DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 8/31/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant has amended claims 11 and 14. No new matter appears to be included by this amendment. Claims 11 and 14 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the rejection below for a detailed explanation of how the combination of the previous applied prior art of Ozturk and Lundsjo along with newly provided Chen et al. (US 2022/0217675) teach the claim as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al. (US 2021/0092706, hereinafter Ozturk) in view of Chen et al. (US 2022/0217675, hereinafter Chen) in further view of Lundsjo (US 2006/0189331, hereinafter Lundsjo).
Regarding claims 11 and 14. Ozturk teaches a user equipment (par. 6 and 35, figure 3 item 350, and base station in figure 3, item 310) configured to communicate with a plurality of networks including a first mobile network and a second mobile network (par. 35) by using a plurality of subscriber identity modules (par. 36; Examiners note: it is recommended to include these limitations in the body of the claim to ensure they are positively recited. Currently, they are not required as the body does not tie back to this limitation), the user equipment comprising:
a memory storing a program (Figure 3, UE is item 250, memory is item 360; BS is item 310 memory is 376); and
one or more processors configured to execute the program (Figure 3, UE processor is item 359, BS is item 370) to, in a case where the user equipment is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state or an RRC inactive state in the first mobile network and is in an RRC connected state in the second mobile network (par. 35, “Many user equipments (UEs) support multiple Universal Subscriber Identity Modules (USIMs) which allow UEs to communicate with different systems.”; “Therefore, while actively communicating using a first USIM, a MUSIM UE may need to occasionally monitor for paging requests from the different system associated with a second USIM.” and par. 36, “Therefore, if a first USIM is in the connected mode and the second USIM is in the idle or inactive mode…” It is clear from par. 35-36 that the one SIM can be in connected mode on a one mobile network while the other SIM is idle or inactive in a different mobile network.):
receive from a base station included in the first mobile network, information indicating whether a service for a paging to the user equipment is a voice service, the information being received with a paging message for the paging (Figure 6, item 602 and par 107, is a paging message sent from the base station to the UE, which includes information indicating whether a service for paging to the user equipment is a voice service as shown in figure 4, which shows the paging information can include if the service for the paging is a voice service); and
determine, based on the information indicating whether the service for the paging to the user equipment is the voice service, whether or not to respond to the paging message from the base station included in the first mobile network (par. 115, “For instance, if the UE 502 determines that the paging information (such as paging information 404 in FIG. 4) is a higher priority IMS voice call, the UE may possibly determine to accept the call and subsequently receive downlink data 562 from the BS 504. However, if the UE 502 determines that the paging information is a lower priority data message, the UE may possibly determine to reject the call and refrain from communicating with the BS 504.” As can be seen in par. 115 and shown in figure 6, the UE receives a paging message from one BS (figure 6, item 602), it decrypts the paging information which includes type of service such as a high priority voice call (figure 6 604), and it determines whether or not to respond to the paging message based on the paging information, i.e. the type of service such as priority voice call);
wherein the paging message includes a paging record corresponding to the user equipment and the information is included in the paging record corresponding to the user equipment (par. 6; paging message includes encrypted paging information (i.e. the encrypted paging information reads on the paging record which is included in the paging message, while the decrypted paging information reads on the information indicating the service (service type of voice call)) and par. 9; the encrypted paging information may include a TMSI associated with the UE, where the information includes an association of different TMSI with different paging information, and the encrypted paging information may be decrypted based on the association. Thus the paging record corresponds to the UE based on the associated TMSI (temporary mobile subscriber identifier) and the information is decrypted based on the TMSI association with the UE to identify the paging information to finally make the determination to communicate with the second BS based on whether the service type is a priority voice call).
However, although Ozturk teaches a paging message sent from the base station to the UE, which includes information indicating whether a service for paging to the user equipment is a voice service (as explained above), he does not specifically disclose the information being 1-bit information. It is noted that Ozturk notes in par. 84 that the paging message may include one or more of a traffic type and priority, but does not clarify that the traffic type is 1-bit information.
Chen teaches a method and system for paging a UE and thus is analogous to Ozturk. Chen explicitly teaches a paging cause (i.e. i.e. reading on information indicating a service for paging) can be one bit and indicate voice services (par. 66). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of (effective) filing to incorporate the paging cause as 1 bit information as in Chen into the method and system of Ozturk. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a paging system with reduced complexity for indicating paging cause (Chen par. 3). However, although the combination of Ozturk and Chen teaches the paging message including a “record” (i.e. the encrypted paging information) corresponding to the user (i.e. the TMSI identifier corresponds the user and is used to decrypt the information, thus the information corresponds to the user), they do not explicitly recite the “paging record”, “wherein the paging message includes a paging record corresponding to the user equipment and the information is included in the paging record corresponding to the user”.
Lundsjo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a multi access communication method and system (par. 1). Lundsjo further teaches the UE receives, from the base station, information indicating whether a service for paging to the user equipment is a voice service, the information being received with a paging message (par. 52-53, UE receives the paging report and compares the included UE identity in the report with its own, if there is a match the UE reads the paging cause. The paging cause is the information indicating whether the service is a voice service, as can be seen in the examples of cause in par. 52, i.e. “conversational call”. It is further noted that identifying if it is a “voice service” is also disclosed in Bao par. 74, where it teaches the concept of reporting which service/paging reason to trigger paging; and in par. 75, it discloses the service may include voice service);
wherein the paging message includes a paging record corresponding to the user equipment (par. 52, paging message includes paging records carrying specific UE identity) and the information is included in the paging record corresponding to the user equipment (par. 52, paging message includes paging records carrying specific UE identity AND a paging cause…paging cause represents QoS class of service). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of (effective) filing to incorporate the paging record with identification of Lundsjo into the combined method and system of Ozturk and Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a multi-access communication system providing for a fast, resource-efficient call set-up in any reachable access network (Lundsjo par. 11).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474
Michael Thier
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2474