DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 of U.S. Application 18/349457 filed on January 22, 2026 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed January 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues on pages 10-14 the process limitations of an “injection-molded annular carrier element” and electrical conductor elements that are “overmolded by the material of the annular carrier element” should be given patentable weight as these limitations impart structure and that Kojima does not teach these features.
The examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that Kojima teaches an injection-molded annular carrier element (41, 42) (see citations below) and electrical conductor elements (50-53) that are overmolded by the material of the annular carrier element (41, 42) (see citations below and see below for complete rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kojima (JP 2014197951, see English Machine Translation previously attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kojima teaches (see figs. 2-4, 8 and 13 below) an assembly for establishing electrical contact with an electric motor (title, Abstract, pages 1-2) for driving a compressor which is formed in a motor vehicle air conditioning system for compressing a gaseous fluid (intended use limitations not given patentable weight),
the assembly comprising: electrical conductor elements (50-53) for electrical connection of axial electrical connection conductors of lead wires of coils (33) of a stator (32) projecting on a first axial end face from the stator (32) of the electric motor (Abstract; pages 3-6), and
an injection-molded annular carrier element (41, 42), in which the electrical conductor elements (50-53), overmolded by a material of the annular carrier element (41, 42), are incorporated (pages 3-5 and 11),
wherein radial first electrical connection elements (50b) of the electrical conductor elements projecting in a radial direction from the annular carrier element (41, 42) are formed for establishing electrical contact with the axial electrical connection conductors of the lead wires of the coils (33) of the stator (32) (pages 4-6),
wherein a first one (50) of the electrical conductor elements (50-53) is formed as an electrical busbar (50) and wherein a plurality of second ones (51-53) of the electrical conductor elements have, electrically separated from one another, second electrical connection elements (51c, 52c, 53c) in the form of electrically conductive sockets, which, open on one side for plugging in a pin-shaped plug element (male terminal, see page 6) and overmolded by the material of the annular carrier element (41, 42) on an outer circumference, are incorporated in the annular carrier element (41, 42) (Abstract; pages 3-6 and 11).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kojima teaches (see figs. 2-4 and 8 above) the annular carrier element (41, 42) has radial cavities, axial cavities and/or cavities in a form of recesses (41b) on the outer circumference, wherein the radial first electrical connection elements (50b) are disposed in the cavities and/or the recesses (41b) (fig. 4; page 4).
Regarding claim 6/1, Kojima teaches (see figs. 2-4 and 8 above) the radial first electrical connection elements (50b) have open eyelets (CC) for receiving the axial electrical connection conductors of the lead wires of the coils (33) of the stator (32) (fig. 8; Abstract; pages 4-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Schaflein (WO 2016177536, see English Machine Translation previously attached).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kojima teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach a radially inwardly extending projection is formed on the annular carrier element, from which the second electrical connection elements of the second ones of the electrical conductor elements are received in the form of electrically conductive sockets overmolded on an outer circumference, wherein the electrically conductive sockets that are overmolded on the outer circumference extend in an axial direction out of the projection on an upper side facing away from the stator.
However, Schaflein teaches (see figs. 1, 3 and 4 below) a radially inwardly extending projection (64) is formed on the annular carrier element (56), from which the second electrical connection elements of the second ones of the electrical conductor elements are received in the form of electrically conductive sockets (601a-c) overmolded on an outer circumference, wherein the electrically conductive sockets (601a-c) that are overmolded on the outer circumference extend in an axial direction out of the projection on an upper side facing away from the stator (16) (Abstract; pages 1 and 6) in order to provide protection from external elements that may lead to damage and corrosion (Schaflein, pages 5 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kojima and provide a radially inwardly extending projection is formed on the annular carrier element, from which the second electrical connection elements of the second ones of the electrical conductor elements are received in the form of electrically conductive sockets overmolded on an outer circumference, wherein the electrically conductive sockets that are overmolded on the outer circumference extend in an axial direction out of the projection on an upper side facing away from the stator as taught by Schaflein in order to provide protection from external elements that may lead to damage and corrosion (Schaflein, pages 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 9/8/1, Kojima in view of Schaflein teaches the device of claim 8, Kojima further teaches (see figs. 2-4, 8 and 13 above) the electrically conductive sockets (51c, 52c, 53c) that are overmolded on the outer circumference form a cylindrical plug receptacle for a plug element (Abstract; pages 3-6 and 11).
8. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Ochiai (JP 2010011658, see English Machine Translation previously attached).
Regarding claim 12/1, Kojima teaches (see figs. 2-4, 8 and 13 above) the electrical conductor elements (50) are overmolded with the plastic material in such a way that the radial first electrical connection elements (50b) of the electrical conductor elements (50) on a radial outside of the annular carrier element remain free of overmolding and the electrically conductive sockets are overmolded on the outer circumference in such a way that a plug opening (42b, 42d, 42c) remains free (Abstract; pages 3-6 and 11).
Kojima does not explicitly teach a method for producing the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first one of the electrical conductor elements and the plurality of second ones of the electrical conductor elements, and electrically conductive sockets are placed in an injection mold that defines a shape of the annular carrier element and then a plastic material is injected into the injection mold, which is shaped on the injection mold.
