DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Due to communications filed 6/8/26, the following is a final office action. Claims 1-7 are
cancelled. Claims 8, 19, and 30 are amended. Claims 8-31 are pending in this application and are rejected as follows. The previous Office Action has been modified to reflect claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the
conditions and requirements of this title,
Claims 8-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C, 101 because the claimed invention is directed toa
judicial exception (I.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly
more.
With regard to independent claims 8, 19 and 30, these claims recite a judicial exception. Regarding Step 2A, Prong One, the claims are directed to the abstract idea of mental processes through selecting content, identifying content associated with a date and organizing content. The claims are also directed to the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity, specifically organizing, managing, retrieving, and updating a user's personal information/content according to user selections and associated date information. The claim recites providing an interface for selecting stored or new content, receiving date information, identifying and retrieving content from external social-media accounts based on the date information, obtaining descriptive information associated with new content, and updating stored memories according to the descriptive information. These activities constitute organizing and managing information. Thus, the
claim recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, the claims are not integrated into a practical application. With regard to Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional limitations, including the interaction interface, prompts, external social-media accounts, querying, and storage of content, merely apply the identified abstract idea using generic computer and network functionality. The claim does not recite an improvement to the computer, user interface, database, network, or data-retrieval technology, and therefore does not integrate the exception into a practical application. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea.
Finally, with regard to Step 2B, the additional elements, individually and in combination, amount to no more than conventional computer and network components performing their ordinary functions of receiving, querying, retrieving, and storing information. Accordingly, the claim does not recite significantly more than the identified abstract idea. Thus, even when viewed as a whole,
nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is
ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 8-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (US 20210208744 A1), and further in view of HOLT (EP 3373235 A2).
As per claim 8, Wood discloses:
providing, to the user, an interaction interface, wherein the interaction interface includes at least an
interface element to select at least one of: adding new content from one or more external accounts of
the user, and displaying to the user stored content from the one or more external social media
accounts previously connected to the interaction interface by the user , (Wood (US 20210208744 A1): ((0017] Exemplary embodiments of a user interface 100 includes an administrative area 106. The administrative area 106 may include one or more user interface locations, such as text inputs, buttons, links, drop down selections, and combinations thereof for a user to select for searching, adding...content of the user interface and/or the account associated with the user interface; [0055] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be configured to permit a user to add information to the system. The system may therefore receive an input from the user indicating a content type to be added. The input may be through a selection from, for example, the content creation section 12 of the user interface If the content is indicated as published, the content may be saved as a single data package and sent to a remote server for storage on a database; [0056] Before posting a data package or information related to the data package, the system may be configured to search the other displayed content items to remote [0085] The system may receive and/or display the information after communication to or from a remote server 1003 or database 1005.);
when the user selects the interface element to display the stored content, transmitting, to the user to
input date information, ([0056] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be configured
to permit a user to add information to the system. The system may be configured to report that a data
package has been received by a user. The data package may include one or more attributes identifying
the data package. The one or more attributes may include the date and/or time of data package
upload. [0085] The system may receive and/or display the information after communication to or from
a remote server 1003 or database 1005. ); and
identifying content from the one or more external social media accounts associated with the date
information; and displaying, to the user, the identified content in response to receiving the imputed
date information by querying the one or more external social media accounts based on the inputted date information, ([0056] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be configured to permit a user
to add information to the system The data package may include one or more attributes identifying the
data package. The one or more attributes may include a source of the data package, the content type,
the date and/or time of data package upload The system may be configured to display information
related to the data package based on the type of content contained in the data package... Before posting a data package or information related to the data package, the system may be configured to search the other displayed content items to remote or prevent posting of duplicate information.); and
and obtaining descriptive information including at least date information
associated with the new content, ([0045], Exemplary embodiments described herein may permit the
creator of the content to describe or tag the content and make the page immediately accessible or
available for searching; [0056] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be configured to permit a
user to add information to the system. The data package may include one or more attributes identifying
the data package. The one or more attributes may include a source of the data package, the content
type, a date and or time of a data package upload, a subject matter of the data package, etc); and
