DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection was made in view of Dupuy et al (US 2014/0287704 A1), hereinafter, “Dupuy” further in view of “Bagger et al (US 2011/0117862 A1), hereinafter, “Bagger”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14-15, 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al (US2019/0356344 A1), hereinafter, “Takada” in view of Dupuy et al (US 2014/0287704 A1), hereinafter, “Dupuy” further in view of “Bagger et al (US 2011/0117862 A1), hereinafter, “Bagger”.
Regarding claim 1, Takada discloses: A radio frequency circuit (fig 1, para [0021], where describe a radio frequency circuit 1) comprising: a first filter connected to an antenna connection terminal and having a passband including a first band (fig 1, para [0023], where, the multiplexer 27 includes first filter with different pass bands L1, L5 and WL2 and connected to the terminal of the antenna 17);
a second filter connected to the antenna connection terminal and having a passband including a second band (fig 1, para [0023], where, the multiplexer 27 includes second filter with different pass bands L1, L5 and WL2 (may be first, second and third pass bands) and connected to the terminal of the antenna 17); and Takada does not explicitly teach: a first active circuit connected between the first filter and a radio frequency output terminal, wherein the first active circuit includes: a first low noise amplifier; a first capacitor disposed on a feedback path of the first low noise amplifier; and at least one of a first inductor or a first resistor, disposed on the feedback path, and a signal of the first band;
Dupuy teaches: a first active circuit connected to the first filter (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), wherein the first active circuit includes: a first low noise amplifier (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the active circuit includes an LNA 104); a first capacitor disposed on a feedback path of the first low noise amplifier (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), and at least one of a first inductor or a first resistor, disposed on the feedback path (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “a first active circuit connected to the first filter, wherein the first active circuit includes: a first low noise amplifier; a first capacitor disposed on a feedback path of the first low noise amplifier; and at least one of a first inductor or a first resistor, disposed on the feedback path, and a signal of the first band” as taught by Dupuy into Takada in order to provide radio coverage (Dupuy: para [0014]); and
Neither Takada nor Dupuy explicitly teach: a signal of the first band and a signal of the second band are simultaneously transferable.
Bagger teaches: a signal of the first band and a signal of the second band are simultaneously transferable (Bagger: fig 1, para [0046]-[0047], where, enabling simultaneous transmission of both the low-band signal and the high-band signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “a signal of the first band and a signal of the second band are simultaneously transferable” as taught by Bagger into the system of Takada and Dupuy in order to provide improved power efficiency and thereby reduced cost (Bagger: para [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, wherein the first band is a first time division duplex (TDD) band that is used in TDD , the second band is a second TDD band that is used in TDD (Dupuy: fig 36, para [0194], where, “using steerable antennas in full duplex mode to dynamically adjust the pattern, direction, or gain of an RF front end with a variable transmitter and a variable receiver including an adjustable LDA to cover different bands for time division duplex (TDD) per antenna”), the first filter is an LC filter including at least one inductor and at least one capacitor (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0108], where, the LC filter includes capacitor and inductor), and an attenuation amount of the first active circuit in a frequency region between the first band and the second band is larger than an attenuation amount of the first filter in the frequency region (Dupuy: para [0140], where, “A good splitter has around 3.5 dB attenuation. Its position in the TX and RX is ideally located in FIG. 14”).
Regarding claim 3, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, wherein the first band is a downlink operating band of a first frequency division duplexing (FDD) band that is used in FDD, the second band is an uplink operating band of a second FDD band that is used in FDD (Dupuy: fig 37, para [0195], where, “using steerable antennas in full duplex mode to dynamically adjust the pattern, direction, or gain of an RF front end with a variable transmitter and a variable receiver including an adjustable LDA to cover different bands for frequency division duplex (FDD)”), the first filter is an acoustic wave filter including at least one acoustic wave resonator and the first active circuit has a passband including the downlink operating band (Takada: para [0038], where, “Among the filters in FIG. 4, filters L1 and L5 of the multiplexer 27, and the filters 123 to 126 in the FE circuit 40 are preferably acoustic wave filters”).
Regarding claim 4, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 3, wherein the first active circuit has an attenuation band including the uplink operating band , and an attenuation amount of the first filter at a frequency end closer to the first band out of two frequency ends of the second band is larger than the attenuation amount of the first active circuit at the frequency end (Takada: para [0007]-[0013], where, second band is situated on the higher side of the pass band and this configuration reduces or minimizes an increase in the number of antennas resulting from an increase in the number of frequency bands, para [0009]).
.
Regarding claim 5, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, wherein the first band is on a lower-frequency side than the second band, one of the first filter or the first active circuit is a low-pass filter that includes the first band in a passband and the second band in an attenuation band, and another of the first filter or the first active circuit is a high-pass filter that includes the first band in a passband and a band on a lower-frequency side than the first band in an attenuation band (Takada: para [0007]-[0013], where, first band is situated on the lower side of the pass band and this configuration reduces or minimizes an increase in the number of antennas resulting from an increase in the number of frequency bands).
