DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 13, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stetson (US 2,173,076).
Regarding Claim 1, Stetson discloses a pair of side panels 25; a back panel 35; a front panel 33; a roof panel 28, wherein each of the pair of side panels is attached to the front panel and the back panel along a side edge of the pair of side panels and to the roof panel to form an enclosure having an interior space (Fig. 3); at least one door 37 on at least one of the front and back panels; at least one window 38 on one of the pair of side panels; and a mounting system 60.
Regarding Claims 2 and 5, the mounting system 60 anchors posts 30 to the truck bed over a cargo area.
Regarding Claims 3, 4 and 14, the posts 20 of Stetson are between 4 and 8 (see Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Stetson discloses a vehicle having a cargo bed (Fig. 1), the cargo bed having side walls, a tailgate at a first end and a wall of a passenger cabin at another end opposite the first end (Fig. 2); an enclosure formed from lightweight panels forming side wall 25 and horizontal panels forming a roof 28; at least one of the lightweight panels having a door 37 and at least one of the lightweight panels having a window 38; a mounting system 60 for mounting the enclosure on the sidewalls of the vehicle cargo bed and the mounting system including a number of posts.
Regarding Claim 16, the enclosure is made of framing elements of wood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stetson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cullen (US 11,458,906).
Regarding Claim 6, it is unclear if Stetson disclose the use of lights. Cullen discloses a cargo enclosure of a truck, including multiple lights to light the enclosure when in use. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the lighting of Cullen in the enclosure of Stetson in order to provide a better sight environment for the users to enable better use during dark or lowlight conditions.
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stetson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dadone (US 2022/0324371).
Regarding Claim 7, Regarding Claim 7, Stetson discloses the use of ventilation, but does not expressly disclose a fan. Dadone discloses a cargo area cover in which a fan is included for ventilation (see paragraph 0076). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the fan of Dadone in the cargo cover of Stetson in order to ventilate the area for better comfort when in use.
Regarding Claim 11, Dadone further discloses the use of a front door 134 to pass materials through (see Fig. 7).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stetson as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Chen (CN 112896027).
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Stetson does not appear to disclose the use of an aerodynamic portion on the front of the cover. Chen discloses a cargo area covering for a vehicle, in which an aerodynamic portion 5 is attached to the cover at the front of the roof (see Fig. 1). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the aero cap of Chen on the device of Stetson in order to save fuel by improving the aero efficiency of the vehicle, thereby saving fuel and cost while travelling.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Chen discloses that in one embodiment (see Fig. 3) the angle of the aerodynamic device 5 is approximately 45 degrees, but that the angle is adjustable across a multitude of angles to fit the desired height and storage unit it is used with (see translation, paragraph 0020).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Stetson and Chen discloses an enclosure constructed from a plurality of lightweight panels held together by a plurality of framing elements (Stetson), horizontal panels (28; Stetson) forming a roof connected to the plurality of lightweight panels and a front and back panel forming the enclosure (33, 35; Stetson); a mounting system using a post anchor system and having between 4 and 8 posts for insertion into slots in the pickup truck bed (Stetson); at least one door (37: Stetson) provided in one of the front or back panels; at least one window (38; Stetson) provided in the plurality of lightweight panels; and an aerodynamic portion (Chen) removably attached to the enclosure.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stetson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bull (US 5,339,852).
Regarding Claim 12, Stetson does not appear to disclose the use of slots in the door. Bull discloses a cover for a truck box, including a door 50 which includes slots 60 for viewing. Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the slots of Bull on the door of Stetson as a way to see outside while seated within the enclosure.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, 11 and 13-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,752,917. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because;
Claims 1 and 13 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 1 of the ‘917 patent.
Claim 2 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 1 of the ‘917 patent.
Claims 3-5, 8, 11, 14, 15 and 17 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 5 of the ‘917 patent.
Claim 16 of the present application is fully anticipated by Claim 4 of the ‘917 patent.
Conclusion
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612