DETAILED ACTION
[001] The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
[002] Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP-2022-111552, filed on 07/11/2022.
Status of Claims
[003] Claims 1, 3-6, and 10-13 are pending. Claims 2 and 7-9 have been cancelled. Claims 1 and 3-5 have been amended following the non-final rejection dated 3/6/2026. Claims 10-13 are new, and claim 6 is as originally presented.
Response to Arguments
[004] Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 with respect to the specification have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In a discussing curved portions in a plan view in paragraph 33 of the instant specification, applicant defines distinct curved portions as 41r1 through 41r4. By doing so, a person of ordinary skill is primed by the introduction of names and variables that they should be aware of. When defining the curvature radius of the various 41r portions, the measurements of about R1 or more and R5 or less is introduced. A person of ordinary skill, given the previous use of metric measurements in the instant specification (for example, in paragraph 28 of the instant specification), would have the reasonable expectation that the applicant would continue using similar notations when describing metric measurements throughout the document, and not switch to shorthand that is not defined elsewhere in the document. Thus, when a person of ordinary skill encounters R1 and R5 in the text, they would not necessarily recognize that those are shorthand, not variables, for a particular metric value. Therefore, the examiner maintains the objection to the specification, as the presented terminology, at the very least, is not abundantly clear to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and may cause confusion.
[005] Applicant’s arguments filed 5/20/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 3-6 have been carefully considered. The arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by the amendments. These arguments of the applicant are outlined below.
[006] Regarding claim 1, applicant amended claim 1 adding in limitations not originally present in the claim. Applicant added the following limitations, among other changes, to claim 1: “[ …] the externally connecting portion has a dimension to be inserted through the terminal mounting hole of the sealing plate” and “the sealing plate, the electrode terminal, and the resin insulating member are an integrated insert molded body.” Applicant argues that, in view of the additional limitations added in the quoted portion, Ito (JP WO2017159760 A1), the art of record for claim 1, no longer fully teaches the battery of claim 1. Specifically, applicant argues Ito does not teach that the electrode terminal does not have a dimension to be inserted through the terminal hole in the sealing plate. Applicant argues that none of the other cited art does not rectify the deficiencies of Ito, to which the Examiner agrees. However, due to the amendment adding in new limitations, a new ground of rejection has been necessitated, and the new rejection is presented below.
[007] Regarding claims 3-6, the applicant argues that, due to the amendments of claim 1, the resulting dependent claims, are patentable over the prior art of record. Claims 3-5 each have minor amendments, which the examiner interprets as primarily intended to clarifying wording. However, due to the amendments of claim 1 adding new limitations, a new ground of rejection for each of the dependent claims has been necessitated, and the new rejections have been presented below.
Specification
[008] The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs 33 and 39 in the instant specification define ranges for curvature radii for element 41r (in paragraph 33) and element 40r (in paragraph 39) as being from R1 to R5. The values of R1 and R5 are not defined in the specification, and appear to be placeholder variables. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[009] In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
[010] The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
[011] The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
[012] This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
[013] Claims 1, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (JP WO2017159760 A1; Henceforth, Ito), and further in view of Li et al (CN 110379953 A; Henceforth Li).
[014] Regarding claim 1, the instant claim is drawn to a battery, comprising: an electrode body including a positive electrode and a negative electrode; a battery case having an opening and housing the electrode body; a sealing plate having a terminal mounting hole and sealing the opening; an electrode terminal having one end electrically connected to the electrode body inside the battery case, and another end inserted in the terminal mounting hole and exposed to outside of the sealing plate; and a resin insulating member insulating an outer surface of the sealing plate from the electrode terminal, the outer surface being a surface of the sealing plate and located at an outer side of the battery case in a state where the opening is sealed, wherein the electrode terminal includes an externally connecting portion located outside the battery case and disposed at the outer surface of the sealing plate, an electrode body connecting portion electrically connected to the electrode body, and a shaft portion located between the externally connecting portion and the electrode body connecting portion and inserted in the terminal mounting hole, the externally connecting portion has a dimension to be inserted through the terminal mounting hole of the sealing plate, the sealing plate, the electrode terminal, and the resin insulating member are an integrated insert molded body, the sealing plate has a rectangular shape in a plan view of the battery, the externally connecting portion includes a body that is flat and rectangular in the plan view, and the body of the externally connecting portion includes a tapered portion having a tapered shape at one of side surfaces of the body, or a round portion having a curved shape at each end of the side surfaces.
