Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 6 pertaining to “Staudenmaier does not describe a measuring device configured to enable measuring of traction voltage "with the traction voltage system in operation." To the contrary, Staudenmaier explicitly requires that "the high-voltage system has to be deactivated, which means that the ignition (clamp 15) has to be turned off thereby resulting in opening of the contactors 3 of the high-voltage battery 2." (see [0050]). Staudenmaier's method is directed to checking the absence of voltage after the system has been shut down, not measuring voltage while the system is operating.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Staudenmaier discloses a two step process for measuring the high voltage system while in operation. The first step is to ensure that there is no voltage present in the traction voltage system so that the correct traction voltage can be measured. (¶ 52 a first pre-measurement regarding the absence of voltage in the power electronics component 5. … When in this way the correct functioning of the measuring device 25 is verified, the voltage present via the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15 is measured; ¶ 53 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 6 – 7 pertaining to “Turning to Nguyen, Nguyen's junction box 310 is not a detachable measuring device through which the HVIL extends. Nguyen describes "an energy storage system junction box 310 comprising a test port 340" that is "configured for use in a high-voltage electrical system of an electrically-powered vehicle." (see [0069]) This junction box 310 is a permanently installed component of the vehicle's electrical architecture, not a detachable measuring device.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Nguyen to disclose the detachable measuring device, the Examiner relies on Staudenmaier. Staudenmaier discloses, (Fig. 3. measuring adapter 21).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 7 pertaining to “Nguyen teaches that "covers 346, 348 may not be electrically connected with HVIL 300 because if they were so connected, removal of covers 346, 348 would cause high voltages to be isolated to the battery packs, and test port 340 could not be used (e.g., during a LOTO procedure as described herein) to confirm whether high voltages are or are not present." (see [0072]). This explicitly teaches away from having the HVIL extend through a detachable component, as doing so would prevent the measurement function.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Staudenmaier discloses a detachable measuring device (Fig. 3. measuring adapter 21). Nguyen teaches a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") that extends through the measuring device (Fig. 10, ¶ 69 positive and negative output connectors 332, 334).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 9 pertaining to “The Office Action cites Nguyen's disconnect switch 336 as teaching the HVIL breaking feature. However, switch 336 is "a high voltage disconnect switch" with "a rotary handle 338 that is lockable according to a LOTO protocol" and "when actuated, switch 336 may change state from a first (e.g., closed) position to a second (e.g., open) position." (see [0070]. This is a manually actuated switch on a permanent junction box, not a detachable measuring device through which the HVIL extends.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner does not rely on Nguyen to disclose the detachable measuring device, the Examiner relies on Staudenmaier. Staudenmaier discloses, (Fig. 3. measuring adapter 21).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 8 pertaining to “Embodiments of the invention provide that "by providing resistors between the conductors of the traction voltage system and the measuring probes, the user is protected from being exposed to harmful current in the traction voltage system. This allows for measurement to be conducted while the vehicle is operating, without the risk of harming the technician.", see [0012] of the present application. Neither Staudenmaier nor Nguyen teaches a detachable measuring device that enables live voltage measurement while providing HVIL protection through the device itself.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Staudenmaier discloses a detachable measuring device (Fig. 3. measuring adapter 21). Nguyen teaches a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") that extends through the measuring device (Fig. 10, ¶ 69 positive and negative output connectors 332, 334). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier with a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") of the vehicle extending through the measuring device for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection of claims 1 – 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STAUDENMAIER (US 2016/0124028 A1) (herein after Staudenmaier), and further in view of Nguyen et al (US 2021/0005410 A1) (herein after Nguyen) is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STAUDENMAIER (US 2016/0124028 A1) (herein after Staudenmaier), and further in view of Nguyen et al (US 2021/0005410 A1) (herein after Nguyen).
Regarding Claim 1, Staudenmaier teaches, a measuring device (Fig. 3, measuring adapter 21) for enabling measuring of traction voltage being supplied by a traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 different measurements can be performed, predominantly via the high-voltage contacts) to a high voltage appliance (Fig. 3, ¶ high-voltage loads 11, 13 and 14) in a vehicle with the traction voltage system in operation (Fig. 3, ¶ 53 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15), the measuring device being configured to be detachably connected between the vehicle traction voltage system and the high voltage appliance (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 connector 20 is inserted into a plug-in terminal 23; ¶ 62 connector 22 connected to the charger 11, target connection 42), the measuring device comprising: a first and second terminal (Fig. 6, ¶ 58 measuring connections 24; Examiner interpretation: Fig 6 is part of Fig 3, see ¶ 58) configured to receive a first and second probe of a voltage measuring instrument (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 measuring connections 24, ideally suited for connection of a measuring device 25), —
Staudenmaier fails to teach, — and a first and second resistor arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device, wherein the measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system.
