Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 8, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 6 pertaining to “Claim 1 recites, in part:
i) a measuring device for measuring traction voltage in a vehicle with the traction voltage system in operation.
ii) The measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop (HVIL), of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system. … Staudenmaier relates to a method for checking the absence of voltage on a power electronics component. In the method described on pages 5-6 in Staudenmaier it is disclosed that: "When work on the motor vehicle 1, in particular concretely on the high-voltage network 1, is performed it has to be ensured that no person comes into contact with high voltage. The high-voltage network 1 also has to be completely switched off and discharged ("disconnected")." It is further disclosed that: "Then the high-voltage system has to be deactivated, which concretely means that the ignition ( clamp 15) has to be turned off thereby resulting in opening of the contactors 3 of the high-voltage battery 2 (turn off of the clamp 3 of both contactors)".”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Staudenmaier discloses performing different types of high voltage measurements (¶ 51 different measurements can be performed, predominantly via the high-voltage contacts). The high voltage is only switched off in order to connect the measuring device. After connecting the measurement device, the high voltage is applied and measurement is performed with the high voltage applied (¶ 51 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15).
In response to Applicant's argument on pages 6 – 7 pertaining to “Furthermore, Staudenmaier makes no mention of a HVIL extending through the measuring device, as this is not necessary, or even advisable, when making measurements on a vehicle with the HV-system turned off”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner does not rely on Staudenmaier to disclose the limitation of “a HVIL extending through the measuring device”. The examiner relies on Nguyen. Nguyen discloses, a first and second traction voltage conductor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 positive and negative busbars 352, 354) of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 7 pertaining to “Nguyen (fig. 8-13) shows a junction box comprising a test port for measuring voltage with a multimeter. Nguyen makes no mention of a junction box in which an HVIL extends through the junction box for permitting measuring of traction voltage in an operating vehicle. Rather, the junction box is configured in such a way that the HVIL is automatically broken when accessing the test ports.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The test ports on the junction box disclosed by Nguyen extend the high voltage contacts (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 positive and negative busbars 352, 354) so that measurements are performed safely (¶ 40 the test port is designed so that, in the normal operation of the test circuit ,between one or both of the terminals and any position in the high voltage, or power delivery, circuitry that completes a circuit that includes a high-voltage power source, the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans). This provides for measuring of high voltages during operation of the vehicle
In response to Applicant's argument on page 7 pertaining to “The same arguments apply to the method of claim 8, as none of Staudenmaier -Nguyen disclose connecting the measuring to the HVIL of the vehicle. Neither do they describe a method of measuring traction voltage which includes turning on the traction voltage system, as Staudenmaier -Nguyen relates to methods for measuring traction voltage in a system with the traction voltage turned off”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Same response to claim 8 as the response to claim 1 mentioned above.
In response to Applicant's argument on pages 7 – 8 pertaining to “Staudenmaier -Nguyen relate to devices and methods to determine if some voltage still resides within a traction voltage system which is turned off None of the documents describe the problem of measuring voltage in an operating traction voltage system. As measuring of voltage in an operating system is not mentioned in Staudenmaier -Nguyen, there is no rationale to modify what is taught in these documents to allow the HVIL to extend through the device, as this is not relevant when measuring for residing voltage. … Furthermore, even if Staudenmaier -Nguyen were combined, that still does not arrive at the solution of the present application, as there is no mention of a measuring device which allows an HVIL to extend through a measuring device during measuring to protect an operator from live voltage.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Both Staudenmaier and Nguyen disclose embodiments and methods for measuring high voltage traction systems while the systems are in operation. Staudenmaier (¶ 51 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15), Nguyen (¶ 40 in the normal operation of the test circuit, or power delivery, circuitry that completes a circuit that includes a high-voltage power source, the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans). It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Staudenmaier with Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in operation in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 of claims 1 – 8 as being unpatentable over STAUDENMAIER (US 2016/0124028 A1) (herein after Staudenmaier), and further in view of Nguyen et al (US 2021/0005410 A1) (herein after Nguyen) is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STAUDENMAIER (US 2016/0124028 A1) (herein after Staudenmaier), and further in view of Nguyen et al (US 2021/0005410 A1) (herein after Nguyen).
Regarding Claim 1, Staudenmaier teaches, a measuring device (Fig. 3, measuring adapter 21) for enabling measuring of traction voltage being supplied by a traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 different measurements can be performed, predominantly via the high-voltage contacts) to a high voltage appliance (Fig. 3, ¶ high-voltage loads 11, 13 and 14) in a vehicle with the traction voltage system in operation (Fig. 3, ¶ 53 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15), the measuring device being configured to be detachably connected between the vehicle traction voltage system and the high voltage appliance (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 connector 20 is inserted into a plug-in terminal 23; ¶ 62 connector 22 connected to the charger 11, target connection 42), the measuring device comprising: a first and second terminal (Fig. 6, ¶ 58 measuring connections 24; Examiner interpretation: Fig 6 is part of Fig 3, see ¶ 58) configured to receive a first and second probe of a voltage measuring instrument (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 measuring connections 24, ideally suited for connection of a measuring device 25), —
Staudenmaier fails to teach, — and a first and second resistor arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device, wherein the measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system.