Regarding claim 6, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, wherein the first active circuit further includes a first switch disposed on the feedback path between the first low noise amplifier and at least one of the first capacitor, the first inductor, or the first resistor (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series).
Regarding claim 7, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 6, wherein in a first mode in which a signal of the first band and a signal of the second band are simultaneously transferred the first switch is in a conducting state, and in a second mode in which only a signal of the first band out of the signal of the first band and a signal of the second band is transferred, the first switch is in a non-conducting state (Bagger: fig 1, para [0046]-[0047], where, enabling simultaneous transmission of both the low-band signal and the high-band signal).
Regarding claim 8, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 6, wherein the first active circuit further includes: at least one of a second capacitor or a second inductor, disposed on the feedback path (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series); and a second switch that is disposed on the feedback path between the first low noise amplifier and the at least one of the second capacitor or the second inductor (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series).
Regarding claim 9, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 8, wherein a passband of the first filter and a passband of the first active circuit include a third band that overlaps at least partially the first band, in a first mode in which a signal of the first band and a signal of the second band are transferred simultaneously, the first switch is in a conducting state and the second switch is in a non-conducting state, and in a third mode in which a signal of the third band and a signal of the second band are transferred simultaneously, the first switch and the second switch are in the conducting state (Bagger: fig 1, para [0046]-[0047], where, enabling simultaneous transmission of both the low-band signal and the high-band signal).
Regarding claim 10, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, further comprising: a second active circuit connected to the second filter, wherein the second active circuit includes: a second low noise amplifier; a third capacitor disposed on a feedback path of the second low noise amplifier (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series); and at least one of a third inductor or a third resistor, disposed on the feedback path (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series).
Regarding claim 11, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, wherein the first low noise amplifier, the first capacitor, and the at least one of the first inductor or the first resistor are disposed on a single board or in a single package (Dupuy: fig 3, para [0105]-[0107], where, the resonant circuit 108 the feedback unit to LNA 104 comprises a Capacitor C is equivalent to “first filter” with series inductor comprising a first active circuit), where, module 104 is equivalent to “an LNA (Low Noise Amplifier)” and module 108 equivalent to “feedback path” which includes a first capacitor and an inductor in series).
Regarding claim 12, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 6, wherein the first low noise amplifier, the first capacitor, the at least one of the first inductor or the first resistor, and the first switch are included in a single semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) (Takada: fig 3, para [0030], where, the “the FE circuit 32 includes switches 101 to 105, duplexers 111 and 112, filters 121 and 122, power amplifiers 131 to 133, and low noise amplifiers 141 to 143”).
Regarding claim 14, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, wherein the first filter, the second filter, and the first active circuit are included in a single semiconductor IC (Takada: para [0009], where, “The first multiplexer includes a first filter having a pass band that includes the first frequency band, and a third filter having a pass band different from the pass band of the first filter. The second multiplexer includes a second filter having a pass band that includes the second frequency band, and a fourth filter having a pass band different from the pass band of the second filter”).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: wherein the first band is any one of n77 or n78 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0032], where, the NR band n78 equivalent to “first band”), and the second band is n79 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0033], where, the NR band n79 equivalent to “second band”).
Regarding claim 20, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 9, wherein the first band is n77 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0032], where, the NR band n77 equivalent to “first band”), the second band is n79 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0033], where, the NR band n79 equivalent to “second band”); and the third band is any one of Band 42 for 4G-LTE or n78 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0032], where, the NR band n78 equivalent to “third band”).
Regarding claim 21, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: A communication device (Takada: fig 1, where, “mobile terminal apparatus” equivalent to “communication device”, para [0090]) comprising: a signal processing circuit (Takada: fig 1, circuit 50, a signal processing circuit, para [0021]) configured to process a radio frequency signal (Takada: fig 1, circuit 50, a signal processing circuit, para [0021], where, process a radio frequency signal); and the radio frequency circuit of claim 1 configured to transfer the radio frequency signal between the signal processing circuit and an antenna (Takada: fig 1, para [0021]-[0024], where, the radio-frequency circuit 1, process the RF signal and transfer the signal from RFIC 50 through the antenna 11-14).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al (US2019/0356344 A1), hereinafter, “Takada” in view of Dupuy et al (US 2014/0287704 A1), hereinafter, “Dupuy” further in view of “Bagger et al (US 2011/0117862 A1), hereinafter, “Bagger” further in view of Takewa et al (US 2009/0034751 A1), hereinafter, “Takewa”.
