DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 10, 2023 and February 27, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(2) as being anticipated by NAGARAJAN et al. (US 20220191869 A1), hereinafter Nagarajan.
Regarding Claim 1, Nagarajan discloses A method for transmitting information (¶0008 a method for a UE configured to communicate, with a base station (BS) over a random access channel), comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device (¶0108 FIG. 8, UE 104), first indication information, (¶0113-0114, Fig. 8, At 810, UE 104 receive a random access response (i.e. message 2, ¶0117, as first indication))
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a transmission parameter for target information during a random access procedure; (Fig. 8, ¶0113 At 810, the BS 102/180 transmits a random access response (i.e. message 2, ¶0117, as first indication) indicating the timing advance information, the uplink resource, and the temporary ID (indicates transmission parameters for target information) for the UE 104 to transmit a connection request (i.e. message 3, ¶0117, as target information) at step 814 (¶0115) based on these transmission parameters) and
transmitting, by the terminal device, the target information based on the transmission parameters during the random access procedure. (Fig. 8, ¶0114 At 812, upon receiving the random access response, the UE 104 processes the random access response. The UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource, the temporary ID, and the timing advance information (transmission parameters) from the random access response. ¶0115 At 814, the UE 104 transmits a connection request (i.e. message 3, ¶0117, as target information) to the BS 102/180 based on the UL resource, the temporary ID, and the timing advance information.)
Regarding Claim 8, Nagarajan discloses A terminal device (Fig. 3, ¶0071 UE 350), comprising: a first transceiver (Fig. 3, ¶0073,0076 UE 354 TX/RX), a first processor (Fig. 3, ¶0073 processor 356/368), and a first memory for storing a computer program (Fig. 3, ¶0074 memory 360); wherein the first transceiver, the first processor and the first memory communicate through a first communication bus; (¶0071 FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network) the first processor is configured to communicate with a network device (Fig. 3, ¶0071 base station 310) through the first transceiver; and the first transceiver is configured to perform the methods that do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, claim 8 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16, Nagarajan discloses A network device (Fig. 3, ¶0071 base station 310) comprising a second transceiver (Fig. 3, ¶0072,0077 Base Station TX/RX 318), a second processor (Fig. 3, ¶0072 processor 316/370), and a second memory for storing a computer program; (Fig. 3, ¶0078 memory 376); wherein the second transceiver, the second processor and the second memory communicate through a second communication bus; (¶0071 FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network) the second processor is configured to communicate with the terminal device (Fig. 3, ¶0071 UE 350), through the second transceiver; and the second transceiver is configured to
send first indication information, (¶0113-0114, Fig. 8, At 810, the BS 102/180 transmits a random access response (i.e. message 2, ¶0117, as first indication))
wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a transmission parameter for target information during a random access procedure; (Fig. 8, ¶0113 At 810, the BS 102/180 transmits a random access response (i.e. message 2, ¶0117, as first indication) indicating the timing advance information, the uplink resource, and the temporary ID (indicates transmission parameters for target information) for the UE 104 to transmit a connection request (i.e. message 3, ¶0117, as target information) at step 814 (¶0115) based on these transmission parameters) and
transmit the target information based on the transmission parameter. (¶0112, Fig. 8, The BS 102/180 may determine uplink transmission timing of the UE 104 and assign a UL resource and a temporary identifier (ID) (transmission parameters) to the UE 104 for sending a subsequent message based on the received PRACH signal. ¶0117, Fig. 8, the random access signature may be referred to as a random access-radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI). The temporary ID may be referred to as a temporary cell-radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI). The BS 102 transmit the random access response (step 810, message 2) and the connection response (step 818, message 4) as the target information using the transmission parameters)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 13-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGARAJAN et al. (US 20220191869 A1), hereinafter Nagarajan, and further in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20220322411 A1), hereinafter Matsumura.