In analogous art, Nguyen teaches, — and a first and second resistor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 resistors 376/382) arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device (Fig. 10, junction box 310) being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, to a first and second traction voltage conductor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 positive and negative busbars 352, 354) of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device, wherein the measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system (Fig. 10, ¶ 69 positive and negative output connectors 332, 334), connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") (Fig. 10, ¶ 71 electrically connected with HVIL 300) of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached (Fig. 8, disconnect switch 336; Examiner interpretation: Fig 8 and Fig 10 are the same embodiment, see ¶ 68) from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system (Fig. 8, ¶ 70 switch 336 may disconnect the battery packs 204-214 from the downstream high-voltage system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier with a measuring device comprising: a first and second resistor arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system extending through the measuring device, wherein the measuring device is configured to, upon the measuring device being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system, connect to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop ("HVIL") of the vehicle extending through the measuring device so that the HVIL is broken when the measuring device is detached from the traction voltage system, thereby inactivating the traction voltage system; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Regarding Claim 2, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1 wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable (Fig. 3, cable 17) comprising the traction voltage conductors.
Regarding Claim 3, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier fails to teach, the measuring device according to claim 1 wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable comprising both the traction voltage conductors and low voltage conductors of the HVIL.
Nguyen further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1 wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable comprising both the traction voltage conductors and low voltage conductors of the HVIL (Fig. 10, ¶ 69 positive and negative terminals of energy storage system 202 and HVDC junction box 222; low voltage power (24V) for junction box 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen with a measuring device, wherein the measuring device is adapted to be attached to a cable comprising both the traction voltage conductors and low voltage conductors of the HVIL; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Regarding Claim 4, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1, the measuring device being arranged to be connected to a first connector (Fig. 3, plug-in terminal 23) connecting to a first cable (Fig. 3, cable 17)and the traction voltage system in one end and to a second connector (Fig. 8, plug-in terminal 23; Examiner interpretation: Fig 3 and Fig 8 are variants of the same embodiments, see ¶ 62) connecting to a second cable (Fig. 8, cable 17) and the high voltage appliance in another end.
Regarding Claim 5, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 4, the measuring device being arranged to be connect in series (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 connecting the measuring adapter 21 to the plug-in terminal 15) between the traction voltage and the high voltage appliance.
Regarding Claim 6, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier fails to teach, the measuring device according to claim 1, the first and second resistor having a resistance value in the range of 200-400 kΩ.
Nguyen further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 1, the first and second resistor having a resistance value in the range of 200-400kΩ (Fig. 3, ¶ 46 resistance of each of resistors may range from approximately 150 kΩ to approximately 1MΩ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen with a measuring device comprising: first and second resistor having a resistance value in the range of 200-400kΩ; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Regarding Claim 7, Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen teach the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Staudenmaier fails to teach, the measuring device according to claim 4 wherein the connectors of the measuring device are bayonet mounts
Nguyen further teaches, the measuring device according to claim 4 wherein the connectors of the measuring device are bayonet mounts (Fig. 11, ¶ 71 covers 346, 348 that are threadably received over connectors 342, 344, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by combining the measuring device taught by Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen with a measuring device wherein, the connectors of the measuring device are bayonet mounts; taught by Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans]..
Regarding Claim 8, Staudenmaier teaches, a method for measuring of traction voltage (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 method according to the invention) being supplied by a traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 different measurements can be performed, predominantly via the high-voltage contacts) to a high voltage appliance in a vehicle (Fig. 3, ¶ high-voltage loads 11, 13 and 14), the method comprising the steps of: turning off the traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 49 high-voltage system has to be deactivated) connecting a measuring device (Fig. 3, measuring adapter 21) in accordance with claim 1 — turning on the traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 53 applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15), and connecting a first and second probe of a voltage measuring instrument (Fig. 3, ¶ 51 measuring connections 24, ideally suited for connection of a measuring device 25) to the terminals of the measuring device to measure the voltage in the traction voltage system (Fig. 3, ¶ 53 a voltage course is measured after applying a supply voltage to the high-voltage contacts of the plug-in terminal 15).
Staudenmaier fails to teach, — connecting a measuring device in accordance with claim 1 to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system connecting the measuring device to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop, HVIL, of the vehicle —
In analogous art, Nguyen teaches, — connecting a measuring device (Fig. 10, junction box 310; ¶ 28 methods for performing test measurements) in accordance with claim 1 to a first and second traction voltage conductor (Fig. 10, ¶ 74 positive and negative busbars 352, 354) of the traction voltage system connecting the measuring device to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop, HVIL, (Fig. 10, ¶ 71 electrically connected with HVIL 300) of the vehicle —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Staudenmaier in view of Nguyen by connecting a measuring device taught by Staudenmaier with, connecting a measuring device to a first and second traction voltage conductor of the traction voltage system connecting the measuring device to a Hazardous Voltage Interlock Loop, HVIL, of the vehicle; taught by the method of Nguyen for the benefit of measuring the traction voltage of a high voltage system in manner safe for humans [Nguyen: ¶ 40 the electric current flow at the given terminal will be below a level dangerous to humans].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Suzuki et al (US 2007/0040544 A1) teaches, a first and second resistor (Fig. 2, resistors 12 and 15) arranged to connect each terminal, upon the measuring device (Fig. 2, measuring device 18) being attached to the vehicle voltage traction system (Fig. 2, high-voltage battery 10).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/9/2026