[015] Ito teaches an electric storage device ([0006]) comprising an electrode body including a positive and a negative electrode, (Figure 2, reproduced below; element 400 is the electrode body, element 410 and 420 are the positive and negative electrodes) a battery case having an opening and housing the electrode body (Figure 2, element 111), a sealing plate having a terminal mounting hole and sealing the opening (Figure 2, element 110; Figure 5, reproduced below, elements 110a and 110c are the terminal mounting holes), an electrode terminal having one end electrically connected to the electrode body inside the battery case and another end inserted in the terminal mounting hole and exposed to the outside of the sealing plate (Figure 8, reproduced below; elements 200/300 and 220/320 are electrically connected to the positive and negative terminals 410/420) and a resin insulating member insulating an outer surface of the sealing plate from the electrode terminal, the outer surface being a surface of the sealing plate and located at an outer side of the battery case in a state where the opening is sealed (Figure 3, element 500), wherein the electrode terminal includes an externally connecting portion located outside the battery case and disposed at the outer surface of the sealing plate (Figure 3, element 210), an electrode body connecting portion electrically connected to the electrode body (Figures 2 and 8; elements 220/320 are in contact with elements 410/420), a shaft portion located between the externally connecting portion and the electrode body connecting portion and inserted in the terminal mounting hole (Figure 3, element 220; Figure 5, elements 110a and 110c), the sealing plate has a rectangular shape in a plan view of the battery (Figure 2, element 110), the externally connecting portion includes a body that is flat and substantially rectangular in the plan view (Figure 2, element 200), and the body of the externally connecting portion includes a round portion having a curved shape at each end of the side surfaces (Figure 3; element 211a is curved). Ito further teaches that the sealing plate, the electrode terminal, and the resin insulating member are an integrated insert-molded body (Similarly, the intermediate member 600 (see Figure 8, above) is integrally molded with the lid body 110 and the negative electrode terminal 310 by, for example, insert molding. Therefore, the intermediate member 500 and the intermediate member 600 are resin members formed of a resin that can be insert-molded, page 8, paragraph 38; the process is depicted in Figure 6 for the positive electrode, reproduced below).
Figures 2 (left) and 5 (right), reproduced from Ito.
Figure 3, reproduced from Ito, and annotated by the examiner.
Figures 6 (left) and 8 (right), reproduced from Ito.
[016] Ito does not teach that the externally connecting portion has a dimension to be inserted through the terminal mounting hole of the sealing plate.
[017] Li teaches a rectangular top plate assembly for a battery ([0036] and Figure 2, reproduced below) including a rectangular terminal post (element 2 in Figures 2 and 3, annotated below). The terminal post has a base (element 21) and an exterior member that has rounded edges (element 22; Figure 2). The post is combined with a gasket (Figure 2, element 5) and an insulating member (Figure 2, element 3) to the top sealing plate (Figure 2, element 1) and a lower plastic plate (Figure 2, element 4). As depicted in Figure 3, the plastic lower plate combines with the top plate such that the base of the terminal post lies below the lower plastic plate. The examiner notes the terminal post base cannot pass through the terminal hole, while the exterior member passes up through the top plate.
Figure 2, reproduced from Li.
Figure 3, reproduced from Li, annotated by the examiner.
[018] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery taught by Ito by substituting the top plate assembly, including the terminal post member, of Ito with that taught by Li, in the same field of endeavor. Li demonstrates precedent for using a rectangular terminal post member that has an exterior portion that has the dimension to penetrate through the top plate, while retaining a base portion that is too wide to pass through a top plate of a battery. Since Ito teaches the shape of the exterior terminal member is not limited so long as there is a flat planar surface on the top of it ([0044]), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had the reasonable expectation that substituting the exterior portion of the terminal member taught by Ito for one with the shape and features taught by of Li would have been successful, as it would be performing the same function in the system of Ito as it had in the system of Li. See MPEP 2143(I) B.