However, Ochiai teaches (see figs. 1-4 below) a method for producing the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first one (11C) of the electrical conductor elements (11C, 11U, 11V, 11W) and the plurality of second ones (11U, 11V, 11W) of the electrical conductor elements (11C, 11U, 11V, 11W), and electrically conductive sockets (9U-W) are placed in an injection mold (17) that defines a shape of the annular carrier element (1) and then a material is injected into the injection mold (17) (pages 3-4), which is shaped on the injection mold (17) (Abstract, pages 3-4) in order to provide accurate alignment and spacing between components thereby improving reliability (Ochiai, page 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kojima and provide a method for producing the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first one of the electrical conductor elements and the plurality of second ones of the electrical conductor elements, and electrically conductive sockets are placed in an injection mold that defines a shape of the annular carrier element and then a plastic material is injected into the injection mold, which is shaped on the injection mold as taught by Ochiai in order to provide accurate alignment and spacing between components thereby improving reliability (Ochiai, page 2).
9. Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Guntermann (US 20200018300).
Regarding claim 14/1, Kojima teaches (see figs. 2-4 and 8 above) the electric motor (title, Abstract, pages 1-2) for driving the compressor, which is formed in the motor vehicle air conditioning system for compressing the gaseous fluid (intended use limitations not given patentable weight),
the electric motor (30) having a rotor (34) and the stator (32), which are disposed to extend along a common longitudinal axis (Abstract, page 3), and
the assembly according to claim 1, which is disposed on the first axial end face of the stator (32) for establishing the electrical contact with the electric motor (30), the stator (32) having the electrical connection conductors (portions of coils 33 that are connected to conductor elements 50-53) that are formed as sections of the electrical lead wires of the coils (33) and wherein the electrical connection conductors are contacted directly with the radial first electrical connection elements (50b) of the electrical conductor elements (50-53) on the first axial end face of the stator (32) projecting in axial orientation from the stator (32) in such a way that in each case one of the axial electrical connection conductors corresponds to the radial first electrical connection elements (50b) (Abstract, pages 3-6),
Kojima does not explicitly teach the axial electrical connection conductors of the lead wires of the coils with the electrically contacted radial first electrical connection elements are surrounded by a hermetically sealing potting material.
However, Guntermann teaches (see fig. 1 below) the electrical connection conductors of the lead wires (9) of the coils (3) with the electrically contacted first electrical connection elements are surrounded by a hermetically sealing potting material (¶ 66; ¶ 29; ¶ 84; ¶ 107) in order to provide protection from external elements and resistance to short circuits thereby improving reliability (Guntermann, ¶ 16; ¶ 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kojima and provide the axial electrical connection conductors of the lead wires of the coils with the electrically contacted radial first electrical connection elements are surrounded by a hermetically sealing potting material as taught by Guntermann in order to provide protection from external elements and resistance to short circuits thereby improving reliability (Guntermann, ¶ 16; ¶ 50).
Regarding claim 18/14/1, Kojima in view of Guntermann teaches the device of claim 14, Kojima further teaches (see figs. 2-4 and 8 above) use of the electric motor (title, Abstract, pages 1-2) for driving the compressor for compressing the gaseous fluid according to claim 14 in a refrigerant circuit of the vehicle air conditioning system intended use limitations not given patentable weight).
10. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in view of Guntermann as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Ninomiya (WO 2020013078, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 15/14/1, Kojima in view of Guntermann teaches the device of claim 14 but does not explicitly teach the axial spacer elements abutting on an outer circumference of the stator rest on the second axial end face of the stator, wherein a distance is maintained between the underside of the annular carrier element and the stator.
However, Ninomiya teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 below) the axial spacer elements (55) abutting on an outer circumference of the stator (40) rest on the second axial end face of the stator (40), wherein a distance is maintained between the underside of the annular carrier element (51) and the stator (40) (Abstract; pages 3-4) in order to reduce or prevent vibration (Ninomiya, pages 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kojima in view of Guntermann and provide the axial spacer elements abutting on an outer circumference of the stator rest on the second axial end face of the stator, wherein a distance is maintained between the underside of the annular carrier element and the stator as taught by Ninomiya in order to reduce or prevent vibration (Ninomiya, pages 3-4).
11. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kojima in in view of Ninomiya.
Regarding claim 19/1, Kojima teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach the annular carrier element on a side facing the stator has at least two axial spacer elements, which rest on a second axial end face of the stator when the assembly is positioned on the stator.
However, Ninomiya teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 above) the annular carrier element (51) on a side facing the stator (40) has at least two axial spacer elements (55), which rest on a second axial end face of the stator (40) when the assembly is positioned on the stator (40) (Abstract; pages 3-4) in order to reduce or prevent vibration (Ninomiya, pages 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kojima and provide the annular carrier element on a side facing the stator has at least two axial spacer elements, which rest on a second axial end face of the stator when the assembly is positioned on the stator as taught by Ninomiya in order to reduce or prevent vibration (Ninomiya, pages 3-4).
Regarding claim 20/19/1, Kojima in view of Ninomiya teaches the device of claim 19 but does not explicitly teach the spacer elements are dimensioned in such a way that an air gap is formed between an underside of the annular carrier element and the second axial end face of the stator.
However, Ninomiya further teaches (see figs. 1 and 2 above) the spacer elements (55) are dimensioned in such a way that an air gap (see annotated fig. 1 above) is formed between an underside of the annular carrier element (51) and the second axial end face of the stator (40) (Abstract; pages 3-4) in order to reduce or prevent vibration (Ninomiya, pages 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Kojima in view of Ninomiya and provide the spacer elements are dimensioned in such a way that an air gap is formed between an underside of the annular carrier element and the second axial end face of the stator as further taught by Ninomiya in order to reduce or prevent vibration (Ninomiya, pages 3-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 3-5, 7, 10, 11, 13, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834