DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2001/0021756 A1 (herein “Noda”) in view of 2022/0064340 A1 (herein “Mishra”).
As to claims 1 and 6: Noda describes processes for preparing a fluoropolymer (see the abstract). Noda describes an example of a method (see Example 1 in ¶¶ [0025]-[0026]) comprising polymerizing fluoromonomers in the presence of a fluorine-containing surfactant, a polymerization initiator, and an aqueous medium to prepare a dispersion (see ¶ [0025]). The unreacted monomer mixture is removed from the reactor (see ¶ [0026]).
Noda does not disclose the presently recited steps of adding a radical generator to the dispersion and subjecting it to a heat treatment.
Mishra discloses methods for forming acrylic emulsions (see the abstract). Mishra discloses that a chaser is added to the reaction mixture at a third predetermined temperature, the polymerization is then allowed to complete, and the chaser can potentially scavenge any unreacted monomer (see ¶ [0038]). Mishra discloses that the third temperature may be from about 40 °C to about 70 °C (id.), corresponding to the presently recited heat treatment. Mishra discloses that the radical initiators set forth therein can be used for the chaser (see ¶ [0041]).
In light of Mishra, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add a chaser (radical initiator) to Noda’s dispersion and subject it to a heat treatment at about 40 °C to about 70 °C in order to scavenge unreacted monomer.
As to claims 2-3: Mishra further discloses various water-soluble radical generators and generators having a decomposition temperature lower than the cited third temperature of about 70 °C (see ¶ [0041]).
As to claim 4: Mishra discloses inorganic peroxides such as potassium persulfate and others (see ¶ [0041]).
As to claim 5: The cited process of Noda yields 445 g of polymer after drying (see ¶ [0026]), and because the sum of the amounts of ingredients added into the reactor is less than 44,500 g (see ¶ [0025]), the content of the fluoropolymer in the dispersion must be greater than 1% by mass.
As to claim 7: Mishra further discloses a treatment step of allowing the mixture to cool (see the end of ¶ [0038]).
As to claims 9: Noda further discloses a step of coagulating the polymer (see ¶ [0026]).
As to claim 10: Noda further discloses a fluorine-containing surfactant according to the presently recited chemical formula (see ¶ [0025]).
As to claim 11: Because the combination of Noda and Mishra as set forth above would result in the treatment of residual fluoromonomers with various water-soluble radical generators, there is a reasonable basis to conclude that the combination of Noda and Mishra as set forth above would result in the same water-soluble low-molecular weight compounds for the same reason that they occur in the present invention.
As to claim 15: Noda discloses TFE and HFP (see ¶ [0025]).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 11 refers to the method of base claim 1 and subsequently recites a limitation regarding “the fluoropolymer composition having a reduced content of the water-soluble, fluorine-containing compound”. Base claim 1 does not recite a fluoropolymer composition having a reduced content of a water-soluble, fluorine-containing compound; and therefore, the reference in claim 11 to “the fluoropolymer composition having a reduced content of the water-soluble, fluorine-containing compound” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claims 12-14 are dependent upon claim 11, and they are indefinite for the same reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
/RICHARD A. HUHN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764