[019] Regarding claim 12, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 1, wherein the electrode terminal comprises a support portion between the electrode body connecting portion electrically connected to the electrode body and the shaft portion inserted in the terminal mounting hole of the sealing plate.
[020] Ito and Li teach the battery of claim 1. Ito does not teach a support portion in between the electrode body connecting portion and the shaft portion.
[021] Li teaches the inclusion of a support portion below the shaft of their terminal member (Figure 3, above). Li teaches that this orientation is designed to help keep the insulating member under vertical tension, and stabilizing the terminal so it can achieve electrical connection or insulation between the top plate and the terminal ([0037]).
[022] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery taught by Ito by substituting the top plate assembly, including the terminal post member, of Ito with that taught by Li, in the same field of endeavor. Li demonstrates precedent for using a terminal post member that has an exterior portion that has the dimension to penetrate through the top plate, while retaining a base portion that is too wide to pass through a top plate of a battery. Since Ito teaches the shape of the exterior terminal member is not limited so long as there is a flat planar surface on the top of it ([0044]), a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had the reasonable expectation that substituting the exterior portion of the terminal member taught by Ito for one with the shape and features taught by of Li would have been successful, as it would be performing the same function in the system of Ito as it had in the system of Li. See MPEP 2143(I) B. There would have been a motivation to replace element 222 of Ito with the base portion of Li, from the same field of endeavor, in order to keep the insulating member under vertical tension, thereby securing the electrode terminal such that the terminal is electrically insulated from the top plate, as taught by Li ([0037]).
[023] Regarding claim 13, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 12, wherein the support portion has a dimension larger than that of the terminal mounting hole in a radial direction of the battery.
[024] Ito and Li teach the battery of claim 12. Li teaches the support portion has a dimension larger than that of the terminal mounting hole in a radial direction of the battery (Figure 3, above).
[025] Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery taught by Ito by substituting the top plate assembly, including the terminal post member, of Ito with that taught by Li, in the same field of endeavor, as outlined in claims 1 and 12, above.
[026] Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito and Li, as with claim 1, above, and further in view of Ito (US 20190019999 A1; Henceforth, Ito 2).
[027] Regarding claim 3, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 1, wherein the resin insulating member includes a body region having a rectangular shape in the plan view, and a projection projecting from one side surface of the body region having the rectangular shape, wherein the tapered portion or the round portion of the externally connecting portion is located at least near the projection of the resin insulating member in the plan view.
[028] Ito and Li teach the battery of claim 1. Ito teaches the use of a resin insulation ([0038] and [0039]), but does not teach that the insulation member is rectangular in shape, nor has a projection. Li teaches the use of a rectangular insulating member (Figure 2, above), but does not teach the resin insulating member has a projection extending from one side of the rectangular insulating member.
[029] Ito 2 teaches an energy storage device that includes a case, an electrode terminal, and an insulating member disposed between the electrode terminal and a wall of the case (page 4, paragraph 9). The insulating member includes a peripheral wall which extends along the periphery of the electrode terminal, which includes chamfered corners, and a protrusion is formed on a chamfered edge or a chamfered surface of the chamfered corner (page 4, paragraph 9; see Figure 3, reproduced below, element 85). Ito 2 teaches that when the chamfered corner of the insulating member receives a force from the electrode terminal by way of the protrusion, a stress which acts on the chamfered corner is dispersed to a portion of the peripheral wall disposed adjacent to the chamfered corner, thereby minimizing the breakage of the peripheral wall, and increasing its durability (page 5, paragraph 10).
Figure 3, reproduced from Ito 2.