Wood does not disclose the following, however, HOLT discloses:
adding new content from one or more external social media accounts of the user, (HOLT (EP 3373235
A2) Exemplary user interfaces for creating one or more digital memories or digital mementos with
digital content are shown in Figures 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, and 9. Digital memories and digital mementos can be
images, sequences of images, videos, audio, digital notes, and similar media or files.. The page for
adding digital memories or digital mementos allows a user to upload media and metadata related to the
media from a user's device, or an external network or database, such as a social media network);
transmitting, to the user, a prompt to input date information, (HOLT discloses: "It can also be
determined that information of a digital will component exists in a social media network. Upon
confirming that information of a digital will component exists in a database or social media network, the
information of the digital will component can be automatically incorporated into the information of the
digital will component and into the digital will; In some embodiments of the invention, when a user has
left the digital will in a stage of incompletion for an extended period of time, reminders can be sent to
the user prompting him or her to finish the digital will Notifications and reminders can a Iso be sent
when triggering events occur, when assets get distributed, or significant dates, such as for example an
anniversary of a memory; the digital will can prompt if the user would like to add or delete additional
rules or events; Notifications and reminders can also be sent when triggering events occur, when assets
get distributed, or significant dates, such as for example an anniversary of a memory);
and updating stored memories associated with the user by adding the new content to the stored
memories in accordance with the descriptive information associated with the new content in response
to receiving the new content, (HOLT (EP 3373235 A2) "In some embodiments, users can add to and
modify the digital memories and digital content over the course of their lifetime, enabling users to
create compilations of memories representing significant milestones and cherished moments in sync
with the creation and maintenance of a digital will. As described in more detail below, digital memories
or digital mementos can be incorporated from third party networks or databases. For example, as a user
browses through media on a social media network digital will (e.g., Facebook), the user can add the
media to the digital wallets a digital memory or digital memento"; "the digital will can prompt. if the
user would like to add or delete additional rules or events; Notifications and reminders can also be sent
when triggering events occur, when assets get distributed, or significant dates, such as for example an
anniversary of a memory".).
Wood discloses: when the user selects the interface element to add the new content, transmitting, to the user, a prompt to provide the new content from the one or more external social media accounts, ([0056] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be configured to permit a user to add information to the system);
For further clarification, HOLT discloses: “In some embodiments, a user can be prompted to provide an update to the digital will based upon a trigger event and one or more of the rules”; “Where the digital will requests approval from the user to modify the language, the digital can display a prompt for each clause or term that has been revised and request the user to accept or reject the revision prior to implementing any change”; “A digital will can provide a user interface enabling the user to create one or more digital memories or digital mementos with digital content that can be associated with assets, beneficiaries, executors, guardians, trustees, and other individuals and things that are named in the digital will. Exemplary user interfaces for creating one or more digital memories or digital mementos with digital content are shown in Figures 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, and 9. Digital memories and digital mementos can be images, sequences of images, videos, audio, digital notes, and similar media or files depicting, describing, or relevant to the assets, beneficiaries, executors, guardians, trustees, and other individuals and things that are named in the digital will.”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by HOLT in the systems of Wood, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 9, Wood discloses:
providing an interface element, to the user, to select one of: a timeline based view that displays based
on the date information associated with the content, and a newsfeed view, ([0083] Illustrated herein are
exemplary user interface according to embodiments described herein. In an exemplary embodiment,
the user may change the user interface or layout.. The user may be permitted to display a timeline of
events... The user may be permitted to change the priority of display from chronological to subject,
author, specific keyword, filter criteria, or combinations thereof).
As per claim 10, Wood discloses:
when the user selects the timeline based view and the interface element to add the new content, the
method further comprises: sending, to the user, a prompt to provide date information for the new
content, ([0056] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be configured to permit a user to add
information to the system. );
when the date information for the new content is not received from the user, determining an estimated
date range for the new content; when the date information for the new content is received from the
user or the estimated date range is determined, graphically positioning, on the timeline based view, the
new content relative to existing content based on the received date information or the estimated date
range for the new content, and respective date or date range of the existing content. [0085] By way of
example only, the processing unit may receive user inputs via a keyboard, touchscreen, mouse, scanner,
button, or any other data input device and may provide graphical displays to the user via a display unit,
which may be, for example, a conventional video monitor. The system may also include one or more
large area networks, and/or local networks for communicating data from one or more different
components of the system. The one or more electronic devices may therefore input a user interface for
displaying information to a user and/or one or more input devices for receiving information from a user.