In analogous art, Nguyen teaches, — and a first and second resistor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 resistors 376/382) arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device (Fig. 10, junction box 310) being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, to a first and second traction voltage conductor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 positive and negative busbars 352, 354) of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device, wherein the measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system (Fig. 10, ¶ 69 positive and negative output connectors 332, 334), connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") (Fig. 10, ¶ 71 electrically connected with HVIL 300) of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached (Fig. 8, disconnect switch 336; Examiner interpretation: Fig 8 and Fig 10 are the same embodiment, see ¶ 68) from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system (Fig. 8, ¶ 70 switch 336 may disconnect the battery packs 204-214 from the downstream high-voltage system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier with a measuring device comprising: a first and second resistor arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device, wherein the measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Regarding Claim 2, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1 wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable (Fig. 3, cable 17) comprising the traction voltage conductors.
Regarding Claim 3, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier fails to teach, the measuring device according to claim 1 wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable comprising both the traction voltage conductors and low voltage conductors of the HVIL.
Nguyen further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1 wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable comprising both the traction voltage conductors and low voltage conductors of the HVIL (Fig. 10, ¶ 69 positive and negative terminals of energy storage system 202 and HVDC junction box 222; low voltage power (24V) for junction box 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen with a measuring device, wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable comprising both the traction voltage conductors and low voltage conductors of the HVIL; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Regarding Claim 4, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1, the measuring device being arranged to be connected to a first connector (Fig. 3, plug-in terminal 23) connecting to a first cable (Fig. 3, cable 17)and the traction voltage system in one end and to a second connector (Fig. 8, plug-in terminal 23; Examiner interpretation: Fig 3 and Fig 8 are variants of the same embodiments, see ¶ 62) connecting to a second cable (Fig. 8, cable 17) and the high voltage appliance in another end.
Regarding Claim 5, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 4, the measuring device being arranged to be connect in series (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 connecting the measuring adapter 21 to the plug-in terminal 15) between the traction voltage and the high voltage appliance.
Regarding Claim 6, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier fails to teach, the measuring device according to claim 1, the first and second resistor having a resistance value in the range of 200-400 kΩ.
Nguyen further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1, the first and second resistor having a resistance value in the range of 200-400kΩ (Fig. 3, ¶ 46 resistance of each of resistors may range from approximately 150 kΩ to approximately 1MΩ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen with a measuring device comprising: first and second resistor having a resistance value in the range of 200-400kΩ; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Regarding Claim 7, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier fails to teach, the measuring device according to claim 4 wherein the connectors of the measuring device are bayonet mounts
Nguyen further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 4 wherein the connectors of the measuring device are bayonet mounts (Fig. 11, ¶ 71 covers 346, 348 that are threadably received over connectors 342, 344, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen with a measuring device wherein, the connectors of the measuring device are bayonet mounts; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans]..
Regarding Claim 8, Staudenmaier teaches, a method for measuring of traction voltage (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 method according to the invention) being supplied by a traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 different measurements can be performed, predominantly via the high-voltage contacts) to a high voltage appliance in a vehicle (Fig. 3, ¶ high-voltage loads 11, 13 and 14), the method comprising the steps of: turning off the traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 49 high-voltage system has to be deactivated) connecting a measuring device (Fig. 3, measuring adapter 21) in accordance with claim 1 — turning on the traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 53 applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15), and connecting a first and second probe of a voltage measuring instrument (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 measuring connections 24, ideally suited for connection of a measuring device 25) to the terminals of the measuring device to measure the voltage in the traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 53 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15).
Staudenmaier fails to teach, — connecting a measuring device in accordance with claim 1 to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system connecting the measuring device to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop, HVIL, of the vehicle —
In analogous art, Nguyen teaches, — connecting a measuring device (Fig. 10, junction box 310; ¶ 28 methods for performing test measurements) in accordance with claim 1 to a first and second traction voltage conductor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 positive and negative busbars 352, 354) of the traction voltage system connecting the measuring device to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop, HVIL, (Fig. 10, ¶ 71 electrically connected with HVIL 300) of the vehicle —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by connecting a measuring device taught by Staudenmaier with, connecting a measuring device to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system connecting the measuring device to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop, HVIL, of the vehicle; taught by the method of Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki et al (US 2007/0040544 A1) teaches, a first and second resistor (Fig. 2, resistors 12 and 15) arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device (Fig. 2, measuring device 18) being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system (Fig. 2, high-voltage battery 10).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858