DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-111552, filed on 7/12/2022.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 33 and 39 defines ranges for curvature radii for element 41r in paragraph 33 and element 40r in paragraph 39 as being from R1 to R5. Values R1 through R5 are not defined in the specification, and appear to be placeholder variables. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (JP WO2017159760 A1; Henceforth, Ito).
7. Regarding claim 1, Ito teaches a battery (an electric storage device page 1, paragraph 6) comprising an electrode body including a positive and a negative electrode, (Figure 2, reproduced below; element 400 is the electrode body, element 410 and 420 are the positive and negative electrodes) a battery case having an opening and housing the electrode body (Figure 2, element 111), a sealing plate having a terminal mounting hole and sealing the opening (Figure 2, element 110; Figure 5, reproduced below, elements 110a and 110c are the terminal mounting holes), an electrode terminal having one end electrically connected to the electrode body inside the battery case and another end inserted in the terminal mounting hole and exposed to the outside of the sealing plate (Figure 8, reproduced below; elements 200/300 and 220/320 are electrically connected to the positive and negative terminals 410/420) and a resin insulating member insulating an outer surface of the sealing plate from the electrode terminal, the outer surface being a surface of the sealing plate and located at an outer side of the battery case in a state where the opening is sealed (Figure 3, element 500), wherein the electrode terminal includes an externally connecting portion located outside the battery case and disposed at the outer surface of the sealing plate (Figure 3, element 210), an electrode body connecting portion electrically connected to the electrode body (Figures 2 and 8; elements 220/320 are in contact with elements 410/420), a shaft portion located between the externally connecting portion and the electrode body connecting portion and inserted in the terminal mounting hole (Figure 3, element 220; Figure 5, elements 110a and 110c), the sealing plate has a rectangular shape in a plan view (Figure 2, element 110), the externally connecting portion includes a body that is flat and rectangular in the plan view (Figure 2, element 200), and a side surface of the body includes a tapered portion having a tapered shape or a round portion located at each end of the side surface and having a curved shape (Figure 3; element 211a is curved).
Figure 2 from Ito.
Figure 3 from Ito.
Figure 5 from Ito.
Figure 8 from Ito.
9. Regarding claim 2, Ito teaches the battery according to claim 1, wherein the sealing plate, the electrode terminal, and the insulating member are insert-molded (Similarly, the intermediate member 600 (see Figure 8, above) is integrally molded with the lid body 110 and the negative electrode terminal 310 by, for example, insert molding. Therefore, the intermediate member 500 and the intermediate member 600 are resin members formed of a resin that can be insert-molded, page 8, paragraph 38). The examiner notes that this is not limited to the negative electrode terminal, as element 500 is the resin member disposed on the positive electrode terminal.
10. Regarding claim 7, Ito teaches an electrode terminal that is one of a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal of a battery, the electrode terminal comprising an externally connecting portion located outside the battery case and disposed at the outer surface of the sealing plate (Figure 3, reproduced above, element 211), an electrode body connecting portion electrically connected to the electrode body (Figures 3 and 8, reproduced above, element 220), a shaft portion located between the externally connecting portion and the electrode body connecting portion and inserted in the terminal mounting hole (Figures 3 and 8, element 220; Figure 5, reproduced above, elements 110a and 110c), the externally connecting portion includes a body that is flat and rectangular in the plan view (Figure 3, element 211), and a side surface of the body includes a tapered portion having a tapered shape or a round portion located at each end of the side surface and having a curved shape (Figure 3, element 211 is curved).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito (US 20190019999 A1; Henceforth, Ito 2).
16. Regarding claim 3, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 1, wherein the insulating member includes a body region having a rectangular shape in the plan view, and a projection projecting from one side surface of the body region having the rectangular shape, wherein the tapered portion and/or the round portion of the externally connecting portion are located at least near the projection of the insulating member in the plan view. The projection is where the resin, during injection-molding, cools near the gate portion of the molding die (page 17, paragraphs 49 and 50).
17. Ito teaches the battery of claim 1. Ito also teaches an insulting member having a rectangular shape (Figure 2, reproduced above).
18. However, Ito does not teach the insulating member having a projection projecting out from one side surface of the insulating member.