The system may receive and/or display the information after communication to or from a remote server
1003 or database 1005.
As per claim 11, Wood discloses: wherein, when the user selects the interface element to display the
stored content, the date information comprises one or more of: a particular date on which the stored
content was created, a date range during which the stored content was created, and a date or date
range during which the content was stored, ([0056] In an exemplary embodiment, the system may be
configured to permit a user to add information to the system. The system may be configured to report
that a data package has been received by a user. The data package may include one or more attributes
identifying the data package. The one or more attributes may include the date and/or time of data
package upload).
As per claim 12, Wood discloses: wherein the descriptive information associated with the new content
further includes at least one of: a title and/or sub-title, a bio, metadata for facilitating timeline based
navigation, information for setting privacy parameters and one or more tags associated with the new
content. ({0027] privacy settings).
As per claim 13, Wood discloses:
wherein the interaction interface further includes the at least an interface element to further select at
least one of: posting content, the content comprising media content, creating or updating a profile of
the user, refreshing a page being viewed by the user, and reviewing a notification directed to the user,
([0021] Exemplary embodiments of the user interface includes the main area 112. The main area may be
configured to provide a high level summary of a plurality of posts, similar to the feeds area 114, or may
display the full content of a selected post. For example, FIG. 1A illustrates an exemplary main area 112
displaying a plurality of posts in which each post comprises a summary of content of a more complete
post, while FIG. 1B illustrates an exemplary main area 112A in which a post is selected and the entire
content from the selected post is displayed in full to the user).
As per claim 14, Wood discloses: when the user selects the posting content, the method further
comprising: creating a new post and setting parameters for the new post, the parameters including one
or more of parameters for: a date range, content for the new post, a title for the new post, privacy
setting for the new post; creating metadata for the new post for facilitating timeline navigation to view
the new content; positioning the new post on the timeline of the user according to the created
metadata and privacy settings; and publishing posts of the user including the new post, ({0021]
Exemplary embodiments of the user interface includes the main area 112. The main area may be
configured to provide a high level summary of a plurality of posts, similar to the feeds area 114, or may
display the full content of a selected post. For example, FIG. 1A illustrates an exemplary main area 112
displaying a plurality of posts in which each post comprises a summary of content of a more complete
post, while FIG. 1B illustrates an exemplary main area 112A in which a post is selected and the entire
content from the selected post is displayed in full to the user).
As per claim 15, Wood discloses:
performing at least one of: tagging other users, creating bios and/or media in the memory, editing
privacy setting for the new post according to privacy settings of the user and any other users
associated with the new post, and adding the new post to timelines of the user, corresponding
newsfeeds, bios and/or media pages, ([0019] related users such as from those that showed interest in
content through a user tag or comment; [0027] privacy settings).
As per claim 16, Wood discloses: receiving, from the user, a selection for updating the profile or an entry
for creating a new profile, a date or date range and a description associated with the updating of the
profile or creation of the new profile; updating the profile by modifying or adding a text, body or picture,
or creating the new profile; providing, to the user, a preview of an updated or newly created profile for
approval; when the user accepts the modified or added profile, publishing the updated or newly created
profile, ([0027] If a user selects to update a user profile, the system may present the user a template
having a plurality of fields available to the user to create and populate a database for the user profile.
For example, the fields in dashed boarders may expand from the user profile to permit the user to enter
text, or make selections or other inputs through text fields, button selections, drop down menus, or
other user input methods. Exemplary fields associated with a user profile may be a user name, profile
name, profile image, account level, security setting, opt in or opt out selections, privacy settings,
notification settings, email, phone, job title, employer name, residence city, residence state, residence
zip code, gender, relationship status, school name, level of education, or other personal attribute the
system may use to make selections and/or suggestions to a user and/or in which the system may use to
match or search criteria and/or in which the user may wish to share with other users).
