DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 4/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-17 are elected and presented for prosecution on the merits below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Despesse US 20140015488.
Regarding claims 1 and 17 [claim 17 is considered representative for purposes of itemization], Despesse discloses a battery management system [Figs. 4 and 11 (see reproduced below) par. 0063] comprising:
a printed circuit board [Figs. 10a-11, 15; electronic card 20, pars. 0075, 0078, 0088-0090];
wherein the printed circuit board comprises a current collector circuit [power tracks with reinforcements 19; Fig. 11, positive and negative bus lines for each module 12 pars. 0088-0090];
wherein the printed circuit board [card 20] further comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal electrically connected to a positive side and a negative side [battery output leads at the top and bottom of card 20, Fig. 11, lower and upper terminals 17 and 18] of the current collector circuit [par. 0064], respectively;
wherein the printed circuit board [card 20] further comprises at least one battery cell connector [Fig. 15, connectors 16, par. 0090];
wherein the at least one battery cell connector [16] comprises a positive terminal and a negative terminal [positive and negative terminals of cell 11 that pass through card 20], such that a battery cell [cell 11] can be electrically connected for operation [par. 0090];
wherein the printed circuit board further comprises a microcontroller [Fig. 11, processing circuit 20] that comprises random access memory, one or more central processing units, and one or more input/output buses [pars. 0079, 0156 CPU with RAM intrinsic to the microcontroller];
wherein the printed circuit board further comprises an external data bus connector [Fig. 11, interface 37 to communications bus 21; pars. 0076-0078];
wherein the printed circuit board further comprises at least one battery cell management circuits [Fig. 11, sensors 33, 35, 36, transistor 23, controlled by control circuit 27 and processing circuit 30; par. 0079];
wherein the printed circuit board further comprises a means for sensing the voltage and amperage [Fig. 11, voltage sensor 35, current sensor 36] of the connected battery cell [cell 11; par. 0079. Means for sensing interpreted iaw applicant’s specification as input pins of an IC, see ‘4678, par. 0035];
wherein the printed circuit board [card 20] further comprises predetermined operational limits [thresholds] for the voltage and amperage of the connected battery cell [cell 11, pars. 0110, 0129-0132, 0134, the overcharge and undercharge voltage threshold(s) and max current threshold];
wherein the printed circuit board further comprises predetermined parameters [predefined charging current or voltage] for the operational voltage and amperage values of the connected battery cell [cell 11, par. 0160];
wherein the printed circuit board [card 20] further comprises a means to regulate [Fig. 11, control circuit 27 and processing circuit 30 with actuating transistor 23] the operational voltage and amperage values of the connected battery cell [cell 11; pars. 0079, 0115, 0124, 0160. The means is interpreted iaw applicant’s specification at par. 0036 as the output pin of an IC circuit]; and
wherein the printed circuit board [card 20] further comprises a means to connect [Fig. 4, cell switch 13; Fig. 11 transistor 23 driven by control circuit 27] the battery cell [cell 11] to the current collector circuit [power tracks; terminals 17 and 18] and to the one of the at least one battery cell management circuits [sensors 33, 35, 36 and processing circuit 30 for each cell] for electrical energy transfer [pars. 0063, 0064, 0079], such that the current collector circuit can operate one or more battery cells concurrently with the voltage and amperage of each battery cell independently regulated [pars. 0063, 0066, 0073, 0110, the cells that are have turned ON switches are used together and controlled by that cell’s state].
Regarding claim 2, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the at least one battery cell management circuits further comprises a means for sensing the temperature [temperature sensor 33] of a battery cell [par. 0079], and predetermined operating limits for the temperature of a battery cell [pars. 0120, 0131].
Regarding claim 3, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 2, wherein the at least one battery cell management circuits further comprises predetermined parameters for operational temperature values of a battery cell [pars. 0120, 0131].
Regarding claim 4, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises a means to regulate the temperature of the one or more connected battery cells [pars. 0079, 0090, 0131, 0142].
Regarding claim 5, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the at least one battery cell management circuits further comprises one or more data buses [Fig. 11, communication channels 43, 45, 46, bus 21 and IC2 interface connects to the bus; pars. 0076, 0079, 0081].
Regarding claim 6, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 5, wherein the one or more data buses comprises a two-wire data bus [par. 0081 IC2 bus is a two-wire serial bus].
Regarding claim 7, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 5, wherein the one or more data buses [IC2 bus is a two-wire serial bus] updates any of the predetermined operational limits for the voltage and amperage of the battery cell and/or the predetermined parameters for operational voltage and amperage values of the battery cell with user-defined values [par 0081 occurs at least during initial build and cell replacement].
Regarding claim 8, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 3, wherein the at least one battery cell management circuits further comprises one or more data buses [IC2 bus is a two-wire serial bus], such that the one or more data buses updates any of the predetermined operational limits for the temperature of the battery cell and/or or the predetermined parameters for operational temperature values of a battery cell with user-defined values [par 0081 occurs at least during initial build and cell replacement].
Regarding claim 9, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises a microcontroller, wherein the microcontroller comprises random access memory, one or more central processing units, and one or more input/output buses [pars. 0079, 0156].
Regarding claim 10, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 9, wherein the microcontroller further comprises program memory, wherein the microcontroller can execute any of firmware and/or software [pars. 0156, 0199].
Regarding claim 11, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 9, wherein the one or more microcontroller input/output buses is connected to each of the at least one battery cell management circuits [par. 0079].
Regarding claim 12, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises non-volatile data storage [pars. 0156, 0199 intrinsic to the microcontroller].
Regarding claim 13, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises a real-time clock [pars. 0156, 0199 intrinsic to the microcontroller].
Regarding claim 15, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board further comprises an external data bus connector [Fig. 11, interface 37 to bus 21; pars. 0076-0078, 0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Despesse US 20140015488.
Regarding claim 14, 16, Despesse discloses the battery management system of claim 1, but is silent on: wherein the printed circuit board further comprises an accelerometer; wherein each of the at least one battery cell management circuits further comprises one or more electrical fuses, wherein the connected battery cell retains overcurrent protection if the means to regulate the voltage and amperage of the connected battery cell exceeds the operating limits.
Examiner takes Official Notice, /AW MPEP 2144.03, as to the common knowledge of the recited subject matter(s).
Accelerometers and fuses are well-known in the art of battery controllers and power supplies. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing to incorporate a known accelerometer as well as fuse into Despesse’s circuit in order to provide overload or fault protection to the battery as well as determine any potential movement of the battery or charger which could present an unsafe condition for operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20160269095, US 20140001866, US 20160226107, US10804690 are all in the same battery module field of endeavor and have serial controllers with individual battery control.
unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be contacted at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
RICHARD V. MURALIDAR
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859
/RICHARD V MURALIDAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859