Regarding Claim 2, Nagarajan discloses claim 1. Though Nagarajan discloses the RAR and connection request in ¶0113-0115, Nagarajan does not explicitly mention data or control information for Msg2/3/4 wherein the target information comprises at least one of:
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 2 (Msg2);
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 3 (Msg3);
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 4 (Msg4); and
control information of a feedback message corresponding to the Msg4.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
wherein the target information comprises at least one of:
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 2 (Msg2); (Fig. 1, 2, 3 ¶0031 UE receives RAR (Msg. 2) and establishes UL synchronization by adjusting a UL transmission timing based on timing advance (TA) included in the RAR. ¶0130 random access response (RAR) transmitted in a PDSCH)
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 3 (Msg3); (Fig. 1, 2, 3 ¶0031 the UE transmits a higher-layer (L2/L3: Layer 2/Layer 3) control message (Fig.1, Msg3) with a UL resource specified by a UL grant included in the RAR ¶0035 When having received Message 2, the UE may transmit UL data (for example, PUSCH) based on a UL transmission indication (UL grant) included in Message 2)
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 4 (Msg4); (Fig. 1, 0032 The base station transmits a contention-resolution message in accordance with the higher-layer control message (Message 4). ¶0130 The contention-resolution may have a function similar to that of Message 4 (PDSCH) in the existing random access procedure.) and
control information of a feedback message corresponding to the Msg4. (Fig. 1, 0032 When having successfully detected the contention-resolution message (Msg4), the UE transmits acknowledge (ACK) in a HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest) (feedback) to the base station)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claim 3, Nagarajan discloses claim 1. Nagarajan further discloses wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, timing advance information, (¶0114 At 812 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource, the temporary ID, and the timing advance information from the random access response.)
determining, by the terminal device, the first indication information based on the timing advance information. (¶0114 At 812 UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal on a single-RB resource or multi-RB resource depending on the transmit power of the transmitted PRACH signal and/or the measured uplink transmission timing (timing advance information) by the BS 102/180, indicates the UE determining first indication information based on timing advance information)
Nagarajan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the timing advance information is used for uplink synchronization; and
Matsumura, however, disclose:
wherein the timing advance information is used for uplink synchronization; (¶0031 discloses when having received the RAR, the UE establishes UL synchronization by adjusting a UL transmission timing based on timing advance (TA) included in the RAR) and
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claim 5, Nagarajan discloses claim 1. Nagarajan further discloses wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, resource scheduling information, (Fig. 8, ¶0113-0114, At 810, UE receive the random access response (RAR, Msg2, ¶0117) and obtain information associated with the UL resource)
wherein the resource scheduling information is used for scheduling uplink resources for the Msg3; (¶ 0115, At 814, the UE 104 transmits a connection request ((¶0117 Message 3) to the BS 102/180 based on the UL resource information received in the RAR at 810) and
determining, by the terminal device, the first indication information based on the resource scheduling information. (¶0115 At 814, the UE 104 transmits a connection request (¶0117 Message 3) to the BS 102/180 based on the UL resource (¶0113 received at 810), indicates UE determines the first indication information for the Msg. 3)
Though Nagarajan discloses UL resource information sent in the RAR (Fig. 8), Nagarajan does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, by the terminal device, resource scheduling information, wherein the resource scheduling information is used for scheduling uplink resources for the Msg3; determining, by the terminal device, the first indication information based on the resource scheduling information.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
receiving, by the terminal device, resource scheduling information, wherein the resource scheduling information is used for scheduling uplink resources for the Msg3; determining, by the terminal device, the first indication information based on the resource scheduling information. (Fig. 2, 3, ¶0046 For example, a PUSCH scheduled by a UL grant (RAR UL grant) included in a response signal (RAR) corresponding to a random access preamble.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claim 6, Nagarajan and Matsumura discloses claim 5. Nagarajan further discloses:
wherein the transmission parameter comprises the aggregation factor for transmitting the target information, (¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource. The UL resource may correspond to information indicating which aggregation level (factor) to be selected from the nested data structure of aggregation levels such that the UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal on a single-RB resource or multi-RB resource depending on the transmit power of the transmitted PRACH signal and/or the measured uplink transmission timing by the BS 102/180) and
determining the first indication information based on the resource scheduling information comprises: (¶0113-0115 UE 104 determines single-RB resource or multi-RB resource based on information received associated with the UL resource scheduling)
determining, by the terminal device, an aggregation factor corresponding to a number of resource blocks carried in the resource scheduling information based on a correspondence between a number of resource blocks and aggregation factors. (¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource. The UL resource may correspond to information indicating which aggregation level (factor) to selected. UE 104 determines PUCCH signal on a single-RB resource or multi-RB resource (aggregation factor) depending on the transmit power of the transmitted PRACH signal and/or the measured uplink transmission timing by the BS 102/180)
Regarding Claim 9, Nagarajan discloses the terminal device of claim 8. Nagarajan further discloses:
wherein the transmission parameter (Fig. 8, ¶0113 At 810, the BS 102/180 transmits a random access response (i.e. message 2, ¶0117, as first indication) indicating the timing advance information, the uplink resource, and the temporary ID (indicates transmission parameters) comprises at least one of:
an aggregation factor for transmitting the target information; (¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource. The UL resource may correspond to information indicating which aggregation level (factor) to be selected from the nested data structure of aggregation levels such that the UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal on a single-RB resource or multi-RB resource)
a frequency domain position of frequency hopping for transmitting the target information; (¶0084 the UE communicating over the frequency spectrum 490 may be allocated (e.g., via control channel 422 information) resource unit based frequency hopping)
a modulation parameter for transmitting the target information; (¶0035 UE capability may be known to a base station (e.g., gNB). The base station can schedule the UE with a wider uplink bandwidth and lower modulation and coding scheme (MCS)) and
resources for transmitting the target information. (¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource, so that the UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal)
Nagarajan, does not explicitly disclose all the target information:
resources for transmitting the target information.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
resources for transmitting the target information (Fig. 1, 2, 3 ¶0031 the UE transmits a higher-layer (L2/L3: Layer 2/Layer 3) control message (Fig.1, Msg3, target information) with a UL resource specified by a UL grant included in the RAR ¶0035 When having received Message 2, the UE may transmit UL data (for example, PUSCH) based on a UL transmission indication (UL grant) included in Message 2). Fig. 1, 0032 When having successfully detected the contention-resolution message (Msg4), the UE transmits acknowledge (ACK) in a HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest) (feedback) to the base station, indicates another target information)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claim 10, Nagarajan discloses the terminal device of claim 8. Nagarajan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first indication information is carried by a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
wherein the first indication information is carried by a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling. (Matsumura ¶0036 FIG. 3 shows an example of MAC control information (MAC RAR) corresponding to the RAR. The UE performs uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based on a timing advance command, a UL grant, or the like included in the RAR)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claims 11, 13-15 Claim 11, 13-15 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 3, 5-7. Therefore, claim 11, 13-15 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 3, 5-7.
