CTFR 18/349,423 CTFR 99700 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment Applicant’s submission filed on 03/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 are pending in the application. Response to Arguments Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. ( US 2024/0008143 A1), hereinafter “LI” in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0262446 A1), hereinafter “KIM” . Regarding claim 1 , LI teaches, ‘A user equipment which communicates using a plurality of subscribe identity modules (SIMs), comprising: a memory storing a program; and one or more processors configured to execute the program to: communicate with a base station in a first network;’ (Paragraph [0037], For the 5th Generation mobile communication technology, a UE 110, for example, a smart phone, may have a single subscriber identity module (SIM) or multiple subscriber identity modules (Multi-SIMs)… When the UE has Multi-SIMs, the UE may connect to more than one network nodes. Paragraph [0039], When a UE has Multi-SIMs, the UE may be called as a Multi-SIM device… For example, a first SIM (USIM1) of the UE registers with a network A (the first network). Paragraph [0051], Referring to FIG. 3, the system circuitry 304 may include one or more processors 321 and memories 322. The memory 322 stores, for example, an operating system 324, instructions 326, and parameters 328. The processor 321 is configured to execute the instructions 326 to carry out desired functionality for the UE 300); ‘transmit, to the base station, a UEAssistancelnformation message including configuration information indicating a preference of a time gap for the user equipment to communicate in a second network in a case where the user equipment has the preference of the time gap, the configuration information including first information indicating a length of the time gap and second information indicating a repetition period of the time gap;’ (Paragraph [0085], FIG. 11 shows one example of the periodic leaving procedure. In step 1151, a UE 1110 sends a switching notification to a Network A (a first network, 1120) indicating a periodic short time. Paragraph [0086], the parameters for the paging to indicate the gap may include at least one of the following: indication of need for gap, for example, UE may need for gap… gap pattern request, e.g., gap start time, gap repetition period, etc.; and/or gap length. Paragraph [0089], In various embodiments, for each gap pattern, the UE may indicate the duration of the gap, gap start time, gap repetition period, the reference SCS. Paragraph [0091], the Asn.1 coding for the one or more gap patterns with one or more purposes may be expressed [Note: “UEAssistanceInformation” matching the standard architecture of the request mapping directly inside the parameter blocks] ); ‘…indicating the preference of the time gap in a case where the user equipment indicates that the user equipment does not have the preference of the time gap;’ (Paragraph [0086], the parameters for the paging to indicate the gap may include at least one of the following: indication of need for gap, for example, UE may need for gap, or disable the need for gap ( e.g., if the other SIM is disabled); gap pattern request, e.g., gap start time, gap repetition period, etc.; and/or gap length. Paragraph [0134], In another implementation, when the UE doesn't receive any gap mode information from the gNB, it's left to the UE implementation, or keep connected at the current network); ‘receive, from the base station, an RRCReconfiguration message including third information indicating the length of the time gap and fourth information indicating the repetition period of the time gap as indicated by the configuration information from the user equipment’ (Paragraph [0085], In step 1152, the network A sends a RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. Paragraph [0112], for the dedicated signaling, the network may adopt value recommended by the UE. Paragraph [0118], In another implementation, the RRC signal may be RRCReconfiguration message [Note: relying on the baseline system architecture establishing that this reconfiguration contains the target TDM or periodic Gap patterns with the matching length/period parameters determined in sequence layout] ) ‘and transmit, to the base station, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message in response to the RRCReconfiguration message.’ (Paragraph [0085], In step 1153, the UE sends a RRCReconfigurationComplete to the network A [Note: See FIG. 11, Step 1153, exact physical message flow] ). LI does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘transmit, to the base station, a UEAssistancelnformation message not including the configuration information…’ (KIM – Paragraph [0109], When it is no longer necessary for the second network to monitor paging, if a predetermined RRC message (UEAssistanceinformation) (lj-65) does not include any field in the new IE for comprising the request information, it means that the UE preference for the previous request is no longer existed. For example, it means to request normal scheduling restart. Claim [17], in case that the terminal has no longer the preference on the gap, transmitting, to the base station, assistance information without the information indicating the preference on the gap)… It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into LI is that KIM provides supporting a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs) in a wireless communication system may include determining switching to a second network corresponding to a second SIM in a state connected to a first network corresponding to a first SIM, transmitting, to a first base station of the first network, a first message including periodic gap information, receiving, from the first base station, a second message including a gap configuration based on the periodic gap information, and stopping data transmission and reception between the terminal and the first base station and performing a standby mode operation for the second network based on the gap configuration. (See paragraph [0007], KIM) Regarding claims 2, 5 and 8 , LI and KIM teach, the user equipment according to claim 1, LI does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the program to: receive, from the base station, an RRC message including information for releasing the time gap;’ (KIM – Claim [21], The method of claim 19, wherein, in case that a periodic gap is configured based on the configuration, the periodic gap is released based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to release the configuration being received . Claim [28], The terminal of claim 26, wherein, in case that a periodic gap is configured based on the configuration, the periodic gap is released based on a radio resource control (RRC) signaling to release the configuration being received . Paragraph [0094], The periodic data transmission and reception stop may be released based on a timer, according to a configuration, or by a UE request . Paragraph [0129], In steps ll-45, t he base station releases the periodic gap according to a request through explicit signaling or based on a timer); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into LI is that KIM provides supporting