19. Ito 2 teaches an energy storage device that includes a case, an electrode terminal, and an insulating member disposed between the electrode terminal and a wall of the case (page 4, paragraph 9). The insulating member includes a peripheral wall which extends along the periphery of the electrode terminal, which includes chamfered corners, and a protrusion is formed on a chamfered edge or a chamfered surface of the chamfered corner (page 4, paragraph 9; see Figure 3, reproduced below, element 85). Ito 2 teaches that when the chamfered corner of the insulating member receives a force from the electrode terminal by way of the protrusion, a stress which acts on the chamfered corner is dispersed to a portion of the peripheral wall disposed adjacent to the chamfered corner, thereby minimizing the breakage of the peripheral wall, and increasing its durability (page 5, paragraph 10).
Figure 3, from Ito 2.
20. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create a battery with the components taught by Ito and the insulating member of Ito 2, from the same field of endeavor, to create a secondary battery with an insulating member having a protrusion, whereby the protrusion is near the tapered/rounded edges of the external electrode terminal. The substitution of the insulating member from Ito to Ito 2 is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Ito 2, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the protrusion after manufacturing to help reduce strain when the electrode terminal provides a force, enhancing the durability of the insulating member.
21. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito and Ito 2 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Takano (JP 11-129921 A; Henceforth, Takano).
22. Regarding claim 4, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 3, wherein the insulating member includes a tilt region that tilts from the body region towards the projection in the plan view. The motivation for the insulation member having the tilt region is to allow the resin to suitably flow during molding (page 13, paragraph 38).
23. Ito and Ito 2 teach the battery of claim 3. Ito 2 also teaches an insulation member that has a tilt region that tilts from the body towards the projection (Figure 4, reproduced below).
Figure 4, of Ito 2.
24. However, Ito 2 does not teach a rational for including the tilt region.
25. Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
26. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create a battery with the components taught by Ito and the insulating member of Ito 2, from the same field of endeavor, to create a secondary battery with an insulating member having a protrusion, whereby the protrusion is near the tapered/rounded edges of the external electrode terminal, and the insulation member has a tilt region that tilts from the body towards the protrusion. The substitution of the insulating member from Ito to Ito 2 is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the tilt region in the mold die to allow for better resin flow during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member. This, as a byproduct, would create an insulation member with a tilt region, and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion.
27. Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Wakimoto et al. (US 9882236 B2; Henceforth, Wakimoto) and Takano.
28. Regarding claim 5, the instant claim is drawn to the battery of claim 1, wherein the externally connecting portion includes a first side surface extending along a long side of the rectangular sealing plate and a second side surface extending along a short side of the sealing plate in the plan view and the tapered portion tilts towards the second side surface such that the angle formed by the tapered portion and the first side surface is 100 degrees or more. The motivation for this is that, with tapered or round externally connected portions, the resin can more easily flow, allowing the gap between the sealing plate and the electrode terminal to be suitably filled with the insulating member (pages 13-14, paragraph 39).
29. Ito teaches the battery of claim 1. However, Ito does not teach a tapered externally connected portion.
30. Wakimoto teaches an externally connected portion with two side surfaces, along the long and short sides of the rectangular sealing plate, which includes tapered portions where the angle between the tapered portion and the first side surface is greater than 100 degrees (Figure 11; two annotated versions are provided below; the angle has been measured to be approximately 142 degrees).
Figure 11, from Wakimoto. Annotated to show the side surfaces.
Figure 11, from Wakimoto. Annotated to show a measurement of the angle between the first side portion and the tapered portion. It measures approximately 142 degrees.
31. However, Wakimoto does not teach a rational for including tapered side portions on the externally connected portion.
32. Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
33. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create a battery with the components taught by Ito and the externally connected portion of Wakimoto, from the same field of endeavor, to create a secondary battery with an externally connected portion of the electrode terminal having two side surfaces oriented along the long and short sides of the sealing plate, and having the angle between the long side surface and the tapered portion be greater than 100 degrees. The substitution of the shape of externally connected portion of Ito to Wakimoto is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the tilt region in the externally connected portion to allow for better resin flow towards the support member during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion and the support member.