[030] Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery taught by Ito and Li in claim 1 above by incorporating a protrusion extending from one side of the resin insulating member, as taught by Ito 2 in the same field of endeavor, such that the protrusion is located near the rounded portion of the externally connecting portion in the plan view. Ito 2 demonstrates precedent in the art to include protrusions in insert-molded insulators, and teaches that when the chamfered corner of the insulating member receives a force from the electrode terminal by way of the protrusion, a stress which acts on the chamfered corner is dispersed to a portion of the peripheral wall disposed adjacent to the chamfered corner, thereby minimizing the breakage of the peripheral wall, and increasing its durability (page 5, paragraph 10). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation that the incorporation of the protrusion in the insulating member taught by Li with that taught by Ito 2 would have been successful, as it is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. See MPEP 2143(I) B. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Ito 2, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the protrusion extending from the insulating member after manufacturing to order to reduce strain when the electrode terminal provides a force, enhancing the durability of the insulating member.
[031] Regarding claim 10, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 3, wherein the resin insulating member has a rectangular shape in the plan view, excluding the projection.
[032] Ito, Li, and Ito 2 teach the battery of claim 3. Li teaches that the insulating resin member is rectangular in shape (Figure 2, above).
[033] Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery taught by Ito and Li in claim 1 above by incorporating a protrusion extending from one side of the resin insulating member, as taught by Ito 2 in the same field of endeavor, such that the protrusion is located near the rounded portion of the externally connecting portion in the plan view, and the rest of the insulating member is rectangular, as taught by Li in the same field of endeavor, as outlined in claims 1 and 3, above.
[034] Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito, Li, and Ito 2, as with claim 3, above, and further in view of Takano (JP H11129291 A; Henceforth, Takano).
[035] Regarding claim 4, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 3, wherein the resin insulating member includes a tilt region that tilts from the body region toward the projection in the plan view.
[036] Ito, Li, and Ito 2 teach the battery of claim 3. Ito 2 teaches an insulation member that has a tilt region that tilts away from the body region toward the projection (Figure 4, annotated below). Ito 2 does not explicitly teach a motivation for including the tilt region.
Figure 4, reproduced from Ito 2, annotated by the examiner.
[037] Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
[038] Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery taught by Ito, Li and Ito 2 in claim 3 above, wherein the insulation member has a tilt region that tilts from the body towards the protrusion, as taught by Ito 2 and motivated by Takano in the same field of endeavor. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the tilt region in the mold die to allow for better resin flow during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member. This, as a byproduct, would result in an insulation member with a tilt region which enhances the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion. Therefore, the inclusion of the tilt region, demonstrated by Ito 2, would give the battery taught in claim 3 the same structural benefit.
[039] Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito and Li, as with claim 1, above, and further in view of Wakimoto et al (US 9882236 B2; Henceforth, Wakimoto) and Takano.
[040] Regarding claim 5, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 1, wherein the side surfaces of the body of the externally connecting portion, in the plan view, include a first side surface extending along a long side of the rectangular sealing plate, and a second side surface extending along a short side of the sealing plate, and the tapered portion tilts toward the second side surface such that an angle formed by the tapered portion and the first side surface is 100° or more.
[041] Ito and Li teach the battery of claim 1. Neither teach a tapered externally connection portion.
[042] Wakimoto teaches an externally connected portion with two side surfaces, along the long and short sides of the rectangular sealing plate, which includes tapered portions where the angle between the tapered portion and the first side surface is greater than 100 degrees (Figure 11; two annotated versions are provided below; the angle has been measured to be approximately 142 degrees). However, Wakimoto does not teach a rational for including tapered side portions on the externally connected portion.
Figure 11, reproduced from Wakimoto, annotated by the examiner.
Figure 11, reproduced from Wakimoto, annotated to show a measurement of the angle between the first side portion and the tapered portion. It measures approximately 142 degrees.