a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs) in a wireless communication system may include determining switching to a second network corresponding to a second SIM in a state connected to a first network corresponding to a first SIM, transmitting, to a first base station of the first network, a first message including periodic gap information, receiving, from the first base station, a second message including a gap configuration based on the periodic gap information, and stopping data transmission and reception between the terminal and the first base station and performing a standby mode operation for the second network based on the gap configuration. (See paragraph [0007], KIM) Regarding claim 4 , LI teaches, ‘ A base station in a first network, which communicates with a user equipment which uses a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs), comprising: a memory storing a program; and one or more processors configured to execute the program to:’ (Paragraph [0036], FIG. 1 shows a wireless communication system 100 including more than one wireless network nodes (118 and 119) and one or more user equipment (UE) (110, 111, and 112). Paragraph [0037], For the 5th Generation mobile communication technology, a UE 110… may have… multiple subscriber identity modules (Multi-SIMs)… When the UE has Multi-SIMs, the UE may connect to more than one network nodes (118 and 119). Paragraph [0038], The wireless network node (118 and 119) may include a network base station, which may be a nodeB (NB, e.g., a gNB). Paragraph [0048], The electronic device 200 may also include system circuitry 204. System circuitry 204 may include processor(s) 221 and/or memory 222. Memory 222 may include an operating system 224, instructions 226, and parameters 228. Instructions 226 may be configured for the one or more of the processors 221 to perform the functions of the network node): ‘receive, from the user equipment, a UEAssistancelnformation message including configuration information indicating a preference of a time gap for the user equipment to communicate in a second network, the configuration information including first information indicating a length of the time gap and second information indicating a repetition period of the time gap;’ (Paragraph [0085], FIG. 11 shows one example of the periodic leaving procedure. In step 1151, a UE 1110 sends a switching notification to a Network A (a first network, 1120) indicating a periodic short time. Paragraph [0086], the parameters for the paging to indicate the gap may include at least one of the following: indication of need for gap… gap pattern request, e.g., gap start time, gap repetition period, etc.; and/or gap length. Paragraph [0089], In various embodiments, for each gap pattern, the UE may indicate the duration of the gap, gap start time, gap repetition period, the reference SCS. Paragraph [0091], he Asn.1 coding for the one or more gap patterns with one or more purposes may be expressed [Note: “UEAssistanceInformation” matching the standard architecture of the request mapping directly inside the parameter blocks] ); ‘obtain the configuration information indicating the preference of the time gap included in the UEAssistancelnformation message;’ (Paragraph [0054], step 510: receiving, by the RAN node, a switch notification indicating leaving assistance information; step 520: determining, by the RAN node, a switch configuration for a leaving configuration. Paragraph [0090], In various embodiments, the network may receive the duration of each gap, and determine the scheduling based on the duration and SCS of initial BWP or the reference SCS indicated by the UE); ‘transmit, to the user equipment, an RRCReconfiguration message including third information indicating the length of the time gap and fourth information indicating the repetition period of the time gap as indicated by the configuration information from the user equipment;’ (Paragraph [0085], In step 1152, the network A sends a RRCReconfiguration message to the UE. Paragraph [0112], the network may adopt value recommended by the UE. Paragraph [0118], In another implementation, the RRC signal may be RRCReconfiguration message [Note: relying on the baseline system architecture establishing that this reconfiguration contains the target TDM or periodic Gap patterns with the matching length/period parameters determined in sequence layout] ); ‘and receive, from the user equipment, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message in response to the RRCReconfiguration message;’ (Paragraph [0085], In step 1153, the UE sends a RRCReconfigurationComplete to the network A [Note: See FIG. 11, Step 1153, exact physical message flow] ); LI does not explicitly teach but KIM teaches, ‘wherein in a case where the configuration information indicating the preference of the time gap is not included in a UEAssistancelnformation message received from the user equipment, it is indicated by the user equipment that the user equipment does not have the preference of the time gap.’ (KIM – Paragraph [0109], When it is no longer necessary for the second network to monitor paging, if a predetermined RRC message (UEAssistanceinformation) (lj-65) does not include any field in the new IE for comprising the request information, it means that the UE preference for the previous request is no longer existed. For example, it means to request normal scheduling restart). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of KIM with LI because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of KIM into LI is that KIM provides supporting a plurality of subscriber identity modules (SIMs) in a wireless communication system may include determining switching to a second network corresponding to a second SIM in a state connected to a first network corresponding to a first SIM, transmitting, to a first base station of the first network, a first message including periodic gap information, receiving, from the first base station, a second message including a gap configuration based on the periodic gap information, and stopping data transmission and reception between the terminal and the first base station and performing a standby mode operation for the second network based on the gap configuration. (See paragraph [0007], KIM) Claim 7 lists all the same elements of claim 1, but in method form rather than apparatus form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 7. LI teaches with regards to the limitation of ‘method’ (Paragraph [0034], methods). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HAESHIL J CHOI whose telephone number is (703)756-5409 . The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jae Y Lee can be reached on 571-270-3936 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 2 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 3 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 4 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 5 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 6 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 7 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 8 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 9 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 10 Art Unit: 2479 Application/Control Number: 18/349,423 Page 11 Art Unit: 2479