34. Regarding claim 8, the instant claim teaches the electrode terminal of claim 7, wherein the externally connecting portion includes a first side and a second side surface whose length is shorter than the length of the first side surface and the tapered portion tilts towards the second side surface such that the angle formed by the tapered portion and the first side surface is 100 degrees or more. The motivation for this is that, with tapered or round externally connected portions, the resin can more easily flow, allowing the gap between the sealing plate and the electrode terminal to be suitably filled with the insulating member (pages 13-14, paragraph 39).
35. Ito teaches the electrode terminal of claim 7. However, Ito does not teach a tapered externally connected portion.
36. Wakimoto teaches an externally connected portion with two side surfaces, along the long and short sides of the rectangular sealing plate, which includes tapered portions where the angle between the tapered portion and the first side surface is greater than 100 degrees (Figure 11; two additional annotated versions are provided below; the angle has been measured to be approximately 130 degrees).
Figure 11, from Wakimoto. Annotated to show the side surfaces. Note this is the opposite definition as in claim 5.
Figure 11, from Wakimoto. Annotated to show a measurement of the angle between the first side portion and the tapered portion. It measures approximately 130 degrees. Note this is a different angle to the one measured in claim 5 above.
37. However, Wakimoto does not teach a rational for including tapered side portions on the externally connected portion.
38. Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
39. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create an electrode terminal with the components taught by Ito and the externally connected portion of Wakimoto, from the same field of endeavor, to create an electrode terminal with an externally connected portion of the electrode terminal having a first side surface and a second side surface that is shorter than the first side surface, and having the angle between the first side surface and the tapered portion be greater than 100 degrees. The substitution of the shape of externally connected portion of Ito to Wakimoto is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the tilt region of the externally connected portion to allow for better resin flow towards the support member during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion and the support member.
40. Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US 20210159563 A1; Henceforth, Tanaka) and Takano.
41. Regarding claim 6, the instant claim is drawn to the electrode terminal of claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal, a boundary between the externally connecting portion and the shaft portion has a curved shape in the cross section taken along the height direction of the battery. The motivation for this is that, with tapered or rounded edges, the resin can more easily flow towards the support portion, allowing the gap between the sealing plate and the electrode terminal to be suitably filled with the insulating member (pages 13-14, paragraph 39)
42. Ito teaches the battery of claim 1. However, Ito does not teach the electrode terminal having a curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion.
43. Tanaka teaches a fastening member (Figure 1, annotated below), which has an external portion and a shaft portion, with a curved boundary between them. This fastening member can effectively be applied to a secondary battery (page 13, paragraph 28). The fastening member is, when in the battery, either the positive-electrode external terminal or a negative-electrode external terminal (page 13, paragraph 29).
Figure 1, from Tanaka.
44. Tanaka does not explicitly teach the rational for including the curved boundary marked above.
45. Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
46. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create a battery with the components taught by Ito and the positive/negative-electrode external terminal member of Tanaka, from the same field of endeavor, to create a secondary battery with an electrode terminal with a curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion. The substitution of the shape of the external electrode member from Ito to Tanaka is a simple substitution using components of known designs from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion to allow for the smoother flow of resin into the cavity, towards the support member during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion and the support member.
47. Regarding claim 9, the instant claim teaches the electrode terminal of claim 7, wherein a boundary between the externally connecting portion and the shaft portion has a curved shape. The motivation for this is that, with tapered or rounded edges, the resin can more easily flow towards the support portion, allowing the gap between the sealing plate and the electrode terminal to be suitably filled with the insulating member (pages 13-14, paragraph 39)
48. Ito teaches the electrode terminal of claim 7. However, Ito does not teach the electrode terminal having a curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion.
49. Tanaka teaches a fastening member (Figure 1, reproduced above), which has an external portion and a shaft portion, with a curved boundary between them. This fastening member can effectively be applied to a secondary battery (page 13, paragraph 28). The fastening member is, when in the battery, either the positive-electrode external terminal or a negative-electrode external terminal (page 13, paragraph 29).
50. Tanaka does not explicitly teach the rational for including the curved boundary.
51. Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
52. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to create an electrode terminal with the internal components taught by Ito and the positive/negative-electrode external terminal member of Tanaka, from the same field of endeavor, to create an electrode terminal with an electrode terminal with a curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion. The substitution of the shape of the external electrode member from Ito to Tanaka is a simple substitution using components of known designs from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion to allow for the smoother flow of resin into the cavity, towards the support member during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion and the support member.
Conclusion
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752