video in at least two respective regions of the frame (column 7, lines 36-39, wherein it selects the frames at such intervals that, when the watermark information has been inserted into some of the plurality of frames constituting the original image)
Regarding claim 11, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Rhoads discloses wherein the first video comprises a video of real-world activity (column 8, lines 38-41, wherein this process is similar to the one shown in FIG. 4, except that the position of video objects is derived from transmitters 500-504 attached to the real world objects depicted in the video scene and attached to video cameras.).
Regarding claim 16, in the combination of Itoh and Rhoads, Itoh discloses wherein the watermark indicates a re-recording of the first video. Kim discloses wherein the watermark indicates a re-recording of the first video (column 7, lines 51-52, wherein the watermark which is inserted in the present invention, is visually perceivable in a still image, inherently as indicating a copy).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Rhoads and further in view of US 9,912,986 B2 to Eyer et al (hereinafter ‘Eyer’).
Regrading claim 8, in the combination of Galant, Steinberg and Eyer, Eyer further discloses wherein the pixels altered from the first video establish a quick response (QR) code (column 15, lines 23-38, wherein the metadata 322 could be effectively formatted as a video two-dimensional bar code that is embedded in a corner or at the edge of the displayed video data 316. In addition, the bar code or other formatting of the metadata 322 could be displayed as a part of a small graphical logo icon known as a “bug.” . . . Where printed barcodes are optimized for readout by laser scanners, the type of video barcode used for the metadata 322 is embedded in a digital video signal, which is processed directly by the TV 122 (as pixel luminance or chrominance samples)). Itoh, Rhoads and Eyer are combinable because they all disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the pixels altered from the first video establish a quick response (QR) code of Eyer’s system with Itoh’s and Rhoad’s in order for the watermark to be the printed barcodes that can be readout by laser scanners (column 15, lines 35-37).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh in view of Rhoads and further in view of US 2021/0271327 A1 to Topchy et al
Regarding claim 10, Itoh and Rhoads do not specifically disclose, wherein the first video comprises a computer simulation. Topchy discloses wherein the first video comprises a computer simulation (Para [0046], wherein at block 606, the example haptic signal generator 304 generates a surface haptic control signal for the touchscreen 104 based on the texture(s), as simulation). Itoh, Rhoads and Topchy are combinable because they all disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the first video comprises a computer simulation of Topchy’s system with Itoh’s and Rhoad’s in order to generate a perception or sensation of a texture to a user interacting with screen (Para [0013]).
Regrading claim 12, Itoh and Rhoads do not specifically disclose wherein the player of video is configured with executable instructions for identifying the watermark and based thereon accessing metadata which comprises haptic generation metadata. Topchy discloses the player of video is configured with executable instructions for identifying the watermark and based thereon accessing metadata which comprises haptic generation metadata (Para [0030-0031], wherein he content identifier 302 may parse metadata provided with the visual content that includes parameters, definitions, and/or instructions identifying the content and/or defining the nature of texture(s) associated with the visual content. The content and/or the relevant texture(s) identified by the content identifier 302 are provided to the haptic signal generator 304 to generate a particular surface haptic control signal). Itoh, Rhoads and Topchy are combinable because they all disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the player of video is configured with executable instructions for identifying the watermark and based thereon accessing metadata which comprises haptic generation metadata of Topchy’s system with Itoh’s and Rhoad’s in order to generate a perception or sensation of a texture to a user interacting with screen (Para [0013]).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itoh and Rhoads and further in view of US 11,368,766 B2 to Zhao et al (hereinafter ‘Zhao’)
Regarding claim 13, Itoh and Rhoads do not specifically disclose wherein the player of video is configured with executable instructions for embedding in a copy of the first video a substitute watermark representing a link to the first video, or metadata associated with the first video, along with metadata associated with the copy of the first video. Zhao discloses instructions for embedding in a copy of the first video a substitute watermark representing a link to the first video, or metadata associated with the first video, along with metadata associated with the copy of the first video (column 3, lines 53-59, wherein some systems utilize watermarking techniques to either carry the metadata as part of watermarks that are embedded into the essence of the content (i.e., they become part of the content itself as imperceptible signals) or use embedded watermarks to enable access to a remote server, from which metadata can be recovered). Itoh, Rhoads and Zhao are combinable because they all disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the embedding in a copy of the first video a substitute watermark representing a link to the first video, or metadata associated with the first video, along with metadata associated with the copy of the first video of Zhao’s system with Itoh’s and Rhoad’s in order to avoid loss of metadata (column 3, lines 51-53).
Regarding claim 14, in the combination of Itoh, Rhoads and Zhao, Zhao discloses wherein the player of video is configured with executable instructions for embedding in a copy of the first video a substitute watermark representing a link to the first video along with metadata associated with the copy of the first video (Column 16, lines 34-39, wherein embedding additional watermarks using the metadata ascertained via fingerprints or watermarks: In some embodiments, additional watermark information can be embedded into the content interval using the metadata that is associated the same interval and ascertained via the first watermarks that are already present in the content, as substitute watermark in a copy).
Regarding claim 15, in the combination of Itoh, Rhoads and Zhao, Zhao discloses wherein the player of video is configured with executable instructions for embedding in a copy of the first video a substitute watermark representing metadata associated with the first video along with metadata associated with the copy of the first video. Kim discloses executable instructions for embedding in a copy of the first video a substitute watermark representing metadata associated with the first video along with metadata associated with the copy of the first video (Column 16, lines 34-39, wherein embedding additional watermarks using the metadata ascertained via fingerprints or watermarks: In some embodiments, additional watermark information can be embedded into the content interval using the metadata that is associated the same interval and ascertained via the first watermarks that are already present in the content, as substitute watermark in a copy).
Regarding claim 17, Itoh and Rhoads do not specifically disclose wherein the watermark indicates information pertaining to at least one influencer associated with a re-recording of the first video. Zhao discloses the watermark indicates information pertaining to at least one influencer associated with a re-recording of the first video. Zhao discloses watermark indicates information pertaining to at least one influencer associated with a re-recording of the first video (column 1, lines 51-55, wherein identification information regarding the owner and producer of the content, as the influencer, timecode identification, copyright information, closed captions, and locations such as URLs where advertising content, as influencer). Itoh, Rhoads and Zhao are combinable because they all disclose digital content watermarking. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the watermark indicates information pertaining to at least one influencer associated with a re-recording of the first video of Zhao’s system with Itoh’s and Rhoad’s in order to allows applications to run on a TV to provide interactive services e.g. targeted advertising (column 3, lines 64-67).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SHERVIN K NAKHJAVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672