Regarding Claim 17, Nagarajan discloses claim 16. Though Nagarajan discloses the PRACH signal, the random access response, the connection request, and the connection response may be referred to as message 1, message 2, message 3, and message 4, respectively in ¶0117, Nagarajan does not explicitly mention data or control information for Msg2/3/4 wherein the target information comprises at least one of:
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 2 (Msg2);
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 3 (Msg3);
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 4 (Msg4); and
control information of a feedback message corresponding to the Msg4.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 2 (Msg2); (Fig. 1, 2, 3 ¶0031 Base station transmits RAR (Msg. 2) and UE establishes UL synchronization by adjusting a UL transmission timing based on timing advance (TA) included in the RAR. ¶0130 random access response (RAR) transmitted in a PDSCH)
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 3 (Msg3); (Fig. 1, 2, 3 ¶0031 the UE transmits to the base station a higher-layer (L2/L3: Layer 2/Layer 3) control message (Fig.1, Msg3) with a UL resource specified by a UL grant included in the transmitted RAR ¶0035 When having received Message 2, the UE may transmit UL data (for example, PUSCH) based on a UL transmission indication (UL grant) included in Message 2)
at least one of data information or control information of random access message 4 (Msg4); (Fig. 1, 0032 The base station transmits a contention-resolution message in accordance with the higher-layer control message (Message 4). ¶0130 The contention-resolution may have a function similar to that of Message 4 (PDSCH) in the existing random access procedure.) and
control information of a feedback message corresponding to the Msg4. (Fig. 1, 0032 When having successfully detected the contention-resolution message (Msg4), the UE transmits acknowledge (ACK) in a HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest) (feedback) to the base station)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claim 18, Nagarajan discloses claim 16. Nagarajan further discloses:
wherein the transmission parameter (Fig. 8, ¶0113 At 810, the BS 102/180 transmits a random access response (i.e. message 2, ¶0117, as first indication) indicating the timing advance information, the uplink resource, and the temporary ID (indicates transmission parameters) comprises at least one of:
an aggregation factor for transmitting the target information; (¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource. The UL resource may correspond to information indicating which aggregation level (factor) to be selected from the nested data structure of aggregation levels such that the UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal (target information) on a single-RB resource or multi-RB resource)
a frequency domain position of frequency hopping for transmitting the target information; (¶0084 the UE communicating over the frequency spectrum 490 may be allocated (e.g., via control channel 422 information) resource unit based frequency hopping)
a modulation parameter for transmitting the target information; (¶0035 UE capability may be known to a base station (e.g., gNB). The base station can schedule the UE with a wider uplink bandwidth and lower modulation and coding scheme (MCS)) and
resources for transmitting the target information. (¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information associated with the UL resource, so that the UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal)
Nagarajan, does not explicitly disclose all the target information:
resources for transmitting the target information.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
resources for transmitting the target information. (Fig. 1, 2, 3 ¶0031 the UE transmits a higher-layer (L2/L3: Layer 2/Layer 3) control message (Fig.1, Msg3, target information) with a UL resource specified by a UL grant included in the RAR ¶0035 When having received Message 2, the UE may transmit UL data (for example, PUSCH) based on a UL transmission indication (UL grant) included in Message 2). Fig. 1, 0032 When having successfully detected the contention-resolution message (Msg4), the UE transmits acknowledge (ACK) in a HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest) (feedback) to the base station, indicates another target information)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Regarding Claim 19, Nagarajan discloses the network device of claim 16. Nagarajan does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first indication information is carried by a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling.
Matsumura, however, discloses:
wherein the first indication information is carried by a medium access control (MAC) layer signaling. (Matsumura ¶0036 FIG. 3 shows an example of MAC control information (MAC RAR) corresponding to the RAR. The UE performs uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission based on a timing advance command, a UL grant, or the like included in the RAR)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan with Matsumura to support random access procedure with performing PUSCH based on the parameters received in UL transmission indication (for example, UL grant) in a response signal from eNB transmitted in response to a random access preamble (Matsumura, ¶0007) to more flexibly and appropriately control improvement of the use efficiency and communication quality of a network (Matsumura, ¶0102)
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGARAJAN et al. (US 20220191869 A1), hereinafter Nagarajan, in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20220322411 A1), hereinafter Matsumura and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20190090219 A1), hereinafter Lee
Regarding Claim 4, Nagarajan and Matsumura disclose claim 3. Nagarajan further discloses:
wherein the transmission parameter comprises the aggregation factor for transmitting the target information, (Nagarajan ¶0113-0115 the UE 104 may obtain information indicating which aggregation level (factor) to be selected from the nested data structure of aggregation levels such that the UE 104 can transmit a PUCCH signal on a single-RB resource or multi-RB resource depending on the transmit power of the transmitted PRACH signal and/or the measured uplink transmission timing (timing advance) by the BS 102/180) and
Though Nagarajan discloses timing advance information in the first indication information (Fig. 8, ¶0113), Nagarajan and Matsumura do not specifically disclose:
determining the first indication information based on the timing advance information comprises: determining, by the terminal device, an aggregation factor corresponding to the timing advance information based on a correspondence between a number of units of timing advance and aggregation factors.
