DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and therefore are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for obtaining,” “means for generating,” “means for processing,” and “means for … fine-tuning” in claim 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-21, and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prabhu et al. (“AUGO: Augmentation Consistency-guided Self-training for Source-free Domain Adaptive Semantic Segmentation,” arXiv:2107.10140v2 [cs.CV] 6 Jan 2022), hereinafter referred to as Prabhu.
Regarding claims 1, 14, and 27, Prabhu teaches a processor-implemented method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium for processing one or more images, the method, apparatus, and medium comprising:
at least one memory (Prabhu §7.1 & pg. 12 right column teaches that the method was performed using a code, requiring a computer with at least one processor and memory); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Prabhu §7.1 & pg. 12 right column discussed above);
obtaining an unlabeled image (Prabhu pg. 1 left column: “our goal is to adapt a trained semantic segmentation model to a new target domain given only its trained parameters and unlabeled target data”);
generating at least one transformed image based on the unlabeled image (Prabhu pg. 2 left column: “we generate two views of each target image that vary in scale, spatial context, and color statics via a simple crop, resize, and color jitter strategy”);
processing the unlabeled image using a pre-trained semantic segmentation model to generate a first segmentation output (Prabhu pg. 2 left column: “Augmented Consistency-guided Self-training (AUGO), a simple source-free adaptation algorithm for semantic segmentation”; Prabhu Fig. 2; Prabhu pg. 3 right column: “we pass the original image, Xτ, through the current model, h, to produce an output probabilistic prediction”);
processing the at least one transformed image using the pre-trained semantic segmentation model to generate at least a second segmentation output (Prabhu pg. 2 & Fig. 2 discussed above; Prabhu pg. 3 right column: “This jittered, cropped, and resized image is then passed through the model to produce a probabilistic output”); and
based on the first segmentation output and at least the second segmentation output, fine-tuning one or more parameters of the pre-trained semantic segmentation model (Prabhu pg. 3 right column: “We thus obtain aligned predictive views … further refine predictions in both views via flip ensembling”; Prabhu pg. 4 right column: “we update model parameters via self-training … optimizing all model parameters cause the model to rapidly diverge from its original task. To address this, we update only the model’s batch-norm parameters”).
Regarding claims 2, 15, and 28, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer-readable medium of claims 1, 14, and 27, wherein the at least one transformed image generated by applying one or more photometric transformations to the unlabeled image (Prabhu pg. 2 left column discussed above teaches color jitter).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 2 and 15, wherein the one or more photometric transformations comprises at least one of a grayscale adjustment, a color adjustment, a color jitter, or a blur effect (Prabhu pg. 2 left column discussed above teaches color jitter; also see Prabhu pg. 3 right column: “we first modify image appearance by applying a pixel-level color jitter”).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 1 and 14, wherein the at least one transformed image is generated by applying one or more geometric transformations to the unlabeled image (Prabhu pg. 2 left column discussed above teaches cropping and resizing).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 4 and 17, wherein the one or more geometric transformations comprise at least one or a rotation, a crop, or a shuffling of pixels (Prabhu pg. 2 left column discussed above teaches cropping and resizing; also see Prabhu pg. 3 right column: “cropped using the random bounding box coordinates and resized to the original output image size … use the same bounding box coordinates to extract a cropped image region and resize that region to the original image size to produce a rescaled image”).
Claim 29 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 3-5 discussed above.
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 1 and 14, wherein fine-tuning of the one or more parameters of the pre-trained semantic segmentation model enforces the pre-trained semantic segmentation model to be at least one of invariant to photometric transformations or equivariant to geometric transformations (Prabhu pg. 3 right column-pg. 4 left column: “Pixel-level predictive consistency … We note that while invariance across augmented views has been used extensively in prior work … we instead propose using such predictive consistency to detect reliable predictions on which to self-train”; Prabhu Fig. 2: “reliable pixels predictions for self-training are identified based on pixel-level consistency across aligned predictions and class-conditioned confidence thresholding”).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 1 and 14, further comprising:
determining at least one loss between features of the pre-trained semantic segmentation model based on generation of the first segmentation output and features of the pre-trained semantic segmentation model based on generation of at least the second segmentation output (Prabhu pg. 4 right column: “we train using a standard self-training cross-entropy loss on the predicted pseudolabel … employ log-inverse frequency loss-weighting … then minimize a cross-entropy loss”; Prabhu Eq. (2));
wherein the one or more parameters of the pre-trained semantic segmentation model are fine-tuned based on the at least one loss (Prabhu pg. 4 right column discussed above teaches loss-weighting; Prabhu pg. 7 right column: “loss weighting further improves to 45.89”).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 7 and 20, wherein the features include probability values output by the pre-trained semantic segmentation model (Prabhu pg. 3 right column discussed above teaches producing an output probabilistic prediction).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 1 and 14, further comprising:
generating a trained model based on fine-tuning of the one or more parameters of the pre-trained semantic segmentation model (Prabhu pg. 3 right column, pg. 4 right column, & pg. 7 right column discussed above).
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 1 and 14, wherein obtaining the unlabeled image comprises:
receiving a plurality of images (Prabhu Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 1 and 14, wherein the unlabeled image does not include a label or a pseudo-label (Prabhu Abstract: “given only unlabeled target data”).
Regarding claim 30, Prabhu teaches an apparatus comprising means for performing the processes described in claims 1 and 14. Therefore, claim 30 is rejected using the same rationale as applied to claims 1 and 14 discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 22, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prabhu et al. (“AUGO: Augmentation Consistency-guided Self-training for Source-free Domain Adaptive Semantic Segmentation,” arXiv:2107.10140v2 [cs.CV] 6 Jan 2022), in view of Yang et al. (US 2023/0044969 A1), hereinafter referred to as Prabhu and Yang, respectively.
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 7 and 20, wherein the features include normalized log inverse output by the pre-trained semantic segmentation model (Prabhu pg. 4 right column: “We compute a per category loss weight λc based on its normalized log inverse frequency”).
However, Prabhu does not appear to explicitly teach that the features include logits output by the pre-trained semantic segmentation model.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches that the features include logits output by the pre-trained semantic segmentation model (Yang ¶¶0063: “The segmentation prediction output is sigmoid logits”).
Prabhu and Yang are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to semantic segmentation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adaptive semantic segmentation model (as taught by Prabhu) to use logits (as taught by Yang) because the combination allows the features to be refined in a coarse-to-fine process and allows extraction/incorporation of temporal information from different resolutions (Yang ¶¶0064).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Prabhu teaches the processor-implemented method and apparatus of claims 7 and 20, but does not appear to explicitly teach the at least one loss includes at least one of an L1 loss or an L2 loss.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches that the at least one loss includes at least one of an L1 loss or an L2 loss (Yang ¶¶0088: “Moreover, a variety of loss terms may be used to train the video matting model. L1 loss and Laplacian loss may be used on the matting mask”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the adaptive semantic segmentation model (as taught by Prabhu) to use L1 or L2 loss (as taught by Yang) because the combination provides more consistency and improves accuracy (Yang ¶¶0088).
Conclusion
/Soo Shin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667