[043] Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
[044] Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery with the components taught by Ito and Li in claim 1, above, with the externally connected portion of Wakimoto, from the same field of endeavor, to create a secondary battery with an externally connected portion of the electrode terminal having two side surfaces oriented along the long and short sides of the sealing plate, and having the angle between the long side surface and the tapered portion be greater than 100 degrees. Wakimoto demonstrates precedent in the art to use an external terminal portion with two side surfaces oriented along the long and short sides of the sealing plate, and to have the angle between the long side surface and the tapered portion be greater than 100 degrees. The substitution of the shape of externally connected portion of Li to Wakimoto is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. See MPEP 2143((I) B. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the tilt region in the externally connected portion to allow for better resin flow towards the support member during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion and the support member.
[045] Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito and Li, as with claim 1, above, and further in view of Tanaka et al (US 20210159563 A1; Henceforth, Tanaka) and Takano.
[046] Regarding claim 6, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 1, wherein in the electrode terminal, a boundary between the externally connecting portion and the shaft portion has a curved shape in a cross section taken along a height direction of the battery.
[047] Ito and Li teach the battery of claim 1. Neither Ito nor Li teach that the electrode terminal having a curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion.
[048] Tanaka teaches a fastening member (Figure 1, annotated below), which has an external portion and a shaft portion, with a curved boundary between them. This fastening member can effectively be applied to a secondary battery (page 13, paragraph 28). The fastening member is, when in the battery, either the positive- electrode external terminal or a negative-electrode external terminal (page 13, paragraph 29). Tanaka does not explicitly teach the rational for including the curved boundary.
Figure 1, reproduced from Tanaka, annotated by the examiner.
[049] Takano teaches a mold for injection molding (page 4, paragraph 9). Takano teaches that, gas flow during injection molding is improved when using a 45 degree chamfered edge or rounded opening, allowing for the smoother flow of the molten molding material into the cavity when compared to using right angles, resulting in improved mechanical durability (page 6, paragraph 23).
[050] Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery taught by Ito and Li with the chamfered portion of the external terminal member of Tanaka, from the same field of endeavor, to create a secondary battery with an electrode terminal with a curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion. Tanaka demonstrated precedent in the art for using a rounded boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion of the electrode terminal. The substitution of the shape of Ito and Li to that taught by Tanaka is a simple substitution using components of known designs from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. See MPEP 2143(I) B. Additionally, there would have been a motivation, as taught by Takano, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the curved boundary between the externally connected portion and the shaft portion to allow for the smoother flow of resin into the cavity, towards the support member during injection molding, to enhance the mechanical strength of the resulting molded member and enhance the ability for the insulation member to adhere to the externally connected terminal portion and the support member.
[051] Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito and Li, as with claim 1, above, and further in view of Ito 2 and Urano et al (US 20150295221 A1; Henceforth, Urano).
[052] Regarding claim 11, the instant claim is drawn to the battery according to claim 1, wherein the rectangular body of the externally connecting portion has a pair of long sides and a pair of short sides, the resin insulating member has, in the plan view, a rectangular body region having a pair of first sides along the pair of long sides of the externally connecting portion, and a pair of second sides along the pair of short sides of the externally connecting portion, and a projection projecting from one of the pair of second sides of the rectangular body region, and in the externally connecting portion, the tapered portion or the round portion is provided on one of the pair of short sides facing one of the pair of second sides of the resin insulating member, and the tapered portion or the round portion is not provided on the other of the pair of short sides facing the other of the pair of second sides of the resin insulating member.
[053] Ito and Li teach the battery of claim 1. The battery of Ito and Li, as taught in claim 1, has a rectangular externally connecting portion that has a pair of long and a pair of short sides (Ito: Figure 2; Li: Figure 2; both above), a rectangular resin insulating member having a pair of first sides along the pair of long sides of the externally connecting portion (Li, Figure 2), and a pair of second sides along the pair of short sides of the externally connecting portion (Li, Figure 2). While Ito and Li teach the tapered portion or the round portion is provided on both of the pairs of short sides facing one of the pair of second sides of the resin insulating member (Ito, Figures 2 and 3, above), neither Ito nor Li teach that there is a projection extending from one pair of second sides of the rectangular resin insulating member, nor that the tapered/round portion is not provided on the other of the pair of short sides facing the other of the pair of second sides of the resin insulating member.