As per claim 17, when the user selects refreshing the page being viewed by the user, the method further
comprising:
receiving a data or date range and a selection of one or more of: a post, a newsfeed, bio, media, and a
page, to be refreshed and displayed; displaying the post, the newsfeed, the bio, the media, and/or the
page in a timeline view based on the dates of creation of the content; posting a refreshed page for the
user; and when the user chooses to interact with the posted page by deleting the post, commenting on
the post, and/or tagging the post, continuing the refreshing of the displayed page, ({0083] Illustrated
herein are exemplary user interface according to embodiments described herein. In an exemplary
embodiment, the user may change the user interface or layout The user may be permitted to display a
timeline of events The user may be permitted to change the priority of display from chronological to
subject, author, specific keyword, filter criteria, or combinations thereof).
As per claim 18, Wood discloses: receiving or generating the notification, and directing the received or
generated notification to the user. [0028] For example, the system may inform a user when new posts
are available for content according to selected filters, search criteria, followings, etc. The system may
also provide notices when new content is directed at a user, such as in receiving a communication from
another user. In an exemplary embodiment, a user may make a user input selection from the first
content area to provide content regarding notifications in the third content area 112E. The notifications
may include posts or content regarding predefined criteria set by the user, posts or content directed at
the user, such as through sharing by other users, requests directed at a user, chats or other
communications for the user, and combinations thereof. The displayed content in the third content area
112E may permit a user to provide input into the system, such as confirming the content has been
reviewed, or in selecting to accept a request or follow another user or content type based on a set of
criteria. The third content area 112E may include other user input selections to further filter the
displayed content. For example, the selected filter for notifications from the first content area 110 may
further be filter based on all available notifications, new notifications, notifications concerning specific
criteria or content type (such as following, feeds, searches, chats, etc.), notifications occurring in a
specific time frame, outstanding requests from other users, and combinations thereof.
As per claim 19, this claim recites limitations similar to independent claim 1 and is therefore rejected for
similar reasons.
As per claim 20: See rejection of claim 9.
As per claim 21: See the rejection of claim 10.
As per claim 22: See rejection of claim 11.
As per claim 23: See rejection for claim 12.
As per claim 24: See rejection for claim 13.
As per claim 24: See rejection for claim 14.
As per claim 26: See rejection for claim 15.
As per claim 27: See rejection for claim 16.
As per claim 28: See rejection for claim 17.
As per claim 29: See rejection for claim 18.
As per claim 30, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is
therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 31, Wood discloses:
providing, to the user, a privacy settings interface element associated with the new content, Wood
discloses in (Wood [0027] Exemplary fields associated with a user profile may be a user name, profile
name, profile image, account level, security setting, opt in or opt out selections, privacy settings);
Wood does not disclose the following:
receiving, from the user, a privacy selection comprising at least one of: a selection to make the new
content visible only to the user, a selection to make the new content visible only to connections of the
user, and a selection to make the new content visible to all users; and storing the privacy selection as
part of the descriptive information associated with the new content.