Lee, however, discloses:
determining the first indication information based on the timing advance information comprises: determining, by the terminal device, an aggregation factor corresponding to the timing advance information based on a correspondence between a number of units of timing advance and aggregation factors. (Lee ¶0149 aggregation level set may be configured or defined according to the coverage limitation level of a WTRU where the coverage limitation level may be defined by one or more of RSRP, pathloss, timing advance, and PRACH resource, indicates the aggregation level has a correspondence/dependency on the timing advance.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan and Matsumura with Lee to employ a scheme for selecting between a single RB and multiple RBs to improve PUCCH multiplexing capacity (Lee ¶0036-0037)
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 12 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAGARAJAN et al. (US 20220191869 A1), hereinafter Nagarajan, and further in view of Lei et al. (US 20220217713 A1), hereinafter Lei.
Regarding Claim 7, Nagarajan discloses claim 1. Nagarajan does not disclose:
wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, downlink control information (DCI),
wherein the DCI comprises a transport block scaling factor; and
determining, the first indication information based on the transport block scaling factor.
Lei, however, discloses:
wherein receiving, by the terminal device, the first indication information comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, downlink control information (DCI), (Fig. 2, ¶0136 base station 205 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a grant (e.g., DCI grant) activating a set of resources for an uplink data transmission (e.g., a PUSCH transmission) to UE 210)
wherein the DCI comprises a transport block scaling factor; (¶0137 TBS parameter (e.g., Transport Block Size (TBS) scaling factor or more simply scaler) is indicated in the DCI) and
determining, the first indication information based on the transport block scaling factor. (¶0138 UE 210 may identify or otherwise determine a scaler associated with the TBS parameter and identify the slot aggregation factor for the uplink data transmission based on the scaler and the TBS parameter indicated in the (DCI) grant.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan and Matsumura with Lei to support using transport block size (TBS) scaling and optimizations using a joint slot aggregation factor/TBS scaling indication to improve latency reduction and coverage enhancements. (Lei ¶0003, 0005)
Regarding Claim 20, Nagarajan discloses the network device of claim 16. Nagarajan does not disclose:
wherein the second transceiver is further configured to: send downlink control information (DCI),
wherein the DCI comprises a transport block scaling factor, and
the transport block scaling factor is used for representing the first indication information.
Lei, however, discloses:
wherein the second transceiver is further configured to: send downlink control information (DCI), (Fig. 2, ¶0136 base station 205 may transmit, provide, or otherwise convey a grant (e.g., DCI grant) activating a set of resources for an uplink data transmission (e.g., a PUSCH transmission) to UE 210)
wherein the DCI comprises a transport block scaling factor, (¶0137 TBS parameter (e.g., Transport Block Size (TBS) scaling factor or more simply scaler) is indicated in the DCI) and
the transport block scaling factor is used for representing the first indication information. (¶0138 UE 210 may identify or otherwise determine a scaler associated with the TBS parameter and identify the slot aggregation factor for the uplink data transmission based on the scaler and the TBS parameter indicated in the (DCI) grant.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Nagarajan and Matsumura with Lei to support using transport block size (TBS) scaling and optimizations using a joint slot aggregation factor/TBS scaling indication to improve latency reduction and coverage enhancements. (Lei ¶0003, 0005)
Conclusion
/M.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/PAUL H. MASUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2417