[054] Ito 2 teaches an energy storage device that includes a case, an electrode terminal, and an insulating member disposed between the electrode terminal and a wall of the case (page 4, paragraph 9). Ito 2 teaches that the edges of the externally connected terminal portion are substantially rounded or tapered on all sides (Figures 3 and 4, above). The insulating member includes a peripheral wall which extends along the periphery of the electrode terminal, which includes chamfered corners, and a protrusion is formed on a chamfered edge or a chamfered surface of the chamfered corner (page 4, paragraph 9; see Figure 3, element 85). Ito 2 teaches that when the chamfered corner of the insulating member receives a force from the electrode terminal by way of the protrusion, a stress which acts on the chamfered corner is dispersed to a portion of the peripheral wall disposed adjacent to the chamfered corner, thereby minimizing the breakage of the peripheral wall, and increasing its durability (page 5, paragraph 10). Ito 2 does not teach that the tapered portion or the round portion is not provided on the other of the pair of short sides facing the other of the pair of second sides of the resin insulating member.
[055] Urano teaches a rectangular secondary battery ([0009]) including a flat-shaped electrode group; a current-collecting plate electrically connected to the electrode group; a battery case accommodating the current-collecting plate and the electrode group; a battery cover that closes an opening of the battery case; an electrode terminal disposed at the battery cover, the electrode terminal being connected to the current-collecting plate via a connecting member; and a gasket that is inserted between the electrode terminal and the battery cover for insulating and sealing ([0009]). An insulator is disposed between the current-collecting plate and the battery cover, the battery cover includes a battery cover side fixing part that engages with the insulator, and the insulator includes a current-collecting plate side fixing part that fixes the current-collecting plate ([0009]). Urano teaches that the electrode terminal has an exterior member that has rounded edges only along one of the short sides of the exterior terminal member (Figure 2, reproduced below).
Figure 1, reproduced from Urano. .
[056] Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery taught by Ito and Li by including a protrusion along one of the short side surfaces of the rectangular insulating member, as taught by Ito 2, and only include rounded edges on one of the short side portions of the external connecting member, as taught by Urano in the same field of endeavor. Ito 2 demonstrates precedent in the art to include protrusions in insert-molded insulators, and teaches that when the chamfered corner of the insulating member receives a force from the electrode terminal by way of the protrusion, a stress which acts on the chamfered corner is dispersed to a portion of the peripheral wall disposed adjacent to the chamfered corner, thereby minimizing the breakage of the peripheral wall, and increasing its durability (page 5, paragraph 10). A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation that the incorporation of the protrusion in the insulating member taught by Li with that taught by Ito 2 would have been successful, as it is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. See MPEP 2143(I) B. There would have been a motivation, as taught by Ito 2, for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to include the protrusion extending from the insulating member after manufacturing to order to reduce strain when the electrode terminal provides a force, enhancing the durability of the insulating member. Additionally, Urano demonstrates precedent in the art to include rounded edges on only one set of short sides of the external portion of an electrode terminal. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective foiling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation that only including one set of rounded corners along the short side of the exterior portion of the electrode terminal member as taught by Urano, in place of the configuration taught by Ito, Li or Ito 2 would have been successful, as it is a simple substitution using components from the same field of endeavor, where a person of ordinary skill in the art would have the reasonable expectation that the function of the battery would not change. See MPEP 2143(I) B.
Conclusion
[057] The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: WO 2019134923 A1 (Henceforth, Rignel).
[058] Rignel teaches a cover plate assembly (Abstract) which contains a boundary frame that is rectangular in shape (Figure 1), protruding from the cover plate. The electrode terminal, having a supporting base (Figure 3), extends through the terminal mounting hole, and a resin insulating member is disposed within the boundaries of the boundary frame and the base support of the electrode terminal (Figure 3). The examiner notes this is similar to what Li teaches.
[059] Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
[060] A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
[061] Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN P MURPHY whose telephone number is (571)272-9321. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:30 pm.
[062] Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
[063] If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nicholas A Smith can be reached at (571) 272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
[064] Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RPM/Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752