Regarding claim 13, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the first filter and the second filter (Takada: para [0009], where, “The first multiplexer includes a first filter having a pass band that includes the first frequency band, and a third filter having a pass band different from the pass band of the first filter. The second multiplexer includes a second filter having a pass band that includes the second frequency band”); neither Takada nor Dupuy nor Wang explicitly teach: are disposed on the first principal surface, and the first active circuit is disposed on the second principal surface; a module board including a first principal surface and a second principal surface on opposite sides of the module board,
Takewa teaches: filters are disposed on the first principal surface, and the first active circuit is disposed on the second principal surface; a module board including a first principal surface and a second principal surface on opposite sides of the module board (para [0026], where, “the electro-acoustical transducer according to the present invention includes: a diaphragm of an elongated shape; a coil provided at a side of one principal surface of the diaphragm; and a magnet provided at a side of the other principal surface of the diaphragm. The coil is situated on the one principal surface, within a range between extremities of the magnet in the short side direction of the diaphragm”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “filters are disposed on the first principal surface, and the first active circuit is disposed on the second principal surface; a module board including a first principal surface and a second principal surface on opposite sides of the module board” as taught by Takewa into the system of Takada in order to increase the magnetic flux density (Takewa: para [0085]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al (US2019/0356344 A1), hereinafter, “Takada” in view of Dupuy et al (US 2014/0287704 A1), hereinafter, “Dupuy” further in view of “Bagger et al (US 2011/0117862 A1), hereinafter, “Bagger” further in view of ONO et al (JP 2021/016052 A), hereinafter, “ONO”.
Regarding claim 16, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 3, neither Takada nor Dupuy nor Wang explicitly teach: wherein the first band and the second band are each any one of Band 5, Band 8, Band 12, Band 13, Band 14, Band 17, Band 20, Band 26, Band 28, Band 71, n5, n8, n12, n13, n14, n17, n20, n26, n28, or n71, Band 5, Band 8, Band 12, Band 13, Band 14, Band 17, Band 20, Band 26, Band 28, and Band 71 are for 4G-LTE, and n5, n8, n12, n13, n14, n17, n20, n26, n28, and n71 are for 5G-NR.
ONO teaches: wherein the first band and the second band are each any one of Band 5, Band 8, Band 12, Band 13, Band 14, Band 17, Band 20, Band 26, Band 28, Band 71, n5, n8, n12, n13, n14, n17, n20, n26, n28, or n71, Band 5, Band 8, Band 12, Band 13, Band 14, Band 17, Band 20, Band 26, Band 28, and Band 71 are for 4G-LTE (ONO: DESCRIPTION: para 3, where, “when the transmission circuit 10 transmits the transmission signal of Band 13 (communication band 13) of 4G-LTE”), and n5, n8, n12, n13, n14, n17, n20, n26, n28, and n71 are for 5G-NR (ONO: DESCRIPTION: para 3, where, “the transmission circuit 20 transmits the transmission signal of n26 (communication band 26) of 5G-NR”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein the first band and the second band are each any one of Band 5, Band 8, Band 12, Band 13, Band 14, Band 17, Band 20, Band 26, Band 28, Band 71, n5, n8, n12, n13, n14, n17, n20, n26, n28, or n71, Band 5, Band 8, Band 12, Band 13, Band 14, Band 17, Band 20, Band 26, Band 28, and Band 71 are for 4G-LTE, and n5, n8, n12, n13, n14, n17, n20, n26, n28, and n71 are for 5G-NR” as taught by ONO into the system of Takada in order to optimize the communication environment of this EN-DC (ONO: fig 3, para 33).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada et al (US2019/0356344 A1), hereinafter, “Takada” in view of Dupuy et al (US 2014/0287704 A1), hereinafter, “Dupuy” further in view of “Bagger et al (US 2011/0117862 A1), hereinafter, “Bagger” further in view of Cariou et al (US 2013/0177092 A1), hereinafter, “Cariou”.
Regarding claim 18, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 6, wherein, the second band is any one of n79, n96, or n97 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0033], where, the NR band n79 equivalent to “second band”); and neither Takada nor Dupuy nor Wang explicitly teach: the first band is n46 for 5G-NR,
Cariou teaches: the first band is n46 for 5G-NR (Cariou: para [0278], where, “the first and second frequency sample vectors, samples N31 to N34 between the second and third frequency sample vectors, and samples N43 to N46 between the third and fourth frequency sample vectors”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “the first band is n46 for 5G-NR” as taught by Cariou into the system of Takada in order to reduce the time required to relay the feedback (Cariou: para [0009]).
Regarding claim 19, Takada modified by Dupuy and modified by Bagger disclose: The radio frequency circuit (Takada: fig 3, para [0049]) of claim 6, wherein the first band is any one of n96 or n97 for 5G-NR (Takada: fig 1-3, para [0032], where, the NR band n77 equivalent to “first band”), and neither Takada nor Dupuy nor Wang explicitly teach: the second band is n46 for 5G-NR.
Cariou teaches: the second band is n46 for 5G-NR (Cariou: para [0278], where, “the first and second frequency sample vectors, samples N31 to N34 between the second and third frequency sample vectors, and samples N43 to N46 between the third and fourth frequency sample vectors”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “the second band is n46 for 5G-NR” as taught by Cariou into the system of Takada in order to reduce the time required to relay the feedback (Cariou: para [0009]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461