However, HOLT discloses: ("In some embodiments, the digital will can be stored in a vault. The vault can
be electronic or physical. Where the vault is physical, paper copies of the digital will can be stored for
safekeeping. Where the vault is electronic, it can be secured with encryption, password protection, two
factor authentication, and similar security measures. Access to the vault can be provided to individuals
specified by the user. For example, the user can determine that certain beneficiaries can have access to
the vault, and as such, an account is created for these beneficiaries. The vault can store the entire
contents of the digital will or a subset of information, such as that only pertaining to the asset
bequeathed to the beneficiary. The vault can be configured such that the user can view the information
pertaining to the asset, and this information would not be visible to anyone else. In some embodiments,
the vault can be held by a custodian. Custodians can be third parties, qualified custodians, designated
custodians, and other such third parties set forth in applicable laws").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by HOLT in the systems of Wood, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Prior Art Considered
The following art has been considered by Examiner, however not used in the present Office
Action:
Schwartz (US 10652180 B11)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the Office Action’s conclusion that features of claim 8 recites a method of “Mental Processes” is incorrect. Specifically Applicant argues that Examiner’s disclosure that accessing, analyzing, updating and communicating content could be performed in the human mind, and further that the recited computer is generic overlooked the claim’s specific computer-implemented architecture and required, ordered interactions tied to external social media accounts and date-based prompts to identify and update stored memories. Applicant further argues that the method of amended independent claim 8 is directed to a website which obtains content from one or more external social media accounts associated with the user, which narrow the claim to a concrete technological process that orchestrates user interactions and networked retrievals to consolidate disparate social media content into or unto the website. Applicant argues that a user cannot mentally perform these features and cannot store that obtained new content in the stored memories in accordance with the descriptive information associated with the new content. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. With regard to the “Mental Processes” grouping, the claims do disclose selecting content, identifying content associated with a date, and organizing content. For further clarity, Examiner has also categorized the claims as falling into the “Certain Methods of Human Activity” grouping, specifically organizing, managing, retrieving, and updating a user's personal information/content according to user selections and associated descriptive/date information. The limitations concerning querying external social-media accounts, transmitting prompts, receiving content, and electronically updating stored memories recite the computer implementation of this information-management activity and do not change the underlying nature of the claimed activity.
The fact that the claimed operations are performed using a computer and external social-media accounts does not, by itself, establish eligibility. The recited interaction interface, prompts, network queries, retrieval of content, and updating of stored memories are recited as conventional computer and network operations used to obtain and organize information. The claim does not recite an improvement to the operation of the computer, network, user interface, database, data-retrieval technology, and does not require a particular technological mechanism for performing the network retrieval or storage that improves the functioning of such technology, and is directed to an abstract information-management activity. The additional computer and network limitations do not integrate the exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the identified abstract idea.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that claim 8 integrates the alleged abstract idea into a practical application because the claimed interface logic and data flow improve retrieval and organization of cross-platform social-media content by date, eliminate manual platform-by-platform lookups, and provide consistent updating of stored memories based on descriptive metadata. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The alleged improvement is directed to the organization, retrieval, and management of user information, rather than to an improvement in the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technological field. The claim merely uses an interaction interface, external social-media accounts, date-based queries, and stored-memory structures to automate the retrieval and organization of information that a user would otherwise obtain and organize manually. The claimed use of external social-media accounts as source systems, prompting the user for date information, querying the accounts based on the date information, and updating stored memories according to descriptive information does not recite a particular technological improvement to social-media communication, data retrieval, database operation, computer functionality, or network operation. Rather, these limitations define how the user's information is selected, retrieved, and organized. Furthermore, applicant’ arguments that the claimed operations cannot be performed mentally and are not merely performed by a computer as a calculator does not, by itself, establish integration into a practical application. The additional elements of the claimed computer and network operations do not apply the identified abstract idea in a manner that improves technology or otherwise integrates the exception into a practical application, but merely automate the identified information-management activity using their ordinary functions. Accordingly, the claim does not recite an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology or technological field and does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 is therefore maintained.
Independent claims 19 and 30 recites features similar to those of independent claim 8, and therefore, the 35 USC 101 rejection is maintained for independent claims 19 and 30 for similar reasons.
With regard to dependent claims 9-18, 20-29 and 31, the 35 USC 101 rejection is maintained for similar reasons as the claims from which they depend from.
With regard to the 103 rejection, Applicant argues that Wood does not disclose the "providing" feature of amended independent claim 8. Applicant argues that the Office Action acknowledges that Wood does not disclose "adding new content from one or more external social media accounts of the user" and does not disclose "updating stored memories associated with the user by adding the new content to the stored memories in accordance with the descriptive information associated with the new
Content”, and therefore Wood cannot disclose or suggest, "providing, to the user, an interaction interface, wherein the interaction interface includes at least an interface element to select at least one of: adding new content from one or more external social media accounts of the user, and displaying, to the user, stored content from the one or more external social media accounts.". However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the Office Action dated 3/6/26, Examiner does not acknowledge that Wood does not disclose “adding new content”. Although the Office Action dated 3/6/26 acknowledges that Wood does not disclose “adding new content from one or more external social media accounts of the user”, Wood absolutely discloses adding new content as shown in Wood (US 20210208744 A1), [0017] “Exemplary embodiments of a user interface 100 includes an administrative area 106. The administrative area 106 may include one or more user interface locations, such as text inputs, buttons, links, drop down selections, and combinations thereof for a user to select for searching, adding...content of the user interface.”. Therefore, Wood suggest “ providing to the user, an interaction interface, wherein the interaction interface includes at least an interface element to select at least one of adding new content from one or more external social media accounts of the user”.
Applicant further argues that Holt does not teach or suggest “when the user selects the interface element to display the stored content, transmitting, to the user, a prompt to input date information, and identifying content from the one or more external social media accounts associated with the date information, and displaying, to the user, the identified content in response to receiving the inputted date information”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. HOLT (EP 3373235 A2) discloses “ In some embodiments, a user can be prompted to provide an update to the digital will based upon a trigger event and one or more of the rules; Where the digital will requests approval from the user to modify the language, the digital can display a prompt for each clause or term that has been revised and request the user to accept or reject the revision prior to implementing any change”. In HOLT, the prompt is based on a trigger event, which is shown to be the user providing an approval to display the digital will. Once the user provides an approval, then the prompt is displayed. Examiner therefore maintains that HOLT discloses the limitation of “when the user selects the interface element to display the stored content, transmitting, to the user, a prompt to input date information, and identifying content from the one or more external social media accounts associated with the date information, and displaying, to the user, the identified content in response to receiving the inputted date information”.”.
Furthermore, Applicant argues that The Office Action only asserts Figures 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, and 9 for allegedly disclosing "obtaining" and "updating" features of independent claim 8. The Office Action fails to provide a citation to address the updating feature and does not provide any citations to where Holt allegedly teaches that the updating includes storing memories "by adding the new content to the stored memories in accordance with the descriptive information associated with the new content.", and as a result, Holt does not disclose or suggest, "when the user selects the interface element to add the new content, transmitting, to the user, a prompt to provide the new content from the one or more external social media accounts, and obtaining descriptive information including at least date information associated with the new content and updating stored memories associated with the user by adding the new content to the stored memories in accordance with the descriptive information associated with the new content, in response to receiving the new content”. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, and as described in the preceding paragraph, HOLT discloses a prompt that is based on a trigger event, which is shown to be the user providing an approval to display the digital will, and once the user provides an approval, then the prompt is displayed. Next, with regard to where updating includes storing memories "by adding the new content to the stored memories in accordance with the descriptive information associated with the new content.", HOLT discloses “Exemplary user interfaces for creating one or more digital memories or digital mementos with digital content are shown in Figures 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, and 9. Digital memories and digital mementos can be images, sequences of images, videos, audio, digital notes, and similar media or files.. The page for adding digital memories or digital mementos allows a user to upload media and metadata related to the media from a user's device, or an external network or database, such as a social media network”. HOLT also discloses “ A digital will can provide a user interface enabling the user to create one or more digital memories or digital mementos with digital content that can be associated with assets, beneficiaries, executors, guardians, trustees, and other individuals and things that are named in the digital will. Exemplary user interfaces for creating one or more digital memories or digital mementos with digital content are shown in Figures 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, and 9. Digital memories and digital mementos can be images, sequences of images, videos, audio, digital notes, and similar media or files depicting, describing, or relevant to the assets, beneficiaries, executors, guardians, trustees, and other individuals and things that are named in the digital will”. Here Examiner interprets the digital mementos and digital memories of HOLT as being analogous to the “stories” of the present invention. Since HOLT discloses that digital memories are uploaded, and that the memories uploaded describe the assets, beneficiaries, executors, guardians, trustees and other individuals and things that are named in the digital will, Examiner interprets this as adding the new content to the stored memories of the present invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Nathan Uber can be reached on 571-270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
August 12, 2026
/AKIBA K ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626